About Kids Live Safe

Kids Live Safe claims that their mission is to do whatever it takes to keep your child safe from sexual predators. In order to accomplish this, they claim to provide you with a list of sexual offenders within a certain radius of your address, in addition to email alerts, the ability to create Emergency Profiles for your children, and more.

Kids Live Safe is based out of Santa Barbara, CA and has been in business since 2009. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 21 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews regarding Kids Live Safe appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of their information can be found elsewhere for free (see the Bottom Line section for additional details).

How Kids Live Safe Works

Kids Live Safe provides parents with web-based child protection tools that are claimed to be the “most comprehensive family protection solution on the market.” With this in mind, the company provides four primary services:

  1. The ability to search for sex offenders by map view, as well as by name.
  2. The ability to receive email alerts that include the names, pictures, physical descriptions, and addresses of any new sex offenders who moves within 5 miles of your home (includes alerts for your home address, as well as three additional addresses).
  3. The ability to create an Emergency Profile for you children in the event that they ever become lost or are abducted, which can be immediately emailed to authorities.
  4. Software that works to filter inappropriate online content, monitor internet and gaming usage, and even provide real-time reports.

All Kids Live Safe alerts are pulled from federal, state and local databases, and include sex offender photos, names, addresses, descriptions, offenses, and more.

Kids Live Safe Pricing & Refund Policy

A 7-day trial membership to Kids Live Safe costs $1. If you don’t cancel your membership prior to the trial expiring, you’ll be billed $29.97 per month on a recurring basis. According to the company, you can cancel your membership at any time by calling customer service at 800-301-5905. However, no refunds are provided.

Pros:

  • Provides the ability to search for sex offenders in your area using federal, state and local databases.
  • Can also receive email alerts when a sex offender moves within 5 miles of your address, create Emergency Profiles for your children, and even implement filtering software on your child’s computer.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.

Cons:

  • No refunds available.
  • Most common complaints cite confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of the information can be found elsewhere for free.

Bottom Line:

Although the majority of online customer reviews regarding Kids Live Safe are positive, keep in mind that much of the sex offender information provided by the site can be obtained for free using the National Sex Offender Registry. However, this does not include email alerts, or any of the other proprietary features offered by Kids Live Safe.

Now Read: Stranger Danger: Protecting Your Children from Cyber Bullying, Sexting, & Social Media

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Customer Reviews for Kids Live Safe

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 27
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • Not Happy

    They CHARGE for information that can be found for FREE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Too little too late

    I'm frustrated with Kidslivesafe.com because I signed up for the 7 day trial and tried to cancel from their website. I wasn't able to at the website. I received an error when I tried to cancel. I finally Googled how to cancel and came across their 800 number. I called the 800 number and canceled. However, it was 8 days later so I have been charged the $29.95 for the first month. I have multiple things I need the $29.95 to spend on right now. Plus I now have an additional overdraft fee. This has been a total waste of money! In fairness to the operator, he did give me 3 additional months. Still, that's not what I want to do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 24, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Robert Gibbons,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    initial bad experience but they were able to fix it

    • Texas,
    • Apr 8, 2016

    I initially had a bad experience with customer service but I was able to have it taken care of by the support manager. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 8, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Thank you taking the time update your comment; we are very happy we were able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      -Kids Live Safe, Member Support Staff

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Apr 4, 2016

    Complete rip off, there are other free apps

    I called them on the seventh day, and they still charged me the $30. I called and spoke with one of the most rude customer service people I've ever come in contact with. They talk over you if they don't agree with what you're saying. I then talked to the supervisor who pulled up my phone call, all of my information, had my location where I called from and even the IP address to the device. Talk about privacy violation. I didn't authorize them to collect such information. Anyway, he then proceeded to tell me everything under the sun in order to not give a refund. Don't do business with these vultures, they will rob everything you have.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    $30 monthly charge lowered to $2.95 per month when I called to cancel.

    • Florida,
    • Feb 15, 2016

    Apparently I signed up for the $1 per day for 7 days in November 14. Shame on me for not noticing but they have been billing my AMEX card $30.00 per month.

    After multiple requests to cancel, the agent I spoke to said he would offer the service at their cost of $2.95. I should probably do it but with the tone, the lack of professionalism and the absolute grind of going though the cancelation, I think I'll pass.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2016

      Jason O'Neill

      Dear M Mitchell,

      Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further. We do offer cancelling customers a discounted rate as we at Kids Live Safe we never want to see families that have been protected with our service, go unprotected so this is our way of trying to make sure that economics don’t get in the way of protecting your family. We do apologize that the customer service you received was less than satisfactory and would welcome the opportunity to assist you.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Feb 18, 2016

      Jason O'Neill

      Hello Mr. Mitchell,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with the customer service you received. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve each situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further. We do offer canceling customers a discounted rate; as we never want to see families that have been protected with our service, go unprotected so this is our way of trying to make sure that economics don’t get in the way of protecting your family. We do apologize that we were not been able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Mar 16, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Hello M. Mitchell,

      We are sorry for experiences and welcome the opportunity to resolve these issues. We do offer our service on an introductory trail basis and it does renew at a monthly rate unless cancelled but in no way want our customers to find it difficult to cancel. Cancellation can occur 24 hours a day, 7 days a week via our automated system and our customer service department is available at 1-800-831-9235 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week. We are sincerely sorry the customer service you received was unsatisfactory and would welcome the opportunity to rectify this situation. Please contact us and let us know what we can do to resolve this situation to your satisfaction; we are always happy to help our customers.

    • Mar 21, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Hello M. Mitchell,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service and the level of professionalism you received. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Mar 25, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear M. Mitchell,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service and the level of the professionalism you received. We do not was the cancellation process to become a grind for our customers and are always willing to resolve our customers requests. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT recommend this service.

    • Des Moines, WA,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    Very pushy customer service representatives. Charge you $29.97 a month. You go to cancel and now it's only $2.97 a month. Takes 5-7 days to get a refund. You can get FREE sex offenders alert through your county sheriff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Colleen Tandiama,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with the customer service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve each situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further. It does appear as though we have issued a refund of the monthly fee. The time it takes for the refund to post to your account is dependent on the way in which your financial institution processes refunds. We do apologize that we have not been able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Mar 17, 2016

      Jessica

      Don't waste your money, you can get this information for free. Sick people are using this to make money. If they truly cared they wouldn't need your credit card. There's millions of ways to find this information.

    • Mar 29, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Hello Jessica,

      We are sorry to hear of your opinion of our company. We do feel as though our service is extremely valuable and contains many elements that are not traditionally available on free sites.

      One of the key features of our membership is our ability to create a 5 mile protection zone around a member’s home address. This allows us to monitor new sex offender activity and send immediate email alerts when a new sex offender registers within this monitoring area. Not only are our members able to monitor their own home, but can set up 3 additional monitoring areas.

      Our members are also able to set up Emergency Response Profiles for each one of their children. These digital profiles contain a child’s picture, personal information, physical description, medical information as well as guardian contact information. These profiles can instantly be emailed to friends, family or the police in case a child goes missing or is abducted; this assists parents and law enforcement in the recovery of the missing child.

      Since sexual predators are gaining access to our children via the internet our members are able to utilize our award winning internet filter. This internet filter allows parents to monitor their child’s online activities to ensure they stay safe while surfing the web or chatting with friends.

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thought and please feel free to reach out to our customer service team at 1-800-301-5905, if you have any questions at all.

    • Jul 30, 2016

      Janet Brown

      Every parent should know about this to protect their children.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Kids Live Safe is the predator

    This site is the predator, they prey on old stupid people that thought they were only donating a dollar for a good cause, but I have no use for this service as all my children are grown. I thought I was just donating a dollar. And then I got off the site and never got back on it. Next thing I know, they took my last 30 dollars out of my account. Now I will have no groceries and no job because I can't put gas in the car to go to work. Pretty sorry if you ask me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Medina Hutton,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. We show that you have contacted our member service department and appears as though we were able to resolve this issue. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Kingston, MA,
    • Nov 15, 2015

    I was very disappointed to learn that this is just another scam to get the consumers credit card info and steal from their account. Shame on them for using the safety of innocent children as a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Judy Rockett,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Sep 17, 2015

    This is a scam and you can get better updated info for free. You have to call them in order to cancel. Scam job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Free Should Mean Free, Not $1.00 For 7 Day "Trial," Then $29.95.

    • Sep 1, 2015

    This site "claims" to give "free" sex offenders searches, all "free" for $1.00 for a 7 day "trial" period, then $29.95 for a subscription. There is nothing "FREE" about this website. False advertisement, false information that's "available", and completely misleading to people trying to find out pertinent information that could possibly affect our children. How dare this site even claim to be "free" yet charge for the "reports". This site will be reported to the FTC, Federal Trade Commission, the Internet watchdogs, among other governing agencies that oversee these supposedly "free" websites. My advice, go to your local sheriff or police department and ask for a truly "free" report, and DO NOT give your credit card information. Fortunately, I didn't fall for the "free for $1.00" nor did I give my banking information. This site should be ashamed of itself, there is nothing "free" about this website. This site will be investigated for False Information and Advertisement, Misleading Information and Advertisement, and potential Scamming of unsuspecting person(s) that give their credit card information, only to be billed continuously, without the possibility of refunds. How dare this website!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Kay Cunnin,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. We do offer free searches on our website, the goal of this is for the customer to determine if the personal record they are looking for is on the site prior to registration. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Did not continue to provide me services but still took my money.

    • Jacksonville, FL ,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    I've been with this company for about 1.5 years and they have taken their payment out of my bank every month. At first they sent me email alerts everyday or so and kept me informed on everything around the 3-4 different addresses I had in my account. However, today I was going through my Gmail and deleting old mail, junk mail, and mail that was in trash, that's when I noticed I had something from Kidslivesafe.com in my trash box. I noticed that I have not received any mail from them in about 14-15 months.They haven't provided my with the services that I've been paying for every single month. That makes me very upset and I feel like they have been stealing money from me this whole time cause they are taking their money but not providing the services that I'm paying good money for.

    It's not like they only take out $1 or $2 each month, it's like $30 a month. That could go to another bill, it could pay almost half of my cable bill. This really truly makes my blood boil to think how much money this shady company has taken from me over the past 1.5 years and they haven't really provided me with much of their services they only sent me email alerts for the first 3-4 months, and the 14-15 months they haven't done anything but take my money out of my bank account. To me that is stealing from me. 

    Don't trust this company. They use the fact that we want to keep our kids/family safe and just take your money and don't provide you the services the whole time. What a scam and a rip off. I've paid about $540 in all to this company for the past 1.5 years and they only sent me email alerts for the first 3-4 months of me being a member.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      Jason O'Neill

      Dear Jessika: We are sorry to hear about this situation. Please note we only send alerts of new sex offenders when there have been new offenders who have moved into a five mile radius around your designated "protection zone". Please get in touch with our world class support team at 1-800-301-5905 or through the contact form on our website. We are happy to take steps to address this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Big Scam.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    Do not try this website it is a scam. They take your info and charge you even after you cancel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2014

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team

      To whom it may concern, this statement is absolutely false. Our company cancels memberships all day long and never bills people after they have elected to terminate their account. We have an A rating with the Better Business Bureau and have serviced thousands of members. Based on the sensitive nature of our product, we do require members to let us know if they want to cancel their memberships to ensure that protection is in place for those that sign up.

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team

      "Protect What Matters Most"

    • Dec 11, 2014

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team

      To whom it may concern, this statement is absolutely false. Our company cancels memberships all day long and never bills people after they have elected to terminate their account. We have an A rating with the Better Business Bureau and have serviced thousands of members. Based on the sensitive nature of our product, we do require members to let us know if they want to cancel their memberships to ensure that protection is in place for those that sign up.

      The Kids Live Safe Support Team

      "Protect What Matters Most"

    • Feb 24, 2015

      Christin Mann

      You people are thieves. Do not subscribe to this "service". I trusted this company after the long winded, very untruthful, scamming information/emails they sent to me. I didn't seek them. What mother wouldn't pay $1.00 to ensure their child's safety? I was molested as a child and I trusted this so called company to help protect my son. Shame on them. They don't care about you - they only want your money. When I tried to get information about the sex offenders in my area off their site, I wasn't provided a picture, only basic info I can get for free. I had to literally request my password three times before I could even log into this site. I didn't even know I was getting charged the $32 plus change. Which put my account in overdraft because I didn't know they were going to charge me. I have tried several times to get a refund. Do not give your money to these people. The $1.00 isn't to "verify" your account, it's their first attempt to rip you off. You can get it for free off the government's website (and they don't charge you a $1.00 to verify yourself).

    • Jul 29, 2015

      Jason O'Neill

      Hi, Ms. Mann, thank you for your comment. We looked further into the issue you described and were able to discover that you were refunded by our company. Our terms and conditions are very clear, repeated multiple times, and confirmed through a welcome email sent by our company. We are sorry to hear about your experience and would appreciate an opportunity to ensure you are satisfied after we have refunded your charges. Please call us at 1-800-301-5905 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week and we will be happy to help you further. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a review for Kids Live Safe!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review