About Inteligen

Inteligen claims to use an advanced brain formula of 100% natural ingredients and essential nutrients to increase speed and brain function in healthy adults. As a result, this nootropic supplement promises to boost brain performance, increase intelligence and productivity, support memory and concentration, and enhance focus.

How? According to the company, Inteligen’s ingredients work to help “generate electrical impulses, care for strong brain cells, and maintain regular levels of acetylcholine.” All you have to do is take one capsule of Inteligen on a regular basis, which is why over 14 million capsules have been sold to date.

Is there any truth to this? Does the company provide any proof to back up these hefty claims? Or, is this just another nutritional supplements scam? We did some digging and here’s what we learned.

The Role of Acetylcholine in the Brain

We won’t go into excessive detail here, but acetylcholine is a type of neurotransmitter that allows cells to transmit signals between one another. Although this sounds simple, neurotransmitters are extraordinarily important since they help us our muscles, brain, and central nervous system function properly. Obviously, this includes our memory and cognition.

As we age, acetylcholine concentrations decrease in our body, so our cells (including neurons, which are brain cells than generate electrical impulses) often having difficulty communicating with one another. Once this acetylcholine deficiency becomes great enough, it can severely impact our memory.

Related: OptiMind Review

From this perspective, is there anything contained in Inteligen that can boost acetylcholine production?

Who Knows What Ingredients Inteligen Contains?

Unfortunately, which ingredients are found in Inteligen appears to be based largely on where you look:

Inteligen’s Home Page

On their home page, Inteligen lists the following ingredients:

  • Bacopa monnieri
  • Vinpocetine
  • Ginkgo biloba
  • Carnitine

Bacopa may help improve memory in otherwise healthy adults, while vinpocentine may help treat some aspects of Alzheimer’s disease, although existing evidence for the latter is somewhat old and of questionable quality.

Ginkgo biloba is listed as possibly effective for a variety of brain-related conditions, including anxiety, mental function, dementia, and more. Similarly, carnitine may help improve memory in older people and treat some symptoms of Alzheimer’s.

The catch is that there’s no label listed on the Inteligen website, so there’s no way to know if it contains enough to provide any of these benefits. For example, it’s recommended that patients take 300mg of bacopa per day, 80-360mg of ginkgo, and 1,000 to 4,000mg daily of carnitine.

Inteligen’s Terms & Conditions

However, in their Terms, we’re told that Inteligen contains:

InteliGEN Proprietary Blend 1,000mg: Flaxseed, Oat Bran, Papaya Leaf Extract, Black Walnut Hull, Prune Extract, Aloe Vera, L. Acidophilus, Apple Pectin.

Note: There was also a “Smart Cleanse Detox Proprietary Blend” listed in Inteligen’s Terms. Remember this, because we’ll come back around to it shortly.

Of these ingredients, we didn’t uncover any clinical evidence showing they have any effect on cognition. In fact, L. acidophilus is a probiotic intended to aid in digestion!

Links in Inteligen’s Footer

Finally, to back up many of their claims, the manufacturer lists four links in the footer of their website:

  • A 2015 report outlining a possible method of screening possible “novel cognitive enhancers” and their effects on patients, and then storing this information in a “signaling pathway cloud.” There is no clinical evidence provided for the effectiveness of any specific substance, however.
  • A 2015 study from a Polish university studying the efficacy of piracetam and levetiracetam, neither of which are included in Inteligen (at least based on the ingredients listed on their website).
  • A 2012 Indian study that looked at a group of four plants named Medhya Rasayana.
  • A 2016 Russian study that injected “HLDF-6 peptide (HLDF-6-OH) and its amide form (HLDF-6-NH2)” into the hippocampus of rats.

What do all of these have in common? None of the ingredients tested in these studies are found in Inteligen.

Will Inteligen Cause Side Effects?

Of the many ingredients we’re told about, most probably won’t cause anything worse than mild digestive upset.

WebMD notes that bacopa can “increased bowel movements, stomach cramps, nausea, dry mouth, and fatigue,” while vinpocetine can “cause some side effects including stomach pain, nausea, sleep disturbances, headache, dizziness, nervousness, and flushing of the face.”

In rare instances, ginkgo can cause a forceful heartbeat and allergic skin reactions. In equally rare occurrences, carnitine can lead to a “fishy" odor of the urine, breath, and sweat.”

Fuzzy ingredients aside, how much will you pay for Inteligen?

How Much Does Inteligen Cost?

Inteligen is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Bottle (60 capsules): $49 plus $9.95 S&H
  • 3 Bottles: $99 plus free S&H
  • 5 Bottles: $148 plus free S&H

All Inteligen orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges and a $5 per-unit restocking fee. In order to request one, you’ll need to call customer service at (888) 422-9040.

Who Makes the Inteligen Advanced Brain Formula?

Outside of the standard affiliate reviews, we didn’t encounter any legitimate customer reviews for Inteligen at the time of our research. There also wasn’t a company name listed on the Inteligen website.

Remember how we talked about that “Smart Cleanse Detox Proprietary Blend” above? Here’s where we come back to it.

After searching for a Smart Cleanse Detox supplement online, the closest we could come was a product from Lumen Naturals (a company who specializes in many fly-by-night natural ingredients), although they didn’t list Inteligen on their website. On the other hand, searching for the ingredients in that supplement returned dozens of nearly identical products, each from a different manufacturer.

Is Inteligen a Real Brain Booster, or Just a Marketing Gimmick?

Over the years, the HighYa team has reviewed nearly 100 brain supplements, and we wrote an in-depth nootropics buyer’s guide that can help walk you through the industry.

After hundreds of hours of research, we’ve learned to identify certain red flags that could indicate your money might be better spent elsewhere. This includes not featuring a product label or a complete list of ingredients (or several lists of ingredients, as with Inteligen), failing to support any claims with evidence, and providing next to no information about the company behind it (we had to dig through Inteligen’s Terms just to locate a phone number).

Further, although Inteligen claims to have been featured in Maxim, People, and many other popular publications, we couldn’t locate any third-party evidence of this online.

What’s all this mean for you? In the case of Inteligen, we think there are enough red flags to avoid it altogether. Instead, try speaking with your doctor if you’re experiencing any memory problems, as they’ll be able to recommend much more specific treatments based on your diagnosis.

More on Brain Health & Nootropics:

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Customer Reviews for Inteligen

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Inteligen - misleading and dishonest?

    • Australia,
    • Jul 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't have anything to do with these creatures. I originally agreed to a sample only to have them continue to send me bottles that I hadn't agreed to and debit my card.

    The bottles arrived with no invoice or explanation or point of origin. I eventually found a contact on their website which only appears when you pretend to place an order.

    I believe what they have done is fraudulent and misleading. I am looking at suing them for damages. Tell your friends.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I found out about Inteligen from my Skype account, which appeared as if it came from my niece.

    • Port Elizabeth, South Africa,
    • May 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Inteligen, thinking I could have a free trial bottle, but found out that this is not possible without ordering, therefore, I did order. I am open minded and will try something and see how it performs. When I got the capsules, there were only 15 capsules in the bottles. I expected 30 per bottle. I decided to let that go and do the trial anyway.

    I suffer from ME and RA and was desperate to have a relief from feeling tired and not really functioning as well as I should mentally.

    In about a month I was sent a detox agent, which I was supposed to have ordered.

    Smart Cleanse Detox order details:

    The total Charge (with free shipping) was $69.85. Fortunately, I was able to call the credit card company and ask them not to pay and never to pay any future claims from the company. This was done successfully as I was quick to report them. I am still taking the capsules but have not finished 30 yet. I want to give them time to take effect. So far I can say that I feel much clearer mentally and have been able to do a lot more than I have done in the last two years that I have been unwell.

    I don't intend to order more than the ones I already have for my personal trial, which works out to 75 capsules. In the future, I am aiming to take Lecithin, offered by a different company, to help me with brain function and with other systems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scammer's playground

    • San Bernardino, CA,
    • May 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware, these people are clever!

    My experience is pretty much that of all the previous reviews I just read. But I want to share what they did not.

    They did entice me with the celebs giving their positive opinions, like Steven Hawkings, etc., but the deception keeps going as you enter the order page.

    The list begins with a three months supply consisting of three bottles. I think you got a free one with it. THIS BOX IS CHECKED, which you would think it an example, right?!

    So you start scrolling down the page to find your package preference. I only wanted one just to check it out first. I believe it was "buy one, get one free." It cost $44.50, a two-month supply.

    So I checked that box and continued to the check-out page, assuming that once I checked the box of my choice the box at the beginning of the list that was already checked would automatically be unchecked. That's how all other order forms generally work on the internet, right?

    Well, that's where clever comes in. They have it programmed to STAY CHECKED. But you can't see that since you scrolled down the page to find your choice. "Out of sight, out of mind." So you have UNKNOWINGLY ordered both packages.

    Within a few days, your initial order of one bottle with a free one arrives. And before you receive your credit card billing, that BOGUS order arrives. So you go to their website, and suddenly it no longer exists. Your bill comes shortly after, and you're outraged with the amount. I decided to just pay it, rather than deal with the hassle, and be done with it.

    Well, surprise, surprise!

    I'm NOT done. My one and only order began December 14, 2016. I had my BOGUS 3-months supply, all paid for, a done deal, so I thought. I just received another bottle yesterday, which was May 4, 2017. So they plan on continuing to send these monthly and bill my credit card whatever price they choose to. I did notice that in everyone's review I read, that they were all charged a different price for the same thing.

    So, I believe my only choice here is to cancel my credit card so they can't continue.

    These people I consider CRIMINALS and they need to be investigated and prosecuted as such. There are too many of these scammers on the net, and it's time to take action and demand justice.

    Let's clean up the WORLD WIDE INTERNET. Write your Congressman, Senator, the President, and demand that our tax dollars be spent protecting the public from Internet Scammers by going after these sites that people report as such, and create a LAW if there isn't one already. Lock them up and make the internet fun and exciting again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 3, 2017

      Craig Hill

      Same thing happened to me. Please contact me so I can start a class action against them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Former Inteligen customer

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Apr 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started an online application and didn't finish it because I sensed that it might be a scam. Inteligen called me (I'm thinking the site saved my information), and after a 30-minute conversation, I was sold! Seven dollars, what a deal for a FREE TRIAL with no obligation. Was I ever deceived!

    They show up as "Herb-Wellness" on your credit card statement. They hit mine three times; $109.81 first time, the second time for $109.81 twice, and another $6.79 (initially). When I called customer support, I was told I would get a 25% discount! LMAO. I got some guy who argued with me that they never took the money and that they only took the $6.

    My credit card company told me to try to resolve it with them first, but I had no luck. I guess I have to find out what my next step is. I may even need to cancel before they take MORE! Don't use your credit card, they will scam you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 22, 2017

      Frederick, Australia

      Similar experience. I was sucked in with the promotion and ordered the "free" sample, then was charged not long after a second bottle arrived. Then three weeks later the Detox arrived. I tried to cancel it but without success. In the end, I cancelled the credit card because it seemed it was the only way. It cost me over $200!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Deceitful and egregious companies

    I was sucked into the same promotion described by Hulki in North Holland on December 13, 2016.

    These people hacked my own daughter's name to represent their product as though she was suggesting its use. Like "Hulki," the link in an email sent me to a site where Steven Hawkings and Dr. Oz were supposedly promoting the use of Inteligen. So, I not only agree with all of the reviews I read but think the misuse of hacking people's email contacts to get you just to look at the email link should not only be illegal, but investigated by the FDA, FCC, or whoever in this government has oversight of fraudulent companies and disreputable egregious behavior.

    The company, Platinum Herbal Wellness LLC does not even have a website of their own. The only available site is Platinum-Support.com where there is no mention of their products or sales.

    I am sorry to admit that I was stupid enough to respond to the link, where like many others, I was over-charged and sent unsolicited products. I was just happy to spend the $45 to get them off my back and stop charges to my credit card. Everyone knows you can't believe everything you see on the internet, but egregious companies like the above need to be put out of business to clean up our use of the internet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Inteligen scam

    • Amsterdam, Netherlands,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Firstly, my Skype account was hacked, and I got a link to this product looking like it was sent from a Skype contact.

    I ordered the product, both the free trial bottle and the "special offer for only two more days." It was advertised as $148. I was billed for $198 on my MasterCard without even noticing it right away. Then I got an email that my MasterCard had been billed another nearly $70 for a detox supplement I never ordered.

    I fought this, and after threatening to turn them over to the authorities for unauthorized use of my MC, I finally got that refunded. At the same time, I discovered the $50 overcharge. After using the free bottle, I noticed that my memory got much worse! I had stopped my normal daily use of Ginkgo Biloba (which has helped me for years) because the Inteligen supposedly contained that ingredient.

    I looked up the other ingredients and saw that they should have been helpful. I can only conclude that these so-called supplements contain no active ingredients! It is a total SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Dirty trick

    • Ottawa, ON,
    • Jan 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, they hacked into one of my friend's accounts and sent me an e-mail purportedly from him saying he could personally recommend this. A cool tip off was the Spanish (!) confidentiality paragraph at the end. My friend only speaks English!

    I just didn't trust it and started doing research. I did not order since I have been caught in these automatic re-fill and re-bill scams before! Beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    NOT SURE

    • Hawaii,
    • Dec 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered the product because some prominent people were on their website saying the success they experienced. I

    Ordered this product 2 weeks ago and haven't felt any different at all, which makes me think all you people are right, this is a scam.

    I will give it another week, just so they cannot refuse me returning it. Also, I was supposed to receive a $50.00 rebate form for my 5 bottle order. When emailing the company regarding the rebate, I was told that yes I was entitled to the rebate and they will refund the rebate on my credit card. So far not seeing it on my statement.

    Thank you all for writing your reviews, wished I would have read them before ordering, but like I said I was impressed by the people on their website that had so called tried it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    The Intelligen Scam

    I reached the call center easily, put on hold for just a few minutes, but when I asked my question about whether Intelligen is okay for people on psychiatric medications, the call service staff read from a prepared script that didn't answer my question. I told her I would like to speak to a real person because this was a serious issue. She said yes, she would pass on my request to her manager. Well, nobody called me back from Intelligen to answer a very serious question. This leads me to think that I've been taken by a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Inteligen is just spamming

    • North Holland,
    • Dec 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received an email from my friend's hacked account which took me to a Forbes look alike site where they have published Stephen Hawkings testimonial in a CNN interview. There are several positive comments underneath.

    I decided to first check the internet for the reviews, where I found the negative reviews.

    Only then I realized that the Forbes look alike site was actually from a completely different domain. These guys are thugs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    This product can kill you!

    There was not a single positive effect from taking this product for 10 days. Headaches, diarrhea, sinus congestion and reduced energy. Within 2 days after stopping to take this product, all side effects disappeared.

    They also sent me a second order 30 days later and charged my credit card without my approval.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for Inteligen!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review