About intelliBED

IntelliBED mattresses are claimed to be scientifically proven to provide firm horizontal support, while keeping your hips and shoulders level, which can help prevent back pain, improve circulation and blood flow, and relieve pressure up to 80% better than other mattresses. In other words, unlike their competition, IntelliBED claims to simultaneously provide you with support and pressure relief.

In order to accomplish this, IntelliBED has exclusive rights to a proprietary material named Intelli-gel, which provides soft cushioning under the hips and shoulders, but firm support everywhere else (we’ll talk more about this in a moment). According to the company, Intelli-gel lasts 4-10 times longer than foam, and the remainder of their mattresses consist of non-toxic, hypoallergenic, and anti-microbial materials that don’t off-gas and are natural fire blockers.

Because of these benefits, IntelliBED claims to help you achieve healthy, restful, deep-healing sleep using the “world’s most scientifically advanced and comfortable mattress.”

You spend about a third of your life sleeping on mattresses, and you want to make sure this time is used to optimize your health, so that you can excel in other parts of your life. But is IntelliBED the best (and most cost-effective) method of achieving this?

We’ll get to these important questions in a moment. But first, let’s take a look at what IntelliBED has to offer:

IntelliBED Mattress Models

All IntelliBED mattresses are manufactured in the USA, and include the following models:

Gel+

IntelliBED’s starter mattress for those on a tight budget, the Gel+ model features patented Intelli-Gel and a foam core for support.

  • Firmness: 9/10
  • Back Support: 3/10
  • Warranty: 10-year limited

Gel Elite

If you have a budget to stick to but still want “the lap of luxury,” IntelliBED claims their Gel Elite model combines patented Intelli-Gel with “the durability and support of innerspring.”

  • Firmness: 8/10
  • Back Support: 6/10
  • Warranty: 20-year limited
  • Lo-Motion Available (more about this below)

Posture Perfect

If you suffer from back issues, IntelliBED promises to deliver “aggressive alignment support” for your neck and back, along with the comfort of Intelli-Gel. Even if you don’t, we’re told Posture Perfect remains ideal for most sleepers.

  • Firmness: 6/10
  • Back Support: 10/10
  • Warranty: 30-year limited
  • Lo-Motion Available

Relief Perfect

If you enjoy a softer feel but still want solid back support, the Relief Perfect model combines Intelli-Gel with Talalay latex for “superior pressure relief.”

  • Firmness: 3/10
  • Back Support: 7/10
  • Warranty: 30-year limited
  • Lo-Motion Available

Alright, we’ve mentioned a few times already, but what’s the deal with IntelliBED’s Lo-Motion?

What is Lo-Motion?

IntelliBED’s Gel Elite, Posture Perfect, and Relief Perfect models all feature the company’s patented Intelli-Gel, but the Lo-Motion option adds pocket coils, delivering a softer feel with “limited motion transfer between partners.

In addition to their different mattresses, IntelliBED also sells other products like:

  • Mattress Topper – Thin-line mattresses that are useful for traveling, and for use camping, in RVs/boats, and even for your spare bedroom.
  • Pillows – Features a soft, supportive foam core and an adjustable air chamber that allows you to customize the contour by about 2”. Comes in high and low-profile side sleeper, as well as back sleeper models.
  • Accessories – Box springs, mattress protectors, sheets, and even electronics.

Regardless of which IntelliBED product you’re thinking about purchasing though, at the core (no pun intended) of many of their claims is the Intelli-gel material, so let’s take a closer look at what this is.

What is Intelli-gel?

Intelli-gel (also known as Isoflex, which is manufactured by Stryker and is most often used in hospitals) is a patented system of buckling columns, known as Dimensional Gel Technology, made of food-grade mineral oil that redistributes body weight and is virtually indestructible

According to IntelliBED, over a large surface (such as the torso), all the columns work together to provide support. However, when the surface area is smaller (such as hips and shoulders), Intelli-gel’s columns buckle and provide enough suspension so that it helps maintain blood circulation and spinal alignment. And because blood circulation and spinal alignment are improved, so is the quality of your sleep.

Here’s how the IntelliBED website explains it:

Because our intelli-GEL cushioning layer has the unique ability to “sense” a pressure point and relax under it ( allowing the protruding body part to sink in and redistribute the pressure) it also anchors the body into the gel using your body weight and gravity to hold you gently in place. This allows our high-quality adjustable base to comfortably moves you through a series of positions that, when completed, results in a decompressed spine, hip, neck or shoulder thereby reducing painful pressure and preparing your body for a restful night of deep-healing sleep.

Because of the comfort and support provided by Intelli-gel, IntelliBED claims their mattresses are ideal for individuals with herniated disc, acid reflux, scoliosis, osteoarthritis, fibromyalgia, and many other medical conditions.

But if you suffer from certain medical conditions, does this mean you should purchase an IntelliBED product?

What’s Causing Your Sleeplessness?

Most importantly, keep in mind that if you’re not getting the sleep you need, there could be hundreds of different causes, including snoring, pain, anxiety, depression, exercise and eating habits, and much more. Because of this, if you’re constantly getting poor sleep, the first person you should speak with is your physician, who can put you on the path to finding a solution based on your specific diagnosis.

And if your doctor advises that you need help with snoring, be sure to read through our anti-snoring product reviews, as well as our Finding an Anti-Snoring Product That Works article. And if it’s back pain that’s causing you to lose sleep, we’ve got you covered as well with our article titled Winning the Battle Against Chronic Back Pain.

Are IntelliBED Mattresses Scientifically Proven?

According to the IntelliBED website, their mattresses are scientifically proven to provide healthier sleep. And although they feature some graphs and bullet points on their site outlining this, they don’t provide any references to back them up.

In addition, other than the Isoflex brochure noted above, there isn’t any clinical proof provided on the Stryker website, either.

How Long Will Your IntelliBED Last?

Next, keep in mind that although IntelliBED claims their mattresses will last 4-10X longer than foam/box spring-only mattresses, they do use springs and foam in their mattress designs. Granted, these elements may make up a minority of their mattresses (depending on model), but it’s important to note nonetheless.

Other Online Mattress Purchasing Options

While they might come with very different designs and price points (more in a moment), remember that you have a multitude of options when it comes to online mattress purchasing, including Casper Mattress, Sleep Number, Tuft and Needle, Purple Mattress and more.

See Also: Comparing Major Online Mattress Retailers

Are IntelliBED Customers Getting the Best Sleep of Their Lives?

Overall, outside of those posted on independent blogging sites, there weren’t a whole lot of online IntelliBED reviews at the time of our research.

We did find three customer reviews on Beds.org, who gave the mattresses an average rating of 4 stars. Nearly all customers appear to have been very satisfied with the comfort and support provided, although some noted that it’s heavy compared to traditional mattresses. Also, one customer complained that their IntelliBED mattress wasn’t comfortable, especially near the edges (poor edge support).

An in-depth user IntelliBED review was also featured on TheMattressUnderground, who claimed that while the strength, safety, and other benefits seem to be spot on, the company’s claims about their materials being safer than other mattresses might not necessarily be true.

From a company perspective, IntelliBED mattresses are manufactured by Advanced Comfort Technologies, Inc., based out of Murray, UT, who holds an A+ BBB rating with no complaints filed within the past 3 years (as of 4/6/15).

IntelliBED Pricing & Refund Policy

IntelliBED products are priced as follows (all adult mattresses available in twin through California king sizes):

  • Gel+: $899 to $1,599
  • Gel Elite: $1,399 to $2,999
  • Posture Perfect: $2,299 to $4,399
  • Relief Perfect: $2,299 to $4,399

Miscellaneous:

  • Box Spring: $200 to $400
  • Frame: $49.95 to $109.95
  • Mattress Protector (required for the 60-day trial): $90
  • Existing Mattress Removal: $99

If need be, IntelliBED claims to offer interest free financing for 60 months qualified applicants.

All IntelliBED mattresses come with a 60-day risk-free in-home trial, including return shipping if you’re dissatisfied. Important note: However, you will have to purchase a mattress protector (an additional $90) in order to qualify, which is non-returnable.

In addition, while IntelliBED provides up to a 30-year warranty on their mattresses, keep in mind that the mattress’s full replacement price is only valid for the first 10 years, and then only on a prorated basis for the remaining 20 years.

There isn’t any refund information provided on the IntelliBED website, although you can receive a free sleep surface consultation by calling customer service at 888-435-2339.

Should You Buy an IntelliBED Mattress?

Chopping to the Point: When it comes down to it, finding a mattress that works for you is a very personal decision, and depends heavily on preference, as well as medical issues you may be experiencing (not to mention your physician’s diagnosis). In other words, what your neighbor finds to be the epitome of comfort might seem like sleeping on a bed of nails to you, so what they find valuable you may not.

The good news is that most online mattress companies, IntelliBED included, now offer in-home trials that allow you to test your mattress before committing to an expensive purchase. You might be out S&H charges (or in the case of IntelliBED, the cost of a mattress protector), but this is really the only way to figure out what works for you and what doesn’t.

With this said, IntelliBED mattresses appear to be of high quality, and most customers seemed to be very pleased with their purchases.

Read Next: How to Buy a Mattress Online Part II: Save Time & Money by Knowing What to Look For

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Customer Reviews for intelliBED

Average Customer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 7
Bottom Line: 56% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • Great sleep

    • Wyoming,
    • Oct 10, 2016

    Recently purchased a support perfect queen intelliBed after a back surgery. So far it has been great, seems like less back pain and aches. I would recommend trying the intelliBed over a spring mattress. The only issue I had was with scheduling delivery to Wyoming. Delivery scheduling needs improvement. Otherwise happy with the bed and I have been sleeping great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 years and still going strong

    • Ogden, UT,
    • Sep 2, 2016

    I bought my bed 4 years ago and after 4 years we are still impressed. Before my IntelliBed we had Tempur-pedic memory foam and while, neither my wife or I, have ever had severe back issues or pain, the memory foam mattress caused some problems in my shoulders.

    Since we've had our IntelliBed, I haven't had any problems with my shoulders and have slept better than I ever have before. We were a little skeptical when we bought the mattress that it would do all the things we were told but it has lived up to expectations. Plus in our Tempur-pedic mattress we started to see divots in our bed within the first couple years and so far no problems with the Intellibed.

    Needless to say, we would never go back!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing delivery and service

    Our IntelliBED mattress was delivered to our home on Jun 14, 2016. The young men who arrived were very nice but not well trained. They dragged the boxed mattresses across our wood floors, struggled to get them out of the boxes once in our bedroom and set them up leaving the plastic on. The bed frame we had ordered wasn't on the truck even though their packing list clearly stated three items to be delivered. When the frame was finally delivered two days later, they handed the pieces to Dan, leaving us to put it together and set up the mattresses.

    Now, as for the mattress, we have liked it since day one. It is very comfortable and seems to be holding up well. Thank goodness because we have been disillusioned by the service department.

    That is the reason we are writing this review - the service or lack of communication from someone in the department. Since June 2, 2016, when we received an email letting us know the mattress had shipped, we have not received a telephone call or an email asking us how the delivery went or how we like the mattress. I feel like I am hounding them when I call to get an update on an item that is back ordered when all service would have to do is send us an update every so often.

    I spoke to the young woman who sold us the mattress on July 27th and, as of today, August 6th, we have heard nothing from the company.

    So, although the sales pitch and the product rates very good, the service leaves me no choice but to say I could never recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 5, 2016

      Tom Hildt, COO

      Hi Dan and Mary Anne, I'm glad to hear you like the mattress and are sleeping comfortably. I wanted to reach out and apologize. It appears our customer service follow up did not follow our standard operating procedure and I apologize for that and will use this as a training opportunity with our team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • intelliBED has definitely been a difference maker

    Over the years, I've come to realize just how valuable a mattress is. At one point, added weight compounded my problems and it was extremely difficult trying to find a mattress that provided that good night's sleep we all know is important to our overall health. I've slept on a Serta, Sealy, even spent the extra money thinking an expensive mattress like Stearns and Foster would be the answer. It wasn't until I bought my intelliBED that I really noticed the difference.

    Years later, I got married, lost about 50 lbs and my wife and I ended up putting the mattress in my stepson's room. A few years went by and we ended up sleeping downstairs one hot summer night. I simply forgot how much I really missed sleeping on my intelliBED and my wife absolutely loved it! I moved to sleeping on the Sealy that she had from when she was living on her own following a divorce. We wore it out and after 8-10 years knew we had to start shopping around for a replacement. Let me tell you that the decision was easy.

    Not were the folks at intelliBED informative, but they assured us that if after 30 days of sleeping on the mattress, if we weren't satisfied, they would take measures to see that we were. The mattress was a firmer one and took a few weeks to break in, but the more and more both my wife and I slept on it, the more she began to make comments about how much she loved it. Not only do we get a good night's rest, but the mattress gives us the support we need to sustain a good posture, which is something that is very important to both of us. She is VERY fitness oriented and to me she is one of the biggest critics when it comes to something like this. The fact that this purchase was not only satisfying to me, but made my wife happy confirms what a quality product these guys have. I have and will continue to recommend it in a minute, especially to those needing to pay special attention to back and postural issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best bed ever

    • Midvale, UT,
    • Apr 12, 2016

    I've tried a lot of beds and this by far is the best bed and worth the money. Love the gel. I sleep at a comfortable temperature and don't wake up with aches and pains anymore. I would highly recommend this bed!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Can't wait to get back to my intelliBED

    • New Canaan, CT,
    • Mar 13, 2016

    I was away on vacation for nearly a week staying in a beach house rental. The place was nice and the beds were relatively new. It was a great trip but we all agreed the thing we were most looking forward to by the end of the trip was getting back home to our intelliBEDs. The first night back when everyone said goodnight and climbed into their intelliBEDs, you could hear the collective sighs of relief. When you know better, nothing else will ever do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great pressure relief, better sleep

    I have had a hard time sleeping for all of my adult life, and have always looked for something, anything, to help. I have now been sleeping on our new IntelliBED for about 5 weeks and I can say confidently that although I still have issues with insomnia, my bed is no longer one of the variables holding me back. I think what I have noticed the most is that although the IntelliBED doesn't "feel" super soft when I first lay down, I feel almost zero pressure even after I have been lying in bed for an extended period of time. Including all night. My doctor always told me to try sleeping on my side occasionally, but with our old foam bed, I couldn't for more than 20 minutes or so before I felt pain or discomfort. Very, very pleased with our bed. I stay asleep much easier than I used to and sleep longer into the morning as well. Also nice to see other reviewers that have had their bed for many years and are still enjoying it just as much as before. One other thing I have noticed mentioned as a negative in other reviews that I could address is that some people wish that their IntelliBED was more "fluffy" or ""soft." I couldn't disagree more. I think that the IntelliBED was designed to be supportive and comfortable, and it does a great job of that. A super fluffy bed might feel nice for 30 seconds as you initially lay down, but not 5 minutes later.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The BEST bed I've ever slept on

    • Provo, UT,
    • Feb 27, 2016

    My husband and I have gone through several mattresses throughout our marriage, none of which we have loved or that have lasted. We both have back problems and were frustrated with our backs constantly aching and the lack of sleep from horrible mattresses. We finally heard about the Intellibed and figured we would give it a shot! They have a great warranty and a 60 day return policy. We got the Intellibed just over a year ago and I will never use another mattress. It has been life changing. We sleep better and the aches and pains in our backs are gone. In fact, when we travel and have to sleep on different mattresses, we both comment about getting back home to our Intellibed. It's definitely THE VERY BEST bed I've ever owned or slept on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Best Bed Ever

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 17, 2016

    We have had an Intellibed for years now and it was the best thing we ever bought. Both my husband and I had lots of back and neck pain before and they are gone. It doesn't get hot like the foam mattresses do and the gel goes all the way across the mattress unlike the air chambers of other brands. We will buy another if this one wears out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Very Disappointed

    • Saint George, UT,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    I bought a queen size intelliBED in 2010. It was a great bed for about three years, but then it started to sag and not rebound. We turned the bed, head to foot, about once a month. Both sides of the bed have noticeable dips in them, mine more so since I'm heavier and weigh 207 lbs. If one person sleeps in the middle on their own it is still comfortable, but that hardly ever happens. I didn't even think of using the warranty because I never want another one of these beds. It costs $2,300, and only lasts about four years!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 17, 2016

      Tom Hildt

      Hi Gary, sorry to hear you are having an issue. Our mattresses are extremely durable and it is very uncommon to have warranty issues. You should contact us and submit the warranty paperwork so we can see what is going on. We do honor our warranty and it sounds like something is defective. We look forward to hearing from you so we can get your issue resolved. Thank You.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Terrible return policy

    My wife had hardly slept on our old bed for a few months when we walked into the store. They promised it would alleviate her back problems and be so much better than any bed we had ever used. 60 days later she is still having back problems, I cannot return the bed and I now have a big credit card debit. I wanted to return the bed after the first night but that was not possible given the contract I signed. I should have known better, given I saw the contract up front but I was desperate to help my wife whom I love very much. They capitalize on the pain of a loved one and promise anything, not in writing however, to get you to sign. They should be run out of business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 27, 2016

      Sue W

      Go with a Leggett and Platt Adjustable bed that has both upper body and leg adjustments. It has been a God-send for my back and knee issues. You can adjust it to a zero gravity position and it helps hugely with the back pain. Also if she isn't seeing a chiropractor, get her to one. My chiropractor was able to keep me from back surgery and reduce the pain levels for 20+ years. Trust me when I say back surgery is a huge mistake too.

    • Feb 17, 2016

      Tom Hildt, COO

      We have been in contact with this customer since their purchase, following up on the wife’s back pain. The story we have heard directly from her is different than what is written in this review as she has claimed an improvement in her back pain stating “I don’t wake up with back pain now where I did before.” This difference may be because she is adjusting to the technology now as it can take the body time to adjust to a new mattress. She has also explained she still has to move down to her recliner at times during the night, but this is not uncommon and happens less with her new mattress. Our mattresses are not a miracle cure and we do not claim them to be, but then again, no mattress is. That said, our patented Intelli-Gel technology is unique in its ability to maintain proper spinal alignment by collapsing under the heavier parts of the body while maintaining a comfortable firmness everywhere else, which can help those suffering with back pain. This was what was explained to this customer in-store.

      In regards to the return policy, intelliBED Dealers may have a different policy than what is found online. The in-store associates do a very thorough job of explaining the exact policy up front to ensure customers know their rights before they commit to purchasing.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a review for intelliBED!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review