About Grassology

Grassology is a patent pending grass seed mix that claims to reduce mowing, fertilizing, watering, and weeding. In addition, Grassology claims to guarantee “great green grass,” while also defending against insects and disease.

You want the greenest grass on the block, and you probably just watched a commercial for Grassology, hosted by none other than Bob Vila. And it totally sounds awesome, right?

But is there any merit to these claims? Let’s find out in our review.

How Grassology Works

Grassology is a “dwarf height,” ultra-low maintenance grass seed mix that claims to grow a longer root structure than other types of grass seed. As a result, you’ll have to mow, fertilize, water, and weed less. On top of this, Grassology is even guaranteed to give you “great green grass,” while also defending against insects, and disease.

What about the Claims?

Are the claims true? Probably not and here's why: In short, Root length and growth rate often have much more to do with the amount of water your grass receives, not necessarily the type of seed you use. For a full explanation, please see the Bottom Line section.

Grassology Pricing & Refund Policy

Grassology is currently priced at $14.99 plus $7.99 shipping and handling. Like most “As Seen on TV” products, you can purchase a second bag of Grassology for $9.99, at which point you’ll also receive a 25’ Pocket Hose Ultra.

Grassology comes with a 30-day, 100% satisfaction guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. In order to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-597-1622.

What are Consumers saying in their Grassology Reviews?

Based on a few months worth of Grassology Reviews we've accumulated, most customers complain of poor service, difficulty cancelling orders, and underhanded selling tactics. Regarding the product specifically, the most common complaints cite failure to work, poor seed quality, and that Grassology is simply a rebranded mix of Pearl’s Premium. Also, Because of the fescue and Kentucky bluegrass mix contained in Grassology, if you live anywhere in the Southern region where summer temperatures can be extreme, you may want to steer clear.

Bottom Line: Should you buy Grassology?

With all this in mind, what’s the deal with Grassology? We might hesitate to call it a scam, but there are definitely some red flags to consider. These include:

There is no seed mix list provided on the Grassology website, so you don’t know exactly what you’re putting on your lawn. On top of this, seed types are best suited to different climates (also known as “growing zones”), so you can’t be sure that the Grassology seed mix will even be ideal in your climate. However, it’s very likely that you could purchase a better quality mix specifically tailored to your climate at your local lawn maintenance store.

Next, while Grassology claims to come with a 30-day money back guarantee, this really isn’t enough time to see if it works for you. Because of this, we would highly recommend purchasing Grassology at your local Wal-Mart, Target, or Bed-Bath & Beyond. This way, you’ll be able to avoid poor customer service should you wish to return it.

Finally, keep in mind that if your lawn has numerous dead patches, excessive weed growth, or bald spots, Grassology will not be enough to make it green. Instead, you’ll need to apply additional lawn treatments beforehand.

Do you have your own experience with Grassology? If so, help others keep their lawns green—and maybe save some green as well—by writing a review!

159 Customer Reviews for Grassology

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 13 4 stars: 3 3 stars: 5 2 stars: 9 1 stars: 129
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 159
Sort reviews by:

  • Does not work

    • Greenville, SC,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I purchased this product at a Hamrick's (a Big Lots, Ross type store) for $5, so it was really just an experiment for me. Anyways, in my location the soil is close to nothing but red clay, the temperature reaches the high 90s by mid-June, and rain is expected at least once a week. I originally planted this seed in an area of the yard that does experience shade until the afternoon, but then full sun until sun set. I loosened up the clay and spread the seed, and threw a very thin layer of dirt on top. I kept the soil moist for about two weeks and experience very little growth. Finally, I went to just watering once a day, and the grass began to slowly wither. I also tried planting them in a highly fertile soil in a pot, and had the same experience. Both of the situations have shown that the grass quits growing and some stalks begin turning brown. This stuff is junk if you live in the Upstate of South Carolina. Also, remember, this is a Fescue type grass, so if you don't have Fescue already, it will stick out. Being that it is Fescue, one seed equals one grass stalk, and it will not propagate. Another thing, the stalks are so thin, I don't understand how you could even walk on it if it did grow correctly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Seed does not work in Florida

    • Cocoa, FL ,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    I have purchased about 15 bags of the seeds and nothing has come up. I have had success with other seeds sold at Walmart and Home Depot. This is a scam and Bob Villa should be ashamed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    8 days and counting and still no growth

    • Seattle, WA,
    • May 18, 2015

    I have consistently watered the lawn and it's been 8 days and still no sign of any grass growth. This is a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Nice Product

    • Reno, NV,
    • May 17, 2015

    I bought Grassology it at Walmart for $10. Good price by comparison. Most grass seed runs from $9 to $16 for the 3 lb bag. I have a 10X30 bare patch in my front yard that I have tried several time to seed with Scotts and Pennington and it would not grow. Even after I replaced the topsoil I still couldn't get grass to grow. After one last ditch effort, I replaced the topsoil and seeded with Grassology. I finally got the area to grow. Except for a few spots in the middle and along the edge, most likely due to birds and washout, that area now has some pretty nice grass on it. Northern Nevada a is cooler part of the desert, but it is pretty dry and hard to get grass to grow, but this grass did.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So far Grassology is a great product.

    • Odessa, TX,
    • May 13, 2015

    I planted the Grassology almost two months ago and it's sprouting everywhere. I love the color and texture of the grass. It's a deep green thick grass, even though it just starting growing. I didn't order it from the actual company website because I purchased it from Walmart so I'm not sure how their customer service is, but the product is great so far.

    I will return to this site later to give an updated review once my lawn is full and has matured a little.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Sewell, NJ,
    • May 8, 2015

    Planted the seed in the fall and now I have very nice green lawn where I planted it. I never could get grass to grow in this area before. Going to buy a few more bags of Grassology now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worked Great for Me

    • Larchmont, NY,
    • May 4, 2015

    I planted Grassology seed in my front yard after 5 unsuccessful attempts with other grass seed. In addition they did not have the shorter hose in stock so they sent me a longer one at no additional charge. After a harsh winter my yard has come roaring back this spring and looks great. Only downside is that I have to mow it. Going to order some for the rear yard.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Did't work

    • NEW JERSEY,
    • Apr 30, 2015

    I bought 4 bags of Grassology. I put it on my yard and nothing happened, I am very disappointed. The seeds don't even look like grass seeds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Live this grass

    • Seagoville,
    • Apr 26, 2015

    Love this grass. At first, it takes a lot of water but after it starts I love it. I wish you would sell more around this area. I had a rent house and put this seed down and we had such a pretty yard. We bad to move because of the landlord and now I'm wanting to use Grassology at my new place. I try to buy Grassology on sale because I will need so much of it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Woodland Hills, CA,
    • Apr 13, 2015

    Since most Californians are starting to get rid of their front lawns due to the water crisis. I thought I would give Grassology a try. It's been a few months since we tried the seeds and let me tell you my lawn is the greenest lawn on the block.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Grasslogy

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 14, 2015

    Well, I just purchased my bag from the Swap Meet for 5 bucks and was interested about the product. I read the bad reviews afterward and it's not looking too good as far as seeing any improvement in my lawn yet. It's been two days of watering the grass and nothing yet. I'm keeping hope alive for my grass. If it's not going to grow, I'm going back to Lowes and spend more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 4, 2015

      Brian

      You are never going to see results from grass seeds in only two days.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 159

Write a review for Grassology!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review