About Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn is an “As Seen on TV” hydro seeding solution that’s claimed to make achieving green grass as easy as watering your lawn by simply attaching the Hydro Mousse bottle to any garden hose, which mixes water with the eco-friendly Spray n' Stay solution inside, as well as the “high quality seed mixture.” Then, you’ll need to set the dial on top of the bottle and begin seeding.

You probably just watched the Hydro Mousse commercial and are all hyped up about the possibility of achieving a perfectly green lawn with minimal effort, but is this what you can expect? First, let’s take a look at how Hydro Mousse is claimed to work.

How Does Hydro Mousse Claim to Work?

According to the manufacturer, Hydro Mousse’s solution attaches the seed directly to the soil, which takes the guesswork out of remembering where you sprayed, in addition to a conditioner that loosens hard soil and allows it to absorb water. On top of this, the company claims that when compared to traditional seeding methods, Hydro Mousse can help prevent seed loss caused by birds and drainage.

Because of this, Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn is claimed to be great for dry spots, dead spots caused by pets, and high traffic and shaded areas, and to be resistant to “extreme” heat and cold. In fact, Hydro Mousse is claimed to help you achieve professional results at a fraction of the cost.

However, the reality is that Hydro Mousse may not provide the results you’re expecting, and almost certainly won’t contain enough seed to cover your entire lawn. We’ll talk more about this in a moment.

A New Year, A New Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Review

Here at HighYa, we originally reviewed Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn last Spring, and now that a new year has arrived, we thought it would be a good time to see what customers like you are saying about the product, and if it differs from what was being said about Hydro Mousse 12 months ago.

In other words, are consumers pleased with their Hydro Mousse purchases? Do they feel it represents a solid value for their hard-earned money? Did they achieve the lawn of their dreams? Let’s take a look so you can make a more informed decision.

What Are Customers Saying About Hydro Mousse?

Since our original review, More than 150 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with Hydro Mouse (as of 3/10/15), and have given it an average rating of 2 stars. Interestingly, 123 of these were 1-star reviews, with only 13% claiming that they’d recommend the product to a friend.

Similarly, more than 80 Amazon customers have provided feedback about Hydro Mousse, and have also rated it an average of 2 stars. But what are all these people saying?

Does it Work as Advertised?

Far and away the most common complaint regarding Hydro Mousse is that it doesn’t work as advertised. This included complaints referencing:

  • The container does not spray properly, and that most of the seeds will still be left in the bottom after all of the green “mousse” has been sprayed out. In fact, numerous customers claimed that Hydro Mousse works better by just unscrewing the cap and pouring the mixture out by hand. And even if you are able to get all the seed out, there is only enough in the bottle to cover about 20 square feet.
  • The trigger shown on the bottle in the commercial isn’t actually functional. Instead, once you turn on your water, everything in the bottle comes out all at once (including the mousse and the seeds), which means that there isn’t an ability to spot treat.

Since our original review, it appears that the company posted a 6-minute instructional video on YouTube that covers everything from unpacking your system and choosing an area to spray, to how to apply the Mousse and to clean up afterward. This could potentially help clear up any user errors that may have caused some of the experiences noted above.

A Canadian network news team posted a 14-day Hydro Mousse review in July 2014, and found that the treated area grew only in patches, although an area of fresh dirt on the same piece of property was claimed to have filled in much better.

In addition, a YouTube user named Steve Johnson posted a short 4-part series examining Hydro Mousse, from initial spraying to 9 days after application. He even posted a follow up video revealing that some of his leftover seeds inside the sprayer had germinated after a few days as well.

Another YouTouber named Bryan Joy also posted a Hydro Mousse video review, although this only covered the initial application (no follow ups to see the results).

Overall, it appears that both Steve and Bryan had very positive experiences with Hydro Mousse, although these appears to be the exception rather than the rule, as we’ll continue discussing.

How's the Quality of the Product?

Next, the most common customer complaint associated with Hydro Mousse is that even if you are able to get the sprayer to work properly, it’s still an inferior product because:

  • Even though each Hydro Mousse bottle is claimed to include “high quality” seed varieties, many reviewers claimed that you can purchase similar seed mixes from your local hardware store for much less (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).
  • Failure to experience any growth, despite following all of the manufacturer’s recommendations for soil preparation, which includes tilling your top soil a full 3” from the surface, as well as removing any existing grass or weeds.
  • The “mousse” mixture will stain your hands for days, so be sure to wear gloves when applying. Also, several customers stated that Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn made their pets sick and/or the chemicals it contains burned their carpeting.

And the Customer Service?

As we've noticed a pattern with most “As Seen on TV” products like Hydro Mousse, numerous customers have complained of very poor customer service, including:

  • Numerous upsells during the ordering process over the phone, with customer service personnel who won’t take no for an answer. Because of this, several customers claimed that their order totals were much higher than the advertised price.
  • Difficulty processing refunds, including long hold times and sudden disconnects.
  • Constant sales calls from third-party companies. In fact, one reviewer claimed that they received 15 sales calls within minutes of placing their Hydro Mousse order.

What is Hydroseeding?

According to Wikipedia, hydroseeding is “a planting process that uses a slurry of seed and mulch” that has been used since the 1950s. Typically, this slurry/seed mixture is sprayed from large commercial trucks, which means that it can be applied to large areas relatively quickly to help with erosion control.

In addition, when compared to traditional seed broadcasting methods, hydro seeding has a quick germination rate (within a week) and can be cared for (mowed, trimmed, etc.) within about 3-4 weeks.

What Ingredients Are Contained in Hydro Mousse?

While there aren’t any ingredients listed on the Hydro Mousse website, and this information doesn’t appear to be available elsewhere online, the Wikipedia article noted in the previous section states that hydroseeding slurry typically contains a mix of “fertilizer, tackifying agents, fiber mulch, and green dye.”

Granted, this appears to closely resemble Hydro Mousse’s slurry, but we can’t be sure without confirmation from the manufacturer.

What Kinds of Seeds Are Contained in Hydro Mousse?

Other than telling us that Hydro Mousse contains a “high quality” seed mixture that’s resistant to “extreme” heat and cold and that will blend perfectly with your existing lawn, Hydro Mousse’s manufacturer doesn’t provide any information about the exact species of grass seed it contains.

With this said, the reality is that achieving the greenest lawn possible isn’t just as simple as putting out whatever kind of grass you want. This is because the type of grass you should plant depends on a wide variety of factors environmental factors, such as climate and soil type, in addition to other considerations such as sun/shade levels, amount of traffic, and even how short you choose to mow your grass.

As if this weren’t enough, some grasses are very aggressive (such as Kentucky bluegrass, Buffalograss, Bermuda, and more) and can crowd out and kill your existing lawn, depending on the type of grass you currently have in place.

USDA Hardiness Zones MapThe type of grass you should plant (and when you should plant it) depends largely on your climate and soil type. Image courtesy of SeedLand.com

Because of this, it’s almost certain that Hydro Mousse will not work equally well in all conditions and locations, and could even cause more damage than it repairs.

Is Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn Really As Easy As Simply Spraying?

Remember the instructional video that we mentioned above? If you fast-forward to 1:20, you’ll find out that, even if you’re only covering dog spots or filling in high-traffic areas, the surface area must be prepped, which involves removing all dead vegetation (yes, this means your existing grass) and loosening the topsoil.

In other words, depending on the size of the area you’re looking to apply Hydro Mousse, this could quickly turn into a labor-intensive endeavor—and much more work than the product’s commercial might make it seem.

With all this soil preparation in mind, in addition to the fact that you should water your lawn three times daily after application, we’d have to wonder how effective Hydro Mousse’s “conditioner” really is.

Hydro Mousse Pricing & Refund Policy

Hydro Mousse is available in 2 purchasing options:

  • TV Offer – Claims to include one Hydro Mousse container with “double the seeds” for $19.95 plus $7.95 S&H, bringing your total to $27.90.
  • Best Value Offer – Includes everything in the TV Offer, in addition to 5 seed refill bags for $79.80 plus $31.80 S&H, bringing your total to $111.60.

Regardless of which option you choose, Hydro Mousse comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Note: This means that if you order the Best Value Offer and decide to request a refund, this means you’ll be shipping six bags of seed back to the manufacturer, which could cost a decent chunk of change in return S&H charges.

With this said, in order to request a refund for your Hydro Mousse, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-405-8997.

Thinking About Using Hydro Mousse for Your Whole Lawn?

Because Hydro Mousse claims to be simple to use, you might be thinking about purchasing several bottles in order to cover your entire lawn, should it need some TLC. Because of this, we felt it would be important to break down the numbers so that you can get a real-world idea of your overall costs.

  • The average lawn size in the U.S. is 1/5 of an acre, or about 8,712 square feet (front and back).
  • With 100 feet of coverage at a cost of $20 per bottle, this means that you’d likely spend around $1,742 in order to apply Hydro Mousse to your entire lawn.
  • However, as we noted above, it seems that most customers found that Hydro Mousse actually only covers about 20 square feet, since the seeds and “mousse” seem to come out all at once. If this is the case, then you’d spend more than $8,700 to seed your whole lawn.
  • On the other hand, professional hydro seeding generally costs $0.10 - $0.12 per square foot, which means it would cost you $800 - $1,000 to have it professionally done for you.

With this in mind, it’s clear that Hydro Mousse isn’t really intended to be applied to your entire lawn, and even if it was, it would be much more expensive than letting a professional handle your hydro seeding. As such, the manufacturer’s claim to provide “professional results at a fraction of the cost” seems slightly suspect.

However, even if you’re not intending to use Hydro Mousse on your entire lawn and just need it to cover a few brown patches, it will still likely require more than the 100 square feet of coverage advertised by the manufacturer.

Are There Any Products Similar to Hydro Mousse?

Ultimately, this is where the creative genius of Hydro Mousse’s manufacturer comes in. Why? Because if you’re looking for inexpensive DIY hydroseeding, then Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn is the only game in town. Otherwise, if you’re interested in hydroseeding your lawn, you’ll have to call in the large-scale professionals, who may not be appropriate based on your needs. And even if they are, they’ll definitely be much more expensive than Hydro Mousse.

Is Hydro Mousse Your Best Solution for a Green Lawn?

Chopping to the point: Ultimately, there’s no reason to think that Hydro Mousse is a scam. However, it’s important to align your expectations with reality, which boils down to 2 key questions:

  1. Can you expect Hydro Mousse to provide you with a decent value for your hard-earned money? If you’re simply looking to cover a very small area—such as 2 to 3 pet spots in your back yard, or a small high-traffic area between your patio and grill—perhaps so. However…
  2. Can you expect Hydro Mousse to perform as effortlessly and flawlessly as the commercial makes it appear? In our opinion, based on the hundreds of negative customer reviews (both on HighYa and elsewhere online) for the product, almost certainly not.

In fact, dozens upon dozens of consumers claimed that their Hydro Mousse failed to work at all, and simply sprayed the seeds in a 2-second frenzy, leaving them with nothing but an empty plastic bottle and a lighter wallet. And if you decide to give Hydro Mousse a shot and find yourself among these other consumers, you’ll have to pay some relatively hefty S&H charges.

Instead, you might first want to try some of the tips we outlined in our article 5 Tips for Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block This Spring.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

264 Customer Reviews for Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 17 4 stars: 6 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 10 1 stars: 228
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 264
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    What a lie.

    I bought this back in June and followed exactly as it said and it did not work, when it rained the birds ate the seeds and no grass, still huge bald spots. Then you call and they tell you to wait more time and keep watering. By then the3 0-day warranty is gone and you CAN'T get your money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible product

    • Placerville, CA,
    • Sep 29, 2016

    Did not know if I should cut open the mousse package or drop in. I cut and poured. Ordered the double package and barely sprayed enough lawn area for 5x6. No mousse, more like green food color. My friends, all of them just laughed and asked me for another joke. Waste of money. Had to go buy good grass seed and do it right.

    Customer service is a joke too. Rude and accomplished absolutely nothing. Never recommend this. Rating this 0, but forced to rate 1 star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    Do not buy it, does not work. Comes out like a regular hose. Nothing like the video. This product is a rip-off and a waste of money. Spraying runs out in 2 minutes. Again, the product is junk and does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A different take.

    To begin, I ordered 2 pro packs in order to cover about a third of my new front lawn. I wanted to try this before I committed to the whole lawn, being skeptical about how well it would work. I painstakingly prepped my lawn surface, not so much so that Hydro Mousse would work, but to assure success of the grass growing. I read the instructions several times and followed them to the letter. What I discovered is the solution, (water, seed and mousse), in the container MUST be green BEFORE you start to spray. Some of the mixtures I did took a different amount of time to turn. Be patient. The instructions mention water pressure. Pay attention to this. Know whether you have high or low pressure, your spray setting depends on it. I tried both light and heavy seed settings and found it worked best for me on heavy seed. My grass is 1-2" high after one week, with watering 2-3 times a day depending on clouds or not. I covered my area with light straw after seeding to help hold the moisture and hold the seed in a heavy rain. I am not wowed, but so far it is looking pretty good. I do think the price is a little bit high. Thanks for listening. Hope this helps someone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money on it!

    • Pearl River, NY,
    • Aug 22, 2016

    This was so bad that I had to take a short video of the so called foaming grass seeds! It stained my hands, my shirt and I can't even wash it off. I would like a refund for this product, and maybe my shirt too. Nothing worked like the video you show.

    The instructions were bad also, I didn't know if I was to drop the packet of mousse into the grass or cut it and put it in. I cut it and put it in, as there was no reference on what to do with it on the instructions. This was just so bad I will put a video of my experience on my Facebook to warn my friends and tell them to do the same on theirs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    I bought this at home depot in overland, Missouri. Followed all the directions and very, very few seedlings grew. For the most part, it just plain didn't work. Don't buy it, or you will regret it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Failed To Work As Advertised

    I have pictures. Prepared the soil (bare spots) properly, watered as instructed. It did NOT lay down the green product as shown on TV. In a month, very few sprigs of grass appeared, very few and sparse. In some spots no grass appeared at all. You have a 30 day money back guarantee, but it says you may have to wait 7 weeks for the grass to grow out. Odd, yes?

    Then when I finally found a number to call, and ran the gauntlet of robo voices, I talked to a rep. What I found out was that I was to ship back the dispenser, at my cost of course, and upon receipt and review they would refund the cost - LESS their shipping fee. Add my fee and their fee together, and a refund is stupid to pursue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Not working

    We purchased $112.00 of your product, followed all instructions and it did not grow one blade of grass. Kept waiting to see if it worked and was over 30 day refund policy. So I am not a happy camper.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Product. Do Not Buy.

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 19, 2016

    I purchased this item to get my home ready for putting it on the market. First of all, it took over two weeks to receive the product via FedEx. It didn't get here in time. I received the product and the operating instructions were ridiculous and didn't clearly tell you how to prep the product before use. The product "Green Dye" was completely different in all their online tutorial videos so I had to call the company. After learning that I did not have to open the secondary bag of green dye (instructional videos show a glass bottle of liquid, I received a plastic baggie of powder) it was finally time to apply. The product did not dispense in anyway depicted in the videos and the commercial. There was never a mousse / foam that adhered to the areas applied. I thought that was the groundbreaking piece of the puzzle I was purchasing to help keep the seeds in place. Secondly, the green dye, which I'm not sure has any relevance to the growing process, has stained multiple sidewalks and white stone flower bed bricks. This will definitely impact the viewing of my home when it hits the market in a negative way. Users beware. I do not recommend this product. You can just as easy hand throw out some grass seed and then water it yourself. Definitely a dud!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Did not work at all.

    • Ft. Walton Beach, FL,
    • Jul 15, 2016

    I bought this product at Home Depot. I took my time in reading all the instructions before i used it. I put both little bags of the seed and fertilizer in the dispenser and even shook it up dry to mix all the ingredients. I put on the lid and made sure it was well sealed. Hooked it up to my hose and turned the water on to fill it up. Swished it around to mix it with the water.

    I only had 2 spots to do: 2 feet by 4 feet. I turned it on to spray and it came out green and covered the area but any small trace of foam disappeared quickly. I even used potting soil with fertilizer and watered 3 times a day. Nothing came up till now, 21 days later. Still not a sprout of grass after 1 month. Would not recommend this product

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Do Not Buy

    • Mobile, Alabama,
    • Jul 12, 2016

    I tried to use this product earlier today. I was careful to follow the instructions. Nothing happened anywhere near what was shown on the website.

    I got green dye all over my hands and some spilled on the garage floor as I was moving the hose from the back yard to the front yard.

    The seeds only came out on two small patches of ground. Most of the seed are still in the sprayer.

    Even though it may be futile, I will try to get some comments from the company tomorrow.

    In no way would I recommend this product to ANYONE, including any enemies I may have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 264

Write a review for Hydro Mousse Liquid Lawn!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review