About HD Mirror Cam

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 9, 2017

Featuring a built-in 2.5" LCD, HD Mirror Cam installs in seconds and acts as a temporary replacement for your factory issued rearview mirror, while providing the ability to capture video, photos, and audio.

Using this LCD (with screen shut off mode for safety while driving), the device allows you to immediately view your footage and other media, or download it directly to a computer with the included SD memory card reader.

Like many other models, HD Mirror Cam’s motion detection allows you to record even when you’re not in the car, while the automatic ignition start will begin recording when you turn your car on, and then stop when the ignition is turned off.

Unlike the competition, though, the company claims it comes with exclusive night vision that automatically adjusts for different levels of light.

It certainly seems like HD Mirror Cam includes a lot of must-have features. But will it deliver meaningfully better value in the long run? Let’s kick off our conversation by taking a closer look at the device’s features.

How Does HD Mirror Cam Work?

Perhaps the easiest way to think of HD Mirror Cam is as a standard rearview mirror, but without an arm that attaches to a windshield. Instead, it uses two flexible rubber straps that attach to the top and bottom of the device, which then wrap around the back of your existing mirror.

Directly underneath is the device’s rotating camera, which features a central lens and one infrared LED on each side. These emit a specific wavelength of light that allows the camera to see clearly at night, which is a very common technology found in these types of cameras.

Everything the camera records is displayed on the built-in 2.5" LCD, which can also be switched off to maximize mirror space and avoid distractions while driving.

HD Mirror CamIn the left image, we can see how HD Mirror Cam attaches using flexible rubber bands, while the right image shows the 2.5" display. Image credit: Taken from www.hdmirrorcam.com June 2017

Now, let’s discuss price.

How Much Does HD Mirror Cam Cost?

One HD Mirror Cam is priced at $49.99 plus $9.99 S&H, although the site indicates you’ll earn free S&H if you order two or more.

Each camera comes with a car charger/adaptor, two soft bands, a USB SD card reader, an instruction manual, and mounting wire clips.

Note: The commercial indicates you’ll be able to upgrade your kit to include a micro SD memory card for as little as $7.99, although this offer wasn't presented when we attempted to check out. However, third-party options could be found elsewhere online for between $15 and $60+, depending on storage size.

All HD Mirror Cams come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. You can request one by contacting customer support at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.

Based on these prices, are customers reporting a solid level of value?

What Can We Learn From HD Mirror Cam Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 18 HighYa readers provided feedback about their experiences with HD Mirror Cam, giving the device an average rating of 2.7 stars.

Here, common compliments referenced ease of use and solid value, while complaints seemed related to lower quality than expected, difficult customer service experiences, and ordering concerns (primarily higher charges than expected and a drawn-out automated ordering process).

We also encountered more than 100 customer reviews on HSN.com, where HD Mirror Cam had a slightly higher average rating of 3.2 stars. Except for ordering concerns, many expressed the same compliments and complaints as those found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, HD Mirror Cam is manufactured by Inventel Products, a popular ASOTV company who’s responsible for other hits over the years like Gripeez, DashCam Pro, and HD Free TV Antenna, to name just a few.

The manufacturer had a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and 288 closed complaints as of 5/22/17. Most of these seemed to revolve around customer service-related issues, which appear to have been resolved.

Granted, our goal isn’t to insinuate that you’ll experience any of the same—only to make sure you have everything you need to make a fully empowered buying decision.

With all of these details in mind, how does HD Mirror Cam compare to other dashboard cameras?

Which Features Should You Look For In a Rearview Mirror Camera?

Even if you recently started researching dashboard cameras, you probably already recognize that there are thousands of different options available, in all sizes, designs, and price points. How can you choose the best model for your needs?

While they admit there are many more, CarCamCentral lists three key features they always look for when purchasing a dashboard camera:

1. Messaging – They recommend looking for “persistent and highly visible written messages,” and even audible warnings. Why?

Because these cameras (and the SD cards they contain) are repeatedly exposed to big temperature fluctuations and humidity, so failure is inevitable. And you want to know about any potential problems before you get into an accident.

2. Video Quality – The higher the video quality, the more protection you ultimately have (and that’s probably why you’re thinking about purchasing one in the first place, right?), since you’ll have a better chance of catching details like a license plate number or a person’s face after a hit and run.

3. Battery – If no battery is present, then the camera can’t record once your car is turned off.

From these perspectives, HD Mirror Cam seems to check most of the boxes, although some of the customers above reported that its video quality left something to be desired. Are there any other noteworthy points?

Important Points to Consider About HD Mirror Cam

While we didn’t test the device ourselves, we think there are some other important considerations to keep in mind before deciding on any dashcam option:

How visible do you want the camera to be? While HD Mirror Cam attaches to your rearview mirror and won’t impede your line of sight, it seems like it could add a meaningful amount of bulk (aesthetically or otherwise). Also, you’ll need to be comfortable with the added wires running along your windshield and dashboard.

Next, while HD Mirror Cam claims to record up to 14 hours (on an endless loop, if you choose), remember that this wholly depends on the size of your SD card. Which, again, isn’t included with your order.

We’ve mentioned this aspect in some of our other dashboard camera articles, but keep in mind that HD Mirror Cam can only record in one direction at a time. So, if your vehicle is parked while motion detection is activated, and the camera is pointed forward (for example), it likely wouldn’t do much good if someone broke in through your driver’s side door.

If a situation like this is your primary concern, some companies manufacture dual-lens (or two-channel) dash cams that simultaneously record front and back (or any other two directions you’d like), usually with a picture-in-picture real-time display.

Lastly, it’s certainly positive that HD Mirror Cam features night vision, which uses two infrared LEDs to emit a wavelength of light not visible by the human eye, although it can be detected by the device’s camera.

This way, these LEDs provide illumination for the camera, without causing a glare off the windshield, which could lead to distorted video quality and impeded vision for the driver.

While useful, this type of night vision is a common feature found on dashboard and rearview mirror cameras at most price points.

Our Bottom Line About the HD Mirror Cam

Obviously a final—and perhaps the biggest—factor to consider is price. And at $60 including shipping, HD Mirror Cam seems very reasonable priced compared to the competition, some of which could exceed $200 at the time of our research.

If you watched the full 15-minute video from CarCamCentral above, they outlined that purchasing a new dashcam largely comes down to a mixture of 1) cheap, 2) reliable, and 3) high performance.

In other words, you might find an option that leans heavily toward high performance, although it might not be very inexpensive. Or, if you focus on the lowest possible price, you could sacrifice performance and reliability.

And with some of HD Mirror Cam’s essential features like HD 720p video, a 350° rotating camera, and one-touch photo snap, it might be the case that this option provides an even balance between these factors.

And if you find that it doesn’t, Inventel seems to stand behind the device with a two-month return policy. Just keep in mind you’ll lose your initial S&H, plus whatever it’ll cost to ship back.

Before clicking away, be sure to talk about your HD Mirror Cam experience by writing a review below!

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Customer Reviews for HD Mirror Cam

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  6
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not so good

    • Charlevoix, Michigan,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This camera is limited. This really needs to a wide angle lens. The camera is only standard which shows you what is directly in front of the camera.

    Example: I was the first vehicle at a stop light. I was behind the stop bar, and you can't record any of the vehicles to the left or right, or even the stoplight itself. Which is pointless if another vehicle hits you and they claim your light was red. It REALLY needs a WIDE angle lens. I do not recommend this unless they improve it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this product!

    My unit lasted two months before it died. I cannot get in touch with anybody.

    Do not buy this product!

    I purchased this a few months back from Walmart. It stopped working after one month, and I have spent five months trying to get a refund from Inventel HD Mirror Camera.

    Finally, they said they would help me and send me a return label. After waiting for three weeks and no return label, I called them back and was told they could no longer help me.

    Walmart and Amazon stopped carrying the product because of extremely poor ratings and lack of Inventel HD Mirror Cam customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 9, 2017

      J. Tymec

      Thank you for saving me the potential aggravation of buying this product. I order a lot of items online and have been burned a few times, so I'm quite skeptical of As Seen On TV. I thought I'd read a few reviews prior to ordering and I am very happy I did.

      I'm sorry you went through such a negative experience simply to educate me and others. Again thank you, I wish you better luck next time and have a good day.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the camera a while ago. Only bothered to install it recently as drivers keep cutting me off and only just avoided an accident where I was in the car pool lane, and I was cut off by someone crossing into it illegally.

    The camera works as stated. I got a 32gb 400X transcend memory card for it. Plugged that it BEFORE I turned the unit on, and it worked fine. The menus can be confusing initially, but a quick glance at the manual and I was able to figure out the rest in a few seconds.

    The screen isn't very bright in broad day light. Which makes quickly glancing an issue.

    Video quality during the day is good. At night though, it degrades to the point of being poor. And this is including the night mode with IR. Overall. Night footage would be usable, but it's nowhere near as good as day time. Understandable that a cheap camera will have sensitivity limitations in terms of ISO etc., but this still has to be mentioned as bad at night. At least the anti glare function works well.

    Mounting the cam can be a pain. I hated trying to run wires. I eventually settled on the wires running on the top and sides of my windshield. My car has a 12v port underneath the cubby hole, so everything looks very neat and hidden with a bit of cable management

    Overall, a decent product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi John,

      Thank you for the time that you have taken to review our product. Please give our customer service a call at 323-375-1042, as we are constantly working on ways to improve our products to keep our customers happy.

      Thank you,

      InvenTel Products

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 41 people found this review helpful

    No SD card

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It states in both brochures included with the HD Mirror Cam that the micro SD card is included. They are not! I contacted them, and they insist the cards are not included even after I sent them copies of their own paperwork stating that the Micro SD card is preloaded in the Micro SD slot. I sat on hold with their customer service for over 25 minutes and never did speak to anyone. I finally just emailed them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi Ann,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience. Fortunately, we can work together for a solution. Please give us a call at 862-437-1114 ext 6604, and I will personally work with you to solve your problem by sending you your SD cards. Thank you and we hope to speak to you soon.

      InvenTel Products

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Worst service

    I canceled my order within hours of ordering, and it was shipped anyway. I called immediately on receiving it, and the customer service rep was to send a return label. It has been about a week and a half and no return label. I called customer service and was on hold for OVER ONE HOUR without a response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Works as stated

    • Queen Creek, AZ,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first thing I did was to hard wire it into my vehicle so I wouldn't have to worry about battery life. It works flawlessly in 720 and VGA mode. I'm having trouble finding the HD Mode, but it works great. Clear, crisp video. It even picks up my singing (not so good, LOL). Works as advertised, great value too. I really like it. I do trail runs in my Jeep, and the video works well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi Greg,

      Thank you for taking your time to review. Our customer satisfaction is our number one priority. If you ever have any doubts, questions, suggestions, or positive feedback please do not hesitate to give our customer service a call at (323)-375-1042. We hope you continue to enjoy our product!

      Thank you.

    • Aug 1, 2017

      Lisa Thiselton

      Looking forward to it!

    • Aug 3, 2017

      candy unger

      I'm stuck on start up. I don't know which way to insert the SD card, the writing toward the mirror, or the other way around. I can't find an image or a video on Youtube.

    • Aug 5, 2017

      Blain Wharton

      Please explain how you can use all your remotes that come on your rear view mirrors, that are on all new cars when they are covered by your item?

    • Aug 5, 2017

      Christopher Okoli

      I have a client in Africa that would love to be your representative in few countries.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Defective product

    • Fredericksburg, VA,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything was fine until the LCD went bright white. Unfortunately, it was outside the 60-day return window, and the company would not replace it; so, I'm out the money. I will never use this product again and won't recommend it to anyone else.

    Very bad customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 13, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi William,

      We apologize for your experience with our product. Please give our customer service a call at (323)-375-1042. Together, we can come up with a solution, whether it's replacing your product or refunding you in a check. We would be happy to help you for your satisfaction. We hope to hear from you.

      Thank you.

    • Jul 15, 2017

      Karen guyer

      I cannot figure out how to change date and time.

    • Jul 26, 2017

      Dan Buchner

      I used it for about a week and the screen went white. I have two of them, and would very much like to talk to someone in customer service, though it seems like a long shot. It appears that no one works in customer service. Just a lot of elevator music. I'm not sure how long I have to continue to hold.

      If you don't have the decency to actually have someone to help, then I will do what I need to so that I can get my money back. I will not recommend this product to anyone else. Truly bad customer service!

    • Aug 6, 2017

      Stephen Smith

      I ordered online and they charged me for three units instead of two. They give you no chance to review the order, which raised huge red flags. I wish I these reviews first.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Oregon,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was bad from the start. First, I was on the phone for 20 minutes to place a simple order for two units. Then, I got switched up to "save $25" on my order by buying into two other services.

    I got a charge on my credit card for 3 units even though nothing was shipped! I checked the tracking and was told everything was on backorder and that when (if) I got the package to just send one back.

    As of today, I did see two credits on my credit card except for $68 which I have no idea why I didn't get a full credit.

    Seriously, I will never, ever buy from a TV commercial again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Design

    Very poor design. The battery should last more than 60 minutes, so you do not have to see the USB cable hanging in the middle of the windshield. In daylight, you cannot see the little screen. USB and SD card should be either on the side or bottom of the mirror.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 3, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi Hugo,

      Thank you for your input on the HD Mirror Cam. We care about the satisfaction of our customers so please give our Customer Service a call at (323)-374-1042. We are open to any suggestions and look carefully into each of them.

      Thank you,

      InvenTel Products

    • Jul 3, 2017

      Jimmy Stone

      It seems to have a light scratchy sound. Also, there is nothing mentioned about the red flashing dot on the top of the screen.

    • Jul 7, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi Jimmy,

      We apologize for this. Please do not hesitate to give us a call at (323)-375-1042 and we will gladly help you find a solution for your problem such as replacing your HD Mirror Cam.

      Thank you,

      InvenTel Products

    • Jul 11, 2017

      Archie smith

      Can you clarify the resolution for me? VGA 1.3m, 2m, 3m, I don't know what it means if I record on 2m. Do I have less space on the SD? Having 1.3m, you can't make out license plate numbers in front of you but you can on VGA. However, it has less space on SD with 1.3m.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jun 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Save your money people. The rear view mirror vibrates a great deal, and the parts inside can be heard shifting around. It say's it can be set for up to 10-minute loop time, but it only goes as high as 5 minutes.

    I contacted the customer service people and got a vague reply that led nowhere. When you set the motion activation feature, you can forget about catching anything that might happen while in the store or your driveway, because when you shut off the vehicle, the motion action resets to off and you have to turn it back on every time you restart the unit. If it is a bright sunny day out, the screen is nothing but glare.

    I contacted returns to return it, but get no reply. The next step will be consumer affairs and local news. As far as getting a ticket for using other makes, any officer will tell you as long as they are not in direct line of site, you have no problem. Most people have more obstructions hanging on their mirrors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi Chris,

      We sincerely apologize for your experience. Our customers, their opinions, and needs are very important to us. So please give us a call at (323)-375-1042. Together we can resolve the issue, and we can send you a replacement.

      Thank you,

      InvenTel Products

    • Jul 7, 2017

      E. Gore

      I am very disappointed that the motion activated aspect is limited to when the car's engine is on. The module must be hooked up to my car's 12-Volt plug, and the battery lasts for a short duration. The point in my buying this was to have surveillance in my absence. I am already shopping for a better model. What a rip-off.

    • Jul 13, 2017

      Customer Service, Marketing & Media Coordinator

      Hi E. Gore,

      We apologize for your experience. Our customer's appreciation and satisfaction are important to us, so please don't hesitate to give us a call at (323)-375-1042, so that we may answer any questions or doubts that you may have. We thank you for your business and hope that we can get in touch with you.

      Thank you,

      InvenTel Products

    • Aug 3, 2017

      candy unger

      Unfortunately, I am stuck in start-up mode. I can't figure out which way to insert the SD card. It seems to fit either way. I cannot locate an image of the correct method online.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Trenton, NJ,
    • Jun 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well worth the purchase for the price. HD Mirror Cam is the best option for a dash cam as it does not obstruct your view. It is a quality product, and I would recommend it to anyone in the market for a great dash cam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for HD Mirror Cam!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review