About Hulu Plus

Hulu Plus is a paid online service that gives users access to unlimited instant streaming of TV shows, movies, trailers and exclusive content. It complements the website Hulu by enabling paid users to watch episodes past the five latest ones available for free.

See Also: Stop Paying Too Much for Cable! Find Freedom by Cutting the Cord

It has a robust TV show and movie collection, including video clips and snippets, film trailers and even exclusive Hulu series shows. Some TV shows even include archived episodes which were then never available online.

Hulu Plus runs on a pretty minimal user interface, which makes viewing easier on the eyes. Similar to the free access site Hulu, Hulu Plus does not display ads anywhere in the interface. But just like your regular TV, it runs commercials in gaps throughout a show episode or a movie.

With a wide range of devices on which the service runs, Hulu Plus takes TV viewing to a more convenient, on-demand setting, something that the free web-browser-only website is not able to provide. However, even for paid Hulu Plus users, some shows are accessible only via web browser just like in Hulu.

Hulu Plus is currently available in the US and in Japan, although the company intends to widen their reach. Hulu is a joint venture with NBC Universal Television Group, Disney-ABC Television Group, Fox Broadcasting Company, and other providence equity partners.

Hulu Plus Features

  • Viewing History. Check out the past shows you’ve already watched so you can keep track of the episodes you need to catch up on. 
  • Queue. Line up the episodes and shows you want to watch for a more convenient user experience.
  • HD. Watch high definition videos on your device at up to 720p HD quality video.
  • Migrate. You can start watching a video on your iPad and continue watching it on your TV. The video will automatically start at the point where you stopped watching in on your previous device.
  • Easy browsing. Hulu Plus displays a complete searchable list of the shows you can watch, including title, logo, the number of seasons available and the number of episodes you can watch.
  • Compatible with various devices. Watch on your web browser, on your mobile phone, on your tablet, on your TV, on your Blu-ray player, on your set-top box or even your gaming console. The website shows a complete list of compatible devices, including popular ones such as Wii U, Wii, Apple TV, Microsoft Xbox 360, Roku Streaming Player, Sony Playstation 3, and Apple devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch).

Hulu Plus Pricing

Hulu Plus gives users a week of free trial, after which they are billed a fixed monthly price of $7.99. Subscription can be canceled anytime.

107 Customer Reviews for Hulu Plus

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 8 2 stars: 23 1 stars: 66
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 107
Sort reviews by:

  • Freezes

    • by Peri,
    • South Florida ,
    • Apr 18, 2015

    Hulu has good shows and back log of material but poor choices for movies and documentaries. However, Hulu Plus freezes constantly. Which in turn freezes Internet access. They could use a wider selection of shows as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Hulu Minus

    • by Tee El,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 11, 2015

    Hulu on its own merit is okay. You stream your shows, you watch commercials (in some cases, more than normal TV), they make their money from said commercials, everyone wins.

    Hulu Plus "allows" you to watch Hulu on additional (non-PC) devices, still with the same crappy commercials, and yet you are paying THEM to watch their commercials. Sound like a scam? It should be. Both Netflix and Amazon Prime allow you to stream with NO commercials, from all the devices you want. Granted, Hulu is more up to date on shows, but you can just sit at your computer and watch without having to pay a dime... which is what I recommend. Long story short, Hulu Plus is not worth the money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hulu Plus was a Disappointment

    • by Grant Bergmann,
    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Mar 1, 2015

    We signed up for Hulu Plus and found that the episodes we were interested in from earlier in the season were not available. When we tried to watch a mid season episode, the streaming stopped every 1-2 minutes for loading. Very Frustrating! This has not happened with Netflix. I would not recommend Hulu Plus to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hulu - paying for ads & missing episodes

    • by Sweet Grass,
    • Florida,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    I was disappointed with Hulu. So many ads! Also many of the shows I wanted to see had missing episodes. Who wants to begin watching a show in the middle of a season? There are much better options than Hulu with no ads and full seasons.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Why do people give it bad ratings?

    • by Cara Elena,
    • Poplar Bluff,
    • Feb 19, 2015

    I have "cut the cable" and use only Hulu Plus for my main TV. As long as you stop looking at the TV guide for cable, you will find all kinds of shows. And you can watch every episode, and every season. I love it. My cable bill was $90 a month. I pay $8 for Hulu. I think Hulu is better than cable. I'll never go back to cable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Why are there more ads than the free version?!

    • by Anonymous,
    • Feb 15, 2015

    Okay. Hulu has some superb shows on it, and for about three months I was subscribed -- it has certain series that I adore, and a bunch of new anime series that I was unaware were available on Crunchyroll.

    That said, around $10 a month for the ability to watch on my netbox, with MORE ADS THAN THE FREE VERSION, is simply not worth my time to even consider. Sorry. Your service has some great shows on it, but until you offer an ad-free subscription, or one where I have to watch a single ad at the start, you'll not see any of my cash again.

    Overall, it isn't a terrible service--its relatively functional, but I'm not paying to watch more ads than the free version. That's the main reason I canceled my cable years ago; I'm not looking for a substitute, thanks. Fix it or go under. I don't care. I'm going to go watch anime on a service that doesn't suck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hulu Plus is a RIP OFF

    • by Joe P,
    • New Mexico,
    • Feb 10, 2015

    Do not pay for Hulu Plus. There are more advertisements than TV and they are long and frequent. Even with a PAID subscription they charge for the majority of recent episodes. Hulu Plus also requires that you have a paid TV subscription for ANY recent episodes. TOTAL RIP OFF! Do not purchase. I will be canceling asap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • by Panak134,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Feb 5, 2015

    I just signed up today. Too many commercials and ads. Hulu plus buffers every five minutes.

    I absolutely 110% do not recommend Hulu plus

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's buggy, has a lot of commercials, and contains fewer new shows than I thought

    • by Lucas,
    • Chico, OH,
    • Feb 3, 2015

    Here's a scenario: you start a show, the commercial starts. So you take those minutes to text your buddy. The show starts, you finish your text, and you missed the first 15 seconds. You try to rewind: Haha! You FOOL! Now you must watch the commercials again!

    Also, it froze my Roku a dozen times. None of my other Roku channels did that.

    Basically, what you pay for is the ability to watch it an an xBox, PS3, or Roku. The content you get is about what they should be serving for the FREE accounts. Instead they limit the free accounts by SEVERELY limiting the number of episodes available. So with a paid account you feel like you're paying for ALL the episodes. Why should you need to? And how come some shows are missing seasons?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    pissed off customer

    • by Krystal,
    • Holland, Texas,
    • Feb 2, 2015

    We are so sick of Hulu Plus! We pay every month just to deal with buffering every five seconds. We have high speed internet there for streaming so this should not be happening. We originally got Hulu Plus because Dish network doesn't have some of our favorite channels. We like being able to watch our shows but this buffering needs to stop otherwise they will lose another customer. We are tired of feeling like we are wasting our money. They need to get their stuff together!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • by Steven Gibbons,
    • Richmond Hill, GA,
    • Feb 2, 2015

    Hulu is just awful. Most of the time they are missing seasons. So you can't really immerse yourself into a show completely and you still get stuck watching ads. Netflix is by far the better buy because at least you get what you pay for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 107

Write a review for Hulu Plus!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review