About LendUp

Searching for a reputable payday lender may seem impossible, but LendUp claims to provide a solution. Instead of causing individuals to become trapped in debt through extremely high interest rates and fuzzy terms, LendUp is a socially responsible direct lender that can help you build your credit, and gain access to more money over time.

But does LendUp live up to these expectations? Let’s take a look.

Understanding How LendUp Works

If you’re one of the millions of Americans who work hard but find themselves “locked in the short-term debt trap,” LendUp claims to provide a solution. Instead of keeping you trapped in debt, LendUp has a unique system in place that allows you to quickly access payday loans, and to earn points for things like repaying your loan on time, taking education courses, and even referring friends. The company calls this “climbing the ladder,” and the program spans four different tiers:

  • Silver – Borrow up to $250 for as long as 30 days. Will need to be repaid all at once.
  • Gold – Borrow up to $500 for as long as 60 days. Multiple payments can be made.
  • Platinum – Borrow up to $700 for as long as 6 months. Multiple payments can be made.
  • Prime – Borrow up to $1,000 for as long as 12 months. Multiple payments can be made. On top of this, once you reach the Prime level, you can report your repayment behavior to the major credit bureaus and may be eligible for APRs as low as 29%.

When you’re ready to apply for a LendUp loan, the process works in three steps:

  1. Apply online in as little as 5 minutes.
  2. Since LendUp is a direct lender, they use a proprietary algorithm to provide you with an immediate response.
  3. Your money can be deposited directly into your bank account in as little as 15 minutes. LendUp claims that their loans contain no hidden fees or rollovers, and feature clear terms and conditions.

When it comes time to repay your loan, you can either pay your it in advance, or LendUp will automatically withdraw the payment directly from your bank account.

As part of their commitment to socially responsible lending, LendUp claims to understand that they only succeed when you’re able to repay your loan, so they’ve created an environment to work with you when the unexpected happens. This includes loan extensions up to 30 days, and even beyond this as decided on a case-by-case basis.

LendUp Pricing & Refund Policy

LendUp charges a variety of APRs for their loans. As of the time of this writing, this ranged anywhere from 199.53% to 748.77%, although once you reach the Prime tier, you may have access to APRs as low as 29%.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About LendUp?

LendUp has been featured in TIME, the Wall Street Journal, Inc., and more, and has been in business since 2012. However, the company is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, and online customer reviews were few and far between during our research.

Despite this, some of the most common complaints we encountered cited difficulty reporting your LendUp loans to credit reporting agencies, and that there is no direct phone number to contact someone at the company. With this said, it appears LendUp responds to complaints quickly.

What’s the Bottom Line About LendUp?

Similar to Rapid Loans Direct, Greenlight Loans, CashAdvance.com, and others, LendUp is a short-term payday lender, regardless of how socially responsible they claim to be. This means they charge very high interest rates for their loans, which are essentially the same as competing payday lenders. And as we’ve recommended in the past, it’s best to stay away from these types of loans if at all possible.

With this said, LendUp does seem to take a “kinder, gentler” approach to payday lending, with 30-day extensions available, and even beyond depending on your situation. So if you absolutely must take out a short-term payday loan, LendUp appears to be a solid choice.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

118 Customer Reviews for LendUp

Average Customer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 50 4 stars: 8 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 8 1 stars: 50
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 118
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good experiences then bad.

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Feb 20, 2017

    I took out several loans. Every single one was repaid on time.

    Today I sent in a current pay stub as requested. They tell me that I don't make enough money when in fact I'm basically making the same amount!

    The phone representative was hard to deal with and wasn't really listening to what I was saying. She said they get a recent pay stub before approving repeat loans, but that isn't true. Before, they would only ask for a pay stub every three months or so. Something has changed at LendUp and not for the better.

    I asked them to reconsider, but why beg to pay the high-interest rate? There are other lenders out there who offer better service without the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Robbed

    I started using LendUp as a way to build credit. I made it to Platinum to finally report to credit bureaus. I paid every single payment on time, if not early.

    My last payment was taken out but shows as unpaid. This was TWO months ago. I called them numerous times, and they tell me the same thing, that there is a bug in the system and that they are working on it but don't have a solution and can't tell me when it'll be fixed. It's been TWO months, and it still says that I am past due, and the cost is rising each day.

    I never needed $250, so basically I feel like I gave them $80 a month in interest for nothing. I can't take out another loan until the last shows up cleared. Needless to say, I am done with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    The first couple of loans went well, but in January of 2017, they double debited my account for the loan payment. Then they left it showing as "processing" on the loan dashboard (and still is), making it look like the loan has not yet been repaid, even thought it cleared the bank over a week ago. In the meantime, I have no ability to apply for another loan (not that I would). Why they cannot update the dashboard is beyond me, but consumers should beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    LendUp does not provide all that they claim to

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 30, 2017

    The LendUp ad claims that you can climb the ladder, but if you live in certain states you cannot climb the ladder and cannot get a loan for more than $300.

    They would not allow me to extend the date of my loan repayment more than 13 days when there are state restrictions in place that say that loans cannot be under 14 days. The site constantly has malfunctions where they make it impossible to upload documents. Trying to talk to someone on the phone is almost impossible, and if you do happen to get someone they give you the runaround.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    • Alta Loma, CA,
    • Jan 30, 2017

    So I did a few loans with LendUp and everything was good for the first two loans. On the third loan, though, they took their payment and on the next day, they took ANOTHER PAYMENT out of my account! I called them, and all they could say is "sorry, we are working on it." Meanwhile, I am out $292.80.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great alternative to the quick loan places

    • Camarillo, CA,
    • Jan 29, 2017

    I've had no issues with LendUp. I have less than stellar credit and was unable to qualify for a loan anywhere but through LendUp and one other place. The other place was willing to give me $200. However, it was an installation loan, and at the end, my total to payback was $3234.32! How is that even legal? Of course, I said no.

    But LendUp was amazing, and I only had a minimal charge. They send you numerous reminders when your payment is due, all of them asking if you need an extension. They seem to want you to succeed, whereas the Payday Loan places want you to fail so they can collect more fees. I've had a few loans with LendUp now (all in my account within 24 hours), and I've paid them all back without issue. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a bit of cash help.

    It does seem like the negative reviews are from people who were either using the service to build credit or people who tried to pay back the loan early. I've never tried to pay early I just let it clear through my account, and I'm not to the credit building portion yet. So my review is purely for the fact that if you need cash, they give you cash. They deposit and deduct it as soon as they say they will, and they are reasonable.

    This service was exactly what was right for me. So of you're using it to rebuild credit I suggest reading some more reviews from consumers who've used the service for that purpose.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great service

    • Minnesota,
    • Jan 23, 2017

    I have nothing but good to say! LendUp is a great way to get short-term, low-interest small loans. They have great customer service too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very satisfied customer

    Applying with LendUp was the best decision I made this year! They are very prompt, as well as reasonable. I would definitely encourage as many people as I can to use their services because I will definitely be using their services for a very long time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • LendUp is sincerely the greatest and I have been a loyal customer for over 2 years now.

    • California,
    • Jan 9, 2017

    Anyone who is really wanting to improve their credit needs to give LendUp a chance.

    I have had no complaints whatsoever, and I have been with them for over two years. They have an easy start to finish online application, and the direct deposit is convenient. Anyone who is serious about paying back the funds and pays when you agree to, then there is no dilemma. I pay my bills now efficiently and with ease, since the point of rebuilding credit means learning how to pay your bills on time.

    Now this lender gives me up to $1,000 whenever I may need to borrow without hassle. Thanks to them I now have other lenders and different companies who I have "credibility" with as well, since LendUp has been reporting my payments to the three bureaus.

    Is this not the goal? YES it is.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Warning. Achtung. Beware of LendUp!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 3, 2017

    I feel responsible to warn you all how horrible LendUp is!

    Yes, I was able to pay back every loan on time so my judgment is not swayed in any way due to any doing of my own, but LendUp is simply the most horrible service I've ever dealt with in regards to paying back. It is damn near impossible to do so via their automated system or in person! They actually go out of their way to lose the phone connection if by some slim chance you do make it through to them.

    And if you somehow surpass the hurdles, you are simply told that your payment can't be accepted until your due date expires. At this point, they simply terminate your call, at which point you will find it impossible to contact them again!

    I wish you the best of luck if you find it necessary to ever use these jokers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Thank you for being so legit!!

    Best online short & long term lender out there! I have been dealing with them since January, I couldn't get a traditional loan anywhere because of credit but LendUp started me at $250 on short term and now I am at $400 short and I have a $800 long term.

    They never pull more money than they say and you can always depend on them being honest, answering the phone & quick response time

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 118

Write a review for LendUp!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review