About Gripeez

Gripeez practically dares you to “hang any object, anywhere” with its special clear adhesive pads. They say Gripeez replaces tape, hammer-and-nail, or any other hanging method, are washable, and reusable up to 1,000 times.

The Gripeez website is run by Permission Interactive, a company specializing in setting up web stores for ASOTV products. The BBB has accredited this company since 2000 and they currently have an A+ rating; however, no information is available about the actual seller of Gripeez.

How Gripeez Works

Gripeez is a small pad with an unnamed adhesive on both sides that give it its grip. To use, they say simply take a Gripeez pad and stick it to any non-porous surface, including stainless steel, tile, plastic, wood, cement, glass, metal, and non-textured drywall. (They note that dirty or uneven surfaces may cause Gripeez not to work.)

Next, take any object 5 lbs or under that you want to stick and press it on. According to the website, in “seconds” your item will adhere to the Gripeez for as long as you need it to. They say it’s great for decorations, posters, cell phones, tablets, and more. It suggests to cut a Gripeez pad into fourths and use on each corner of a picture frame or poster for better grip. If you hang it crooked, they say you can easily separate the object and reattach.

They claim you can also use it to get organized, hanging things like razors and shampoo bottles in the bathroom or using with Gripeez hooks (sold separately) to hang keys in the house. They state you can also use to secure mats on the floor and in the car to hold a GPS; Gripeez claims it can be used in extreme cold outdoors.

They say you can also easily remove Gripeez without leaving any sticky residue or holes. They tout that it is safe and non-toxic. Even if it gets dirty and loses its grip, they say you can wash it and put it to work again, up to 1,000 times.

Each Gripeez order comes with:

  • 10 Gripeez (3”x2.5”)
  • 10 Gripeez “free” (extra S & H)

Gripeez Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Gripeez costs $10 plus S & H of $4.95 for 10 - but they automatically throw in 10 more Gripeez for another $4.95 S & H making the total $19.90 for 20 Gripeez. They promise your order will ship in 48 hours. If you do not like Gripeez they claim they will return your money (minus the initial S & H and what it costs to ship back) as long as you return the items with 30 days along with a “detailed explanation” of why you did not like it.

Bottom Line: Is Gripeez a Scam?

Sure, at $1 a sheet, Gripeez could be considered a little pricey. However, if it works as advertised, then it’s high price might be worthwhile. But does it?

Based on 31 customer reviews here on HighYa (as of 12/31/15), Gripeez had an average rating of 2 stars, with only 16% stating that they’d recommend it to a friend. Overall, it seemed like most complaints referenced that it didn’t work as well as the commercial made it seem (or at all)—more than one actually called it “useless,” as well as difficulty getting ahold of customer support. Several customers also complained that they never received their orders, despite being charged.

Based on the similarities among all these complaints, what’s our opinion? We think your money would be better spent on a mainstream product from a local retailer. Otherwise, your frustrations might rise as your cherished pictures fall to the floor.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Customer Reviews for Gripeez

Average Customer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 26
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It's fabulous, but only for the right things

    • Midland, TX,
    • Feb 13, 2016

    I bought a 10 pack at Fry's electronics so I didn't put up with the horrible customer service as reported by others. I use two of them to hold my cell and radar detector in the car. They have an iron grip that never comes loose until I pull the phone off. If they ever get dirty, wash them with plain soap (no oils or creams), air dry and they're like-new. It seems they never wear out. It's almost like magic. To hold something like a cell phone they are fabulous. Friends saw them and wanted to by my left overs. They love them too.

    However, I would never trust them without testing it first. And I would have really questioned that they can hold something as heavy as a picture on the wall. Walls are often made of porous material. Shame on the company for saying they are that strong.

    For the right use, they are magic and fabulous. Just beware.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Money Wasted

    • Anderson, SC,
    • Jan 9, 2016

    I wish I had read the reviews before I wasted my money. I had just redone my house and this looked like the perfect product to keep from having to put so many holes in my walls. You know the saying “if it looks too good to be true, it usually is”? Well in this case, it really is too good to be true. I had a picture I wanted to hang in my hall. The picture only weighs about two pounds and I put four pads on it. I am so glad the protective cover on the picture was heavy plastic and not glass since within about 30 minutes it fell off the wall. I tried hanging it again and it fell within a few minutes. I have learned a valuable lesson from purchasing this product: never order anything without reading the reviews. This was a complete waste of money. About 2 weeks before I received the product I got a call from the company wanting me to pay them for another product. They wanted my card number, which I refused to give and told them I did not care for any other services. What a scam these people have going on. Please do not waste your money like I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    No Scam. Great Product. Questionable marketing/pricing.

    • Dec 27, 2015

    This is one of the greatest adhesive products invented since 3M began selling Post-it notes.

    I used just one of the full size squares to hold an iPad 3 on a painted wood door in my home office and it held it up for days with no problem.

    I cut a small rectangle strip and placed it on my dash to hold my iPhone in place while driving for GPS and hands free phone calls without the need for a bulky suction cup or vent holder.

    I don't have time to list the things I keep thinking of what I can use it for. I was just surprised I didn't hear or see more people using this versus the 3M hanging strips.

    I bought my first set of Gripeez at a Meijer store in Ohio so I had no problems with marketing and pricing then.

    However, when I purchased my next sets from the Gripeez website, I was a little frustrated at the way they cover up the real cost with "slight of word" marketing strategy about processing and handling. I hate this kind of crap that insults the intelligent and takes advantage of the gullible. 

    Two other things I think are shady and shoddy.

    1. Unlike most well-known large online retailers, on this site you will NOT see the total cost with breakdowns before your order is already processed.

    2. Before you can even get to your Cost and Total Pricing RECEIPT (not "summary" as you are expecting) you keep having to answer yes or no to other products they want to offer you. There were 4-6 in a row!

    Try to find these at a store and you will be pleased by the product and price. Purchase at their website and you will still be happy with the product, but potentially exasperated by purchasing process.

    Just have to say this in one more way to get it off my chest. If your product is a great one, which in this case it is, why do these people have to resort to insulting sales strategies? 

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Works great on car dashboard!

    Product has 0 utility for hanging anything vertically. Anything held vertically WILL fall. However, it will allow you to securely stick ANYTHING to your car's dashboard including: cell phone, radar detector, GPS, sunglasses, etc. I bought a magnetic mount for my cell phone with a suction cup attachment that wouldn't stick to the dash. I used a square of the Gripeez which is slightly bigger than the suction cup and attached the suction cup. It grips like iron. For holding things horizontally, product is amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 1, 2016

      Steve in Big Oh!

      A rating of zero for "hanging anything vertically" is good advice for things that would be damaged by falling, because they are likely to fall. For temporarily vertically mounting paper and other light-weight objects that will not be damaged if they fall, this is a nice product. I've even used Gripeez to semi-permanently position my caller-I'd box at a better angle for reading without bending over. I think of Gripeez as stretchable, reusable, and heavy-duty tape. I purchased two 10-packs locally at my Menards store, so I had complete satisfaction with the transaction (and after rebate, the price).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't bother

    I hung up a small picture that weighed no more than two pounds. I used three of the Gripeez to be safe. At 2:30 AM I was woken by the sound of shattering glass. Cleaning all that mess up at that time of night, only added to my disappointment in this "not so good product".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No Words - Horrible experience

    • Warwick, NY,
    • Oct 30, 2015

    On 9/26/2015 I ordered special promo of GRIPEEZ- 2 Packs of 10 with Bonus 5 small hooks and 5 large hook for total of $19.98. To date I have received nothing. I call 973-531-4421 and each time I call get recording all reps busy to leave my name and number/order number (I have printed copy of my receipt) and someone would return my call in 48 hours. To date there are no returned calls to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Gripeez ARE USELESS, they can't even hold a fly.

    • Clearwater, FL,
    • Oct 28, 2015

    I got an unsolicited email advertising Gripeez and I fell for it and I purchased this product.

    I needed to hang some pictures and this product actually appeared pretty neat. However, when I tried to use the "useless pads" I found out that they held NOTHING unless it is a piece of paper (a thin piece of paper at best).

    Do not waste your time and money on this garbage. It's full of false promises.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • White Plains, NY,
    • Oct 14, 2015

    Simply useless. I even tried hanging unframed pictures with this and they were all on the ground when I woke up. This is a useless product and I have been on hold for 25 minutes trying obtain the address to return this item.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Sep 2, 2015

    This product can not even hold a 2 lbs picture frame for two hours. Total waste of money. Could have given the money to a charity instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Please Believe This Review

    • Sarasota, Fl,
    • Aug 23, 2015

    Want to waste money? If you do, buy this product. Don't be surprised when it doesn't work and you ruin a valuable frame or other object. Don't believe me? Go ahead and buy it but remember, I told you so!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • SF CA,
    • Aug 19, 2015

    Lightweight frames and plaques could not be held over night, much less a few hours. Do not buy and report to BBB. Customer service sucks as well. No apologies for bad worthless product and the fact that it ruined my military awards. Just an email reply giving me the return address.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a review for Gripeez!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review