About Grassology

Grassology is a patent pending grass seed mix that claims to reduce mowing, fertilizing, watering, and weeding. In addition, Grassology claims to guarantee “great green grass,” while also defending against insects and disease.

You want the greenest grass on the block, and you probably just watched a commercial for Grassology, hosted by none other than Bob Vila. And it totally sounds awesome, right?

But is there any merit to these claims? Let’s find out in our review.

How Grassology Works

Grassology is a “dwarf height,” ultra-low maintenance grass seed mix that claims to grow a longer root structure than other types of grass seed. As a result, you’ll have to mow, fertilize, water, and weed less. On top of this, Grassology is even guaranteed to give you “great green grass,” while also defending against insects, and disease.

What about the Claims?

Are the claims true? Probably not and here's why: In short, Root length and growth rate often have much more to do with the amount of water your grass receives, not necessarily the type of seed you use. For a full explanation, please see the Bottom Line section.

Grassology Pricing & Refund Policy

Grassology is currently priced at $14.99 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. Like most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second bag of Grassology for $9.99, at which point you’ll also receive a 25’ Pocket Hose Ultra.

Grassology comes with a 30-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. In order to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-597-1622.

What are Consumers saying in their Grassology Reviews?

Based on a few months worth of Grassology Reviews we've accumulated, most customers complain of poor service, difficulty cancelling orders, and underhanded selling tactics. Regarding the product specifically, the most common complaints cite failure to work, poor seed quality, and that Grassology is simply a rebranded mix of Pearl’s Premium. Also, Because of the fescue and Kentucky bluegrass mix contained in Grassology, if you live anywhere in the Southern region where summer temperatures can be extreme, you may want to steer clear.

Bottom Line: Should you buy Grassology?

With all this in mind, what’s the deal with Grassology? We might hesitate to call it a scam, but there are definitely some red flags to consider. These include:

There is no seed mix list provided on the Grassology website, so you don’t know exactly what you’re putting on your lawn. On top of this, seed types are best suited to different climates (also known as “growing zones”), so you can’t be sure that the Grassology seed mix will even be ideal in your climate. However, it’s very likely that you could purchase a better quality mix specifically tailored to your climate at your local lawn maintenance store.

Next, while Grassology claims to come with a 30-day money back guarantee, this really isn’t enough time to see if it works for you. Because of this, we would highly recommend purchasing Grassology at your local Wal-Mart, Target, or Bed-Bath & Beyond. This way, you’ll be able to avoid poor customer service should you wish to return it.

Finally, keep in mind that if your lawn has numerous dead patches, excessive weed growth, or bald spots, Grassology will not be enough to make it green. Instead, you’ll need to apply additional lawn treatments beforehand.

Do you have your own experience with Grassology? If so, help others keep their lawns green—and maybe save some green as well—by writing a review!

149 Customer Reviews for Grassology

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 7 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 8 1 stars: 127
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 149
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Grasslogy

    • by Jim Ob,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 14, 2015

    Well, I just purchased my bag from the Swap Meet for 5 bucks and was interested about the product. I read the bad reviews afterward and it's not looking too good as far as seeing any improvement in my lawn yet. It's been two days of watering the grass and nothing yet. I'm keeping hope alive for my grass. If it's not going to grow, I'm going back to Lowes and spend more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • by Chris Rayfield,
    • Barnhart, MO,
    • Mar 12, 2015

    I called to order Grassology when I found out it it came with a hose and an extra bad of grass seed. I gave them my Visa information and then the recording said that I'll be getting only one bad of Grassology instead of two as they advertised on TV five minutes ago. I tried putting a stop charge on my bank account but it was too late as Grassology had already took out the money only after 7 minutes. Now I'm trying to reach a live person at Grassology to cancel my order. If I have no luck cancelling the order, I'll have to write to the Attorney General.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Planted both a bare area and over-seeded an existing lawn.

    • by Deborah,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 5, 2015

    Grassology sprouted in seven days during the summer and nine days in the cooler winter months which is as expected. It took twice as much seed as the package directions indicate but once it gets established, it's pretty thick. I seeded a small area that was bare and it came up fine. I then over-seeded my front and side lawns which do have weeds and Saint Augustine grass. It's been only four weeks since I over-seeded the area and so I'm hoping that it will take over the St. Augustine and weeds but don't know if it will work. Wish me luck.

    This summer will be the real test when I cut back my watering to once a week or less. The Jury is still out on whether or not Grassology performs as advertised. I would love to speak to a real live human being in customer service to ask a few questions!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very happy

    • by Sharon Winkler,
    • Malibu, CA,
    • Mar 2, 2015

    I feel this seed has performed as expected. I am ordering more now!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • by Leticia,
    • Rio Grande Texas,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    Waste of money. I planted Grassology 3 months ago. And no grass is in my back yard.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad Businesses

    • by Teresa Frazier ,
    • North Little Rock, AR,
    • Feb 6, 2015

    Grassology was not good. My grass never grew even though we planted both bags in a small area. I wasted money. The customer service just said they could not help because it's been longer than 60 days since we purchased Grassology. I only wanted more seeds and not my money back. I will not order from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Pretty Good

    • by Donovan,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 1, 2015

    I Prepped the yard planted the seed. I had a full crop in short order. I was able to easily take care of it. Still have a green lawn.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • by Carl,
    • Oregon,
    • Dec 22, 2014

    Planted this seed in spring, did not grow. Planted again in fall, did not grow. Complete waste of money. Will never buy from them again. Do yourself a favor and buy Scotts grass seed, it worked great.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    A waste of money

    • by Brian Jourdan,
    • Detroit, Mi,
    • Nov 20, 2014

    The Grassology grass seed simply did not grow at all. I spent over $50 for this seed and it would not grow no matter where I planted it.I f you look at my lawn you can still see where I planted it (dead seed on the ground). The Magic garden hose they sent with the seed was only 10 feet long so it was of no use either so I threw it out. I will not be dealing with this company any more.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Did not grow

    • by Jay,
    • Hillsdale, NJ,
    • Oct 13, 2014

    Tried in spring and fall, followed directions - grass did not come up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 24, 2014

      Connie

      Purchaaed 1 bag. Planted under shade tree late spring soaked ground socked ground first to pull seed in then in 5 days the seeds sprouted I had a constant water drip in place.

      It's beautiful. No complaints Mesa, Az

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    This is a scheme and gimmick

    • by John,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 10, 2014

    Not a single seed grew. What disaster and gimmick. I would like to have my money back! Isn't there any authority to catch these people and punish them?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 149

Write a review for Grassology!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review