About Kitsy Lane

Based in Boston, MA, Kitsy Lane (www.kitsylane.com) is an online jewelry retailer that allows you to curate and sell products through a personal “e-boutique,” while earning up to 25% commission on every sale. The company claims that people from all walks of life operate their own boutiques—from busy professionals, to stay at home moms, and even some celebrities. In addition to individual boutiques, Kitsy Lane is also a traditional online storefront, where you can shop for jewelry-related merchandise just as you would through any other site.

Kitsy Lane carries a wide variety of jewelry, from big names to smaller names, including earrings, necklaces, bracelets, rings, and much more. In addition, you can also become a vendor if you have your own jewelry line, which must be pre-approved by the company. Kitsy Lane claims to differentiate themselves from their competition by offering significantly discounted items.

How Kitsy Lane Works

Kitsy Lane makes it relatively easy for you to sign up and get started with your own jewelry boutique, and since this service is free, you won’t need to provide any billing information or undergo a preapproval process. You simply need to complete a standard signup form and decide on your boutique’s name; everything else is handled for you.

See Also: The Young & the Careless: 4 Skincare Mistakes You Should Avoid

After signing up, Kitsy Lane instantly provides you with a ready-made storefront and a personalized web address (e.g. YourStoreName.KitsyLane.com), which can be thought of as your very own affiliate page. You will then be given the chance to customize your page, with a wide variety of color, texture, background, logo, footer, and welcome message options from which to choose. In addition, you can pick what items you want to include in your boutique, which items you want displayed on your home page, your weekly flash sale products, and much more.

Kitsy Lane claims to provide you with all the essential resources to help you market your online jewelry boutique, which really just consist of social sharing tools (e.g. Facebook, Twitter, etc.), the ability to invite friends to your store, and the option to sign up for exclusive webinars. In addition, you can also create e-coupons to send out to friends and family.

After you’ve effectively marketed your boutique, Kitsy Lane will handle all payment processing and shipping; very similar to a drop ship. As such, the company doesn’t appear to be a pyramid scheme, since they don’t require any money upfront, and you’re actually selling tangible goods. Instead, Kitsy Lane is more focused on creating additional marketing channels through “middlemen” like you.

The Kitsy Lane Payment Plan

Curiously, despite Kitsy Lane’s claim that users can earn up to 25% commission per sale, their website does not expressly state how this can occur. However, the site does explain that you can earn up to an additional 15% of each sale made from other boutiques referred by you. With this in mind, we can only assume that your commission will be based on the total amount of sales you make. The breakdown on their site provides the following:

  • If you make 5 orders per week, with approximately $75 per order, you will earn a total of $3,500 per year.
  • If you make 5 orders per day, with approximately $75 per order, you will earn a total of $25,000 per year.
  • If you make 20 orders per day, with approximately $75 per order, you will earn a total of $100,000 per year.

If you have your calculator handy, you’ll notice the above numbers are based on an 18% commission rate, so it’s important that you call the company directly to find out exactly how commission is accrued prior to opening your boutique. As an added bonus though, you can earn commissions off of your own purchases through the site.

Once your boutique is up and running, your previous month’s commission payments will be issued to you on or around the 15th of each month in the form of a check. A third-party vendor (www.bill.com) disburses these payments, and charges a $1 processing fee for each check issued. Keep in mind that Kitsy Lane will need to have your social security number on file in order to issue your 1099 for tax purposes.

Pros:

  • Easy to sign up and start your own online jewelry boutique, while earning up to 25% commission on each sale.
  • All basic marketing tools, including exclusive webinars, are included.
  • No pyramid scheme – you’re selling real products.
  • Earn commissions from your own purchases through Kitsy Lane.

Cons:

  • Contributing factors to qualify for 25% commission are not specifically outlined on the site.
  • Some customers complained of not getting paid on time and/or wrong amount.

36 Customer Reviews for Kitsy Lane

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 5 4 stars: 2 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 6 1 stars: 21
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not a scam

    • by Natasha,
    • Ft. Lauderdale,
    • Feb 14, 2015

    I've been a Kitsy Lane boutique owner for two years. I have earned a commission check twice, which was on my own personal purchases. What I noticed is that it is not hard for people to sign up to the boutique, it is very hard to get sales. Out of those two years, I've made one sale but it was a direct one. What I wish is that they lower their prices to help boutique owners make sales. But overall it is not a scam. I received my jewelry in the mail in great condition and shipped on time and my commission checks has always been on time. I would recommend to a friend definitely.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Every year it just gets worse

    • by Kera,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Dec 30, 2014

    I singed up for Kitsylane about three years ago... and no matter how much marketing I do... no matter how much of their cheap over priced jewelry I buy to put on display, It doesn't sell... I have not made one single dime from this site... I spent more money on this site, and I have nothing to show for it, but a few pieces of cheap jewelry that looks NOTHING like the photos... I tried so many different marketing paths and nothing you do can sell this stuff...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the trouble.

    • by Beth,
    • Nov 14, 2014

    Jewelry is for the most part junk and over priced. Never got paid. Only good thing was a free pair of earrings after attending the first webinar. Had to constantly send emails due to poor communication. Free start up is great & the website. But it quickly becomes a bit of a joke because the few nice pieces of jewelry get sold out immediately and once sold out, there's no way it'll come back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    What a joke!

    • by Lynn,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 1, 2014

    I had a Kitsy Lane boutique for over a year, did everything I could and invested money into this and never made a sale! I think the prices are too high. I bought jewelry from them and it was junk for the high price I paid. I now sell Avon and Soyl Scents.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Good, easy, work from home business

    • by Nicole,
    • Houston, texas,
    • Aug 31, 2014

    As of now, I really like my Kitsy Lane experience. The concierge is very helpful. I've never had a bad experience with them. So here are the Pros and cons:

    Pros – Money is easy; you do get 25% on everything you sell. I've had it for a month and a half, putting minimal effort in (FB posts, emailing my link to friends) and I've made $70. Considering I didn't have to buy a start-up kit or host a party, I'm happy with that. The sales are really good, like 10 for $50. That's usually when I make my money. You can customize your site the way you want it and there's no website fees.

    Cons – They pay you on the 15th of the month, though I guess it depends where your sale lies. For instance, if I make a sale on the 12th of August, I probably won't get that commission until September because the first check is already processed. I just started and am waiting on my first check. I'm a little nervous considering the reviews above. The quality of the jewelry isn't fabulous. I don't feel it's super sturdy or anything like that. I wouldn't pay full price for most of it (and I don't for many things anyway) but when they're on sale I'm ok with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2014

      Nicole

      I'm the original writer for this post. I just received my commission check right on time! Just wanted to post that update :)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    So-So Quality Jewelry

    • by Monica,
    • Aug 23, 2014

    OK, so I excitedly signed up for this company, purchased a rather expensive kit and figuring that I would do some awesome sales. However, the quality of the products is "so-so", okay, quite cheap looking and I won't ask customers to pay the price that KL charges.

    Two, I participated in one conference call and the leader, whoever she was, seemed very condescending, rude and perhaps desperate. Funny, I received an email today from "Chelsea Row," a company that looks a lot like KL. Hmmm. I don't think so – not this time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No risk! Work from home!

    • by Gina,
    • Aug 21, 2014

    I just started selling jewelry through Kitsy Lane and I love it! It really is risk free and you don't have to invest a thing if you don't want to! I'm a stay at home mom so this is right up my ally. Come check out my boutique or you can even start your own by becoming a member of my team and I can help you get started!

    Gigiglitz.kitsylane.com

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • by Sherri,
    • iowa,
    • Jul 21, 2014

    I had a $50 commission due & I've never received anything. They were good about answering questions but mention commission due and you'll never hear back.

    I quit selling the jewelry because 1. No commission as promised, 2. When they run out of an item, that's it. It's not coming back. 3. The jewelry, especially the rings were cheap looking & quality of items was fair at best.

    I would feel terrible selling their items to friends and family.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 15 people found this review helpful

    You can not sign in To your Boutique Once its up and running

    • by Frangala kay Jackson,
    • United States,
    • Jun 18, 2014

    I just opened my boutique. I can not even sign into it. I guess this one will be The Fish that landed them the gold nugget. You know that last fish That earned you the million dollar bank account? well, I did what the website instructed. now i can not get into my own Boutique. That's Fraudulent and where is the Federal Trade Commission in all of This?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Concierge is very helpful

    • by Veronica,
    • Burlington, VT,
    • Jun 18, 2014

    I would definitely recommend Kitsy Lane to a friend. It's fun and easy to setup your own Boutique. Great concierge, always there to help when you need it. Online meetings so you can see how to do things. Definitely recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good Tech Support

    • by Meg,
    • Hilton Head, SC,
    • Jun 17, 2014

    It is fun and enjoyable to own a jewelry boutique online. I enjoy the fact that there is help with the technical problems and Kitsy Lane is very good at fixing the issues. It is a great way to make a little extra cash. If someone has a lot of relatives and friends, they will enjoy selling these pieces that are so pretty and affordable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a review for Kitsy Lane!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review