About Hulu Plus

Hulu Plus is a paid online service that gives users access to unlimited instant streaming of TV shows, movies, trailers and exclusive content. It complements the website Hulu by enabling paid users to watch episodes past the five latest ones available for free.

See Also: Stop Paying Too Much for Cable! Find Freedom by Cutting the Cord

It has a robust TV show and movie collection, including video clips and snippets, film trailers and even exclusive Hulu series shows. Some TV shows even include archived episodes which were then never available online.

Hulu Plus runs on a pretty minimal user interface, which makes viewing easier on the eyes. Similar to the free access site Hulu, Hulu Plus does not display ads anywhere in the interface. But just like your regular TV, it runs commercials in gaps throughout a show episode or a movie.

With a wide range of devices on which the service runs, Hulu Plus takes TV viewing to a more convenient, on-demand setting, something that the free web-browser-only website is not able to provide. However, even for paid Hulu Plus users, some shows are accessible only via web browser just like in Hulu.

Hulu Plus is currently available in the US and in Japan, although the company intends to widen their reach. Hulu is a joint venture with NBC Universal Television Group, Disney-ABC Television Group, Fox Broadcasting Company, and other providence equity partners.

Hulu Plus Features

  • Viewing History. Check out the past shows you’ve already watched so you can keep track of the episodes you need to catch up on. 
  • Queue. Line up the episodes and shows you want to watch for a more convenient user experience.
  • HD. Watch high definition videos on your device at up to 720p HD quality video.
  • Migrate. You can start watching a video on your iPad and continue watching it on your TV. The video will automatically start at the point where you stopped watching in on your previous device.
  • Easy browsing. Hulu Plus displays a complete searchable list of the shows you can watch, including title, logo, the number of seasons available and the number of episodes you can watch.
  • Compatible with various devices. Watch on your web browser, on your mobile phone, on your tablet, on your TV, on your Blu-ray player, on your set-top box or even your gaming console. The website shows a complete list of compatible devices, including popular ones such as Wii U, Wii, Apple TV, Microsoft Xbox 360, Roku Streaming Player, Sony Playstation 3, and Apple devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch).

Hulu Plus Pricing

Hulu Plus gives users a week of free trial, after which they are billed a fixed monthly price of $7.99. Subscription can be canceled anytime.

109 Customer Reviews for Hulu Plus

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 8 2 stars: 23 1 stars: 68
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 109
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Sad experience

    I started watching Hulu a month ago. I'm not happy with the service. I also am a Netflix user and though some of the shows are older, I have never had a bad experience with Netflix.

    Hulu is simply terrible. They show ads; and I could even sit through those, the ads pause regularly. A 30 second ad never completes in 30 seconds, usually takes 45 seconds. It's frustrating to sit through the pauses.

    The day another service is available with the shows that I'm watching on Hulu, I'll call and cancel my service. I'm looking forward to when that happens.

    It's sad when a customer feels devalued the way I do! Terrible service and would not recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Manipulating scammer company

    • by Tess,
    • Denver CO,
    • Apr 26, 2015

    So I have been using the free version of Hulu for years, I've been happy with that until the last couple of day when I suspect that Hulu started having their free version consistently stop playing (like every 5 seconds). I finally tried my free week out as a result, and there is no longer an issue. If this was their ploy to get me to buy the full version then I just think that is really low. I plan on ending my free trial and not paying for PLUS, especially since they don't even stop playing you commercials with your paid subscription.

    Also, YouTube and Netflix were still playing videos consistently and I had tried restarting my computer, browser, and router none of which ever cleared up the playback issue with the free version. Hulu Plus is definitely a scam. I will be looking for a new free option for my TV needs and that new site can end up raking in the money from the commercials I sit through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Freezes

    • by Peri,
    • South Florida ,
    • Apr 18, 2015

    Hulu has good shows and back log of material but poor choices for movies and documentaries. However, Hulu Plus freezes constantly. Which in turn freezes Internet access. They could use a wider selection of shows as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hulu Minus

    • by Tee El,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 11, 2015

    Hulu on its own merit is okay. You stream your shows, you watch commercials (in some cases, more than normal TV), they make their money from said commercials, everyone wins.

    Hulu Plus "allows" you to watch Hulu on additional (non-PC) devices, still with the same crappy commercials, and yet you are paying THEM to watch their commercials. Sound like a scam? It should be. Both Netflix and Amazon Prime allow you to stream with NO commercials, from all the devices you want. Granted, Hulu is more up to date on shows, but you can just sit at your computer and watch without having to pay a dime... which is what I recommend. Long story short, Hulu Plus is not worth the money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Hulu Plus was a Disappointment

    • by Grant Bergmann,
    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Mar 1, 2015

    We signed up for Hulu Plus and found that the episodes we were interested in from earlier in the season were not available. When we tried to watch a mid season episode, the streaming stopped every 1-2 minutes for loading. Very Frustrating! This has not happened with Netflix. I would not recommend Hulu Plus to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Hulu - paying for ads & missing episodes

    • by Sweet Grass,
    • Florida,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    I was disappointed with Hulu. So many ads! Also many of the shows I wanted to see had missing episodes. Who wants to begin watching a show in the middle of a season? There are much better options than Hulu with no ads and full seasons.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Why do people give it bad ratings?

    • by Cara Elena,
    • Poplar Bluff,
    • Feb 19, 2015

    I have "cut the cable" and use only Hulu Plus for my main TV. As long as you stop looking at the TV guide for cable, you will find all kinds of shows. And you can watch every episode, and every season. I love it. My cable bill was $90 a month. I pay $8 for Hulu. I think Hulu is better than cable. I'll never go back to cable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Why are there more ads than the free version?!

    • by Anonymous,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    Okay. Hulu has some superb shows on it, and for about three months I was subscribed -- it has certain series that I adore, and a bunch of new anime series that I was unaware were available on Crunchyroll.

    That said, around $10 a month for the ability to watch on my netbox, with MORE ADS THAN THE FREE VERSION, is simply not worth my time to even consider. Sorry. Your service has some great shows on it, but until you offer an ad-free subscription, or one where I have to watch a single ad at the start, you'll not see any of my cash again.

    Overall, it isn't a terrible service--its relatively functional, but I'm not paying to watch more ads than the free version. That's the main reason I canceled my cable years ago; I'm not looking for a substitute, thanks. Fix it or go under. I don't care. I'm going to go watch anime on a service that doesn't suck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hulu Plus is a RIP OFF

    • by Joe P,
    • New Mexico,
    • Feb 10, 2015

    Do not pay for Hulu Plus. There are more advertisements than TV and they are long and frequent. Even with a PAID subscription they charge for the majority of recent episodes. Hulu Plus also requires that you have a paid TV subscription for ANY recent episodes. TOTAL RIP OFF! Do not purchase. I will be canceling asap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • by Panak134,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Feb 5, 2015

    I just signed up today. Too many commercials and ads. Hulu plus buffers every five minutes.

    I absolutely 110% do not recommend Hulu plus

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    It's buggy, has a lot of commercials, and contains fewer new shows than I thought

    • by Lucas,
    • Chico, OH,
    • Feb 3, 2015

    Here's a scenario: you start a show, the commercial starts. So you take those minutes to text your buddy. The show starts, you finish your text, and you missed the first 15 seconds. You try to rewind: Haha! You FOOL! Now you must watch the commercials again!

    Also, it froze my Roku a dozen times. None of my other Roku channels did that.

    Basically, what you pay for is the ability to watch it an an xBox, PS3, or Roku. The content you get is about what they should be serving for the FREE accounts. Instead they limit the free accounts by SEVERELY limiting the number of episodes available. So with a paid account you feel like you're paying for ALL the episodes. Why should you need to? And how come some shows are missing seasons?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 109

Write a review for Hulu Plus!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review