About GOLO

Boasted as the number one searched diet on Google for 2016, GOLO’s 30-Day Rescue Plan promises to help you improve your insulin management and efficiency, boost your weight loss, and maintain your results for the long-term—without ever having to “diet” again.

Combined with their Release supplement, a healthy eating plan, and exercise, GOLO claims to help you get off the diet roller coaster for good. They want you to succeed and never diet again.

How does GOLO Diet help you accomplish this and what kinds of results might you expect?

We had the opportunity to speak with the company and learn more about their approach to weight loss, all aimed at helping you find answers to your most important questions and overall capture their vision for their customers.

We did not use the product on ourselves, but based on dialogue with the company and publicly available information located at GOLO’s website and third party website such as WebMD, we simply formed an observation and review of what the GOLO Diet plan involves and what ingredients are used.

How Does GOLO’s 30-Day Rescue Plan Work?

Speaking with GOLO’s President Jennifer Brooks, who is also a board certified holistic nutritionist, as well as Eden Covington, Director of Social Media and Customer Service, we learned that the system is all about insulin management.

But if this immediately makes you think “diabetes,” this isn’t necessarily the case. How so?

Brooks explained the concept of insulin optimization like this: It’s an ideal state where your body doesn’t over or under-produce insulin. Instead, these levels remain steady instead of frequently spiking and crashing.

This is in sharp contrast to diabetics, who often don’t produce adequate insulin levels, or the cells inside their body can’t process the hormone.

Nonetheless, to accomplish this, Brooks told us that GOLO will help you regulate your glucose intake—versus counting calories—by eating properly, consuming real foods, and giving your body the proper nutrition it needs.

By doing this, GOLO’s website claims that you can achieve “amazing results in seven days,” although if you stick with the program for 90 days, you can expect to lose 4” off your waist, drop two or more dress sizes, boost your energy and vitality, improve how you feel and sleep, and lower your stress and anxiety.

Overall, the GOLO Rescue plan contains three main components: the Release supplement, the meal plan, and a free one-year membership to myGOLO.com.

Release™ Patented Supplement

Using all-natural, plant-based ingredients scoured from all across the planet and manufactured in California (again, according to the GOLO website), their Release supplement promises to help you optimize insulin performance and increase cell receptor sensitivity, and even to stand in for insulin when it’s not functioning normally.

As a result, we’re told by the company’s site that Release can provide powerful metabolic support by promoting fat release, controlling glucose to stop weight gain and reduce cravings, healing metabolic dysfunction, and balancing hormones to improve mood and reduce stress.

According to GOLO, you’ll need to take one Release soft gel during the middle of each meal, and it will optimize your insulin, prevent weight gain, and support the use of stored fat. All without caffeine, other stimulants, or side effects.

Then, after your insulin has been optimized, you can gradually phase out your use of the supplement. Golo states that most people take the Release Supplement for 3-6 months.

Important Note: GOLO states that if you have Type 1 Diabetes, you should consult with your physician prior to taking the Release supplement. Also, if you're currently pregnant or breastfeeding, GOLO does not recommend taking Release Supplement.

Metabolic Fuel Matrix™

Instead of depriving yourself, which can lead to hunger and fatigue and create isolation, GOLO’s Metabolic Fuel Matrix eating plan focuses on feeding your body real, whole foods that deliver the right balance of micro and macronutrients (including carbs, protein, vegetables, and fats) to help further stabilize your insulin levels.

As a result, you can expect to remain full and energized, reduce hunger and cravings, and learn the right combinations of healthy foods that will promote weight loss—which can also help you to maintain your weight once you’ve reached your goals.

According to Covington, while every GOLO member will eat three well-balanced Matrix Meals per day, exactly how much food you’ll consume will depend on your personal metabolic rate; more commonly known as your energy needs. This is something you’ll do as soon as you begin.

The Fuel section of GOLO’s website also explains that you’ll get to pick the foods you want from their plan to personalize to your needs, including whole foods like butter, eggs, meats, fruits and vegetables, and grains—including pasta and bread.

Furthermore, their ‘Creating Matrix Meals’ guide shows you how to prepare these delicious, family-friendly (and insulin-friendly) meals in minutes.

MyGOLO.com Membership

Your myGOLO membership gives you access to online tracking (although we were unable to locate an explanation of what you're tracking) and up to date information on health, food, and fitness.

You’ll also be able to download printable shopping lists and special edition seasonal menus, along with restaurant cards to help you stay on track, even when eating out.

Finally, your MyGOLO membership can help provide support and guidance on the GOLO lifestyle.

What Are We Going To Cover In This GOLO Review?

Alright, now that we’ve covered the basics of the GOLO plan, it’s time to take look into their claims.

Below, we’re going to discuss the four most important questions surrounding this diet program:

  • Is there a meaningful difference between insulin resistance and insulin maintenance?
  • What kinds of results can you expect with GOLO’s weight loss program?
  • Do the ingredients contained in GOLO’s supplement help boost weight loss (whether by boosting insulin optimization, or any other mechanism)?
  • Does GOLO have any clinical proof for the efficacy of their program?

Is There a Meaningful Difference Between Insulin Resistance & Insulin Maintenance?

It’s important to point out that, while the term ‘insulin resistance’ is mentioned six times in the first section of GOLO’s website, the program doesn’t claim to help address this condition.

Instead, to reiterate, GOLO only references insulin maintenance, performance, and optimization. Is there a meaningful difference, though?

In short, yes. Insulin resistance is a medically recognized condition where the body can’t easily absorb glucose from the bloodstream. If left unchecked, this could eventually lead to prediabetes and type 2 diabetes.

On the other hand, terms like insulin ‘maintenance,’ ‘performance,’ and ‘optimization’ are much fuzzier. Why?

In a nutshell, searching authoritative sites like the National Institutes of Health, Medscape, and EndocrineWeb (to name just a few), these terms are often used when discussing diabetes management. However, none of these sites we encountered drew a direct relationship between insulin management and weight loss, or weight management.

Interviewed for a recent Women’s Health article, diabetes educator Jessica Crandall, R.D.N., explains that a possible reason for this gap between the existing terminology and GOLO’s claims is that, “while insulin resistance can cause obesity, prediabetes, and type 2 diabetes, it can't be controlled the way the diet claims it can.”

Further clarifying, Crandall adds that “there's no way to change how insulin "performs." Though you can increase your body's insulin sensitivity, that has nothing to do with the way insulin does its job. In other words, "insulin performance" isn’t a thing.”

What is Known About the Ingredients in GOLO’s Release Supplement?

At the time of the research, according to the website, here’s what the GOLO’s Release™ supplement contains:

Other ingredients include organic flaxseed oil, gelatin capsule (gelatin, glycerin, purified water, annatto), yellow beeswax, sunflower lecithin.

According to WebMD, “Early research suggests that consuming salacia tea with each meal might lower hemoglobin A1C (HbA1C) levels in people with type 2 diabetes. HbA1C is a measure of blood sugar control.”

WebMD also indicates that, “Berberine seems to slightly reduce blood sugar levels in people with diabetes. Also, some early research suggests that taking 500 mg of berberine 2-3 times daily for up to 3 months might control blood sugar as effectively as metformin or rosiglitazone.”

However, because both the salacia and berberine in Release are part of a proprietary blend, we’re not told by GOLO how much it contains. And without this information, we can’t refer to authoritative websites like WebMD and Examine.com about whether or not it’s enough to provide any of these results.

Outside of salacia though, websites like WebMD and Examine.com report insufficient clinical evidence showing any of Release’s other ingredients—including magnesium, zinc, chromium, banaba extract, inositol, rhodiola extract, gardenia, or apple fruit extract—will help normalize your insulin levels or aid in weight loss.

Important note: While the reported clinical evidence might be slim for these ingredients individually, in our conversation with President Jennifer Brooks, we were told that GOLO holds clinical evidence that the specific combination of these ingredients is effective. However, we didn’t review this evidence firsthand.

Will Release’s Ingredients Cause Any Side Effects?

The GOLO website tells us that “There are no known side effects and no adverse events have been reported in over 5 years of sales of the Release supplement,” and that it’s safe for pre-diabetics and type 2 diabetics.

As a result, if you experience any side effects at all, authoritative websites like WebMD and Examine.com tell us they probably won’t be worse than mild digestive upset. Specifically, this relates to magnesium, zinc, chromium, inositol, and salacia.

However, according to WebMD, “Routine zinc supplementation is not recommended without the advice of a healthcare professional.”

Also, depending on dosage (remember, this ingredient is part of a proprietary blend), WebMD indicates gardenia “might work as a laxative and cause diarrhea when taken by mouth.”

For some ingredients, like banaba leaf and barberry, we’re told not enough is known about them to understand potential side effects, as well as short or long-term safety. And while clinical studies have shown that short-term rhodiola use is safe, its long-term safety is largely unknown.

Has GOLO Performed Any Clinical Studies on Their Weight Loss Diet Program?

Note: Summaries of all these studies could be found in GOLO’s Trial Summaries PDF linked to from the Clinical Studies page of their website.

GOLO’s 2010 Study Measuring Weight, BMI, Body Fat, Visceral Fat, & Metabolic Age

According to the summary of the study listed on GOLO’s Trial Summary page, as well as the copy provided to us by GOLO’s support staff, this 26-week study was completed in October 2010, and involved 35 volunteers (11 male and 24 female), all of which were classified as overweight or obese.

All participants adhered to GOLO’s dietary plan, exercised regularly, and took the Release nutraceutical supplement.

In the end, “The 35 subjects (which include the control group results) lost an average of 20.6 pounds in 90 days and 30.9 pounds over 6 months or an average of 1.58 pounds and 1.19 pounds on average per week.”

Participants also “achieved significant reductions in waist circumference and body size, and lowered their health risk factors.”

Therefore, they concluded, “The USA study findings are consistent with previous results achieved in South Africa thereby suggesting that the Program demonstrates the potential to help overweight and obese individuals lose weight more effectively while obtaining health benefits including the reduction in risk factors and the reversal of Metabolic Syndrome and pre-diabetes.”

What are the previous results they’re referencing?

90-Day & 25-Week Studies

While the GOLO website mentions that several open trials were completed between 2009 and 2014, they only reference two:

  • A 90-day study showing that participants lost an average of 25 pounds, or 2.1 pounds per week, on the complete program and 16.9 pounds more than the control group (those who chose not to take the Release supplement).

  • A 25-week study showing that participants lost an average of 28.4 pounds, or 1.1 pounds per week, on the complete program, and 16.4 pounds more than the control group. Participants lost 3.4 inches more around the waist than the control group.

Bringing It All Together

The reality is that most people who burn 500 more calories than they eat every day lose about 1-2 pounds per week with their healthy (i.e. non-crash) diets. Which seems in line with what GOLO’s participants experienced in the clinical trials we just discussed.

So, while the GOLO diet might not be clinically shown to help you lose more weight than any other healthy diet, the evidence indicates it might help you get in a habit of eating nutritious foods that can put you on a path to weight loss.

Coming back around to our insulin resistance conversation from earlier, the more detailed copy of the October 2010 study we received from customer support found:

After 3 months 47.1% of the subjects (17 subjects or 48%) that were pre-diabetic at the beginning of the study reversed their pre-diabetic status. After 6 months the pre-diabetic status reduced by 70.6%.

Taking all of this together, we were left with three main thoughts:

What does this seem to indicate? First, while it’s positive this evidence indicates that many GOLO trial participants were able to reduce their pre-diabetic status, nothing is referenced in the study about helping otherwise healthy (i.e. non-prediabetic) individuals improve the maintenance, performance, or optimization of their insulin.

And remember; based on how the plan is advertised, GOLO is targeted at the latter.

Do these results provide a balanced view? Second, the study also doesn’t tell us by what percentage other healthy eating programs (the Mediterranean diet, as but one example) might be able to reduce instances of pre-diabetes, for comparison.

After all, it’s well known that eating a balanced diet and getting enough exercise are the best methods of avoiding insulin resistance—or getting back to normal if you already are.

What is the quality of these studies? Finally, according to B. Sibbald and M. Roland of the National Primary Care Research and Development Centre at the University of Manchester:

“Randomised controlled trials are the most rigorous way of determining whether a cause≠effect relation exists between treatment and outcome and for assessing the cost effectiveness of a treatment.”

From the more detailed 2010 trial summarization provided to us by a GOLO representative, we learned:

“While this study was primarily relying on the control data from the South African studies, 5 subjects of the 35 subjects were provided with just the diet, behavior and exercise components of the Program to assess the efficacy of the supplements.”

However, we’re not told exactly how any of the other trials were controlled, so we can’t gain any insight into their level of quality.

In addition to randomized control, the peer review process helps greatly increase the likelihood that any submitted study is of the highest quality, since this indicates that recognized experts in the relevant field have reviewed it for accuracy.

In the instance of GOLO, their Trial Summaries information didn’t indicate that their studies were published in any authoritative journal or peer reviewed.

How Much Does GOLO Weight Loss Diet Program Cost?

The GOLO Program (and its Release supplement) is available through three purchasing options:

  • 30-Day Supply (90 capsules): $49.95
  • 60-Day Supply: $69.90
  • 90-Day Supply: $89.95

During checkout, you’ll be presented with several upgrades:

  • Add a 30-Day Rescue Plan for a Friend or Family Member: $49.95
  • The GOLO Perfect 5 Resistance Band & Booklet: $29.95
  • Expedited Shipping (2-3 business day arrival): $6.95

Important note: Unlike the vast majority of other weight loss supplements whose websites, marketing, and billing models the HighYa team has researched, we think it’s positive that there is no autoship program associated with the GOLO supplement, or auto-renewal for the MyGOLO.com membership.

All GOLO orders come with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, which you can request by calling 800-880-4656 or sending an email to support@golo.com.

Our Final Thoughts About the GOLO Weight Loss Diet

Here’s the bottom line: We didn’t test the GOLO Diet program ourselves, but based on what we discovered from authoritative websites, the real, whole foods you’ll be eating can certainly help manage your blood glucose levels.

Will this necessarily translate into greater success than with other weight loss programs? Ultimately, since each of our physiologies is so different, there’s no way to know for sure without giving it a try.

With this said, GOLO seems to come with mostly positive feedback from HighYa readers, who had given the weight loss system an average rating of 2.8 stars at the time of our research.

According to reviewers who have claimed to use the product, common compliments referenced effective weight loss results, ease of use (including shopping for food), improved blood readings, reduced cravings, and affordability.

On the other hand, common complaints seemed to reference no results and side effects like fatigue and upset stomach. Fortunately, a company representative directly addressed many of these concerns promptly.

After all, as the Centers for Disease Control notes, exercise is a must-have component if you’re looking to lose weight and keep it off. We think this is an important consideration to keep in mind, although adding exercise to your day could be as simple as walking.

Next, we feel it’s important to reiterate that GOLO is transparent about their billing (according to their site), have clinical trials for their program (although not all were controlled and none appear to have been peer-reviewed), and openly display their Facebook reviews.

Many on the GOLO team have extensive experience in the industry, including GOLO’s co-developer, Dr. Conrad Smith, and Dr. Keith Ablow, a Johns Hopkins School of Medicine graduate.

Dr. Terry Shirvani has a pre-med undergraduate degree, a degree in Chinese Medicine from Pacific College of Oriental Medicine, and a doctorate in Naturopathic Medicine from National College of Natural Medicine, according to his Linkedin Profile.

President Jennifer Brooks trained in Holistic Nutrition, Mind Body Transformational Psychology, and Fitness Nutrition at the Southwest Institute of Healing Arts.

This is definitely a good sign that a team with such credentials stand behind the GOLO Weight Loss Diet Program.

Just keep in mind that, whether it’s GOLO or any other diet plan, it’s important that you always seek professional medical advice from your doctor before beginning. After all, while what we’ve written here is based on publicly available information and subsequent opinion, it should never take the place of speaking with a licensed physician.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Customer Reviews for GOLO

Average Customer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 11
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 310 out 361 people found this review helpful

    Don't Waste Your Time

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Feb 18, 2016

    I ordered the GOLO Starter Kit, and although their website says you have 40 days to return it if you aren't satisfied, they do NOT pay for the return shipping costs. They'll give you the $1.00 back, but big whoop, they can keep the dumb dollar! They pretty much hold your credit card hostage until they receive the box back, or they'll charge you the full amount.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2016

      Sabrina

      So what was wrong with the product that made you want to return it.

    • Apr 27, 2016

      Michelle

      It clearly states on several pages they charge a restocking fee and do not pay for return shipping. I suggest before ordering any product you read everything. One thing I noticed about this site is everything is in large text and super easy to read and understand. Any questions on how to read the rules, let me know.

    • Jun 28, 2016

      David Furst

      I imagine everyone has seen Keith Ablow on Fox & Friends. I didn't know he's a crook, but it is always buyer beware from Economics 101.

    • Jul 22, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Shannon, We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our return policy. You are correct we do not pay the return shipping on products sent back to us as we offer free shipping at the time of order. I am not sure what you mean by ‘hold your credit card hostage’ but most companies do not refund the amount you paid until you return the products to them. Our $1 trial gave our customers 40 days to decide if they wanted to keep it and we feel that was a fair amount of time.

      Sincerely,

      Jackie

      Customer Support Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 294 out 336 people found this review helpful

    I feel like I was deceived.

    Should have known the so called trial of this product was not what it seemed like to me at first. I did not sign up for anything more than the advertised $1 trial. Everything else they tried to get me to buy, I declined. I was charged the one dollar and was happy to try their product. Today, I was charged nearly $60 on my credit card. I have no idea what the charge is for. Don't get cheated by their too good to be true trial. I beginning to think it's never a good idea to give any of these online deals your credit card info. Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 17, 2016

      Lloyd King

      Thanks for your review. I agree with you, I'm also tired of using my credit card to pay the trial fees and then being billed later for something I did not sign up for. I advise you to use a prepaid card next time and don't put too much on it.

    • Jul 22, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Linda, We are sorry that there was some confusion with our $1 trial offer. At the time, our program was priced at $59.90, with a $1 trial offer. With that offer you received our complete plan for $1, plus free shipping. If at the end of 40 days we did not receive the product back, you were charged the balance of $58.90. Because you decided to keep the program, you were charged this amount. We do not ‘try to get you to buy anything’ but we did offer additional supplements at the time of order. If you chose additional supplements, you were still only charged the $1. We feel our offer was very fair and many people have benefited from having the ability to try our program before totally investing in it.

      Sincerely,

      Jackie

      Customer Support Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 268 out 285 people found this review helpful

    Unhappy!

    I saw the ad on TV and decided to order this, well the price was $39.99 so I thought I would definitely try this. When I checked out, it charged my credit card $109.00 not the $39.99! That should tell us all something. I immediately called their customer service. They were closed so I left a voice mail. It's been four days and no return call. It's a good thing I have my bank to dispute the charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 22, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Lynette, We are sorry that we were unable to return your call promptly. Our office hours are Monday-Friday 9-5 EST. We try to return calls and emails promptly so I apologize. According to our records we did credit you the amount that was ordered inadvertently and, because we were unable to stop the shipment, you were sent the additional products gratis. If that is incorrect, please contact us at 800-730-4656 to discuss. We look forward to hearing from you.

      Sincerely,

      Jackie

      Customer Support Manager

    • Aug 3, 2016

      kathleen Lynn

      I was going to try this product Golo. Like many others, I was able to lose 50 pounds but need to lose 75 lbs. more. I read the reviews. To me there are too many negative things about the product, specially about the refund. I decided that I will not take the chance of it not working and not being able to get my refund back. Too bad they don't have a better refund policy. It's their loss.

    • Aug 12, 2016

      Geneva

      I have been following the GOLO Weight Loss Diet for 6 weeks now; have lost 15 lbs and 4 inches off my waist. So it's working for me so far. But we must remember that what works for one may not work for the other. I also have not had any problems with my credit card getting charged double.

    • Aug 14, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Kathleen,

      GOLO comes with a 30 day money back guarantee that begins the day that you receive the product in the mail. We feel that this gives you time to start the program and see if it is right for you. Please feel free to call us directly if you have any further questions. We are available Monday through Fri from 9am to 5:30pm EST and Saturday & Sunday from 9am to 4pm EST.

    • Aug 20, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Congrats Geneva! That is wonderful progress.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 219 out 231 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT order this product.

    • TX,
    • Jun 19, 2016

    Ordered this for my Mom. She did not like the product after giving it a shot for over 2 weeks. Said it made her tired and irritable. Called the GOLO company to see about getting a refund. Their policy is 30 days FROM the date you order. So tell me why a company offering a bonafide​ weight loss product would have in essence a NO REFUND policy. Because they are crooks and know their product does NOT work and WILL NOT refund your money. 30 days from the date of order. (They could technically take 29 days to deliver it and then you would be totally screwed.) Even half way legit companies selling weight loss products give more than a 30 trial period. I would have rather put $90 on a roulette table. Better odds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 22, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Tracy, We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with GOLO. I can understand ‘not liking a product’, however, many things can make you feel tired and irritable when following a new eating program, especially if you eliminate processed food, caffeine, sugars or other foods. Note: Most supplement products are not returnable once opened. GOLO offers a 30 day money back guarantee, this is notated multiple times on our website and also in our terms and conditions. We have worked very hard to offer an affordable, healthy weight loss solution and feel our return policy is fair. Our orders are shipped promptly the following business day from the order date, and we offer 3 day priority shipping.

      If you would like to further discuss, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

      Sincerely,

      Jackie

      Customer Support Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 258 out 270 people found this review helpful

    GOLO Weight Loss Pills

    I was just looking at their website and had clicked on the 90 day plan. It automatically processes your order and doesn't give you an opportunity to actually "confirm" your order. I don't really see how I "saved" 30.00 either since one bottle is 29.95 anyway. So I was charged $89.85. I requested a cancelation on my order twice with no response from GOLO whatsoever. Due to being on vacation I could not refuse the package upon arrival. I don't see any return policy offered to the customers.

    Since taking this product I have not lost any weight whatsoever and I do not feel any different health-wise either. I have a couple of months worth of the product left but do not expect to see any results whatsoever. I have cleaned up my diet and have started an exercise regimen. I was hoping for a little jump start but am not seeing it at all with GOLO. I would not recommend this product to anyone. You'll only be losing weight in your wallet or bank account. I think losing weight with "a pill" is an impossibility and I'm going to quit buying these alleged weight loss pills from companies. Save your money. This product does not work at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 22, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Lisa, We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems while ordering GOLO. When you click the ‘order’ button, you are actually placing an order.

      Our 30 day plan (one bottle) is $39.95, not $29.95. With this plan you receive the Release supplement, our meal plan, free online membership and our other booklets to help you follow the program. I have personally reviewed our cancellation requests and we have had no luck finding one for your order. GOLO offers a 30 day money back guarantee on our program, this is notated multiple times on our website.

      If you would like to further discuss, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

      Sincerely,

      Jackie

      Customer Support Manager

    • Jul 23, 2016

      Lisa King

      Been taking it since I got it and haven't lost a pound. My refrigerator is broken so I'm eating less, plus since it is so hot here have just been eating salads and watermelons a lot. This product simply doesn't work and I wasted almost a hundred dollars on a three month supply. Seems like the majority of other reviewers have the same claim. Too bad you don't promote a product that actually works. Only thing that is getting lighter is your customers' pockets.

    • Aug 6, 2016

      Dorothy

      Want to try it.

    • Aug 14, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Dorothy,

      Please visit our site www.golo.com or give us a call at 1-800-730-4656

    • Aug 29, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Lisa,

      GOLO works best when followed as directed. If you aren't eating enough and/or the right combinations of foods you are working against the plan. Again, we would be more than happy to assist you with the plan GOLO coaches are available 7 days a week at 1-800-730-4656

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 193 out 207 people found this review helpful

    Another scam

    • CA,
    • Jun 26, 2016

    I did this and nothing happened. I thought I have insulin resistance, but if I do, this product made no difference. Keep your money and just eat a balanced diet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 22, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Paula, We are sorry to hear that you did not get the results you were looking for with GOLO. From this review we cannot tell how long you followed GOLO. Depending on how much weight you need to lose, current health status (including insulin resistance) and how closely you followed our plan, results will vary. Our program is not a ‘quick-fix’ or a ‘magic pill’, but a healthy, affordable and sustainable way to lose weight and improve your health.

      If you would like to further discuss your results, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

      Sincerely,

      Jackie

      Customer Support Manager

    • Jul 23, 2016

      Lisa King

      No one does. It doesn't work, it's a scam!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 170 out 185 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    I got this for my father and thought it would help him lose weight. He has been on GOLO for 120 days and has not lost anything at all. All it did was make him feel sick and made him very constipated. No one in this company ever calls you back. There is no refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 16, 2016

      Robin Vecchio

      There's more to "being on GOLO" that makes the program work. There's a comprehensive "health plan" that will make you lose weight & get healthier. There are plenty of success stories, and I too have tried a lot of weight loss plans (Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, etc.), but what is different is that this program encompasses what our body needs to get back in balance: Right eating of right (whole, unprocessed) foods of right proportions and no skipping meals. It's too bad that you and that your father had a bad experience. I just joined and have had return phone calls, have joined a support group on FB, and am feeling better already on Day 3. I hope he'll look into following with enough vegetables, drinking a lot of water and 15 minutes of movement, which will help his constipation. Also there is a 30-day Money Back Guarantee.

    • Jul 22, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Samantha, We are sorry to hear that your father has not lost weight with GOLO. Results may vary depending on how closely the program is being followed and/or current health status. Our program includes the Release supplement along with a patented meal plan that has helped many people lose weight and improve their overall health. We also offer free support and coaching via phone or email and try to return calls and emails promptly. We noticed that you received your order on 4/25, which means that as of the time of this review your father would have been on GOLO for about 70 days. We would be more than happy to talk with him to see how we can help. We are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

      Sincerely,

      Jackie

      Customer Support Manager

    • Jul 23, 2016

      Lisa King

      Just a placebo pill, doesn't work. Look at all the reviewers who say the same thing. It's another money taking scam.

    • Aug 6, 2016

      John W. Robinson III

      Send more information.

    • Aug 14, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      John,

      Please visit our website for more detailed information www.golo.com or you can always give us a call at 1-800-730-4656

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 207 out 230 people found this review helpful

    The Expense That Keeps On Taking…

    • Moorpark, California,
    • Jul 5, 2016

    Once you purchase this product, the company forgets about you. The only thing they don't forget to do is to continue charging your credit card after you tell them to stop.

    The product is moderately effective IF you follow their common sense guidelines. By common sense I mean the basics of good weight & health management. Eat right and exercise. That's no secret.

    Golo addresses weight gain for those who are prediabetic. Before starting this, see your doctor and find out if you really are prediabetic. If you're not, this product will not work, period. If you are, your doctor will most likely prescribe a regimen of exercise and a balanced, healthy diet.

    Aside from various fruit extracts, the primary ingredients in Golo Release are Inositol and Flax Seed Oil. These supplements are available at any corner drug store for about $6 a bottle, which is a lot cheaper than the $90 price Golo charges.

    The bottom line is: Save your money, eat right, go for a walk each day and follow your doctor's advice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (10)
    View all 10 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 7, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Hi Chris, We are sorry that you may not have had a great experience with GOLO. We do not have enough information from this review to confirm but on first check we cannot find a customer from Moorpark, CA with the first name Chris. Because Highya does not require you to verify that you are an actual customer, we cannot confirm if you actually tried our product or may have just been given some false information. If you would like to give us your full name we can look up your order to see what happened and try to rectify.

      I have responded to each of your comments below in an effort to address your concerns:

      "Once you purchase this product, the company forgets about you. The only thing they don’t forget to do is to continue charging your credit card after you tell them to stop."

      - At GOLO we do not believe in ‘auto-ship’ or ‘auto-bill’. You are only charged for your initial order. After that, we feel it is up to the customer’s discretion on whether they want or need to continue taking our Release supplement. Our no auto-ship/auto-bill policy is listed over 8 times on our website. Our system does not even have the ability to charge a card after the first order so there is no way that we could continue to charge you.

      "The product is moderately effective IF you follow their common sense guidelines. By common sense I mean the basics of good weight & health management. Eat right and exercise. That’s no secret."

      - Although it may seem that ‘eating right and exercising’ is ‘common sense’, in order to lose weight effectively it’s a bit more complicated than that. Our program includes our patented meal plan that is personalized to an individual’s energy needs, not just a ‘one size fits all’ diet. And as many people can attest to, just eating right or exercising has not been successful for many.

      "GOLO addresses weight gain for those who are prediabetic. Before starting this, see your doctor and find out if you really are prediabetic. If you’re not, this product will not work, period. If you are, your doctor will most likely prescribe a regimen of exercise and a balanced, healthy diet."

      - GOLO is for anyone who is trying to lose weight and not just those who are pre-diabetic or diabetic. Anyone who is overweight may be producing too much insulin. When this occurs, insulin begins to work against you, making it difficult to release fat from the body, and easy to gain weight. Managing insulin is critical for effective and lasting weight loss.

      "Aside from fruit extracts, the primary ingredients in GOLO Release are Inositol and Flax Seed Oil. These supplements are available at any corner drug store for about $6 a bottle, which is a lot cheaper than the $90 price GOLO charges."

      - Our Release supplement is an all-natural, plant based formula that includes 10 active ingredients of which Inositol is one of the ingredients in the proprietary blend. Flaxseed oil is a natural, organic non-active ingredient (binder) in the Release supplement. Our 90 day supply of Release sells for $89.85. There have been over 200 studies on the efficacy and safety of the ingredients in the Release supplement. Included with the Release supplement is our patented meal plan including our 7 day Kickstart plan, membership to our online membership site, and other booklets to support your weight loss journey. Our product is one of the most affordable weight loss programs on the market and is safe and effective.

      "The bottom line is: Save your money, eat right, go for a walk each day and follow your doctor’s advice."

      - While this advice seems like sensible advice, over 2/3 of our society is overweight or obese. GOLO was created to introduce a total healthcare solution that specifically targets weight gain, obesity and obesity-related conditions and diseases such as type 2 diabetes and heart disease. We want to empower individuals to become better informed, more self-reliant and motivated to take control of their weight and to adopt a healthy lifestyle that will help them achieve a better quality of life. GOLO has helped people all over the world achieve sustainable weight loss and better health through the GOLO Rescue Plan. Numerous doctors not only follow GOLO, but recommend GOLO to their patients.

      Please feel free to contact me directly with any further questions at 800-730-4656

      Sincerely,
      Jackie

    • Jul 16, 2016

      Robin Vecchio

      There's more to "taking GOLO" that makes the program work. There's a comprehensive "health plan" that does help you lose weight & get healthier overall.

      There are plenty of success stories, and I researched this in-depth before ordering this product. I have tried a lot of weight loss plans (Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Food Lovers Diet, etc.), but what is different is that this program encompasses what our body needs to get back in balance: right eating of right (whole, unprocessed) foods of right proportions and right amount of exercise/movement!

      It's too bad that you had a bad experience. I just joined and am feeling better already on Day 3. I have received a lot of support, find the program definitely within the power of the consumer to make it work for them (or not). GOLO does not force you to buy their foods, does not auto-ship, ships for FREE, offers an optional exercise plan (with bands) but just recommends any sort of exercise/movement daily to help you get healthier, and tells you the foods (whole/unprocessed) you need to get healthier, and which ones to avoid.

      This program has a lot of testimonies of successful people who have lowered their blood pressure as well as their A1C, triglycerides, etc., as well as lost inches in their middle, gained more energy, slept better and had less stress! For $30/bottle (or $50/for 2) it's TOTALLY worth the investment, but like with anything - What you put into it will depend on what you get out of it.

      I say, TRY AGAIN.

    • Jul 23, 2016

      Lisa King

      Most people do have a bad experience, have you read your reviews. What are you going to do if anyone contacts you? Not like you'll refund anyone's money for a worthless product you sell.

    • Jul 26, 2016

      Calvin Monroe

      Do this work?

    • Aug 4, 2016

      Den Kempskie

      I saw that you should take this with every meal. I didn't notice how many come in a bottle (I could've missed it.). I'm wondering if 30 come in a bottle or 90 (if it's assumed one eats 3x/day). I just want to make sure. Thanks!

    • Aug 5, 2016

      Mary Allen

      I started the diet about 10 days ago, I've lost 4 lbs and no inches. Everyone who complains about the diet and the "review" of the diet seem to think that just eat right and that is all this diet does for you. Like I could go to my doctor and they are going to get me to eat healthy. Saying and doing are 2 different things. This is the first diet that actually makes sense and I don't have to buy food from them like Nutri system. I am not a dietitian and don't know how to eat healthy. Now I actually cook my own food. I love the Golo fuel recipes and they taste awesome and I made it. I'm writing down what I am eating and no longer binging when I get stressed. I did Nutri system for a year. Lost 10 pounds than plateaued. Then over the holidays I gained it all back. Going on vacation and the holidays made it impossible to keep on the diet. The final straw was my annual physical and my blood test results were horrible, where I was thinking they would be great. I thought about doing the grain free diets and a couple of others but could not get started because the cooking was a dilemma for me. I needed not just another diet but a lifestyle change in how I think and feel about food. I'm early on but I love the philosophy and the common sense approach. Have already recommended to friends.

    • Aug 6, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Lisa,

      GOLO comes with a 30 day money back guarantee that begins the day that the package is delivered to the customer. If a customer contacts us for a return within this time frame, we send them return instructions so that they can return the product for a full refund. However, our return requests are very low. We have many success stories and testimonials on our site and also on our Facebook page. Please feel free to contact me directly with any additional questions 1-800-730-4656.

    • Aug 14, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Mary Allen,

      We are so glad that it is going well for you! Please keep us updated on your progress. We love to hear from our customers.

    • Aug 20, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Den, A 30 day supply comes with 90 supplements (enough to take 3 per day for 30 days)!

    • Feb 27, 2017

      sarah

      That's odd! I ordered the initial kit, and I was only charged for that purchase. There wasn't an autoship option, so my card was only charged once. I recently called and ordered a two-month supply, and again, my card was charged once.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 224 out 245 people found this review helpful

    Don't Be Fooled

    I tried this product for the last 30 days, in hopes of expediting my weight loss journey. Unfortunately, I gained 6 lbs over the 30 days. When I called to initiate a return authorization, they said sorry you missed your return window (by 3 days). Don't be fooled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (16)
    View all 16 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      We are sorry to hear that GOLO did not work out for you. Because this review does not include your name we are unable to verify your account and order date. GOLO's Rescue Plan includes the Release supplement and a patented meal plan that when used together have helped many people lose weight the healthy way. Because we have not spoken to you, we have no way to confirm your compliance to our program.

      Most companies have a return policy and ours is clearly notated multiple times on our website and is displayed during the ordering process. We offer free support to our customers at any time especially if they are having trouble on the plan. Please feel free to give me a call at 1-800-730-4656 for assistance.

    • Jul 15, 2016

      Brad E.

      RE: Jackie, CSM.

      When I called and spoke with the GOLO customer service about my refund inquiry, there were no opportunities to discuss plan compliance. The rep just stated that I was outside of my 30 day return window (by 3 days) and GOLO would not issue a refund.

    • Jul 18, 2016

      Geneva

      I started GOLO on 06/23/16 and as of today 07/18/16, I have lost approximately 10 lbs and my waist has decreased 3 inches. The weight loss is great but what is even better is that I feel like a different person. I have energy and I have stamina to get me through my day! I am going to continue with GOLO and will keep this site posted.

    • Jul 19, 2016

      Teresa Baker

      I think this product will be good for me to try. The reviews are a good indication of the product credibility.

    • Jul 23, 2016

      Lisa King

      5th bad review I've read now. Hopefully not too many more peopel are duped into buying this useless product.

    • Jul 26, 2016

      Mary T Lawrence

      Thanks for this thorough report. Believe I will give it a try. Will be 95 in a few days and would truly like to reduce my stomach.

    • Jul 27, 2016

      Carlos Nickelson

      Hope it works.

    • Aug 5, 2016

      Jessica Aronson

      I've just read all of the testimonies from people who have tried the program and I must say I'm a little bit hesitant on ordering this product.

    • Aug 6, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      BAE,

      When a customer calls to return we always begin the conversation with an answer to their question. I am sorry that you did not get the opportunity to discuss plan compliance. Please feel free to contact me directly so that I can discuss with you: 1-800-730-4656.

    • Aug 9, 2016

      Sherry jackson

      I want to lose 65lbs.

    • Aug 10, 2016

      Eddie

      Want to give it a try.

    • Aug 12, 2016

      Lisa King

      You won't lose any weight using this product. I wanted to lose 65 - 70 lbs. but no dice with this product.

    • Aug 14, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Jessica, Eddie & Sherry,

      Please feel free to give us a call at the office if we can answer any questions! We are available Mon - Fri from 9am to 5:30pm EST AND Sat- Sun from 9am to 4pm EST at 1-800-730-4656

    • Aug 15, 2016

      carol lamon

      I wanted to lose about 20lbs, ordered the product, used it for 30 days and gained 8 lbs. I am active and walk about 3 miles a day. My appetite increased. Very disappointed.

    • Aug 29, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Geneva,

      What great results! We would love to hear more from you. Please keep us updated. :)

    • Aug 29, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Carol,

      Were you following the meal plan? We would love to speak with you personally to see if we can assist you to lose the weight that you wanted to. Coaches are available 7 days a week at 800-730-4656

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 216 out 235 people found this review helpful

    Bogus!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 26, 2016

    I purchased this product a little over a month ago and I am here to tell you that this stuff wasn't for me and the customer service group are rude as heck.

    I did not get my money back, the product doesn't work and I am warning you so that you don't get ripped pop like I did. Save your hard earned money. My advice is to get on a good healthy food plan and work out regularly and you will see results.

    Shame on GOLO for preying on the vulnerable! They should be ashamed. The only thing I have to say to them is that Karma is a, you know what.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 29, 2016

      EC, Customer Service Manager

      Ceci,

      When we spoke with you today, you advised us that you were only able to use the product for a few days and had to stop due to a sensitivity to one of the ingredients.

      You returned the supplements to us but threw away the rest of the items that came in the Rescue Plan. We issued you a refund for the items that were returned and advised you that we would be happy to issue a refund for the additional amount if you could return the other items. I am sorry that you were unhappy with this response however we did do all that we could for you and we did refund you in full for the items that were returned.

      GOLO has helped many people who had previously been unable to lose weight by "getting on a good healthy food plan and working out". It is not always that easy especially for those with Insulin Resistance. Again, we are sorry that we were unable to issue you a full refund and if you are able to locate the other items we would still be more than happy to issue the final refund when you are able to return them to us.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 57 out 62 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed in GOLO

    I first bought a two-months supply, and then a three-months one, but I saw no weight loss. The Release supplements did not work the way they advertise, and I cannot get any money refunded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 4, 2017

      Christy

      If you initially bought a two-month supply and the product didn't work, why would you turn around and buy another three-month supply? I'm no mathematician, but that just doesn't add up!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a review for GOLO!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review