About Green Gobbler

Green Gobbler is not the latest Marvel villain – it’s the name of a drain opener sold by Telebrands that’s claimed to be EPA-approved and safe for all pipes. Because Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, the company claims all you have to do is pour it into the sink and add hot water, while grease, hair, soap scum, paper, and other matter is “gobbled” away.

From a company perspective, Telebrands has been in the “As Seen On TV” business for 30 years. Recently, they had a fall from grace with the Better Business Bureau, with their accreditation removed and their rating dropping from an A- to a C, partially due to the length of time it takes to resolve complaints.

How Green Gobbler Works

They don’t specifically list the ingredients of Green Gobbler, except to say it’s a proprietary formula that’s “eco-friendly” and safe for all pipes, including PVC, copper, or metal. They add it can be used with garbage disposals and septic tanks, and that is also EPA-approved.

To use Green Gobbler, you are instructed to take one of the pre-measured packages and pour its contents down the drain of any clogged sink, shower, or tub. Next, add hot water and they promise any debris will be emulsified and dissolved. However, they do not give a specific timetable for this to happen.

Green Gobbler Pricing and Returns

Green Gobbler sells for $16.99 ($10 plus $6.99 shipping and handling) for 3 packages. At the time of your order you can add another 3 packages for $6.99 in additional S&H fees.

Telebrands touts a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, however, since this is a “consumable” product, you can only get your money back if you return it unused/unopened. In addition, you must include a written explanation that must be “detailed” as to why you did not like Green Gobbler. And even if they do approve your request, you will only get back your initial $10—not any S&H fees.

Bottom Line: Is Green Gobbler a Scam?

Green Gobbler may unclog certain drain problems, but there are several things we’d like to point out.

First, we don’t know what’s in it. It says “EPA-approved” but not “natural” or “organic.” This could mean it’s made from sodium hydroxide, an ingredient commonly found in many household drain cleaners that is considered safe, but still needs to be carefully handled. It could also mean it’s just baking soda and vinegar, a popular home remedy that does work to open clean drains from hair and debris.

Also, Green Gobbler comes in pre-measured packages, which essentially means you get less for your money than a bottle (If you buy 3, it’s $5.60 per use). And, if you do open one and pour it down the drain and it doesn’t work as advertised, you will still not get your money back because of Telebrands’s policy on consumable items.

Speaking of Telebrands, it should be noted again that their BBB rating just took a precipitous drop. In the last 3 years (as of August 2014) they had 1684 complaints, primarily about their products, advertising, and billing practices.

The solution? We suggest trying these natural drain cleaning alternatives as well as taking these steps to prevent future clogs before buying Green Gobbler.

What do you think? Did you buy Green Gobbler and it worked as promise or did it just “gobble” up your wallet? Let us know.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Customer Reviews for Green Gobbler

Average Customer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 1 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 61% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • It works

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Drains closed due to ghee for two days. I tried snakes and plungers, and then poured all three packs down two drains, waited 15 hours, boiled some water and voila, drains are open. We will be buying this product in the future.

    Side note, it does stink and left a brown stain in the shower, but my pipe is clear, so yeah.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worked better than any other product tried

    I had a slow drain in the kitchen sink since I moved into my apartment. Recently, the bathroom sink started slowing too. I put this (one packet) in the kitchen sink, left for six hours and flushed with boiling water. It must've worked its way through the pipes because both drains were cleared within hours of flushing the kitchen drain. Oh, I did not notice any kind of funky smell and my apartment was closed up overnight while it was working.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Works good

    The product worked good for us. Our house is a very old family house with a septic tank. We replaced the tank and drain field about a year ago but haven't gotten to replacing the drain lines in the crawlspace. So needless to say, years of build up and adding new build up has led to slow drains and the occasional hairball clogged shower drain. I added the product to the shower and tub drains and to the sink drains and to my surprise after they were flushed out, the drainage was great.

    WARNING. This stuff stinks horribly! It smells of sulfuric acid/rotten eggs. But it works, and the smell goes away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Green Gobbler worked for us!

    Our double-basin stainless steel kitchen sinks backed up, and traditional unclogging methods didn't work to dislodge the clog.

    Drāno didn't work, and removing the P-trap and snaking the drain from the inside didn't work.

    Snaking the drain at the clean-out port outside with both a regular drain snake and multiple attempts with a friend's power snake didn't appear to work either (nor did multiple attempts to flush the line with water from a water hose), but our friend saw a single dose (8.25 oz) packet of Green Gobbler when shopping for an extension part for his power snake, and he picked one up for us. Because our clog had been so persistent, we skipped the initial Instructions for Use, and we went straight to the instructions that read:

    Note: For tough clogs, use 2nd Pac and let stand in drain overnight, then flush with plenty of hot water. (For best results, use boiling water, if possible.)

    I called my husband this morning and asked if the Green Gobbler had been effective. I believe his words were, "Hot damn!" He said he'd poured about 10 gallons of boiling water (who knew we had that many containers for boiling water?) down the drain, and it hadn't shown any sign of backing up. He later told me that he'd also run cold water for several minutes, and that didn't appear to back up, either.

    So, at least for now, it appears that the clog was dissolved and that we don't need to contact the water district or call a plumbing company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Smells like sewage

    • Eugene, Oregon ,
    • Dec 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The gal at Home Depot said this worked for her. I bought this not for a clogged drain but another problem: drain flies. These flies live in the muck in my shower drain. Never heard of them? Me neither.

    I couldn't wait for the mail order drain fly killer, so I used this green gobbler.

    It made the house smell like sewage. I thought the smell was from the muck it was destroying but now I learned that the smell is the product itself. I didn't really care though. It went away.

    However, I haven't seen anymore drain flies. So for me, I didn't have to call an exterminator and I am okay with this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Drain still clogged

    • Dec 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went to Home Depot, saw this stuff, figured I'd give it a try. Ended up using all 3 packets with no avail, followed the directions, even gave it more time each time, and still had a clogged tub drain. I also noticed a very bad odor given off, smelled like raw sewage permeating through the house. Ended up back at Home Depot to buy my go to stuff that I know works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • California,
    • Oct 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I work for Home Depot and have seen the the Green Gobbler video over and over talking about how wonderful it is.

    So when my shower started draining slowly, I decided to purchase some and give it a try. I tried a pack, left it in for 30 minutes and ran hot water down it and NOTHING, no change.

    A couple of days later thought I'd give it another chance and use boiling water, like they recommend. NOTHING!

    Don't waste your money and time on this crap!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    So so for toilet. Questionable results.

    I tried 4 packs and 4 pots of boiling water without results over 18 hours. In the end, I poured about 2 cups of AJAX Dish Soap down the toilet, added another pot of boiling water and then it finally cleared. Can't really say it was this product that did the job for the money. I also used the jagged stick thing initially to clear the clog, but that did not work.

    One of my fiends tells me that hair conditioner has worked the best for her, plus boiling water. Can be any cheap conditioner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Tried the product and I am giving my opinion.

    • District of Columbia,
    • Apr 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the product from Home Depot. I put one packet in and the tub was still a little slow so put the second one. I left the house both days. When I returned the smell was very, very strong. I went upstairs to the bathroom and much to my surprise, my bathtub is messed up. It has something all around the tub, some type of stains, I guess from the fumes. I have been scrubbing for two days. If anyone has had this problem what did you use? So far nothing has worked. The drain is better but too much expense.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Strong terrible smell

    • New Jersey ,
    • Mar 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It amazes me how only 1 or 2 people commented on the harsh smell. It was too unbearable and even the next day it is lingering. This is a serious issue for me because I already have breathing problems. Now I am really having issues because if the harsh smell. I have a tiny bathroom and when it was put in my sink, I could not believe how bad the smell was. It was like ammonia mixed with something. Please use caution if there are elderly, pets, or children with health issues in the home because now I am scared because my breathing gets worse each time I use the bathroom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Yes it gobbles up your greenbacks but nothing else,

    • Florida,
    • Mar 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sorry guys, but back to the drawing board. This is about as useful as pouring a bag of salt down the drain and four times as expensive. Oh, wait a minute, the main and only ingredient listed is monosodium sulfate and sodium sulfate is known as 'Glauber's Salt' so maybe that's what I did pour down the drain.

    It doesn't work, ok! Claims to liquefy blocking materials (read the labeling and advertising closely, where it states that: "The eco-friendly formula dissolves and emulsifies grease, hair, soap scum, paper, organic matter, feminine products, toothpaste, shampoo and everything that causes build-up, leaving your pipes clear.").

    Sounds like one hell of a product, and it's eco-friendly and bio-degradable - wow! Yet it does not do any such thing. The only things that get dissolved are the claims that they make. So how the heck does that get past the Federal Trade Commission?

    Money back guarantee reads good but is worthless too; ever tried getting money back on a used product?

    As someone else has suggested on here, the 5 star reviews must be from company employees/friends/families, because I tried this three times (yep, stupid me!) and there's no way it works. Avoid like the plague.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for Green Gobbler!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review