About Genie Hour Glass

Genie Hour Glass is a comfortable polypropylene “waist trainer” that’s claimed to help you instantly look 2 sizes slimmer and to give you that sought-after hourglass shape in seconds. In fact, Genie Hour Glass is claimed to continue shaping your waist the more you use it, even when it’s not being worn.

According to the manufacturer, Genie Hour Glass works by reducing and shaping your waistline, defining curves, and smoothing rolls and bulges. And as added benefits, Genie Hour Glass might even support your back and help you feel toned.

If you’re wondering how Genie Hour Glass accomplishes this, the company claims it’s due to their “double compression waist training technology” that works over 2 steps:

  1. Fasten the compression shaper around your torso.
  2. Adjust the training bands to your preference.

Before your run out and buy Genie Hour Glass though, let’s answer some of your most pressing questions:

What is Waist Training? Is it Effective?

As the name might lead you to believe, waist training involves “training” the waist to maintain a certain shape in order to provide a slimming effect (think modern day corsets). In fact, Jessica Alba claims to have recently used a corset to train her waist after giving birth.

However, although there are some people who claim to have trained their waist using corsets and belts such as Genie Hour Glass, unless they’re worn for most of the day (and night)—and unless you go to some fairly extreme measures to maintain the shapethe effect is temporary and only lasts as long as you’re wearing the garment.

Granted, although Genie Hour Glass’s manufacturer doesn’t come right out and claim to provide a slimming effect when it’s not being worn, one of the models in the commercial alludes to this by stating, “The more I wear it, the better I look.”

Don’t be fooled though. As soon as you take off your Genie Hour Glass belt, your waist will return to its normal size.

The Waist Training Trend

As with most trends and fads, manufacturers will often jump on the bandwagon to make a quick buck, even though there’s no clinical proof that waist training works.

With this in mind, there are dozens of other “waist trainers” on the market you can choose between, including Tummy Tuck Belt, V-Shape Trainer Belt, Hot Belt, Xtreme Power Belt, and many more. Granted, none of these have been proven to work any better than Genie Hour Glass, but it’s important to keep in mind that you have options.

Does Waist Training Damage Your Body?

Despite waist training’s popularity (and the fact that it won’t help you lose weight), are there any negative side effects related to waist trainers such as Genie Hour Glass? According to medical professionals, the answer to this question is a resounding “yes.” But why?

At their most basic, waist trainers are modern versions of corsets, which are intended to “make the area between your hips and ribcage smaller, otherwise known as achieving a greater hip-to-waist ratio,” which is accomplished through restriction.

However, although this restriction might temporarily provide a slimming effect, it can also:

  • Prevent you from breathing properly, which can lead to fainting, lung infections, and even a decreased metabolism. In fact, if it’s tight enough, waist trainers can damage your ribs.
  • Prevent your bowels from functioning properly, which can result in reflux (i.e. heartburn), less effective digestion, and can even affect your bowel movements.
  • In addition to your lungs and bowels, too-tight waist trainers can damage other organs, such as your liver, spleen, and kidneys (not to mention your skin), all of which you depend on for proper functioning and health.

And while this restriction may temporarily provide core support, the lack of muscle stimulation might lead to decreased core strength with continued use.

What’s the takeaway here? As long as it’s not too tight, waist trainers might be useful for temporarily slimming your waist while you’re out on the town one night. But to wear them all day long or while working out? You might be causing more damage than you think.

What are Customers Saying About Genie Hour Glass?

Genie Hour Glass is very new to the market (URL registered March 2015) so there weren’t any online customer reviews yet at the time of our research.

However, Genie Hour Glass is manufactured by ASOTV industry giant Tristar Products, who also makes a variety of other products under the Genie brand name, including Skinnie Genie, Genie Zip Bra, Ankle Genie, and more. Among these products, HighYa readers have rated them an average of 1.5 stars, with common complaints citing failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and difficult customer service experiences.

Despite this, Tristar Products holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on nearly 1,000 closed complaints (as of 5/12/15), many of which reference the same concerns noted above.

Genie Hour Glass Pricing & Refund Policy

Two Genie Hour Glasses (one nude and one black) are priced at $19.99 plus $15.98 S&H. The waist training belts are available in sizes S-4X, so you’ll definitely want to check their sizing chart before placing your order.

Genie Hour Glass comes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you’re dissatisfied and decide to return your belts, you’ll probably end up losing more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is a common tactic among “As Seen on TV” manufacturers.

With this said, if you’d like to request a refund for your Genie Hour Glasses, you’ll need to contact customer service at 973-287-5133.

Can Genie Hour Glass Give You an Envy-Worthy Figure?

Chopping to the point: In short, while you’re wearing it, Genie Hour Glass can reasonably make you appear slimmer. Whether or not it will make you look 2 sizes slimmer however, or whether or not it can be comfortably worn under clothes, remains to be seen.

Regardless, keep in mind that Genie Hour Glass will only work while you’re wearing it, and will not give you an hourglass figure once it’s removed. And in addition to the big health risks we noted above, remember that Genie Hour Glass is not intended to help you lose weight in any way, as the manufacturer notes in their FAQ:

Wearing the Genie Hourglass belt will help you look up to 2 sizes smaller instantly but it does not make you lose weight or inches. To lose weight, you must follow a reduced-calorie diet and/or do regular aerobic exercise.

Bottom line: If you’re looking to temporarily appear slimmer, Genie Hour Glass might be a viable option, although you’ll be out a hefty chunk of change if you decide to return it. But if you’re actually looking to lose inches around your waist, only regular exercise and a healthy diet will do the trick.

SEE ALSO: Are Waist Trainers an Effective Shortcut to an Hourglass Figure?

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

79 Customer Reviews for Genie Hour Glass

Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 7 1 stars: 59
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 79
Sort reviews by:

  • For Skinny Girls

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 29, 2016

    I'm in shape. I wear a size 6/8. I've worn my waist trainer for a year. It's a little bulky under most clothing but I work from home so I wear it for about 10 hours a day, seven days a week. I've noticed a difference in my waist. I now constantly get compliments on how small my waist is. It was already small but the trainer gives me more of the hour glass look I was wanting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Waste of Money

    1. Materials too thick.

    2. Very noticeable under shirts, sweaters, dresses.

    3. Does not support back.

    4. Bends at top and bottom.

    5. Makes you look fatter from a side view in mirror.

    6. Just an overall waste of money!

    I absolutely would never recommend this for any women, I am 5'4, 130 pounds and this belt did not help look any slimmer, so disappointing! Don't waste your money ladies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Nothing fits

    I will be returning everything I ordered. One size does not fit all. Very disappointed in every item.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Genie Waist Trainer Belt

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jan 5, 2016

    This is the worst experience that I've ever had with customer service. I've reached out to this company five times, three through calling, two through email. I ordered the Waist Belt on December 14th and paid for two day shipping. It's now December 22nd and there's absolutely no sign of the waist belt. Beware when ordering from the "As You Seen On TV" websites, it's all a set up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Genie hour glass waist trainer

    • Dec 21, 2015

    This is absolute rubbish, uncomfortable cheap nasty material and a waste of money. If you are overweight and you put it on, it just distributes the fat above and below. Do not buy, it's a waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    It's okay…

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Dec 1, 2015

    Well, it's a good product if you're already skinny. As for me, when I put it on, it makes me look smaller in the waist but then some of my skin was bulging out of the belt so I loosened it and then it just looked like my waist was bulging. It just doesn't work for me that well but everyone is different.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 22, 2015

      Tasia

      I'm skinny, but that doesn't mean that it won't work for a heavy set women.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Traverse City, MI,
    • Nov 10, 2015

    I give it 4 out of 5 stars it does look nice when worn with a sweater and does do everything it says. I just wish the effects were more long term.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 18 people found this review helpful

    100% Satisfaction for Petite Woman

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Oct 12, 2015

    This product is AMAZING for skinny women who want to accentuate their curves. The first night I slept with it on and woke up and measured a 1/4 inch loss (redistribution) but I was thrilled and satisfied with my purchase. Wearing it at night has also helped me to eat less before I go to sleep. I am looking forward to seeing my long term results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 19, 2015

      Christy Franklin

      It's a scam. I ordered it, paid for it and they never sent it. They said they was out but still took my money for the past few months they have been calling wanting me to pay again and again. You can go to Walmart and buy one, they are great. Just don't order off TV, I paid for two off of the TV ad and had to go buy one at Walmart. The TV is a scam and they never sent anything but still try to take money. Don't do it, they took $80 out my account and don't want to make it right and give back my money.

    • Dec 22, 2015

      Tasia

      I think you are completing lying in this review. What does the waist belt working have to do with you being skinny. I'm skinny and my mom is a bit bigger. What difference should it make if it's about the waist at the end of the day. Their costumer service is extremely horrible and I never received my waist belt. I honesty think you are a employee for this company or they are paying you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Negative Review

    • Clinton, MD,
    • Oct 5, 2015

    I recently made an online order of the waist cincher and some camisoles. Neither product was what was advertised; while they looked good they didn't live up to performance as promised in the ads; the waist cincher didn't close properly and the camisoles would not say in place - I had to constantly pull down the camisoles because they would roll up and expose my stomach and midriff.

    Also, I made one order totaling $75.93 that I authorized to be charged to my credit card. I was sent two additional orders totaling $35.97 each (unauthorized charges). I informed customer service of the error and refused and sent back the items. I get my credit card statement and have been charged a $15.98 fee (this after they credited back to my account the other charges). Why should I have to pay for Genie's mistake?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Order problems

    • Charlotte, Nc,
    • Sep 28, 2015

    Worst customer service. I have ordered twice from them.They were very disrespectful. Every time my package came, they sent me the wrong size. I had to make so many calls that I just wanted my money back. They said they got the last return on September 1, 2015. It was not until September 20,2015 that someone tried to help me. Every time I called I was not treated well. I thought my money were going back into my account. And then some one tried to call me and ask if I would like to order again from them. Heck no. Don't order anything from them. They are rude liars. They get mad when you don't want to order anything else from them. I put my first order back in August. I will never order again from them. Rip off. Just give me my money back. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 28, 2015

      Deborah

      I would not recommend this company. I was looking to possibly order an item and upon trying to get to the checkout process, several commercials and other items to purchase popped up and I did not order the item but closed out the site. The company charged my credit card and mailed the items anyway. I returned the items and indicated I did not order the items, but the refund will not include the handling charges despite I did not order the items. A horrible company to deal with. Do Not Order or even visit the site as you will be charged for even looking.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Genie belt construction

    • Anchorage, AK,
    • Sep 24, 2015

    The belt needs to be upgraded. The main cinch is made from a material that crunches as you move. So even if you wanted to be discrete when wearing it, as soon as you bend you hear a crunching.

    The belt needs to be longer as well. Once you cinch the second set of banding, it does cinch your waist, but then the bottom and curls where the boning ends, and the sides scrunch and curl up as well.

    I would say back to the drawing board.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 79

Write a review for Genie Hour Glass!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review