About GOLO

Editor’s Note: HighYa was recently sued by GOLO in a federal court in Philadelphia. Our other review website, BrightReviews, was also sued, as were the owners of both sites. Here is a copy of the Complaint.

We believe this lawsuit has been brought for one transparent purpose – to use laws designed to protect against unfair competition as a tool for silencing speech and consumer reviews that GOLO does not like. Our lawyers have filed a motion to dismiss, which you can see here.

In the meantime, we will continue to operate as we always have – providing what we believe to be fair, accurate and informative reviews of products and services, including GOLO, and providing consumers with a forum to talk about their experiences with those products and services.

Updated: 8/14/17

Boasted as the number one searched diet on Google for 2016, GOLO’s 30-Day Rescue Plan promises to help you improve your insulin management and efficiency, boost your weight loss, and maintain your results for the long-term—without ever having to “diet” again.

Combined with their Release supplement, a healthy eating plan, and exercise, GOLO claims to help you get off the diet roller coaster for good. They want you to succeed and never diet again.

How does GOLO Diet help you accomplish this and what kinds of results might you expect?

We had the opportunity to speak with the company and learn more about their approach to weight loss, all aimed at helping you find answers to your most important questions and overall capture their vision for their customers.

We did not use the product on ourselves, but based on dialogue with the company and publicly available information located at GOLO’s website and third party website such as WebMD, we simply formed an observation and review of what the GOLO Diet plan involves and what ingredients are used.

How Does GOLO’s 30-Day Rescue Plan Work?

Speaking with GOLO’s President Jennifer Brooks, who is also a board certified holistic nutritionist, as well as Eden Covington, Director of Social Media and Customer Service, we learned that the system is all about insulin management.

But if this immediately makes you think “diabetes,” this isn’t necessarily the case. How so?

Brooks explained the concept of insulin optimization like this: It’s an ideal state where your body doesn’t over or under-produce insulin. Instead, these levels remain steady instead of frequently spiking and crashing.

This is in sharp contrast to diabetics, who often don’t produce adequate insulin levels, or the cells inside their body can’t process the hormone.

Nonetheless, to accomplish this, Brooks told us that GOLO will help you regulate your glucose intake—versus counting calories—by eating properly, consuming real foods, and giving your body the proper nutrition it needs.

By doing this, GOLO’s website claims that you can achieve “amazing results in seven days,” although if you stick with the program for 90 days, you can expect to lose 4” off your waist, drop two or more dress sizes, boost your energy and vitality, improve how you feel and sleep, and lower your stress and anxiety.

Overall, the GOLO Rescue plan contains three main components: the Release supplement, the meal plan, and a free one-year membership to myGOLO.com.

Release™ Patented Supplement

Using all-natural, plant-based ingredients scoured from all across the planet and manufactured in California (again, according to the GOLO website), their Release supplement promises to help you optimize insulin performance and increase cell receptor sensitivity, and even to stand in for insulin when it’s not functioning normally.

As a result, we’re told by the company’s site that Release can provide powerful metabolic support by promoting fat release, controlling glucose to stop weight gain and reduce cravings, healing metabolic dysfunction, and balancing hormones to improve mood and reduce stress.

According to GOLO, you’ll need to take one Release soft gel during the middle of each meal, and it will optimize your insulin, prevent weight gain, and support the use of stored fat. All without caffeine, other stimulants, or side effects.

Then, after your insulin has been optimized, you can gradually phase out your use of the supplement. Golo states that most people take the Release Supplement for 3-6 months.

Important Note: GOLO states that if you have Type 1 Diabetes, you should consult with your physician prior to taking the Release supplement. Also, if you're currently pregnant or breastfeeding, GOLO does not recommend taking Release Supplement.

Metabolic Fuel Matrix™

Instead of depriving yourself, which can lead to hunger and fatigue and create isolation, GOLO’s Metabolic Fuel Matrix eating plan focuses on feeding your body real, whole foods that deliver the right balance of micro and macronutrients (including carbs, protein, vegetables, and fats) to help further stabilize your insulin levels.

As a result, you can expect to remain full and energized, reduce hunger and cravings, and learn the right combinations of healthy foods that will promote weight loss—which can also help you to maintain your weight once you’ve reached your goals.

According to Covington, while every GOLO member will eat three well-balanced Matrix Meals per day, exactly how much food you’ll consume will depend on your personal metabolic rate; more commonly known as your energy needs. This is something you’ll do as soon as you begin.

The Fuel section of GOLO’s website also explains that you’ll get to pick the foods you want from their plan to personalize to your needs, including whole foods like butter, eggs, meats, fruits and vegetables, and grains—including pasta and bread.

Furthermore, their ‘Creating Matrix Meals’ guide shows you how to prepare these delicious, family-friendly (and insulin-friendly) meals in minutes.

MyGOLO.com Membership

Your myGOLO membership gives you access to online tracking (track your weight, progress, metabolic health analysis) and up to date information on health, food, and fitness (The Perfect 5 exercise system).

You’ll also be able to download printable shopping lists and special edition seasonal menus, along with restaurant cards to help you stay on track, even when eating out.

Finally, your MyGOLO membership can help provide support and guidance on the GOLO lifestyle.

What Are We Going To Cover In This GOLO Review?

Alright, now that we’ve covered the basics of the GOLO plan, it’s time to take look into their claims.

Below, we’re going to discuss the four most important questions surrounding this diet program:

  • Is there a meaningful difference between insulin resistance and insulin maintenance?
  • What kinds of results can you expect with GOLO’s weight loss program?
  • Do the ingredients contained in GOLO’s supplement help boost weight loss (whether by boosting insulin optimization, or any other mechanism)?
  • Does GOLO have any clinical proof for the efficacy of their program?

Is There a Meaningful Difference Between Insulin Resistance & Insulin Maintenance?

It’s important to point out that, while the term ‘insulin resistance’ is mentioned six times in the first section of GOLO’s website, the program doesn’t claim to help address this condition.

Instead, to reiterate, GOLO only references insulin maintenance, performance, and optimization. Is there a meaningful difference, though?

In short, yes. Insulin resistance is a medically recognized condition where the body can’t easily absorb glucose from the bloodstream. If left unchecked, this could eventually lead to prediabetes and type 2 diabetes.

On the other hand, terms like insulin ‘maintenance,’ ‘performance,’ and ‘optimization’ are much fuzzier. Why?

In a nutshell, searching authoritative sites like the National Institutes of Health, Medscape, and EndocrineWeb (to name just a few), these terms are often used when discussing diabetes management. However, none of these sites we encountered drew a direct relationship between insulin management and weight loss, or weight management.

Interviewed for a recent Women’s Health article, diabetes educator Jessica Crandall, R.D.N., explains that a possible reason for this gap between the existing terminology and GOLO’s claims is that, “while insulin resistance can cause obesity, prediabetes, and type 2 diabetes, it can't be controlled the way the diet claims it can.”

Further clarifying, Crandall adds that “there's no way to change how insulin "performs." Though you can increase your body's insulin sensitivity, that has nothing to do with the way insulin does its job. In other words, "insulin performance" isn’t a thing.”

What is Known About the Ingredients in GOLO’s Release Supplement?

At the time of the research, according to the website, here’s what the GOLO’s Release™ supplement contains:

Other ingredients include organic flaxseed oil, gelatin capsule (gelatin, glycerin, purified water, annatto), yellow beeswax, sunflower lecithin.

GOLO's Release Supplement Ingredient LabelGOLO's Release Supplement Ingredients Label taken from www.golo.com as of March 2017

According to WebMD, “Early research suggests that consuming salacia tea with each meal might lower hemoglobin A1C (HbA1C) levels in people with type 2 diabetes. HbA1C is a measure of blood sugar control.”

WebMD also indicates that, “Berberine seems to slightly reduce blood sugar levels in people with diabetes. Also, some early research suggests that taking 500 mg of berberine 2-3 times daily for up to 3 months might control blood sugar as effectively as metformin or rosiglitazone.”

Important note: While the reported clinical evidence might be slim for these ingredients individually, in our conversation with President Jennifer Brooks, we were told that GOLO holds clinical evidence that the specific combination of these ingredients is effective. However, we didn’t review this evidence firsthand.

Will Release’s Ingredients Cause Any Side Effects?

The GOLO website tells us that “There are no known side effects and no adverse events have been reported in over 5 years of sales of the Release supplement,” and that it’s safe for pre-diabetics and type 2 diabetics.

As a result, if you experience any side effects at all, authoritative websites like WebMD and Examine.com tell us they probably won’t be worse than mild digestive upset. Specifically, this relates to magnesium, zinc, chromium, inositol, and salacia. This doesn't necessarily always apply to GOLO's Release supplement as they have a proprietary compound blend.

Has GOLO Performed Any Clinical Studies on Their Weight Loss Diet Program?

Note: Summaries of all these studies could be found in GOLO’s Trial Summaries PDF linked to from the Clinical Studies page of their website.

GOLO’s 2010 Study Measuring Weight, BMI, Body Fat, Visceral Fat, & Metabolic Age

According to the summary of the study listed on GOLO’s Trial Summary page, as well as the copy provided to us by GOLO’s support staff, this 26-week study was completed in October 2010, and involved 35 volunteers (11 male and 24 female), all of which were classified as overweight or obese.

All participants adhered to GOLO’s dietary plan, exercised regularly, and took the Release nutraceutical supplement.

In the end, “The 35 subjects (which include the control group results) lost an average of 20.6 pounds in 90 days and 30.9 pounds over 6 months or an average of 1.58 pounds and 1.19 pounds on average per week.”

Participants also “achieved significant reductions in waist circumference and body size, and lowered their health risk factors.”

Therefore, they concluded, “The USA study findings are consistent with previous results achieved in South Africa thereby suggesting that the Program demonstrates the potential to help overweight and obese individuals lose weight more effectively while obtaining health benefits including the reduction in risk factors and the reversal of Metabolic Syndrome and pre-diabetes.”

What are the previous results they’re referencing?

90-Day & 25-Week Studies

While the GOLO website mentions that several open trials were completed between 2009 and 2014, they only reference two:

  • A 90-day study showing that participants lost an average of 25 pounds, or 2.1 pounds per week, on the complete program and 16.9 pounds more than the control group (those who chose not to take the Release supplement).

  • A 25-week study showing that participants lost an average of 28.4 pounds, or 1.1 pounds per week, on the complete program, and 16.4 pounds more than the control group. Participants lost 3.4 inches more around the waist than the control group.

Bringing It All Together

The reality is that most people who burn 500 more calories than they eat every day lose about 1-2 pounds per week with their healthy (i.e. non-crash) diets. Which seems in line with what GOLO’s participants experienced in the clinical trials we just discussed.

So, while the GOLO diet might not be clinically shown to help you lose more weight than any other healthy diet, the evidence indicates it might help you get in a habit of eating nutritious foods that can put you on a path to weight loss.

Coming back around to our insulin resistance conversation from earlier, the more detailed copy of the October 2010 study we received from customer support found:

After 3 months 47.1% of the subjects (17 subjects or 48%) that were pre-diabetic at the beginning of the study reversed their pre-diabetic status. After 6 months the pre-diabetic status reduced by 70.6%.

Taking all of this together, we were left with three main thoughts:

What does this seem to indicate? First, while it’s positive this evidence indicates that many GOLO trial participants were able to reduce their pre-diabetic status, nothing is referenced in the study about helping otherwise healthy (i.e. non-prediabetic) individuals improve the maintenance, performance, or optimization of their insulin.

And remember; based on how the plan is advertised, GOLO is targeted at the latter.

Do these results provide a balanced view? Second, the study also doesn’t tell us by what percentage other healthy eating programs (the Mediterranean diet, as but one example) might be able to reduce instances of pre-diabetes, for comparison.

After all, it’s well known that eating a balanced diet and getting enough exercise are the best methods of avoiding insulin resistance—or getting back to normal if you already are.

What is the quality of these studies? Finally, according to B. Sibbald and M. Roland of the National Primary Care Research and Development Centre at the University of Manchester:

“Randomised controlled trials are the most rigorous way of determining whether a cause≠effect relation exists between treatment and outcome and for assessing the cost effectiveness of a treatment.”

From the more detailed 2010 trial summarization provided to us by a GOLO representative, we learned:

“While this study was primarily relying on the control data from the South African studies, 5 subjects of the 35 subjects were provided with just the diet, behavior and exercise components of the Program to assess the efficacy of the supplements.”

However, we’re not told exactly how any of the other trials were controlled, so we can’t gain any insight into their level of quality.

In addition to randomized control, the peer review process helps greatly increase the likelihood that any submitted study is of the highest quality, since this indicates that recognized experts in the relevant field have reviewed it for accuracy.

In the instance of GOLO, their Trial Summaries information didn’t indicate that their studies were published in any authoritative journal or peer reviewed.

How Much Does GOLO Weight Loss Diet Program Cost?

The GOLO Program (and its Release supplement) is available through three purchasing options:

  • 30-Day Supply (90 capsules): $49.95
  • 60-Day Supply: $69.90
  • 90-Day Supply: $89.95

During checkout, you’ll be presented with several upgrades:

  • Add a 30-Day Rescue Plan for a Friend or Family Member: $49.95
  • The GOLO Perfect 5 Resistance Band & Booklet: $29.95
  • Expedited Shipping (2-3 business day arrival): $6.95

Important note: Unlike the vast majority of other weight loss supplements whose websites, marketing, and billing models the HighYa team has researched, we think it’s positive that there is no autoship program associated with the GOLO supplement, or auto-renewal for the MyGOLO.com membership.

All GOLO orders come with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, which you can request by calling 800-880-4656 or sending an email to support@golo.com.

Our Final Thoughts About the GOLO Weight Loss Diet

Here’s the bottom line: We didn’t test the GOLO Diet program ourselves, but based on what we discovered from authoritative websites, the real, whole foods you’ll be eating can certainly help manage your blood glucose levels.

Will this necessarily translate into greater success than with other weight loss programs? Ultimately, since each of our physiologies is so different, there’s no way to know for sure without giving it a try.

With this said, GOLO seems to come with mostly positive feedback from HighYa readers, who had given the weight loss system an average rating of 2.8 stars at the time of our research.

According to reviewers who have claimed to use the product, common compliments referenced effective weight loss results, ease of use (including shopping for food), improved blood readings, reduced cravings, and affordability.

On the other hand, common complaints seemed to reference no results and side effects like fatigue and upset stomach. Fortunately, a company representative directly addressed many of these concerns promptly.

After all, as the Centers for Disease Control notes, exercise is a must-have component if you’re looking to lose weight and keep it off. We think this is an important consideration to keep in mind, although adding exercise to your day could be as simple as walking.

Next, we feel it’s important to reiterate that GOLO is transparent about their billing (according to their site), have clinical trials for their program (although not all were controlled and none appear to have been peer-reviewed), and openly display their Facebook reviews.

Many on the GOLO team have extensive experience in the industry, including GOLO’s co-developer, Dr. Conrad Smith, and Dr. Keith Ablow, a Johns Hopkins School of Medicine graduate.

Dr. Terry Shirvani has a pre-med undergraduate degree, a degree in Chinese Medicine from Pacific College of Oriental Medicine, and a doctorate in Naturopathic Medicine from National College of Natural Medicine, according to his Linkedin Profile.

President Jennifer Brooks trained in Holistic Nutrition, Mind Body Transformational Psychology, and Fitness Nutrition at the Southwest Institute of Healing Arts.

This is definitely a good sign that a team with such credentials stand behind the GOLO Weight Loss Diet Program.

Just keep in mind that, whether it’s GOLO or any other diet plan, it’s important that you always seek professional medical advice from your doctor before beginning. After all, while what we’ve written here is based on publicly available information and subsequent opinion, it should never take the place of speaking with a licensed physician.

Editor's Note: This article is based on information taken from www.golo.com as of March 2017. Information on GOLO's company website is subject to change, please visit main company website for latest information.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

31 Customer Reviews for GOLO

Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 52% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 31
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I love Golo!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started Golo on May 11, 2017 and I am on my 11th week and I have lost 17 pounds. I love Golo's clean eating of real food. I have been able to reduce my insulin by 55% and my A1c went from 7.8 in April 2017 to 5.9 on 6/10/17.

    I previously was on a lowfat/nonfat 1200 calorie diet taking medication, which was continuously increased to help with stress eating which stopped working and I gained 52 pounds back due to the stress eating. Yes, I take responsibility for the weight gain too.

    Golo is different and the supplement helps with the stress eating and helps with sleeping so much better. Golo isn't a quick weight loss program it is a life changing program for a lifetime. Golo provides a weekly menu and shopping plan with recipes. I use the Matrix Food Card and choose what I am going to eat using the portion size and components of the plan for each meal. We are not forced to eating the weekly menu. It is designed for people that need more structure and prefer a menu plan.

    Golo is not something we will want to change doing after we reach our goal weight to go back to poor eating habits. Have I made mistakes so far? YES! I just start each day new to achieve my goal. The Golo Support Team is totally helpful and caring.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    GOLO, the best plan and healthy lifestyle

    • Savannah, Georgia,
    • Jul 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have struggled with my weight all my life. I have tried every crash diet out there on the market to lose weight and just turn around to gain it back. I had gained a lot of weight in the last few years, with the loss of my father (and I was an emotional eater), I was always turning to food to be my comfort!

    One night I was watching television with my husband, and the GOLO commercial came across the screen and from what I heard, it sounded interesting. So I went to the website to check it out, and that was the best decision I have ever made when it comes to my health. So I placed my order at the end of February. I received the GOLO Plan and the Release, an all natural supplement.

    I started on March 8, 2017, my weight was 289 lbs. I start out on a 7 Day Kick Start Plan, which is to help detox your body with proper nutrition to fuel our body properly and not starve you. After the kick starts you continue your healthy journey by making your meals from the right amount of proteins, vegetables, carbohydrates, fats, called the MATRIX MEAL PLAN.

    As I continue the so many benefits from the GOLO Plan and the Release beside weight loss, I sleep so very good, have way more energy, and my mood is a lot better. Also, my skin used to be so dry, and it is no longer that way, I never crave sweets, and I am never hungry. I have IBS that is no longer bothering me. My legs used to hurt just about every day and night, making it hard to do my daily work, but they do not bother me anymore!

    GOLO is NOT another diet, it is a lifestyle change! It is NOT another scam! I am so very thankful that the great people from GOLO came up with the best healthy eating plan that is out there. There is no way that GOLO won't work unless you continue to eat unhealthily and not follow the Plan and take the Release. I have been on GOLO for 18 weeks, and I have lost a total of 66 lbs. My present weight is 223, and I have 58 lbs to go, but I am not concerned with that, because I know I will reach my goal, because of the great GOLO Plan and the Release supplement!

    So if you want to get healthy and feel awesome, why don't you come and join me and the rest of the "GOLOer's" and be healthy too! I promise you will not regret it. Your health is worth it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    So far I am loving GOLO

    • New Mexico,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had trouble with weight loss for the past 7 years. I had tried everything. Then my dad told me about GOLO. I ordered it and now have been using GOLO for 2 weeks and have lost 12lbs already! I'm so happy with this product. I have slightly changed my diet and do light exercising. I really didn't expect to lose the weight that quick. I will continue to order GOLO.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    A Real Plan for Life!

    I have been using the GOLO plan with the Release supplement since April 2, 2017. I have had great success following the eating plan and taking the Release supplement. I have lost over 30 pounds and feel great, have more energy and sleep like a baby. I am excited to make clean eating a part of my life, and my family's life. I buy and cook amazing produce and meats now, and we all feel better!

    I will continue to purchase Release until I reach my goal, and I will keep eating this way for the rest of my life. It's the first sustainable plan I have ever tried. I'm so excited!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Just another failure

    I have been taking GOLO for over two months and have lost no weight at all, nothing. I was hoping this supplement would be the real deal, but no, it is just like all the other products out there; it doesn't work. I'll be asking for my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 12, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Geri!

      I am sorry to hear that you have not had success with GOLO. Our plan works best when followed as directed. Were you able to follow the meal plan that was provided in your Rescue Plan? We also offer coaching with our certified GOLO coaches 7 days a week. If you are following it without success many times people find that they might just need to make a few tweaks to start seeing results. Please give us a call at 800-730-4656 and we would be happy to help you! :)

      Sincerely,

      Eden C.

      Director of Customer Service

    • Aug 11, 2017

      Isabel A.

      I ordered GOLO and felt that I was misled with their information. The website says GOLO will not interfere with any medications you may currently be taking. Then the bottle comes and says to check with your doctor before taking this product. I took the product to my doctor and he decided this was not the product for me because of the medication I am on.

      I will be returning the product and have already been told I will get a full refund. Thank goodness! People like me with a weight problem, are always looking for help and a lot of times are ready to go for anything new that comes up. I have decided to get surgical intervention and stop the merry-go-round of diet pills. These companies need to be more clear with the information they put out there.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Another supplement joke

    • California,
    • Jul 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely no help. Zero results! Swallowing air is just as effective.

    Their "no hassle refund" is a BIG HASSLE!

    What can I say? I fell prey to the insulin resistance angle they use in their advertising. I thought, maybe this one is different than all the other diet scams I tried. I was wrong! GOLO, in my experience, is just another high-priced combination of cheap ingredients in a capsule that does NOTHING!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 7, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi David!

      We are sorry to hear that you did not have the results you expected on GOLO. Our return policy is, in fact, no hassle. All you need to do is contact Customer Support within the 60 days and request a Return Authorization. We email it to you the same day, then you return the product. Once we receive it, a refund will be issued to your credit card with 7-10 days. All of this is clearly stated on our website, www.golo.com. I reviewed our records and see that you spoke with Customer Support on 7/6/17 and we did send you a Return Authorization. Should you have further questions regarding this process, please feel free to contact me directly.

      Sincerely,

      Eden C.

      800-730-4656

    • Jul 7, 2017

      David James

      Your return policy is A BIG HASSLE! In your response to my truthful review, you wrote all I have to do is “return the product”. This is NOT TRUE.

      You failed to mention the threat from your customer support agent, “If you don't return every little booklet that was sent with your order, in the same box with the empty bottles and all unused GOLO capsules, you will not receive a refund!” And I don't know anyone who doesn't think that going to a supply store to purchase a box and packing materials, then going to the Post Office and standing in line for 30 minutes and paying $8.00 for postage is not a hassle! You may like doing all this and standing in line at the Post Office, but most people would call this a hassle.

      You also wrote, “Once we receive it, a refund will be issued to your credit card with 7-10 days.” This is also not true. It is not “Once you receive it" as you wrote in your response! You also failed to mention that if the “Return Authorization” is not Post Marked within 7 days from the day you sent the "Return Authorization" email, that no refund will be issued.

      The fact is that all of your tedious and specific rules have to be performed exactly in order to obtain a refund and that IS A BIG HASSLE!

      You also wrote, “We are sorry to hear that you did not have the results you expected on GOLO.” This also is not true. I did not have the results you ADVERTISED that I would have.

    • Jul 10, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      David,

      In the return instructions we do request that you "return all items received including empty bottles". We do not require that it comes in the same box it was delivered in. This is a fairly standard request when you are wanting a refund. If for some reason you do not have all of the bottles, we can always make an exception. All you have to do is ask. :) Yes, we do issue refunds within 7-10 days after the item is received. Yes, there is a timeframe on when the item is to be postmarked, this is so that we can keep appropriate records. Should you not be able to ship the item within 7 days, all you need to do is contact us for a new RA# and we will provide that to you the same day. :)

      As far as your results go, GOLO works best when followed as directed. Several other factors come into play as well such as age, medications and how closely the plan is followed. Most customers see some type of results within the first 2-4 weeks when following the plan as it is laid out. It looks as if you had the product for a little over 1 month at the time you requested the return. Without speaking to you about how the plan was followed I would be unable to speak as to why the plan did not work for you. However I am available at anytime to discuss with you in more detail. You can reach me at 800-730-4656 9am - 5:30pm Monday through Friday.

      Sincerely,

      Eden C.

      Director of Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first three times of usage was okay. My last order was in April and May 2017. I gained, to date, 25 pounds back. UNBELIEVABLE. I called GOLO on June 15, 2017, and spoke to a very rude customer service representative named Cassie, who continuously talked over me, sighing on the phone and refused to get me to a supervisor. The conversation ended with Cassie suggesting that I no longer order GOLO.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 19, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Barbara!

      I enjoyed speaking with you this morning regarding your questions and am so glad that we were able to discuss and work out the issues. Since everything was ended amicably, I am hopeful that this review can now be removed. Please contact me with any further questions! 800-730-4656

      Sincerely,

      Eden C.

      Director of Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 49 people found this review helpful

    It's not working for me

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been following a calorie count and taking the pills as per the instructions and have lost no weight. I am even walking and cannot lose weight. This is very disappointing. I was hoping this plan would work, but it's just like any other diet plan making promises but not delivering.

    I really was hoping GOLO was the answer I needed. I was really interested in this plan because I've tried others that didn't work.

    Well be wary what you read and consult your doctor first, which I didn't, and learned later that he didn't think it would work. Well, lesson learned.

    Now I'm going back to a nutritionist to get an eating clean plan that will fall in line with my needs and body type. I hope this will work because GOLO did not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi John!

      I notice that you say you were "following a calorie count" but GOLO does not want you to count calories. In fact, we never want you to have to do that again!

      If you were following a different plan then the one that came with your kit, that is probably why you didn't see the results you hoped for. The biggest problem with diets is that most people don't eat enough when on them. That is why we included a detailed plan to help you learn how to EAT to lose weight. Most of our customers are shocked that they are able to eat so much food and still lose!

      I would be happy to assist you personally with your eating plan (remember we offer FREE coaching to all of our customers). Give me a call 800-730-GOLO!

      Sincerely,

      Eden C.

      Director of Customer Service

    • Jun 1, 2017

      John Heil

      I was following your plan and counted calories. It's not for everyone. My doctor didn't think it would work for me. It didn't. I should have listened to my doctor. Lesson learned.

    • Jun 5, 2017

      Vicki

      Is this recommended for someone on Warfarin?

    • Jun 6, 2017

      John Heil

      You should definitely consult with your physician.

    • Jun 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Vicki,

      GOLO has no known drug interactions or side effects, however, if you have specific questions regarding your scripts we recommend that you speak with your physician before starting this or any weight loss program. If you have further questions, please feel free to reach out to me directly 800-730-GOLO (4656)

      Sincerely,

      Eden C.

      Director of Customer Service

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 152 out 174 people found this review helpful

    Best program!

    • Lake Worth, FL,
    • Feb 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried SO many different programs and diets, and nothing has worked. I saw GOLO advertised on TV, but I thought it was just another gimmick. When my husband saw it, he researched it and told me to try it.

    I did the seven-day kickstart program, and after the week was up, I weighed myself and just about fell over; I lost eight pounds! I didn't always eat exactly what was in the kickstart program because I didn't like everything, but I substituted with something similar. I like how I can have fruit and potatoes, and even bread! I don't understand the insulin thing, but it's definitely working. I'm not hungry, and I'm not craving other foods.

    I am so happy I found this program!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (11)
    View all 11 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

    • Mar 25, 2017

      Patricia Bell

      Would try it.

    • May 20, 2017

      Larry parchman

      I need to lose at least 40 lbs, but I haven't been able to lose any.

    • May 25, 2017

      Diane A

      On 6/1/2017, I'll be ordering the GOLO diet, along with this I'm ordering a mini stepper to use for exercising. My Doctor advised me against using a treadmill. He did okay the GOLO Diet. It seemed like there is another patient that plans to start the diet in June also. So we had to get a beginning weight of 209.6 pounds. I seem to be the lower from the two of us.

      I'm looking forward to a diet that will work with my Celiac disease. Your diet will allow me to use the product that I can eat. Others want you to bus their food products. So thanks for having a diet that everyone can use. I looking forward to using this product and I will keep you posted on my success.

      Diane

    • May 26, 2017

      Amalia Torres

      I need to lose up to 75 pounds, will GOLO help me? I've tried all kinds of things and I'll only lose five pounds. I really need to do something because I decided to get the sleeve or lap band. So please tell me that this will work for a 220-pound 5-foot tall lady.

    • Jun 4, 2017

      Carol Beauford

      I'm 62 years old, I have been struggling with being overweight for years and nothing seems to work. I've seen the TV ad about GOLO, and I'm considering to give it a try but I am skeptical. I already lost so much money. I'm tired of throwing away money and not getting any results.

    • Jun 7, 2017

      Mark

      Carol, Golo has a 60-day money back guarantee. You cannot lose. Go Google GOLO there is no bad press on this Company. They are legit.

    • Jun 9, 2017

      James C Love Jr.

      I have that beer belly and I take 130 units of insulin a day. I can't lose weight. I want to try this, but how long do I need to use it for?

    • Jun 11, 2017

      hazel webb

      I need the price.

    • Jun 14, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi James!

      GOLO is designed to be phased out as you reach your goal weight. On average our customers lose 1-2 lbs per week and stay on Release for 3-6 months.

    • Jun 14, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Hazel!

      All prices are listed on our website, www.golo.com. You can also give us a call at 800-730-4656.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 91 out 98 people found this review helpful

    My new way of life

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Prior to GOLO, I have tried everything; shakes, no carb, low carb, dairy free, you name it. I decided to try GOLO because I felt out of control, and I looked like it too.

    I took a day or two to go over the meal plans and system and then did my shopping. The food choices are so open. This eating really becomes what you want it to be, with the exception of processed food. The inches came off quicker than the pounds, but at day 53, I had lost 20 lbs and 6 inches off my waist. You will never worry about going hungry, as the food is plentiful. You can still have dairy and bread and lose weight.

    I am now down 30 lbs and two pant sizes. This is it for me. The GOLO way of life is mine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you. Please keep us informed of your progress! Happy GOLOing!

    • Jun 8, 2017

      Janell bagot

      I would love to try this.

    • Jun 9, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Janell!

      Please give us a call or visit our website for more info! www.golo.com or 800-730-4656

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 170 out 187 people found this review helpful

    Does it work?

    • Arkansas,
    • Dec 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I needed something that was safe & didn't make me sick to my stomach taking it. I had tried Metformin (which made my stomach a mess & is no longer prescribed by doctors). I read a review that said Golo was a scam but I'm not one for gossip & figured if none of them died after trying it I'd give it a shot. I used it for 2-3 months then went for a clinical blood test. When the doctor reviewed the blood test she said "Now that's what we like to see! Your A1c is 7." I don't know anything about A1c but she was happy 'til I told her I wasn't taking any of the sugar meds they had prescribed but was taking Golo. I haven't been trying to lose weight and I haven't been going with any foods I like either. At 73 I want to enjoy my foods before I kick the bucket & this is no scam Folks. This supplement does feed the pancreas & did the job for me. I was diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic at 36. I'm 73 now so if this works for me imagine what it can do for a younger person.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2017

      Need4Sneed

      A GOLO company representative obviously wrote this review. I am a type 2 diabetic, and I know several another type 2 diabetics. There is no way that a person with diabetes (especially one who has been for 37 years) would say what they stated in the above review:

      "I don't know anything about A1c, but she was happy 'til I told her I wasn't taking any of my sugar medication they had prescribed except GOLO."

      HbA1c is one of the most crucial numbers to be aware of as a type 2 diabetic because it defines an average of blood glucose and insulin activity in one period. I've never heard of anyone with diabetes who doesn't know their latest A1c level (my last A1c was 5.9) because this number defines your treatment path.

      If I'm wrong about you working for GOLO, then you are clearly someone who shouldn't be giving any advice on diabetic health issues. I'm sorry, but any recommendation from a person with diabetes who doesn't know about A1c levels, especially their A1c, is a recommendation that should be ignored.

      Good day, J.

    • Feb 8, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress! Happy GOLOing.

    • Aug 6, 2017

      Stella

      Would I be able to follow the food plan even though I am vegetarian? Please advise.

    • Aug 10, 2017

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Stella!

      Yes, you can follow a vegetarian diet on GOLO! Please give us a call with questions at 800-730-4656.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 31

Write a Review for GOLO!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review