About LA-3 by Live Cell Research

LA-3 by Live Cell Research is a nutritional supplement that promises to boost your AMPK levels, resulting in increased energy, clearer thinking, decreased abdominal fat, and a “stronger, healthier body.” For these reasons, Live Cell Research calls LA-3 a “longevity activator.”

How? According to the company, LA-3 contains three different ingredients that have never been combined before, which can provide maximum benefits after just a few months of continuous use:

  • Days 1-7: You may begin experiencing increased energy and reduced appetite and cravings.
  • Days 7-30: Because you’re eating less, you might notice your abdominal fat melting away, further increasing your energy.
  • 1 Month+: After this time, we’re told your AMPK levels should be elevated sufficiently so that your thoughts become clearer and your mind less forgetful. You might also notice that your body is becoming stronger and healthier, along with a continued change in your shape.

To achieve these benefits, Live Cell Research states you'll just need to take two capsules of LA-3 with water per day, with or without food. They also promise that LA-3 can work for anyone, is safe to use with no known side effects, and is third-party tested for safety, purity, and potency.

If you didn’t know better, Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement might sound like some fountain of youth and an incredible weight loss program rolled into one.

But what does science have to say about many of the company's claims? Will this supplement work? Is it worth the money? Keep reading to find out what we uncovered during our research.

What is AMPK? How Does It Work?

5' AMP-activated protein kinase (or AMPK for short) is “an enzyme that plays a role in cellular energy homeostasis,” and is concentrated in a number of areas throughout the human body, including the brain, liver, and skeletal muscle. AMPK itself is made up of three proteins: STE-related adaptor (STRAD), mouse protein 25 (MO25), and LKB1.

Live Cell Research calls AMPK a “master switch” because this enzyme regulates several key systems within the body, such as increasing cellular energy, stimulating the oxidation of fatty acids and glucose transport, and more.

While the exact details are far outside the scope of this review (and they might make you go cross-eyed), the thing about AMPK is that some fairly specific conditions need to be present for the enzyme to be activated—the primary method of which is muscle contraction (i.e. working out).

Once AMPK is activated, there is some clinical evidence showing it may increase blood supply to muscles, help transport glucose (simple sugars), boost fatty acid metabolism (thereby creating more energy for the cell), and more.

What if you don't want to hit the gym to boost your AMPK levels? Can you accomplish the same thing by popping a couple of LA-3 pills?

Will LA-3’s Ingredients Boost Your AMPK Levels?

According to their supplement label, LA-3 contains the following ingredients:

Of these, WebMD indicates that 30mg daily of gynostemma may be effective for reducing cholesterol. So, at 450mg per dose, LA-3 delivers significantly more than this, although there doesn’t seem to be any clinical evidence indicating that increased gynostemma consumption results in more obvious benefits.

Is ActivAMP a Clinically Proven Ingredient?

Important note: The gynostemma pentaphyllum found in LA-3 is part of a proprietary ingredient named ActivAMP, which is manufactured by a company named Gencor Pacific.

According to their website, in a 12-week randomized clinical trial, ActivAMP was shown to decrease body fat mass and body fat percentage, reduce body weight and BMI, and shrink the total abdominal area.

To see the results for ourselves, we reached out to Gencor Pacific and obtained some of their clinical evidence for ActivAMP, which consists of seven different trials. Here is just a handful:

  • A 2013, 23-week randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial that concluded ActivAMP might be useful for treating obese individuals.
  • A 2012, 8-week study that showed mice “decreased body weight gain, liver weight, and blood cholesterol levels with AMPK activation in the soleus muscle.”
  • A 2011 study showing the ingredient may be effective for improving glucose and lipid metabolism.
  • A 2008 study showing that ginsenosides may have an anti-obesity effective. All results were obtained via cells in a controlled laboratory setting.

Now, we’re not medical experts (which is why we rely on authoritative sites to determine whether or not an ingredient is classified as “effective”), so we have no reason to doubt the findings in Gencor Pacific’s research.

Just keep in mind that results obtained through experiments conducted on mice and cells don’t necessarily mean you, as a human, will experience the same thing.

And even if these studies were conducted on humans, it would require dozens (or perhaps even hundreds) of reproducible, double-blind, placebo controlled, peer reviewed studies before if could be considered “proven” to work as advertised.

For more about this topic, be sure to read Think That Clinical Study Is Legit?

LA-3’s Other Ingredients

Moving on, WebMD also tells us that 1,000mg daily of quercetin (commonly known as jiaogulan) might help alleviate prostate pain and inflammation. But at just 100mg per dose, there doesn’t appear to be enough in LA-3 to provide these benefits.

Finally, WebMD indicates that berberine might also be effective at reducing cholesterol, as well as blood sugar levels in diabetes patients.

Bringing It All Together Regarding LA-3’s Ingredients: What Can You Realistically Expect?

As we can see, there are clearly some clinically validated benefits for the ingredients found in LA-3.

However, according to authoritative websites like WebMD, there doesn’t appear to be enough clinical evidence showing that these ingredients—whether on their own or in combination—can elevate AMPK levels.

Granted, there is some promising research related to AMPK, although most clinical studies have been conducted on mice (including one of the studies for ActivAMP).

So, based on what we learned after reaching out to Live Cell Research, there seems to be little clinical proof that these same protocols will work in humans.

Are There Any Potential Side Effects From LA-3?

Despite the limited evidence showing that these ingredients can boost AMPK levels, the good news is that they’re generally considered safe.

However, WebMD notes that gynostemma pentaphyllum “can cause some side effects such as severe nausea and increased bowel movements.” Also, it’s unknown if taking quercetin for more than 12 weeks is considered safe.

How much will you pay for LA-3’s three-ingredient formulation?

How Much Does LA-3 Longevity Activator Cost?

Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99
  • 3 Bottles: $117
  • 6 Bottles: $216

Like all Live Cell Research products, LA-3 comes with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H charges. To request one, you'll need to contact customer service at (844) 650-5933 or [email protected]search.com.

Based on these prices, are LA-3’s customers generally satisfied with what they get for their money?

What Can We Learn From LA-3 Customer Reviews?

Since conducting our original research, 19 LA-3 customers have written about their experience on HighYa, giving the supplement an average rating of 3.8 stars.

Here, most compliments seem to reference effective results, including reduced belly fat, increased energy, improved weight loss, and decreased appetite and cravings.

On the other hand, as is the case with many other nutritional supplements, the most common customer complaint about LA-3 seems related to ineffective (or non-existent) results. In fact, even among those who experienced positive results, several noted that it took several weeks to achieve any effects and that they were fairly mild.

Granted, all of this relates to LA-3 as a product. What about the company who manufactures it?

Who is Live Cell Research? Are They Reputable?

Live Cell Research is based out of Southern California, where they manufacture a line of popular supplements, including Niagen, Cerastim, Midogen, Vital Stem, and more.

Overall, the company’s supplements seem to come with mostly positive online customer reviews, with common compliments citing effective results. On the flip side, common complaints reference failure to work/achieve results and difficult customer service experiences.

Unfortunately, the company wasn’t listed with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research. Let’s bring it all together, shall we?

Is LA-3 the Right Nutritional Supplement for You?

On the one hand, with many of the Live Cell Research products we’ve written about in the past, authoritative websites like WebMD note that the clinical evidence supporting many of the company’s claims is lacking.

On the other hand, many customers claim to have experienced positive results with the company’s supplements—LA-3 included—clinical evidence notwithstanding.

Does this mean you should hand over your hard-earned money for Live Cell Research’s LA-3 supplement? Like any other nutritional supplement, what works fantastically for you might be a total flop for someone else, and vice versa.

The seemingly good news is that Live Cell Research offers a 90-day refund window on all of their products, which you can take advantage of if you’re not fully satisfied. Just keep in mind that you'll be out a few dollars for return shipping and handling.

Finally, if you type the phrase “AMPK supplement” or “AMPK activator” into your favorite search engine, you’ll be met with dozens of supplements making many of the same claims as LA-3, including Life Extension.

Sure, they might not be formulated exactly like LA-3, but their claims (and general lack of clinical support) are much the same.

Were you pleased with LA-3’s performance? Or, do you feel it was a waste of money? Whatever your experience, we want to hear about it—be sure to leave a review below!

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

275 Customer Reviews for LA-3 by Live Cell Research

Average Customer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 135 4 star: 86 3 star: 22 2 star: 9 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 275
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied

    I ordered this product, and all it did was cause diarrhea. I tried to get a refund but wasn't aware that it had to be 90 days from the day you purchased, not when you first started taking it. I tried to get a refund and was told I didn't respond in time even though I have a few days left. It amazes me how they always twist it in their favor.

    So it's not a true 90-day trial, and you have the bottles to send back, which I did not know either. So if you order this product be aware of all the stipulations. I even considered ordering another 90 days to see if it would make a difference, but when the price was another $100 or more, I said no thanks. I can't say whether I would recommend it or not, each person's results are different, but I'm definitely disappointed in the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Does not work!

    I ordered a six-month supply because I was leaving the country for several months. I have been taking this product as suggested (two a day) for the past two and a half months and I have not noticed any difference. The claims of INCREASED ENERGY, no noticeable difference. DECREASED APPETITE, no noticeable difference. DECREASE IN BELLY FAT, I am actually gaining weight. The only thing I can say about this product is take a placebo; it does the same thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi there Patrick, Aurora here with Live Cell Research. I am sorry to hear that you did not see any benefits taking LA-3. While a majority of our customers experience amazing results from LA-3, we realize that it is not for everyone.

      I would like to offer you a full refund for giving our product a fair trial. We never want our customers to be dissatisfied and understand that it is something we cannot control, which is why we offer the 90-day money back guarantee.

      Please send me an email at [email protected] so that I can refund your order as quickly as possible. Thank you Patrick, I look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Fast shipping

    • Howell, MI,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've seen many complaints on orders not received. I placed my order for LA-3 on 6/25/17 and received it on 6/28/17! Plus I got the usual email updates for order status and shipping with tracking number. If they had problems in the past, I'd say those problems are fixed. i just took my first dose. I hope the product works as well as the order/delivery process.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    LA-3 is worthless

    • North Dakota,
    • Jun 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased four bottles of LA-3 after watching the promo video hoping that it would work. After receiving the product, I started using it daily following the dosage listed on the product. Nothing happened. While taking LA-3, I followed a low carb diet and got adequate exercise. After two weeks, nothing changed, and with no decrease in belly fat (as determined by measurement). After the first bottle, no change.

    Hoping that my body needed more time to adjust to LA-3, I continued to take LA-3 as directed. Now, after four bottles (all I ordered) nothing happened. It appears that I fell for another weight scheme. I should know better. Don't waste your money on this junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hello David, thank you for reaching out to us about your experience with LA-3. I am sorry to hear that you did not see the benefits you were expecting while taking LA-3. While a majority of our customers love it, we realize that it is not for everyone. Please keep in mind that it may take a bit longer to see all of the amazing results that LA-3 has to offer, which is why our trial period is 90 days. We always guarantee your money back if you are still dissatisfied within the 90 days, so it’s practically risk-free! I would be more than happy to issue you a complete refund for giving our product a try. Please email me at [email protected] so that I can begin processing that for you.

      Thank you David, I look forward to hearing from you.

    • Jul 12, 2017

      Bonnie M.

      Active-PK is the same product as LA-3. You can tell while listening to the video, the words "Active-PK" have replaced other words which must be LA-3. I was wondering why the product got renamed.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Unexpected bad side effect

    I was very excited to start this product. One week in, I became extremely depressed, crying all the time, couldn't get myself in motion. Not me at all. I accidentally forgot to take them for two days and felt better. I didn't make the connection but felt my old self again. I started taking them again for another week and got the same depression, so then I decided it might be this product. I stopped and felt better. I did this one more time to just be sure, and sure enough.

    This is likely unusual but worth noting in the event that anyone experiences similar effects. I am disappointed it didn't work for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi Michele, Aurora here with Live Cell Research. I am sorry to hear that your experience with LA-3 is not what you had hoped for. While this is not a known side effect of the product, we realize that everyone may react differently to certain ingredients. We always recommend speaking to your primary physician when something like this occurs. I would be more than happy to refund you for your entire order just for giving LA-3 a try. Please email me personally at [email protected], so that I can begin your refund process for you. Thank you Michele.

    • Jun 25, 2017

      Linda Torres

      I was excited when I ordered LA-3 some weeks ago. I intended to start taking it right after school ended for the summer. I wanted to concentrate on myself, my weight and energy issues. I did check with my doctor, he said all the ingredients were not harmful and to let him know how I was doing with it.

      On the second day, I was nauseous but didn't associate this with the product at all. Then after another couple of days, I started crying and felt generally depressed, with zero energy, as opposed to the extra energy I was expecting to occur at some point.

      I stopped taking LA-3 for two days, nausea and tears disappeared. I realize that all supplements or ingredients may not work for everyone in the same way. I wouldn't tell others not to try it, it just wasn't a good match for me. I will be requesting a refund, as I still have most of this product left.

    • Jul 6, 2017

      Sherrie Clark

      I ordered this product hoping to lose weight but it didn't work. I constantly had diarrhea, so I tried to get my money back but I was only offered $46 back. I wasn't aware that it had to be exactly to the date when you ordered and I did not know I needed to save my empty bottles.

      So if you order this product be aware of this. I still have two days left so it's not a 90-day money back guarantee. It seems like a scam to me, I'm very disappointed. I even thought about ordering it for another 90 days just to see if I needed to give my body more time but did not want to pay another $100. So I cannot say I would recommend this product.

    • Jul 12, 2017

      LaVinya coleman

      I started taking it four months ago. I had high blood pressure. So, I was concerned about that and I needed to loose weight. I had double breast cancer and a complete hysterectomy in 2015. I decided to try it. I also had low energy before I started. So four months ago I tried it, I decided I was gonna stick with it. I went to my doctor before I started. I was weighing 263 lbs.

      I went back to the doctor, my blood pressure is under control and I'm down to 247 lbs. Did I notice a change? No. But does the scale show a change? Yes. Did my breathing change? Yes. I take them every morning on an empty stomach, and I take my blood pressure medicine an hour later. I typically eat some yogurt with fruit and a light dinner, nothing too heavy. I drink lemon lime and orange water every day and sometimes I add honey ginger turmeric cinnamon. If I eat late, it's a bowl of cereal or fruit.

      I had diarrhea a couple of times but that went away. I feel like the right weight loss isn't noticeable, just consistent and healthy. I've been doing this LA-3 with prayer and fasting too. It's working for me and I'm 42.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    LA-3

    • Waikato, New Zealand,
    • Jun 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking LA-3 for six weeks now with absolutely no sign of any weight or waist loss, nor any noticeable improvement in energy levels. I will finish the second bottle, and it looks like claiming a refund will be my next move unless a miracle happens in the next two weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hi there Norman, thank you for your review of LA-3. I am sorry to hear that you are not receiving the benefits you were hoping from while taking LA-3. Sometimes the product takes longer to work on some than others, which is why we offer our 90-day money back guarantee. We try to give each customer enough time to truly experience all of the benefits that LA-3 can offer. If you are still dissatisfied and would like to return the product for a full refund, please email me at [email protected] so that I can assist you. Thank you Norman.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Feeling 15 years younger

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Jun 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went on and on about my positive experiences with this product. Apparently, I exceeded the number of characters allowed, because all my comments are eliminated!

    To sum up: I feel 15 years younger, both mentally and physically! I want more of this product. I've been using it for six months.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Side affects

    • Jun 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello, my name is Nelly, and I started taking the LA-3 on Monday, June 5th, 2017, and since Tuesday I have been feeling dizzyness, vertigo, and nausea. I am not sure if this is the pills, but I was fine before taking them. I am off to see my doctor about this. Also, my eyes feel kind of heavy and I have redness to them. Please advice. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2017

      Live Cell Research Rep, Customer Relations Manager

      Hello Nelly, thank you for leaving us a review of your experience with one of our best selling products, LA-3. We always recommend speaking to your primary physician, when taking any new supplements to ensure that they will not have any adverse effects on or interfere with anything else you may already be taking. Please be assured that we always stand by our 90-day money back guarantee on all of our products. If you wish to return the LA-3 for a full refund, please email me personally at [email protected] Thank you Nelly.

    • Jun 19, 2017

      Nelly

      Thank you for your response. I emailed Aurora ([email protected]) a few times and I haven't gotten any responses back. I'm requesting a refund because the medications that I am taking for some of my health conditions are interfering with LA-3 and are showing other side effects. Thank you.

    • Jun 22, 2017

      Robin

      I just want to say to all the people out there, that the first few days I had a lot of bad reactions to the product. I think it's because it works so good, and so fast that your body does not know how to recognize the difference between what is happening to it. Remember, that it is eating the fat so it automatically gives you a headache and nausea.

      So I took a few days off, and I called the company to let them know of the severe migraine headaches and all of his other symptoms that I'm experiencing. They told me it was normal. Then I started again and I started feeling normal. I felt like my stomach area felt lighter and I could see weight gone. I felt lighter and I could see where it goes. My body started developing the ability to use the product and not feel sick.

      I got my energy going and feeling normal again.I have come to be in the 30-day trial and have not lost any weight in my waist area since the first week. I have not lost any more weight since that very beginning week. I can't get rid of the tire on my waist. I think it's water retention, but I'm not sure. I just call it flab.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Best product

    I saw an increase of energy in the second day, started losing body fat after the first week, had no more foggy memory, and I sleep better. I am in the fourth week of taking them, and I love it. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    LA-3 actually works

    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Jun 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried every diet pill and gimmick out there spending a lot of money, and nothing ever worked! I have hit menopause and struggled with the weight gain. I worked out and wasted a lot of money on pills and diets that never worked. I cannot believe how GREAT this product is. I have dropped 4 lbs in two weeks. I can see the difference, and I would recommend this product to anyone. I would stand behind this product. Good luck. If you don't try this product, you will lose!

    Thank you LA-3. Love this!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    More energy

    LA-3 has helped me up my energy level. It has helped with being able to sleep better and wake up refreshed most every day. I have fibromyalgia and the constant fatigue made it very hard some days to be able function at my full potential.

    With fibro you have anxiety and LA-3 has helped bring that down with keeping my energy level up. I feel like I have lost some weight.

    I know it will take some time to see better results losing the weight that I would like to loose. I am curious to see what difference I see and feel at the end of two months.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 275

Write a Review for LA-3 by Live Cell Research!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review