About Hover Ball

Hover Ball brags it’s the only soccer ball that floats like “magic” that has a flat base and claims to use “super slider technology” to keep it moving indoors on wood, carpet, or tile. Actually, this isn’t Back To The Future, so we know it’s not really floating in the air.

The Company that brings you The Hover Ball is Wham-O, a popular Toy company based out of California that claims to have been speciailizing in this industry for over 50 years.

How Hover Ball Actually Works

Hover Ball looks like a soccer ball cut in half that's also made of rubber. They say it uses “super slider technology” although, they don’t say it hovers. They claim you can kick it indoors across all kinds of flooring including different types of carpet.

Because it’s flat on one slide and rubber, they say it is usable in small spaces like a living room, will slide under tables or sofas, and harmlessly bounce off baseboards.

That’s all well and good, but what they don’t tell you is Hover Ball’s dimensions. In the video it’s almost always zipping around, but if you look carefully, at 0:51, the mom is holding one in the palm of her hand.

Hover Ball Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Hover Ball costs $14.99 plus $5.99 shipping fees. They offer a 30-day money back guarantee, minus S&H and what it costs to send back. (Note: When you click “Process Order,”you are also signing an arbitration agreement.)

Bottom Line: Do my Kids Deserve the Hover Ball?

Truth be told, the Hover Ball only “hovers” in its name. Even if you can play with it on carpeting like they claim, it’s probably not very big. The shipping fees, though non-refundable, are within reason. But the fact that you have to sign away your rights before even trying the product and the lack of general information about the company itself suggests to us you should “kick” your search for a soccer toy in another direction, perhaps by looking into your local store.

However, the Hover Ball itself does sound like quite the compelling concept for your kids especially when they're taking an indoor break from such hot weather outside. Perhaps this will keep them busy. Really, the only downside is that as a parent you might get frustrated with the Hover Ball all over the place. But what home owner wouldn't? Per our observation, it appears that the Hover Ball probably wouldn't fly around but will only stay on the ground and glide around. We say, go ahead and give it a shot, but form your local store only.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Customer Reviews for Hover Ball

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 7
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Paid but never received nothing and no words from them.

    • East Brunswick, NJ,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    I also ordered this product about two weeks ago but I've been waiting for the delivery since. No words, no eta, don't know what's going on. I feel that I paid my hard earned money to some aliens. They really need to improve their communication. If it is back ordered, don't bombard TV commercial if you don't have the product ready to ship. What's the purpose of the commercial? Just want to make customers disappointed?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 11 people found this review helpful

    As advertised

    • Aug 1, 2015

    My son has always wanted this ball, following the advert on TV. We bought it in a store for $9.99 and it glides on the floor, that is good by me. It is just as advertised and mine came packaged. The only con is that it's loud when my son kicks it on the wooden floor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    We are taking it back for a refund

    • Atlanta,
    • Jul 14, 2015

    There is no button or switch to activate it. It doesn't work. It's useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 23, 2015

      Robin Kenson

      If doesn't have a switch it is not electric, it just uses the slippery surface on the bottom.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 17 people found this review helpful

    I love the Hover Ball

    • Culpeper, VA,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    I didn't order it so I didn't have back order issues like others. I was presently surprised how well it moves especially on the carpet. I have coached over 20 years and it has been a great tool for working on ball moves and the agility of the moves. It has been great so far when you can't go out due to weather conditions. The ball is not regulation size as far as the circumference goes but when I train, I have often used smaller balls to help sharpen the players skills. In our house, we have had some great 2 on 2 games in the den.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 15, 2015

      Ian

      You only say this because your paid to.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Rip off, do not order.

    • Texas,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    Ordered via phone. Never informed of back order status while ordering. Received email few weeks later that it was on back order; no ETA given. Rip off. Don't feel comfortable, company has my credit card info (whether they charged me yet or not) but are not producing and/or shipping product. I never would have given them my credit card info if I knew they were having problems with production. Although no arbitration agreement via phone, it's rather odd they have such agreement set up if you order online. Were they expecting dissatisfied customers, knowing the product would not be shipped? If you've already ordered, you may want to monitor your credit card statements. Something seems very fishy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 23 people found this review helpful

    No packaging or instructions

    • Colorado,
    • Oct 8, 2014

    I was surprised at how long it took (10 days) to receive this order, but then saw these other reviews and consider myself lucky! Then, I saw the small print under the shipping options that we're to allow 4 to 6 weeks for delivery. I never would have ordered if I had seen this at first. My main complaint is that the TV ad my grandkids saw was misleading and they are going to expect it to be much more fun than it really is.

    There was no packaging or instructions or anything identifying it as a Wham-O product. It came in a plastic bag. I thought it would be a decent product since Wham-O is a big name toy-maker; however, Wham-O seems to not be in the picture?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 19 people found this review helpful

    No way. Spend money on something else

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Oct 6, 2014

    So I went online to order one, the agreement basically says you're "screwed" once you give them your credit card. After seeing this, I immediately canceled my card, but still received an email about it being on back-order. Report these people to the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Looks are deceiving

    • Colorado,
    • Sep 21, 2014

    We bought 2 Hover Balls for the grandkids. I was shocked when I saw how small it is. Buyer beware... I do not think it is worth the price tag.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 24, 2014

      Jeff

      I bought two for 20 from HSN and I didn't get any instructions or anything because it's junk and shocked HSN would even sell this product.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 18 people found this review helpful

    No problems

    • New York,
    • Aug 30, 2014

    When I ordered this I was told it was on backorder and I did receive it when they said I would. They were in contact with me until it was shipped and did not charge me until it was shipped.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Yep a scam

    • MN,
    • Aug 28, 2014

    I ordered too through the infomercial on 7-11 was charged through owl enterprises for 14.90. Called today to check on my order 8-27 and now they say i never ordered and they would call me back. I double checked my bank statement as they said they charge would say hover ball, it didn't, it says owl enterprises out of California, I believe this is the front. Talked to several CS reps who lie their butts off. I am currently reporting them. DON'T ORDER.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Never received!

    • Kenner, Louisiana,
    • Aug 25, 2014

    Ordered online, they took my money and I never got the item I ordered. FBI should look into this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a review for Hover Ball!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review