About Kids Live Safe

Published on: Apr 2, 2014

Kids Live Safe claims that their mission is to do whatever it takes to keep your child safe from sexual predators. In order to accomplish this, they claim to provide you with a list of sexual offenders within a certain radius of your address, in addition to email alerts, the ability to create Emergency Profiles for your children, and more.

Kids Live Safe is based out of Santa Barbara, CA and has been in business since 2009. The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 21 closed complaints over the past three years. Online reviews regarding Kids Live Safe appear to be mixed, with the most common complaints citing confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of their information can be found elsewhere for free (see the Bottom Line section for additional details).

How Kids Live Safe Works

Kids Live Safe provides parents with web-based child protection tools that are claimed to be the “most comprehensive family protection solution on the market.” With this in mind, the company provides four primary services:

  1. The ability to search for sex offenders by map view, as well as by name.
  2. The ability to receive email alerts that include the names, pictures, physical descriptions, and addresses of any new sex offenders who moves within 5 miles of your home (includes alerts for your home address, as well as three additional addresses).
  3. The ability to create an Emergency Profile for you children in the event that they ever become lost or are abducted, which can be immediately emailed to authorities.
  4. Software that works to filter inappropriate online content, monitor internet and gaming usage, and even provide real-time reports.

All Kids Live Safe alerts are pulled from federal, state and local databases, and include sex offender photos, names, addresses, descriptions, offenses, and more.

Kids Live Safe Pricing & Refund Policy

A 7-day trial membership to Kids Live Safe costs $1. If you don’t cancel your membership prior to the trial expiring, you’ll be billed $29.97 per month on a recurring basis. According to the company, you can cancel your membership at any time by calling customer service at 800-301-5905. However, no refunds are provided.

Pros:

  • Provides the ability to search for sex offenders in your area using federal, state and local databases.
  • Can also receive email alerts when a sex offender moves within 5 miles of your address, create Emergency Profiles for your children, and even implement filtering software on your child’s computer.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.

Cons:

  • No refunds available.
  • Most common complaints cite confusion with the 7-day trial, and that most of the information can be found elsewhere for free.

Bottom Line:

Although the majority of online customer reviews regarding Kids Live Safe are positive, keep in mind that much of the sex offender information provided by the site can be obtained for free using the National Sex Offender Registry. However, this does not include email alerts, or any of the other proprietary features offered by Kids Live Safe.

Now Read: Stranger Danger: Protecting Your Children from Cyber Bullying, Sexting, & Social Media

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Customer Reviews for Kids Live Safe

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  29
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this site

    • Lake Worth, FL,
    • Jun 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If they really cared about out children, they would not lead you to believe you could obtain this vital information without going through a lot of time on the internet, only to try to get your credit card information to charge you money to turn over this important information about sexual predators living around you. I'm sure there are many other places to find this information without getting some scum bag company rich. Avoid this site. Once again, they're only in it for the money, not your child's welfare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hidden fees?! I'm pissed.

    • California,
    • Jun 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give them 0 stars I would! I'm so angry. I signed up for the $1 special and was charged $30. They do not tell you on the website that when you're signing up for the 1 dollar special, after 7 days you will be charged 30 a month!

    It's outrageous and had I known and been informed by the websites sign up page that they were going to charge me so much, I wouldn't have signed up in the first place!

    I feel scammed and violated. I do not trust this website and WILL NOT be recommending them to anyone. I'm lucky that I looked at my card's statement online, otherwise, I'd be clueless as to where the heck that money went.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 5, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Tesia Yanez,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied, by how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further. We are sincerely sorry that you missed our billing terms when you registered, as we want to make sure all of our customers are aware of our offer. When anyone enrolls in the $1 trial membership, we do everything we can to make sure the billing terms and conditions are clear. Our sign up process mentions in multiple places that if you do not cancel your membership within the 7-day trial, that you would be automatically enrolled in the $59.98/$29.97 family protection plan. We also require that all members check a box agreeing to all of the terms, to complete the membership and even reiterated in the welcome email that was sent to your email address. All we ask is that if you want to cancel the membership that you do so before the 7-day trial ends. If we do not hear from you, we assumed that you want to continue protecting your family. We invested resources in protecting your address and there are costs involved to do so.

      I do show that you called into our customer service department to resolve this issue but we would like to apologize again if that call did not end to your satisfaction. We have attempted to reach out to you again today and we would like to speak with you to resolve this matter. Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It works!

    I've reviewed a few different web-based child protection tools, and I found this one to be the best for its costs. With my two children (that spend a good amount of time online), I now feel safer that I have this tool at my fingertips.

    I recommend this platform.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Santa Barbara, CA,
    • Mar 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kids Live Safe was recommended to me by a friend. I used it to look up different neighborhoods during my housing search. The info was quick and easy to understand. I would definitely use Kids Live Safe again to look up predators.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Not Happy

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Nov 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    They CHARGE for information that can be found for FREE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 22, 2017

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Dom,

      While some if this information is available for free, our service contains many benefits not typically available through a free site. For example, one of the key features of our membership is our ability to create a 5-mile protection zone around a member’s home address. This allows us to monitor new sex offender activity, and send immediate email alerts when a new sex offender registers within this monitoring area. Not only are our members able to monitor their own home, but can set up three additional monitoring areas.

      Our members are also able to set up Emergency Response Profiles for each one of their children. These digital profiles contain a child’s picture, personal information, physical description, medical information as well as guardian contact information. These profiles can instantly be emailed to friends, family or the police in case a child goes missing or is abducted. This allows assistance for parents and law enforcement in the recovery of the missing child.

      Since sexual predators are gaining access to our children via the internet, our members can utilize our award winning internet filter. The internet filter allows parents to monitor their child’s online activities to ensure they stay safe while surfing the web or chatting with friends.

      Please call us seven days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m., at 1-800-301-5905 to discuss this matter, and any of our helpful team members will be happy to assist you further. If for some reason one of our team members is not available online, simply leave us a detailed message, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We look forward to helping you protect your family with our service and our benefits.

      Kids Live Safe

      "Protect What Matters Most"

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Too little too late

    I'm frustrated with Kidslivesafe.com because I signed up for the 7 day trial and tried to cancel from their website. I wasn't able to at the website. I received an error when I tried to cancel. I finally Googled how to cancel and came across their 800 number. I called the 800 number and canceled. However, it was 8 days later so I have been charged the $29.95 for the first month. I have multiple things I need the $29.95 to spend on right now. Plus I now have an additional overdraft fee. This has been a total waste of money! In fairness to the operator, he did give me 3 additional months. Still, that's not what I want to do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 24, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Robert Gibbons,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    initial bad experience but they were able to fix it

    • Texas,
    • Apr 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I initially had a bad experience with customer service but I was able to have it taken care of by the support manager. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 8, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Thank you taking the time update your comment; we are very happy we were able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      -Kids Live Safe, Member Support Staff

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Apr 4, 2016

    Complete rip off, there are other free apps

    I called them on the seventh day, and they still charged me the $30. I called and spoke with one of the most rude customer service people I've ever come in contact with. They talk over you if they don't agree with what you're saying. I then talked to the supervisor who pulled up my phone call, all of my information, had my location where I called from and even the IP address to the device. Talk about privacy violation. I didn't authorize them to collect such information. Anyway, he then proceeded to tell me everything under the sun in order to not give a refund. Don't do business with these vultures, they will rob everything you have.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    $30 monthly charge lowered to $2.95 per month when I called to cancel.

    • Florida,
    • Feb 15, 2016

    Apparently I signed up for the $1 per day for 7 days in November 14. Shame on me for not noticing but they have been billing my AMEX card $30.00 per month.

    After multiple requests to cancel, the agent I spoke to said he would offer the service at their cost of $2.95. I should probably do it but with the tone, the lack of professionalism and the absolute grind of going though the cancelation, I think I'll pass.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2016

      Jason O'Neill

      Dear M Mitchell,

      Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further. We do offer cancelling customers a discounted rate as we at Kids Live Safe we never want to see families that have been protected with our service, go unprotected so this is our way of trying to make sure that economics don’t get in the way of protecting your family. We do apologize that the customer service you received was less than satisfactory and would welcome the opportunity to assist you.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Feb 18, 2016

      Jason O'Neill

      Hello Mr. Mitchell,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with the customer service you received. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve each situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further. We do offer canceling customers a discounted rate; as we never want to see families that have been protected with our service, go unprotected so this is our way of trying to make sure that economics don’t get in the way of protecting your family. We do apologize that we were not been able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Mar 16, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Hello M. Mitchell,

      We are sorry for experiences and welcome the opportunity to resolve these issues. We do offer our service on an introductory trail basis and it does renew at a monthly rate unless cancelled but in no way want our customers to find it difficult to cancel. Cancellation can occur 24 hours a day, 7 days a week via our automated system and our customer service department is available at 1-800-831-9235 between 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. PST 7 days a week. We are sincerely sorry the customer service you received was unsatisfactory and would welcome the opportunity to rectify this situation. Please contact us and let us know what we can do to resolve this situation to your satisfaction; we are always happy to help our customers.

    • Mar 21, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Hello M. Mitchell,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service and the level of professionalism you received. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Mar 25, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear M. Mitchell,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service and the level of the professionalism you received. We do not was the cancellation process to become a grind for our customers and are always willing to resolve our customers requests. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT recommend this service.

    • Des Moines, WA,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    Very pushy customer service representatives. Charge you $29.97 a month. You go to cancel and now it's only $2.97 a month. Takes 5-7 days to get a refund. You can get FREE sex offenders alert through your county sheriff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Colleen Tandiama,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with the customer service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve each situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further. It does appear as though we have issued a refund of the monthly fee. The time it takes for the refund to post to your account is dependent on the way in which your financial institution processes refunds. We do apologize that we have not been able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    • Mar 17, 2016

      Jessica

      Don't waste your money, you can get this information for free. Sick people are using this to make money. If they truly cared they wouldn't need your credit card. There's millions of ways to find this information.

    • Mar 29, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Hello Jessica,

      We are sorry to hear of your opinion of our company. We do feel as though our service is extremely valuable and contains many elements that are not traditionally available on free sites.

      One of the key features of our membership is our ability to create a 5 mile protection zone around a member’s home address. This allows us to monitor new sex offender activity and send immediate email alerts when a new sex offender registers within this monitoring area. Not only are our members able to monitor their own home, but can set up 3 additional monitoring areas.

      Our members are also able to set up Emergency Response Profiles for each one of their children. These digital profiles contain a child’s picture, personal information, physical description, medical information as well as guardian contact information. These profiles can instantly be emailed to friends, family or the police in case a child goes missing or is abducted; this assists parents and law enforcement in the recovery of the missing child.

      Since sexual predators are gaining access to our children via the internet our members are able to utilize our award winning internet filter. This internet filter allows parents to monitor their child’s online activities to ensure they stay safe while surfing the web or chatting with friends.

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thought and please feel free to reach out to our customer service team at 1-800-301-5905, if you have any questions at all.

    • Jul 17, 2016

      Janet Brown

      Every parent should know about this to protect their children.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Kids Live Safe is the predator

    This site is the predator, they prey on old stupid people that thought they were only donating a dollar for a good cause, but I have no use for this service as all my children are grown. I thought I was just donating a dollar. And then I got off the site and never got back on it. Next thing I know, they took my last 30 dollars out of my account. Now I will have no groceries and no job because I can't put gas in the car to go to work. Pretty sorry if you ask me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Medina Hutton,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. We show that you have contacted our member service department and appears as though we were able to resolve this issue. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Kingston, MA,
    • Nov 15, 2015

    I was very disappointed to learn that this is just another scam to get the consumers credit card info and steal from their account. Shame on them for using the safety of innocent children as a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2016

      Jason O'Neill, Member Support Manager

      Dear Judy Rockett,

      We are saddened to hear that you are dissatisfied with our service. Our goal is to make sure all customers are completely satisfied with how we resolve your situation and invite you to reach out to us by phone so that we can discuss this matter further.

      Please call us 7 days a week from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. at 1-800-301-5905 and ask to discuss this matter with a supervisor. If for some reason a representative or a supervisor is not available, simply leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

      We thank you for the opportunity to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for Kids Live Safe!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review