About HDFX360

Designed by professional photographers, the HDFX360 mobile lens kit claims to be machined from aerospace polymer and scratch impervious aspheric lenses, so you’ll be able to take professional DSLR-quality photos—but without breaking the bank.

Each HDFS360 kit comes with three German designed precision lenses:

  • Macro: 0.5” tall, 20X optical zoom
  • Wide: 0.78” tall, 0.67 magnification
  • Fisheye: 0.98” tall, 180° field of view

These lenses attach directly to any mobile device using a spring-loaded clip, which are claimed to work without harming or modifying your device and without downloading any apps. When you’re finished using your HDFX360, you’ll be able to store them in a microfiber Carry Clean soft case.

Taking all of this together, along with the fact that HDFX360’s lenses were voted Best Mobile Product 2014 and 2015, the company claims they’ve sold more than 30,000 lenses just this month.

Just because they might be popular, does this necessarily mean HDFX360’s lenses are worth the money? Can you realistically expect them to perform as well as a much more expensive DSLR? We’ll break it down here so you can make an informed decision.

What Is a DSLR Camera?

While there’s no need to go into too much detail here, in a nutshell, a DSLR (or digital single-lens reflex) camera uses built-in mirrors that “allow you to see exactly what the lens sees through the viewfinder,” and also uses interchangeable lenses.

In addition, DSLR cameras generally feature large imaging sensors, which translates into better image quality, including in low light, with speeds of at least 4 frames per second. And taking into considering the fact that a DSLR camera can be customized further using external flashes, filters, and upgraded battery packs, the possibilities are almost endless.

What does this mean when it comes to HDFX360?

Will HDFX360 Turn Your Smartphone Into a DSLR Camera?

Based on what we just learned, we can see that a DSLR is much more than just a lens. As such, simply attaching an external lens to your smartphone doesn’t automatically turn it into a DLSR, or allow it to take the same quality images.

Instead, it will only change what your smartphone’s camera sees, but not its overall quality. For example, imagine taking two pictures of the same thing and under the same circumstances (lighting, etc.): one using an HDFX360 lens, and the other using only your camera’s lens.

Afterward, when looking at your screen, you’ll notice that any imperfections will be identical (such as graininess, pixelation), although the composition might be different. The fish eye lens might include a wider view, the macro lens will zoom in, and so forth.

Even if HDFX360 won’t turn your smartphone into a DSLR camera or necessarily provide the same image quality, is it still worth the price?

How Much Does HDFX360 Cost?

HDFX360 lens kits are available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Set: $56
  • 2 Sets: $97
  • 4 Sets: $169
  • 5 Sets: $196
  • 10 Sets: $350
  • 15 Sets: $450
  • 20 Sets: $550

During checkout, you can also purchase lifetime protection (no additional details about this were provided), the cost for which varies depending on the number of kits you buy.

According to the company’s Terms, it appears refunds are only available in the event of a defective or damaged product, and only within 30 days. In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call customer service at +3129-772-8113 (note: long distance charges may apply).

How does this price compare to similar lens kits? Or, is there anything else out there like HDFX360?

Is HDFX360 the Only Smartphone Lens Kit?

Not by a long shot. So, if you’re in the market for some aftermarket smartphone lenses, you’ve literally got thousands of choices at just about every imaginable price point.

Comparatively, HDFX360 claims their lenses are constructed of an “aerospace polymer,” which is such a broad term that it tells us little about the product itself. We’re also told they contain aspheric lenses, although this technology only affects the profile (i.e. the thickness) of the lens, but not necessarily the performance.

From a price perspective, you’ll find similar three-lens sets only selling for as little as $7. Without more concrete details about HDFX360’s lenses, there’s no way to tell how they stack up against these other options based on quality and functionality.

What are customers saying about HDFX360? Are they pleased with their performance?

Online Customer Feedback for HDFX360 Camera Lenses

We came across only a handful of online reviews for HDFX360 during our research, the most detailed of which was on ICTPLD.com. There, the author noted that they were “very impressed with the quality of the photos”:

As for all of the extravagant claims made by the makers, I cannot vouch for the truthfulness of those claims. The product appears to be professionally designed, but I wasn’t there to witness its inception so I can’t be 100% sure. Apparently, the HDFX 360 has won various awards from important organizations in the camera industry. And they are proud to tout about those awards.”

As for how these lenses might stack up against a traditional (and much higher priced) DSLR camera? One user on Singletrack World’s forum mentioned: “They're probably ok for producing 'quirky' smartphone images, but I really don't think they'd be much cop beyond that. Quality lenses cost loads for a reason. These are very cheap.”

Should HDFX360’s Lens Kit Be on Your Radar?

We’ve already talked about the fact that lenses alone don’t make a DSLR camera, so it’s reasonable to conclude that HDFX360 will not turn your smartphone into one.

What if you’re just looking for a neat new way to enjoy photography and open up new creative possibilities on your smartphone? In our opinion, as long as you understand that HDFX360’s lenses will only change the composition—not the quality—of your pictures, you might be satisfied with the performance. Just remember that they’re competing with thousands of different options, some of which might offer a better bang for your buck.

Regardless of which option you choose, just remember that although these types of lenses often claim to fit any mobile device, they might not work with your case. This means that you might find yourself having to constantly remove your case in order to enjoy your lenses.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Customer Reviews for HDFX360

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Nice box

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It makes it probably the most expensive box on the planet because what's inside is complete rubbish. As noted earlier, it does not even warrant one star.

    Please don't buy it or you'll be sorry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Never ever do business with this company

    • Copenhagen, Denmark,
    • Mar 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They don't deliver, they don't answer mails, and they completely ignore you. One exception: they take your money. You should never do business with HDFX360 or HDZoom360.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Really crap product, don't buy it!

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Mar 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a really rubbish product and doesn't work at all. This is a total scam; don't buy it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Screwed

    • Atascadero, CA,
    • Feb 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I would have read the reviews here first. I just received it, and it has no quality whatsoever. If you can get it to work, the picture produced is the worst quality that I have ever seen. I will try for a refund, but this is a scam. I should have known better. It doesn't deserve the one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy it

    • Kent, England,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I brought the HDFX360 with the three lenses and snap-on connector. And I also got the HDZoom360, which claims you can capture photos or videos in ULTRA HD up to 50 miles away.

    Well, I think they meant 50 meters because that's about as far as you can see with it. The picture and video quality are not as good as the phone's built-in lens. I don't know how a company can be allowed to so openly con and deceive the public with nothing but shameful lies and cheap tatty products (that weren't so cheap by the way) and get away with it.

    The company is committing fraud and obtaining money by deception.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam.

    • Western Australia,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's a scam.

    I ordered this over a month ago, and after several attempts of writing to them for confirmation and an order number, they replied by asking for my address again (which I replied to).

    After 2.5 weeks, they sent a message through PayPal with a tracking number and a date it was supposed to have been sent on. There was no link on how to track the number, so again, after several emails requesting a link for tracking, I have decided it is a scam big time, and now am going to try and get my money back via PayPal.

    So be aware if you decide to order one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2017

      Jan

      Can you please send me their email? I ordered three lenses, and haven't received any order confirmation. I tried to contact them, but still, I have not heard from them. I would be very grateful.

      Thanks, Jan.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Crap!

    • California,
    • Feb 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I connected it to my phone and could see the actual lens through the camera's eye! It didn't do a thing to enhance it. Total crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Adelaide, South Australia, Australia,
    • Feb 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware, this is a total scam!

    I have still not received the item and have reported it to PayPal. Also, I have sent them numerous emails, and to date haven't received a response. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement. They say they are based in Canada, but the products are being shipped from Hong Kong.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Slick marketing but really crappy product!

    • Florida,
    • Feb 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was really interested after reading about this lens. But after receiving it and trying it, I am very displeased. It is completely useless and not very well made at that.

    If you read this review and still want to order the lens, message me, I've got one that you could get for cheap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 24, 2017

      Walid Alanya

      Hello Phil,

      I read your review, and it's really helpful, thanks. If there are any really good mobile lenses that you know about or have tried them yourself. Please feel free to tell me about them so I can choose one. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Scam, beware!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Feb 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They double shipped two items that my wife ordered, and the products appeared cheap.

    I called them to get a return authorization. First, they said they would only accept it back if it was less than two weeks from their ship date, but it took ten days to get to us. When I explained that it was a duplicate shipment and billing, they hung up. I called three more times and finally got an RA. I shipped it back on 12/27/2016.

    As of today, I have still not received a refund! Every time I call now, they send me to voicemail (no rep available). They must have my phone number on some list to automatically divert it to voicemail.

    In a nut shell, this is a terrible product with no customer service; a real scam. If you are smart, you will never do business with this group.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Joke

    • Utah,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this seemingly amazing item clear back on November 20, 2016. It still hasn't arrived. I'm a professional Natural Light Photographer that got so excited to have something for my phone on those times I don't have my equipment with me. Their Facebook ad hooked me, but I should have known better. I will contact my credit card company tomorrow and file a claim, and then I will report it to my local news. I DO NOT take kindly to being SCAMMED!

    Thanks to these reviews I'm better off now knowing I'm not the only one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for HDFX360!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review