About Keranique

Keranique is an “As Seen On TV” line of hair products that promise an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their products are the only available FDA-approved and “clinically proven” hair loss treatments specifically for women.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment. Customers can choose between several product options, all of which are sulfate-free, to customize each step in the process.

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition

Keranique Revitalizing Shampoo includes Keratin to strengthen and thicken hair, and claims to reduce buildup while promoting “microcirculation.” Keranique Volumizing Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises “body, dimension and volume.”

Step 2: Re-Grow

Customers can choose from two options to help optimize their hair growth cycle: Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment or Keranique Follicle Boosting Serum.

Re-Grow Option 1:

Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss” when used twice a day by “promoting oxygen, blood and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair.” Users should note that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume.

Keranique also urges anyone suffering from disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Re-Grow Option 2:

Keranique Follicle Boosting Serum is for women who cannot, or choose not, to use Minoxidil. The serum is described as lightweight and alcohol-free, and is fortified with peptides to strengthen hair, repair split ends and add volume. Keranique claims that use over time will result in hair that is visibly denser, fuller and thicker.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Keranique Amplifying Lift Spray is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, even in high humidity. It can be used for blow-drying, holding and setting, controlling and finishing any style, and will help improve dry and weak thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. Keranique claims that their mousse is scientifically blended to maintain body without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique shampoo, conditioner and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that address hair loss.

While the shampoo and conditioner feature keratin, a popular hair care ingredient for strengthening follicles, Keranique shampoo also contains Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, which is known to be harsh on delicate strands.

The products in Step 2 are the only ones to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss. Minoxidil is FDA-approved as a hair loss treatment. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration (or stronger) can be found in generic Rogaine products for a fraction of the price. It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself.

The Follicle Boosting Serum is unique in that it contains aminexil (also called kopexil), an ingredient that is reported to work similarly to minoxidil, but without the risks to those who suffer from circulatory or heart disease.

Pricing & Refund Policy

A two-month supply of Keranique is available through a free 30-day trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Important note: Although Keranique claims to offer two different Step 2 and Step 3 options, the only products displayed when we attempted to check out were the Hair Regrowth Treatment, Scalp Stimulating Shampoo (presumably another name for the Revitalizing Shampoo), Volumizing Keratin Conditioner, and the Volumizing Lifting Spray.

In other words, it appears that you can’t change the contents of your original shipment, and you’ll be required to contact the company after the fact if you’d like either of the options for Steps 2 or 3.

If you are unhappy with the products, you must call 1-888-237-4131 within two weeks of receiving your shipment. Those who fail to cancel within two weeks will be billed two payments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $145.85. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

By purchasing Keranique through their risk-free trial, you will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue to receive a two-month supply of Keranique products every 60-days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 plus $7.95 shipping and handling each time.

The same 30-day Satisfaction Guarantee covers every shipment of Keranique; allowing customers to return their products, but only within two weeks of receiving the shipment.

It’s our experience that free trials are rarely free, often luring in prospective customers into signing up for autoship programs that can be difficult to cancel.

Related: Follinique Review

We’ve also found that “As Seen On TV” products seldom live up to their hype, leaving customers to struggle with inflated shipping charges and poor customer service.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Taking a look at Amazon, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment appears to have an average of a 2.5/ 5 stars. Those who have purchased the product on Amazon have not experienced Keranique’s 30-day free trial.

While reported to work, a common complaint is that Keranique is over-priced. The Hair Regrowth Treatment contains a Minoxidil concentration that is .5% less than generic Rogaine, which is available for $20 at Costco.

Elsewhere online, the most common complaints reference unexpected charges from the Keranique autoship program, poor customer service, difficulty processing refunds and the high price.

Other Keranique products, including the shampoo, conditioner, mousse and spray, receive an average of 3.5-4 stars on Amazon, which vary depending on customers’ hair type and styling preferences. In other words, while most of these are positive, you may not experience the same.

Bottom Line

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that can provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without free trials and autoship programs.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Customer Reviews for Keranique

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  45
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very happy

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm on my fifth week of using this product. I'm very happy to report my hair is fuller and thicker. My hair was thinning and always shedding when brushed or washed.

    My hair would never grow past my shoulders, but today my hair is now past my back bra strap and looks fuller and feels thicker.

    It's more in proportion and beginning to look amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Loving my hair again!

    I saw Keranique at my local Ulta store and was thinking about purchasing but ended up buying it online after seeing their infomercial. It cost $49.95 for a 30-day supply of shampoo, conditioner, minoxidil and a lift treatment spray. I thought that was a pretty good deal. But the best part is that it really is working! It did take several months before seeing anything noticeable, so you really need to stick with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I never try it again

    I used it two times and lost so much hair, so I got scared and stopped using it. I don't want to lose all my hair and wait until grows back again. I have a bag of hair collected if anybody is interested to see it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Now have a lot of breakage

    • Scarborough, Perth, Western Australia,
    • Jun 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello, I received my products two weeks ago. As I was drying my hair tonight, I noticed my hair was thin on the back of my head on the right side. I know this is recent as I had a hair cut recently from my hair dresser of 15 years. She would have said something had she noticed my hair breakage/damage.

    I am so disappointed and now discouraged as my hair looks terrible. I have blonde high lights, and the hair loss is significantly noticeable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    I placed an order for a free sample, with $3.99 shipping. I noticed after in small print that you would be signing up for monthly shipment at $ 79.99! I called to cancel the auto ship and received a confirmation email to that effect. I received a shipment with a bill attached for $159.90. When I called, I was advised that you have to pay for the sample if you keep it! I will return the entire box but must pay shipping. What a deceptive company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 28 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    I got a refund!

    • Las Vegas, Nevada,
    • May 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, today, 5/17/17, I received a call from Pam Lambert with customer service for Keranique and after a small conversation reviewing what all took place, she refunded my $59.95 and the $30! They refunded $89.95 and I am so relieved. I'm a single mom, who just wanted to help her mother out with her thinning hair and what an ordeal. BUT, with this refund, I am so happy with Keranique.

    Thank you for the refund! I will read future "freebies" whole contract before ever clicking on "yes."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • May 15, 2017

    Takes your money even when you cancel!

    I made the HORRIBLE mistake of ordering some of the "free" samples with a shipping and handling price of $4.95. A few weeks later, after not being happy with the results, I canceled. Or so I thought! I paid a "canceling" fee of $39.00 and thought that was the end.

    A few weeks more now and I get charged $59.95! Jasmine #745 (very snotty and rude) tells me I should have read the WHOLE paper because it stated that when I canceled, I only canceled a PART of the deal. It is a total scam to rip you off! So, again I had to pay $30.00 to FULLY cancel.

    What a joke this company is! Never again with Karnique, EVER.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    They keep charging...

    My wife bought the trial, but even after canceling the auto shipment, they charged me and said we didn't cancel completely, only half, so we got charged again.

    Very nasty commercial practices! DO NOT subscribe to this. Once they have your card, they have you in the scam loop to charge you a fortune for this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Long hair falling out

    I purchased the product and used it for about four weeks, then my scalp started shedding, and I got large welts all over my scalp. I literally picked scabs off my head. The hair was coming out in clumps, and I now have half the hair I had before starting because the product made my hair so dry and brittle on top of all the welts.

    Customer service returned my money, however, I asked for some restitution for the cause of my long hair being thinned to a minimal and my scalp burning and crusting. I was asked to send photos and never heard back.

    My next phone call will be to my lawyer; maybe he can make a difference for me.

    It did not work. I am so sorry that I bought into this, and now my hair is thinner than ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    I was charged over $200

    And I never received the product. I cannot comment on the results because I never received it. I had to call customer service at least eight times before they disconnected me from their program. They promised that they would refund me the debited amounts. I haven't received anything yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off

    • Rip off,
    • May 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please do not purchase anything from these people, they are a rip off! Nothing good to say about them but they are rip offs. For their rating points, they don't even deserve a star, but the system won't let you complete your review without putting anything.

    Please, please, please do not, I mean do not, purchase from these people!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Love this product

    • Springtown, TX,
    • May 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would just like to say that I love this product. I've only been using it for nine days, and already I am seeing new hair coming in and less hair falling out. The first four or five days of use my scalp was bright red, and I had some itching, but by the sixth day that was gone and my scalp feels better than it's felt in a long time. This is an amazing product, nd I recommend it highly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review