About GOLO

Developed by New York Times best-selling self-help author Keith Ablow, MD along with a team of doctors, GOLO’s 30-Day Rescue Plan is proven to help reverse your insulin resistance, boost your weight loss, reshape your body, get rid of your belly fat, and lower your metabolic age. Not only will this improve your health, but it’ll also lower your risk factors for certain diseases.

Whether you’d like to lose 10 pounds or 100, GOLO is customized to address your specific weight loss needs, without constantly counting calories or starving yourself. Simply follow all 3 of the program’s components, and you’ll find that GOLO is “a healthy, cost-effective way to lose weight,” and “the last diet you will ever need.”

If you just came from the GOLO website, you might feel a little overwhelmed. After all, the company throws a lot of information at you! But in this review, we’ll help you digest everything while taking a hard look at their claims, and give you what you need to make an informed decision.

To begin, let’s go into more detail about what the GOLO diet plan involves.

GOLO’s 3-Part Diet Plan

Overall, the GOLO Rescue plan contains 3 main components:

Release™ Patented Supplements

Softgel supplements made with a blend of organic flaxseed oil and plant ingredients. All you have to do is take one with every meal, and it will help prevent weight gain and support the use of stored fat.

Then, after your insulin has been optimized, you can gradually phase out your use of the supplements. According to the company, “There are over 200 independent studies supporting the effectiveness and safety of the ingredients in the Release supplement.” Is this actually the case though? We’ll talk more about this shortly.

Metabolic Fuel Matrix™

These are meal plans based on GOLO’s patented Fuel Index, which “measures the metabolic effect of food, so meals are perfectly balanced to maximize energy without spiking insulin or causing fat storage.” And compared to other diet programs, you won’t experience any food isolation, so you’ll be able to dine out and enjoy meals with friends and family.

With this meal plan, you’ll also receive a complementary cooking program named Creating Matrix Meals, which can help make preparing meals quickly and easily.

GOLO Roadmap™

This part of the program will help you learn which changes can “have a big impact on your health and metabolism,” while helping you identify and overcome obstacles to experiencing real, lasting weight loss. You’ll also receive a free 12-month membership to mygolo.com, where you can talk with other members, connect with experts, track your results, and more.

What about exercise? GOLO’s Perfect 5 exercise plan “uses a unique combination of dynamic burst and spot training” that can help you achieve results in as little as 5 minutes per day, regardless of your fitness level.

What Are We Going to Cover In This GOLO Review?

Alright, now that we’ve covered the basics of the GOLO diet plan, it’s time to take a deep dive into their claims. As we mentioned in the intro though, the GOLO website makes a lot of claims and hands you a ton of information. And if we were to address each and every one, this review would quickly turn into a short book.

But we know you’re busy, so below, we’re going to answer the 4 most important questions surrounding this diet program:

  • What is insulin resistance? Does it promote weight gain? How many people are insulin resistant? What are the signs and symptoms?
  • What kinds of results can you expect with GOLO’s Perfect 5 fitness program? How does GOLO’s diet work?
  • Do the ingredients contained in GOLO’s supplement help boost weight loss (whether by reducing insulin resistance or any other mechanism)?
  • Does GOLO have any clinical proof for the efficacy of their program?

So let’s dig in (no pun intended), shall we?

What Is Insulin Resistance? Does It Affect Weight Gain?

Insulin resistance (also known as prediabetes) occurs when “the body produces insulin but does not use it effectively. When people have insulin resistance, glucose builds up in the blood instead of being absorbed by the cells, leading to type 2 diabetes or prediabetes.” About 86 million Americans suffer from some form of insulin resistance/prediabetes.

Common signs that you might have prediabetes include increased thirst, frequent urination, fatigue, blurred vision—and yes, an inability to lose weight.

In a nutshell, insulin resistance is generally caused by not getting enough exercise, regularly eating too many calories for your body type, and consuming too many processed carbohydrates. The good news, however, is that for most people, it’s completely reversible. How?

Because insulin resistance is directly linked to exercise and nutrition, the best way to normalize your insulin is by eating healthy meals (including proteins, carbohydrates, and fats) and getting plenty of exercise. You should also get plenty of rest, too!

Obviously, GOLO’s nutrition program could certainly address many of these concerns (as could just about any healthy eating program), although we’re not told exactly what it contains. But what about the exercise program? Will it also help decrease your insulin resistance?

What Can You Expect From GOLO’s Exercise Program?

Just like with their nutrition program, despite all the wordiness on their site, we’re told very little usable information about GOLO’s exercise program, other than that it utilizes “dynamic burst and spot training.” Just what are these, and are they effective for weight loss or normalizing your insulin?

Dynamic burst is just another name for high-intensity interval training (HIIT), which involves alternating “between very intense anaerobic periods and slower recovery periods for a shorter, more efficient workout.” In some instances, HIIT training involves exercises that last as little as 3 minutes, although there’s a great deal of controversy about its effectiveness for fat loss.

But as we mentioned above, any kind of exercise can help reduce your insulin resistant (especially if you’ve been surfing the couch for years). Just don’t expect instantaneous, amazing results from HIIT.

On the other hand, spot training (also known as spot reduction), claims that “fat can be targeted for reduction from a specific area of the body and that it can be achieved through exercise of specific muscles in the desired area, such as exercising the abdominal muscles in an effort to lose weight in or around one's midsection.”

The problem? It’s completely false! So don’t expect to get any results from it, whether you use it as part of the GOLO program or anything else.

Now, let’s move on to the next question: Can the ingredients in GOLO’s supplement help you lose weight? You’re about to find out…

What Kind Of Results Can You Expect with the Release™ Supplement?

Here’s what the GOLO’s Release™ supplement contains:

Other ingredients include organic flaxseed oil, gelatin capsule (gelatin, glycerin, purified water, annatto), yellow beeswax, sunflower lecithin.

According to WebMD, “Early research suggests that consuming salacia tea with each meal might lower hemoglobin A1C (HbA1C) levels in people with type 2 diabetes. HbA1C is a measure of blood sugar control.” However, because the salacia in Release is part of a proprietary blend, we can’t be sure how much it contains or if it’s enough to provide any results.

Outside of salacia though, there isn’t enough clinical evidence showing that any of Release’s other ingredients will help normalize your insulin levels or help you lose weight in any way.

Despite the fact that half of GOLO’s fitness program won’t help you shed pounds, and their supplement contains mostly ineffective ingredients, let’s see what kind of proof the company provides that their program works as advertised.

Will Golo Release’s Ingredients Cause Any Side Effects?

Since most nutritional supplements, Release included, feature GRAS (Generally Recognized as Safe) ingredients, if you experience any side effects at all, they probably won’t be worse than mild digestive upset. However, according to WebMD, “Routine zinc supplementation is not recommended without the advice of a healthcare professional.”

Also, in rare instances, they note that zinc may cause “mood changes and impaired thinking, judgment, and coordination.” However, this is much more common in higher doses (greater than 1,000mcg per day). Gardenia “might work like a laxative and cause diarrhea when taken by mouth.”

Related: Forget Diet Pills—Lose Weight by Changing Your Habits

For some ingredients, like banaba leaf and barberry, not enough is known about them to understand potential side effects, as well as short or long-term safety. And while clinical studies have shown that short-term rhodiola use is safe, its long-term safety is largely unknown.

Is GOLO a Clinically Proven Weight Loss Program?

According to the GOLO website:

“During the last three years, eleven different pilot studies have been conducted on GOLO. All studies were doctor-supervised, with full lipid panel and blood sugar level labs taken at the start, middle, and end of the study.

Trial participants lost an average of 14.5 inches and 2 dress sizes in only 90 days and 23.3 inches and 3.4 dress sizes in 6 months. And unlike conventional dieting the participants did not plateau and lost over 29 inches, 5 dress sizes and 8 pants sizes in I year.

Besides weight and inches lost, GOLO trial participants have reported many other benefits including improved health, the reduction and/or elimination of medications, and an improved quality of life. This reduction and/or elimination resulted in significant savings for the GOLO participants.”

Is this what real-world customers also experienced with GOLO? We’ll get to that in a second, but first, it’s important to note that GOLO provides zero evidence to back up these claims. We emailed the company at service@golo.com for additional insight, and will update this review as soon as we receive a response.

Clinical Study for GOLOAccording to the GOLO website, their program provide all of these amazing benefits. The problem? They provide no evidence to back it up.

Details Behind GOLO’s Clinical Study

To gain some insight, we emailed the company at service@golo.com for additional information, and received a quick response from one of their support staff.

The 26-week study we received was completed in October 2010, and involved 33 volunteers (11 male and 24 female), all of which were classified as overweight or obese.

In the end, “The 35 subjects (which include the control group results) lost an average of 20.6 pounds in 90 days and 30.9 pounds over 6 months or an average of 1.58 pounds and 1.19 pounds on average per week.” Participants also “achieved significant reductions in waist circumference and body size, and lowered their health risk factors.”

Therefore, they concluded, “The USA study findings are consistent with previous results achieved in South Africa thereby suggesting that the Program demonstrates the potential to help overweight and obese individuals lose weight more effectively while obtaining health benefits including the reduction in risk factors and the reversal of Metabolic Syndrome and pre-diabetes.”

But is this actually the case? Is GOLO “more effective”?

Most people lose about 1-2 pounds per week with their healthy (i.e. non-crash) diets, which seems in line with what GOLO’s study participants experienced. So in this sense, it probably won’t help you lose more weight than eating right and exercising regularly.

Also, it’s important to mention that, despite the fact that the GOLO program is targeted at those with insulin resistance, the study didn’t directly compare the overall weight loss between those with pre-diabetes and those without. As such, we’re not sure if GOLO will be more effective for pre-diabetics than other, more traditional weight loss programs.

See Also: Peloton Cycle Review

With this said, “After 3 months 47.1% of the subjects (17 subjects or 48%) that were pre-diabetic at the beginning of the study reversed their pre-diabetic status. After 6 months the pre-diabetic status reduced by 70.6%. Fourteen of the USA study participants were on prescription medications at the start of the study. After 6 months 21 prescription medications were eliminated and 6 reduced.”

How much will you pay for the GOLO program?

How Much Will GOLO’s Weight Loss Program Cost You?

If you’d still like to purchase GOLO, it’ll cost you $59.90. But if you want to try before you buy, you can take advantage of their 40-day trial for $1.

At the end of your trial, you’ll be charged the remaining $58.90. But if you’re not satisfied during this time, you can call the company at 800-927-1842, return the product, and you’ll even get your $1 back.

Unlike a lot of the other nutritional supplements we’ve reviewed, there aren’t any autoship programs associated with GOLO. But you can always purchase a single month of the Release supplement for $29.95, or a 3-month supply for $59.85.

Will GOLO Help You Lose Weight, Or Is It Just Overpriced Hype?

Here’s the bottom line: Will GOLO help normalize your insulin and boost your weight loss? It’s possible. But do you know what else will? Speaking with your doctor, who can show you how to eat right to break free from your prediabetes.

Ultimately, we think this would provide much more bang for your buck. After all, that’s what we’re about here at HighYa!

But in our opinion, based on everything we’ve covered here—including GOLO’s largely ineffective ingredients, (at least one) widely discredited exercise technique, the fact that they don’t provide any evidence to back up their claims, and that there weren’t any online reviews—we’d definitely recommend approaching with caution.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

27 Customer Reviews for GOLO

Average Customer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 12
Bottom Line: 44% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed in GOLO

    I first bought a two-months supply, and then a three-months one, but I saw no weight loss. The Release supplements did not work the way they advertise, and I cannot get any money refunded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    They took my money and never sent me anything.

    As far as I am concerned this is a scam. They took my money, and I never heard from them again. I should have known better than to send them money, but I have had diabetes for so long, and I wanted it gone. Shame on me for doing this.

    Since I am on a fixed income, I hope after reading this they will refund my money and stop scamming old people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Gloria,

      I am so sorry to hear that you never received your order. I can assure you that if this did happen, it was a mistake that we would be happy to rectify!

      I have checked our system and do not show an order with the name Gloria O'Dell. If you would be so kind as to call me directly so that I can look up your order, I would be more than happy to either ship you a new one via USPS Priority Mail to ensure that you get it immediately, or refund your money if that is what you prefer.

      I can be reached at 800-730-4656

      Sincerely,

      Eden C.

      Director of Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Best program!

    • Lake Worth, FL,
    • Feb 6, 2017

    I have tried SO many different programs and diets, and nothing has worked. I saw GOLO advertised on TV, but I thought it was just another gimmick. When my husband saw it, he researched it and told me to try it.

    I did the seven-day kickstart program, and after the week was up, I weighed myself and just about fell over; I lost eight pounds! I didn't always eat exactly what was in the kickstart program because I didn't like everything, but I substituted with something similar. I like how I can have fruit and potatoes, and even bread! I don't understand the insulin thing, but it's definitely working. I'm not hungry, and I'm not craving other foods.

    I am so happy I found this program!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    My new way of life

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 5, 2017

    Prior to GOLO, I have tried everything; shakes, no carb, low carb, dairy free, you name it. I decided to try GOLO because I felt out of control, and I looked like it too.

    I took a day or two to go over the meal plans and system and then did my shopping. The food choices are so open. This eating really becomes what you want it to be, with the exception of processed food. The inches came off quicker than the pounds, but at day 53, I had lost 20 lbs and 6 inches off my waist. You will never worry about going hungry, as the food is plentiful. You can still have dairy and bread and lose weight.

    I am now down 30 lbs and two pant sizes. This is it for me. The GOLO way of life is mine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you. Please keep us informed of your progress! Happy GOLOing!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 100 out 110 people found this review helpful

    Dose It Work?

    I needed something that was safe & didn't make me sick to my stomach taking it. I had tried Metformin (which made my stomach a mess & is no longer prescribed by doctors). I read a review that said Golo was a scam but I'm not one for gossip & figured if none of them died after trying it I'd give it a shot. I used it for 2-3 months then went for a clinical blood test. When the doctor reviewed the blood test she said "Now that's what we like to see! Your A1c is 7." I don't know anything about A1c but she was happy 'til I told her I wasn't taking any of the sugar meds they had prescribed but was taking Golo. I haven't been trying to lose weight and I haven't been going with any foods I like either. At 73 I want to enjoy my foods before I kick the bucket & this is no scam Folks. This supplement does feed the pancreas & did the job for me. I was diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic at 36. I'm 73 now so if this works for me imagine what it can do for a younger person.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2017

      Need4Sneed

      A GOLO company representative obviously wrote this review. I am a type 2 diabetic, and I know several another type 2 diabetics. There is no way that a person with diabetes (especially one who has been for 37 years) would say what they stated in the above review:

      "I don't know anything about A1c, but she was happy 'til I told her I wasn't taking any of my sugar medication they had prescribed except GOLO."

      HbA1c is one of the most crucial numbers to be aware of as a type 2 diabetic because it defines an average of blood glucose and insulin activity in one period. I've never heard of anyone with diabetes who doesn't know their latest A1c level (my last A1c was 5.9) because this number defines your treatment path.

      If I'm wrong about you working for GOLO, then you are clearly someone who shouldn't be giving any advice on diabetic health issues. I'm sorry, but any recommendation from a person with diabetes who doesn't know about A1c levels, especially their A1c, is a recommendation that should be ignored.

      Good day, J.

    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress! Happy GOLOing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 90 out 106 people found this review helpful

    Still working on it

    GOLO seems so far to be working for me and I hope that the weight loss is going to work too.

    So far I feel good and my body totally feels different and better. I will weigh myself on Sunday, it has been three weeks now so I believe it's time to get on the scale. Ever since I started cooking the meals and eating the breakfast plan I have been noticing and feeling full, not hungry after every meal.

    I am a full blown diabetic for 30 years now so my weight has been a challenge with the ups and downs of weight control. Here goes nothing and I am hoping this is my last stop.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 3, 2017

      Christine

      Can you provide an update on your progress? I would love to hear about how it's going. I'm curious, were you paid to use this product, or did you do it on your own? I just bought a 30-day supply, and I'm a bit concerned by all the negative reviews.

    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 141 out 148 people found this review helpful

    GREAT PLAN, 10 pounds off in 11 days.

    • Lake Wylie, SC,
    • Oct 24, 2016

    I got my package 11 days ago. I have followed it to the T. I have lost 10 pounds in 11 days. I read every booklet and took everything as exactly as they said. I'm amazed, as nothing else has worked, and I can't afford NutriSystem, and the food on Nutrisystem has horrible ratings. So I couldn't see paying $300 a month, for a bunch of garbage.

    You have to do what GOLO says which means NO processed foods, No snacking of any kind. I have eaten WHOLE foods, and just the right amounts. I am not hungry, and I feel great.

    Prior, I couldn't even get out of bed in mornings. I'd go back to sleep after I dropped my kids at school. Since I started with GOLO, I only did that 1 time in the last 11 days as I have a lot more energy.

    I'm motivated but if you don't do what they say. it isn't going to work, I don't guess. It was a little confusing and overwhelming at first, but I got used to what portions were, and what I could eat and now I'm good.

    I stay at home, so I have more time to prepare and work at it. For snacks, I eat a handful of raw almonds or raw pecans and drink only water and follow their matrix structured meals. I don't have many cravings at all for sweets and my scale has been a great motivator. I weigh myself at the same time, right when I get up each morning with no clothes. It's important to weigh yourself at the same time each morning as weight fluctuates during the day. This is the only true way to know if you are gaining or losing weight.

    During my second week, I began to exercise for 20 minutes a day. This is my third day of exercise. It does work. I take 2 pills with each meal because I have a lot of weight to lose (62 pounds to be exact). Not sure I will get all of it off but I am motivated and I feel so much better. I have high hopes that I can do it now.

    The cost of the supplements are not that bad either, and you don't have to take them forever. As for Nutrisystem, as soon as you stop buying/eating their food, boom, the weight is back.

    Can you eat bars and drinks for your whole life? I can't. This is real food, so how can you go wrong? Plus it is quite a bit of food I would say. Try GOLO if you are serious about changing your life and committing to what you have to do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 131 out 144 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Program

    • Plainfield, WI,
    • Oct 7, 2016

    This is day three of starting and I am already down 3 pounds. I have found with Release my cravings for sweets has diminished. I also find I am not really all that hungry, but I follow the plan for meals anyway. Once you figure out the Matrix, it is very easy to follow. Similar to Weight Watchers only healthier as you make balanced meal choices. It is portion control and you can have desert is you desire, just calculate the meal value. I can even enjoy a glass of wine.

    I first saw the ad for this about two months ago and thought this is just another one of those auto ship things. Boy was I wrong. It is so affordable and the last diet you will ever need, as it is lifestyle change eating REAL food. I am pre-diabetic which was concerning me and I did not want to go on insulin. I feel this is a game changer for me and will ward off any future issues with diabetes.

    I do wish they would come up with a cookbook. That would be awesome. In the meantime, it is simple enough to figure out meals. I know it says not to lose too fast, so I am guessing it is more water weight at first and will taper off to normal weight loss. I am so glad I took the chance and am very impressed with the materials to get one started.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (8)
    View all 8 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Pamela,

      We are so happy to hear that the program is going well for you. Please keep us informed of your progress and don't forget to join the GOLO Members Facebook group! :)

    • Oct 28, 2016

      Sandra Duke

      I really hope this can work for me.

    • Nov 1, 2016

      sherry Looney

      I want to learn more about this, and how to lose weight.

    • Dec 12, 2016

      Demetria

      I am interested in GOLO.

    • Dec 29, 2016

      TARISAI SAMBAZA

      Can you please send me information for the diet? I would like to purchase a package.

    • Jan 3, 2017

      Christine

      Pamela, I just ordered it, but I'm concerned that all the good reviews are "bought." How was your result?

    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

    • Feb 9, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Demetria & Sherry,

      Please visit our website at www.GOLO.com or feel free to give us a call at 800-730-4656.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 154 out 184 people found this review helpful

    Sucker

    • Hanover, VA,
    • Sep 22, 2016

    Don't waste your money on this GOLO. There is a diet that you HAVE to follow. The pill does nothing. It's the diet that helps you lose the belly fat and this is not a very good diet. You will lose weight faster and safer on the South Beach Diet and you don't have to waste your money on a worthless pill. I have two bottles I'll give you for free. If this had a zero star I would have checked that instead of a one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 27, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Jim,

      I am sorry that you did not have the success you had hoped with GOLO however, I am unable to verify an order for anyone with your name/city in our system?

      Yes, GOLO does come with a meal plan. This is clearly stated on our website. Our diet is based on eating 3 well-balanced meals per day consisting of real, whole foods and eliminating processed and packaged foods. Our website also contains information on a study that shows the effectiveness of both the diet and supplement. Our website is: www.GOLO.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 180 out 200 people found this review helpful

    GOLO is a lot of work

    I am writing this review in the hopes that readers will learn more about my personal experiences with the GOLO plan and hopefully benefit. To begin, I purchased the plan in July of 2016 and received my GOLO "box" toward the end of July. My official "start" date was August 2nd, 2016. My starting weight was 183.5 pounds. I had already lost about 5 pounds from my high of 188 pounds on July 15th. My goal weight is 165 - 170 pounds.

    By my simple calculations a GOLO Fuel Point is equal to about 3.12 calories. You can see, for example that two eggs equals 50 GOLO points and when multiplied by 3.12, equals about 156 calories, the standard for two 50 gram eggs. So, when you extrapolate this out further for me, my GOLO daily food allowance is 450 points plus 58 "Fit Points" for walking/jogging for 45 minutes a day. You get a total "Daily Fuel Allowance" of 508 points which, when multiplied by 3.12 you get the caloric equivalent of 1,584 in what I call the "Caloric Fuel Allowance."

    GOLO says you can go 10% below or 10% higher than your "Daily Fuel Allowance" which, for me would be between 457 points (1426 calories) and 558 points (1743 calories).

    I am 67 years old, 5'10" and I know that my Body Weight Maintenance level is approximately 1500 calories/Day. Theoretically, If I consume less than that I lose weight, and the converse is true also. However, I know positively that the only way I can and do lose weight is by consuming around 1,000 calories (or less) a day. This is because with my Maintenance Level at 1500 calories, I would not and did not lose weight on the GOLO Plan.

    But don't get me wrong here. I'm not bashing the GOLO Plan at all. But now, having tried it for 4 weeks, I realized what was going on and I've made adjustments to the plan that are specific to me and only me. I totally agree with all the GOLO "Matrix Meal Plan" and all of the nutritional advice about eating Real Food, etc. That has helped me a lot. But what I've done is just to simply scale back the portion sizes so that my daily caloric equivalent comes out to 1,000 or less per day. At this rate I figure I'm losing 500 calories a day from my maintenance level of 1500, which equates to 500 times 6 = 3,000 less calories a week, which equals one pound. I can see why so many people have failed using the GOLO Plan out of the box and why it has received so many bad to horrible reviews here. I think that this plan would work best for people who are less than 40 and are simply obese or morbidly obese. Do I think that the GOLO support staff could do a better job? Absolutely! But this plan is similar in a lot of ways to Weight Watchers except WW allows you way, way too much food and calories.

    One last thing. The special "Release" supplement is no magic pill. I think it does help some with regularity issues associated with just about any "diet" but the truth is you can take a 250mg Magnesium supplement and achieve the same, or better, results and it's a lot cheaper.

    Hope this review helps.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 238 out 264 people found this review helpful

    Not Customer Friendly - Buyer Beware

    • Coral Gables, FL,
    • Aug 29, 2016

    I purchased the system and then decided to go with another product instead. I had emailed customer support about returning the item but never heard back from them. By the time I remembered that I had not heard back from them it was just pass the 30 day return policy. Once I finally found a phone number to call someone on, they person reiterated that it was past the 30 day return policy. When I mentioned the email, they acted like I was not being truthful and even though I told them that I had not opened any of the bottles and that all of the materials that they send are still in the original box, they would not accept my return. All this tells me is that this is a sham of a company. They are not really interested in people, just making a buck. Okay... well you got my money this time, but I will never use this program. I am also letting people know how difficult they are to deal with. Buyer beware is all I can say.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 30, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      C. Stiers,

      When we spoke with you on the phone regarding your return we were unable to locate an email from you asking for a return. Since we could not find it, we advised you that we would be more than happy to accept your return and issue you a full refund if you could just forward us the email that you sent to us before your 30 days was up.

      You can find your sent emails in your "sent items" folder in your email account. Again, all you will need to do is forward this email and we will move forward with your return.

      Thank you,

      Customer Support

    • Dec 31, 2016

      Judy Eastham

      I'm over 70 years old, and I've done business with a lot of companies in my time. I find that this company is not interested in the customer satisfaction and apparently doesn't even display a phone number that is readily available. Therefore, I will not order anything from them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a review for GOLO!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review