About Gizmo Crate

Based out of Los Angeles, CA, Gizmo Crate is a new discovery commerce company that ships a gadget and foodie box to you once per month. Each of these boxes are claimed to contain 4-6 items, which are claimed to span “the spectrum of the weird, wonderful and delectable.”

But if you’ve subscribed to any other discovery commerce boxes before, you know that the quality of the items can vary greatly, and that you may not always feel like you’re getting your money’s worth. Is this the case with Gizmo Crate? Let’s unpack the facts and see where they lead us.

How Gizmo Crate Works

Similar to discovery commerce companies such as Conscious Box, Wantable, and others, Gizmo Crate claims that their gadget and foodie discovery crates are shipped directly to your door on the 15th of each month, and that, other than knowing that they’ll contain 4-6 gizmos, gadgets, and artisanal foods based on the month’s theme, you’ll never know what you’re going to get. Gizmo Crate also claims that their boxes are customizable, and that they have a little something for everyone inside—not just for gadget lovers.

In order to sign up for Gizmo Crate boxes, you’ll need to choose between 1-month, 3-month, 6-month, and 12-month plans. Then, after entering your name, address, and billing information, you’ll need to indicate the type of mobile device you use, your t-shirt size, and whether you’re a PC or Mac user.

Gizmo Crate Pricing & Refund Policy

Gizmo Crate plans are priced as follows:

  • 1-month: $39 per month
  • 3-month: $35 per month ($105 total)
  • 6-month: $32 per month ($192 total)
  • 12-month: $29 per month ($348 total)

Whichever subscription option you choose, it includes free shipping within the U.S., and will automatically renew when the time comes. Keep in mind that if you sign up with Gizmo Crate before 7pm PST on the 14th, you’ll receive that month’s box. Otherwise, you’ll have to wait until the following month’s crate ships.

Gizmo Crate offers the ability to receive a $10 credit for every friend your refer, in addition to the ability to win one Colossal Crate, which includes a variety of items valued at more than $400.

Gizmo Crate claims that your subscription can be cancelled at any time by calling 800-541-7976. However, there is no refund information provided on the company’s website, or in their Terms and Conditions.

What’s the Bottom Line About Gizmo Crate?

When it comes down to it, whether you’re a gadget and tech lover or a passionate foodie, is Gizmo Crate worthy of your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

First, Gizmo Crate appears to be a very new company. To back this up, we found out that their URL was registered in October 2013 and that their first box shipped in February 2014. As such, online customer reviews are somewhat limited, although we found one review that claimed their first Gizmo Crate arrived more than two weeks late. In fact, taking a look at the Crates page on the Gizmo Crate website, it still shows that February is next month’s box.

Other Gizmo Crate Reviews

While most reviewers claimed that the value of the items in their boxes exceeded the cost of their subscriptions, there is a popular Gizmo Crate YouTube video review that initially gave the company high marks, but has since claimed that the Street headphones they received were counterfeit. Unfortunately, this reviewer didn’t provide the rationale for their claim, or a follow up video with a more detailed explanation, so the legitimacy of this claim remains somewhat suspect.

Next, while we located reviews only for the February and March Gizmo Crate boxes, both included beef jerky and another included popcorn. With this in mind, if you’re a really adventurous eater, you may be disappointed by the foodie items included in your Gizmo Crate boxes.

Will You be Satisfied?

Finally, if you’re looking for detailed customization for your boxes, you might be disappointed with Gizmo Crate. This is because, although the company claims that their boxes can be tailored to your needs, the only options appear to extend to the type of mobile device you use and your gender. In fact, in the YouTube video noted above, the male reviewer received a purple “lipstick” Power Bank, on top of which appeared to have been previously opened and was damaged.

Should you Sign Up For Gizmo Crate?

If you’re more of a techie than a foodie, Gizmo Crate may be a good option to try out a variety of products that you might otherwise never hear about. However, the company is very new and customer satisfaction appears to be mixed, so you may want to start out with a monthly subscription and go from there. This way you won’t be locked in to a longer-term contract if you’re dissatisfied with the company’s offerings.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

9 Customer Reviews for Gizmo Crate

Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 7
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-9 of 9
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Gizmo Crate

    I didn't receive a box for 3 months and they never answered the many emails I sent even when I was requesting my money back, not to mention the crate cost me $65 a month!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Gizmo Scam.

    • New York,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    After two months of no communication, I finally received a response letting me know I would have a tracking number within 24 hours. 33 hours later, I Received a second email telling me my box was lost, and they have since ignored my request for the tracking number of the lost package so I could file my own claim with USPS. There are multiple review videos online detailing the counterfeit or knock off items they are peddling too, so I was already anxious by the time the ship date came and went. Bottom line, get LootCrate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    poor products and service

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    There have been delays in shipping since at least May. They eventually changed the shipping date from the 15th to the 30th but were not able to meet that consistently either and the August box came in mid September. There are a few good items, but they are few and far between. The food portion has never been good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible subscription service

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Jun 19, 2015

    I received a 3 month subscription for Father's Day in June. I was told by Gizmo Crate that we made the deadline and I would receive the first box from the June 29th shipment. I, then received info of delays due to vendor and the EPIC item had not arrived so shipment would be late. Finally received June's box in July just after the fourth I believe and it was horrible less the $20 worth of crap. During July they advised ship dates would change to the 30th of the month so there would not be anymore delays. Didn't receive July's box until late August. September's box was delayed because "the 30th was on the weekend and there was a holiday. The shipments were so late that their system ended my three month subscription before my third box was even shipped. After many messages and emails they supplied a refund for my final crate. Lou, one other issue was August's crate contained counterfeit street by Dre headphones. I reached out to the company and supplied photos of the box and headphones.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome

    • May 20, 2015

    Their headline read 'under new management' so I decided to give it a shot and surely I was not disappointed. Keep up the great work guys. Looking forward to this month's surprises.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never received anything

    • Jan 14, 2015

    THIS IS A SCAM! I did not received anything since November. Nobody answers any emails. No phone number is shown on their website!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Failure. Stay Far away.

    • Nov 20, 2014

    One year subscription. First 2 boxes, although late, had decent (not great) products. Downhill from there. Late and missing boxes scraped together with whatever. In my opinion it was a great concept but complete failure in execution. If they have tried to improve I am just not seeing it. Looks and feels like a defunct company.

    Update: Out of Business it appears
    Their web site is no longer letting you log in. The date of next shipping is 0. No response to emails. No November crate. No refunds on subscriptions. I would assume they went out of business without any notification. Am gathering subscribers for class action lawsuit unless they're filing for bankruptcy shows up soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2014

      Donald Krubl

      I paid them $192 for a six month subscription in November and as of December 29th have not heard from them and when I log in it says I have no subscriptions and no credits despite the fact that my card was charged on November 20th.

      My email is dkrubl@comcast.net if you are still looking for people to join a lawsuit?

    • Feb 11, 2015

      Lisa

      They're back in business. They should have shipped you a January and a February box or refunded your money. You have to haunt them for it. They finally refunded our money.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam artists. Nothing else to it.

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Sep 13, 2014

    I’m being generous by at least giving their packaging a 2 star. The box IS pretty.

    It is now September 13th. They sent an email out on the 5th saying tracking numbers would be sent out over the weekend. They never came. Yesterday they sent out an excuse that a ‘tragic event’ came up, or something, and another promise they’d be out soon. Still nothing.

    The last crate I got was some cheap, knock off “Fitty Sense” headphones, some crappy plastic sunglasses, a very stale granola bar, a dual port USB charger that I don’t dare plug anything I value into, and a screen protector for an iPad (that I don’t own, and told them I only use Android products when my gf bought me the subscription).

    I’ve put in a dispute/claim with my credit card (as has my girlfriend), and hope to see these scam artist out of business soon, if not investigated for shipping counterfeit products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • gizmo crate is almost a month late.

    • Alabama,
    • Jul 8, 2014

    Gizmo crate is not a good subscription box to go with. They are late sending the boxes out . They said it was due to a vendor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-9 of 9

Write a review for Gizmo Crate!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review