About Hot Designs

Hot Designs is a set of specially formulated nail art pens that are claimed to help you create hot, fun, unique nail designs that “turn ordinary nails into extraordinary nails, without being an artist.” In fact, Hot Designs is so easy to use the manufacturer claims that if you can make dots and lines, you can make hot designs. “Easy to use and remove,” as they call it.

In order to accomplish this, each Hot Designs pen feature two ends; one with a regular nail polish application brush, which you can use to apply your base coat. Then, on the opposite end (and in a different color), you’ll find a fine point nail art pen for creating dots, stripes, rainbows, and more, which you can use by lightly squeezing to control the level of polish coming out.

If you’re looking to create unique—but easy—designs for your finger and toenails, should you give Hot Designs a try? Consider the following:

How Much Does Polish Does Hot Designs Contain?

First, keep in mind that nowhere on the Hot Designs website does it claim how much polish or paint each pen contains. As such, there’s no way to know how many times you can reasonably expect to decorate your nails, or whether or not Hot Designs’ price provides a decent level of value.

Other Nail Art Pens

Next, although the Hot Designs commercial makes it seem like something extraordinary, the reality is that you have many similar options from which to choose. To see just how many options you have, simply type the phrase “nail art pen” into your favorite search engine.

In fact, many of these options are less expensive than Hot Designs, especially when you factor in the high, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this in the Pricing section).

Customers Don’t Seem Happy with Hot Designs

Since our original review, 12 HighYa readers have provided their feedback for Hot Designs, giving it an average rating of 3 stars, with 33% claiming they’d recommend it to a friend. While some reviewers claimed Hot Designs worked well and was exactly what they needed, the most common complaints appeared to center around the pen tip pushing in (unable to remove once this occurs), damaged nails, and leaking pens.

From a company perspective, Hot Designs is made by Allstar Products Group, one of the leaders within the “As Seen on TV” industry, who makes dozens of popular ASOTV products including Secret Extensions, Perfect Bacon Bowl, Spicy Shelf, and others. And among more than 380 HighYa reader reviews, these products had an average rating of 2 stars, with common complaints citing poor quality products, failure to work as advertised, and difficult customer service experiences.

Granted, you may not experience the same with Hot Designs, but it’s definitely something worth keeping in mind.

Hot Designs Pricing & Refund Policy

Six Hot Designs (a total of 12 different colors) art pens are priced at $14.95 plus $7.95 S&H. With your order, you’ll also receive a bonus carrying case and design guide for free.

Hot Designs comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means you could ultimately lose 50% or more of your refund in lost S&H charges.

With this said, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 855-721-3319.

Important note: Due to the popularity of Hot Designs, the product is also available at Walmart, Kmart, Sears, Dollar General, and many other third-party retailers.

Can Hot Designs Make You a Nail Art Pro?

Chopping to the point: Considering Hot Designs’ mixed online customer reputation, as well as its steep, non-refundable S&H charges, you might want to search for this “As Seen on TV” product at a local retailer before ordering it online.

While you’re at it, you might also want to explore nail art pen options from other manufacturers that could provide better bang for your buck than Hot Designs.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Customer Reviews for Hot Designs

Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 6
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • Not impressed

    • Jul 4, 2016

    I tried this out and was not impressed. The pink polish was gloopy and did not work. All of the tips were pushed in when I opened it, and I couldn't get any polish to come out of it. I hope this was not how all of them were because it is a really neat idea.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste

    • Herriman, UT,
    • Jan 25, 2016

    I got this as a Christmas present from my cousin. She said she bought it from Wal-Mart. I was so excited. When I opened it, the logos on the pens were all scratched off. I tested all the brushes first to find every color was goopy. The white and pink had black all over the top layer which made them look very ugly. Then I tried the pens for every single one of them and nothing came out. I bent it, shook it up, used both hands, but nothing came out. I made sure they were not clogged and they still didn't work. I went to return it and Wal-Mart said they wouldn't let me because I had opened it and used it. I even showed them nothing came out. Waste of time and money, so don't buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Crappy

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 29, 2015

    It's the worst thing ever. When I got mine, it was $10 for three pen (nine colors). I wanted to use the red first and it wouldn't come out. I have a scratched up nail now. The black wouldn't come out and when the red worked, it was liquidy and it looked like water was in it. It is extremely hard to squeeze out. It ruined my nails and when you use remover to take it off, it gets all over your skin and turns it that color for days. Don't get this. It's $10 at Toys R Us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not what I thought it was

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    Everything was so cool, I opened the box whipped out the colors I wanted, and painted my nails white with pink and black cheetah print. I had it on forever and it felt like they never dried. I painted them at 2:30pm when I got home from work and after Walmart. It was 8:30 pm when I went to bed. Because I have to work 6:30 am to 2:00 pm, so I went to bed early. When I woke up they were smeared. It made me mad that they didn't dry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Hot designs is cheap.

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    I bought hot designs with high hopes, because all of my friends had told me hot designs were simply amazing. So I went out and bought them. I was like every other customer, reading the instructions and perfecting the techniques. At first I was like "wow". Then I started to do my ring finger accent and it started to leak. I checked and the cap was screwed on tightly. It got all over my hands and I could not get it off even after I scrubbed for like 20 minutes. The worst part is that the pen tip got pushed in and now we cant get it out. Overall Hot Designs is not worth the money. I have to go out and buy some Sally Hansen Nail Art Pens. Because Hot designs is so not designs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Jun 18, 2015

    I bought Hot Designs from the store luckily not wasting money on S&H. One of the polish brushes was fanned out and ruined. On another the tip didn't even work, it was clogged. None of my tips have been pushed in but the polish is too thick to do anything with. It's like the polish is already old, it's thick and gummy. The tips are pointless. The polish is too thick, you create a design and it gets ruined by the thick polish stringing up like spider webs. That's the only way I can describe. If you get lucky and polish isn't thick, then you just get a ton of air bubbles coming out of the tip and design is ruined. I would not recommend to anyone. Just buy dotting tools or a box of toothpicks and you'll get a better results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not the best.

    • New York,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    I recently went to Justice with my daughter and found nail art pens that look exactly like these Hot Designs but for a better price with more things. I asked the cashier how long they have been selling them for. Since she had been working there for quite a while, I thought she may have known, and she did. They have been selling them for two years and so I bought it.

    My sister bought Hot Designs for herself and they completely damaged her perfectly dry nail polish. I decided to compare them and found out they aren't very good quality. I have also been using Sally Hansen nail art pens which have been out for a while and did a French manicure. They work very good and the same way as Hot Designs only they don't damage your nail polish (found out it was because of the needle tips).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 8, 2014

      Lily

      Hot designs is a great product if you use it right.

       

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment

    • New York City, NY,
    • May 29, 2015

    I got these for my birthday and I have been wanting these for forever. I tried them on the paper to test them. I go and try to use them on my real nails the next day and three of the pen things are already pushed in. I wasted some of my birthday money, and now I know not to get these in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They are pretty good

    • New Orleans,
    • Dec 23, 2014

    They are good but I put on the cap wrong and the tip got pushed in. Overall they are awesome.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I've fallen in love

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Nov 26, 2014

    These things are freaking amazing. I am constantly using them on my finger and toe nails. I have to go buy more because I'm almost all out. I wish they would come in more colors!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They're okay

    • Billings, MT,
    • Aug 22, 2014

    Well they started out okay, I used them a lot, and then one day i accidentally pushed the tip in and now I can't get it out. I wasn't pushing hard, so I think it must have been a little loose. Overall, they were okay until that pin pushed in

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a review for Hot Designs!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review