About Kitsy Lane

Based in Boston, MA, Kitsy Lane (www.kitsylane.com) is an online jewelry retailer that allows you to curate and sell products through a personal “e-boutique,” while earning up to 25% commission on every sale. The company claims that people from all walks of life operate their own boutiques—from busy professionals, to stay at home moms, and even some celebrities. In addition to individual boutiques, Kitsy Lane is also a traditional online storefront, where you can shop for jewelry-related merchandise just as you would through any other site.

Kitsy Lane carries a wide variety of jewelry, from big names to smaller names, including earrings, necklaces, bracelets, rings, and much more. In addition, you can also become a vendor if you have your own jewelry line, which must be pre-approved by the company. Kitsy Lane claims to differentiate themselves from their competition by offering significantly discounted items.

How Kitsy Lane Works

Kitsy Lane makes it relatively easy for you to sign up and get started with your own jewelry boutique, and since this service is free, you won’t need to provide any billing information or undergo a preapproval process. You simply need to complete a standard signup form and decide on your boutique’s name; everything else is handled for you.

See Also: The Young & the Careless: 4 Skincare Mistakes You Should Avoid

After signing up, Kitsy Lane instantly provides you with a ready-made storefront and a personalized web address (e.g. YourStoreName.KitsyLane.com), which can be thought of as your very own affiliate page. You will then be given the chance to customize your page, with a wide variety of color, texture, background, logo, footer, and welcome message options from which to choose. In addition, you can pick what items you want to include in your boutique, which items you want displayed on your home page, your weekly flash sale products, and much more.

Kitsy Lane claims to provide you with all the essential resources to help you market your online jewelry boutique, which really just consist of social sharing tools (e.g. Facebook, Twitter, etc.), the ability to invite friends to your store, and the option to sign up for exclusive webinars. In addition, you can also create e-coupons to send out to friends and family.

After you’ve effectively marketed your boutique, Kitsy Lane will handle all payment processing and shipping; very similar to a drop ship. As such, the company doesn’t appear to be a pyramid scheme, since they don’t require any money upfront, and you’re actually selling tangible goods. Instead, Kitsy Lane is more focused on creating additional marketing channels through “middlemen” like you.

The Kitsy Lane Payment Plan

Curiously, despite Kitsy Lane’s claim that users can earn up to 25% commission per sale, their website does not expressly state how this can occur. However, the site does explain that you can earn up to an additional 15% of each sale made from other boutiques referred by you. With this in mind, we can only assume that your commission will be based on the total amount of sales you make. The breakdown on their site provides the following:

  • If you make 5 orders per week, with approximately $75 per order, you will earn a total of $3,500 per year.
  • If you make 5 orders per day, with approximately $75 per order, you will earn a total of $25,000 per year.
  • If you make 20 orders per day, with approximately $75 per order, you will earn a total of $100,000 per year.

If you have your calculator handy, you’ll notice the above numbers are based on an 18% commission rate, so it’s important that you call the company directly to find out exactly how commission is accrued prior to opening your boutique. As an added bonus though, you can earn commissions off of your own purchases through the site.

Once your boutique is up and running, your previous month’s commission payments will be issued to you on or around the 15th of each month in the form of a check. A third-party vendor (www.bill.com) disburses these payments, and charges a $1 processing fee for each check issued. Keep in mind that Kitsy Lane will need to have your social security number on file in order to issue your 1099 for tax purposes.

Pros:

  • Easy to sign up and start your own online jewelry boutique, while earning up to 25% commission on each sale.
  • All basic marketing tools, including exclusive webinars, are included.
  • No pyramid scheme – you’re selling real products.
  • Earn commissions from your own purchases through Kitsy Lane.

Cons:

  • Contributing factors to qualify for 25% commission are not specifically outlined on the site.
  • Some customers complained of not getting paid on time and/or wrong amount.

Want to Learn to Shop Smarter and Scam-Proof Your Life?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

38 Customer Reviews for Kitsy Lane

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 5 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 6 1 stars: 23
Bottom Line: 29% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Impossible To Sell

    • Austin, AA,
    • Sep 15, 2015

    I had a Kitsy Lane boutique for about a year. I advertised through Facebook, Twitter, and e-mail. No matter how many coupons I sent people or how hard I tried, the jewelry is just too expensive for costume jewelry and no one could afford it. It's a waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Really aweful

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Aug 15, 2015

    I did all I could do to sell Kitsy Lane jewelry. For one year I never sold anything or made anything. They never even sent me my free earrings. What a rip off. So disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not a scam

    • Ft. Lauderdale, FL,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I've been a Kitsy Lane boutique owner for two years. I have earned a commission check twice, which was on my own personal purchases. What I noticed is that it is not hard for people to sign up to the boutique, it is very hard to get sales. Out of those two years, I've made one sale but it was a direct one. What I wish is that they lower their prices to help boutique owners make sales. But overall, it is not a scam. I received my jewelry in the mail in great condition and shipped on time and my commission checks has always been on time. I would recommend to a friend, definitely.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Every year it just gets worse.

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jul 10, 2015

    I singed up for Kitsy Lane about three years ago. No matter how much marketing I do, no matter how much of their cheap over priced jewelry I buy to put on display, it doesn't sell. I have not made one single dime from this site. I spent more money on this site, and I have nothing to show for it, but a few pieces of cheap jewelry that looks nothing like the photos. I tried so many different marketing paths and nothing you do can sell this stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    What a joke!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I had a Kitsy Lane boutique for over a year, did everything I could and invested money into this and never made a sale! I think the prices are too high. I bought jewelry from them and it was junk for the high price I paid. I now sell Avon and Soyl Scents.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Concierge is very helpful

    • Burlington, VT,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I would definitely recommend Kitsy Lane to a friend. It's fun and easy to setup your own Boutique. Great concierge, always there to help when you need it. Online meetings so you can see how to do things. Definitely recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Good Tech Support

    • Hilton Head, SC,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    It is fun and enjoyable to own a jewelry boutique online. I enjoy the fact that there is help with the technical problems and Kitsy Lane is very good at fixing the issues. It is a great way to make a little extra cash. If someone has a lot of relatives and friends, they will enjoy selling these pieces that are so pretty and affordable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Too many emails

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    Don't do it. They will bombard your friends with many, many, many emails per day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 6, 2014

      Meg

      I was going to sell for Avon, as my friend just recently started to. When I saw how many emails I was getting, I said forget it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Work from home

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I signed up for Kitsy Lane also, but they never paid me. I did find a real legit site to make a little extra cash if anyone is interested it's not something that will get you rich but it will put extra money in your pockets.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (50)
    View all 50 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 14, 2014

      Ebony

      What is the name of the website that you found? I'm very interested :)

    • Apr 15, 2014

      Annette

      Keodra, I am also wondering the same as Ebony.

    • Apr 15, 2014

      Amber

      Interested.

    • Apr 16, 2014

      Ashley

      Me too! Would love to know. I have not made anything from Kitsy Lane.

       

    • Apr 17, 2014

      Tamiqua

      What's the site?

    • Apr 22, 2014

      Sandra

      I also would like to know the website

    • Apr 27, 2014

      linda

      well I guess I should have read this before I signed up. oh dear. well so you found something that you actually can work from home and it actually pays, can you share please.

    • May 2, 2014

      mika

      I too would like to know the website you found

    • May 5, 2014

      yvette

      I would like to know the website also please.

    • May 9, 2014

      andrea

      I'm interested as well.

    • May 10, 2014

      Cristina

      I am interested in the info for the other website please.

    • May 11, 2014

      Kristy

      I'm also interested!

    • May 12, 2014

      Jill

      I am interested too!

    • May 13, 2014

      Theresa

      I would like to know what you have found. My son past away from cancer and I need to make some extra money to support his son. My email is tgdeveaux@yahoo.com

    • May 16, 2014

      DeYonne

      In need of some cash influx. If you would like to share the site you found my email is howthewestisdone@gmail.com. Thank you

    • May 16, 2014

      Lisa

      In need of some extra money also, would like to know what you found. Thank you

    • May 18, 2014

      Kelly

      I would love to know the site as well. I'm a single mom with twins, one with special needs and every penny counts! My email is twinlets35@ymail.com thank you!

    • May 18, 2014

      Tonya

      Would love to know the site as well.

    • May 19, 2014

      Melody

      I would like to know, too. Please e-mail: melodypowell@juno.com

    • May 19, 2014

      Turquoise

      I would love to know the site.

    • May 22, 2014

      Crystal Bailey

      I would love that info oncol_angel@yahoo.com.

    • May 27, 2014

      Twinette McFadden

      Thank you, I would love that information www.Felicianoshannay@gmail.com.

    • May 28, 2014

      Interested too

      Hi, can you send me a link. Thanks! Sophieecastillo@yahoo.com

    • May 29, 2014

      Glad to know

      Please let me know the legit business. Been searching for days!

      thixson@windstream.net

    • May 29, 2014

      Joan

      Can you also send me the link? joan.chapman@att.net

    • May 31, 2014

      Sally

      I would like to know the site you are talking about also please! Puppychow9620254@aol.com Thanks!

    • Jun 1, 2014

      Leah

      Can you send me the link Leahlynne1585@yahoo.com

    • Jun 9, 2014

      Nicole

      Nicolepazder@gmail.com. Please forward your link. Thanks.

    • Jun 11, 2014

      Debbie

      Can you send me the link as well, recently retired due to health problems and have two in college. hannah.john@comcast.net

    • Jun 13, 2014

      Irene

      Can you send me the link Irene.rowlandbusiness@gmail.com.

    • Jun 13, 2014

      LaShun

      Would love to see a legit online opportunity. May I have the link as well to check it out? burnettld31@aol.com

    • Jun 15, 2014

      amanda

      Me as well! a.lizabeth.hays@gmail.com

    • Jun 19, 2014

      Aaron

      I would love the link to the legit real site for making real money. aaronjackblack@outlook.com. Thanks.

    • Jun 21, 2014

      Charles

      I would like to hear about it as well. please email me at charlesbois@juno.com

    • Jun 21, 2014

      Debra

      Would love to know what this company is. Litldebilou@yahoo.com

    • Jun 23, 2014

      Phyllis

      Please send me the site as well. My email address is phyllispotter@bellsouth.net

    • Jul 1, 2014

      Pat

      Could you also send me the info you found. Thanks. patgreen1964@yahoo.com

    • Jul 2, 2014

      Cj

      Would also like to have the link. cjo.costello@gmail.com

    • Jul 2, 2014

      Kala

      Me too. Send it to kaballard153@email.wilkescc.edu.

       

    • Jul 6, 2014

      Darlene

      Please send me the information you found to make extra money. Kitsy Lane is just not doing well. My email is buppysmom@verizon.net. Thanks.

    • Jul 14, 2014

      Samantha

      Please send me the link! I'm very interested! Januaryelf@gmail.com

    • Jul 16, 2014

      Teresa

      Please send my the legit website too, please. My email is: teresaware3171@gmail.com

    • Jul 21, 2014

      Yo

      Has anybody received a message from Keondra (the originator of this thread)?

    • Jul 22, 2014

      Felita

      Hi, please send me the legit website. FSB713@gmail.com

    • Sep 12, 2014

      adurrett@sbcglobal.net

      I didn't hear back from her but I do Younique Products and get paid daily so this is never a problem! www.youniqueproducts.com/Annette

    • Sep 28, 2014

      Lisa B

      Hi, what is the name of the site you are recommending? My email is lisabcontact@gmail.com.

    • Dec 6, 2014

      Barn

      Hi, what is that site you're referring to? You can email me at bhumphrey606@gmail.com. Thanks

    • Feb 22, 2015

      Jimmy

      I'm interested. Jmcclellan48@gmail.com

    • Apr 5, 2015

      Sashi

      What is the name of the site? My email address is bashmentsasha@hotmail.com.

    • Jul 6, 2015

      Deanna Reed-Hill

      I'm interested: reedhill@outlook.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I owned a Kitsy Lane boutique for 8 months. I have over 40 people under me. No sales at all! I put money into this too, business cards, etc. Posted everywhere. It makes me wonder. You would think someone under me would have made a purchase to check out the jewelry. At least it's not showing in my account.

    I now just joined Jewelry In Candles. There is a rep start up kit fee that is required, but its only one time. No sale quotas or monthly fees. Right now it's on sale for $29.95 till 3/31/14. Regular price is $49.95. I think it's worth it because you can show people at home the products and scents and sell online with your free store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Pointless, waste of time

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I started with this, I don't know how many months ago. I was worried as the jewelry is cheap looking, and they are asking high premiums for essentially what is junk jewelry. I work for Swarovski so I can easily gage what it's worth-- and KS merchandise is not worth the asking price. In any case, I did everything they asked, Facebook, Pinterest, and Fancied, which they never even mentioned and not one sale. I believe it's been 4-5 months. I do better on eBay.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 31, 2014

      Yolanda

      Kitsy Lane offers designer pieces. Names like Lisa August, Debra Shepard, Jenny Bird, and Wendy Mink. These are high fashion, quality pieces. Yes, when I buy strictly sale items, for example, 6 pieces for $60.00, I don't expect much.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a review for Kitsy Lane!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review