About LifeVantage

As a self-proclaimed leader in Nrf2 science, LifeVantage is a nutraceutical company that claims to manufacture scientifically-validated products focused on healthy living and the reduction of oxidative stress. As such, LifeVantage’s products and network marketing business structure are claimed to help people achieve healthy living.

But when it comes down to it, is the LifeVantage opportunity really an “opportunity,” and are their supplements really “deeply rooted in science?” Keep reading to find out.

How LifeVantage Works

At its most basic, LifeVantage a manufacturer of nutraceutical products who provides compensation to independent Distributors who sell them. The company has been around for several years, and you may have watched a clip about the company on ABC’s PrimeTime show, or you may have been approached by a friend or family member who is already a Distributor. As a result, you’re probably interested in learning more about the company.

As such, let’s take a closer look at LifeVantage’s products, as well as their business model.

LifeVantage Products

LifeVantage claims that science is the foundation behind all of their products, and that their flagship supplement Prodantim was developed by Dr. Joe McCord, co-discoverer of superoxide dismutase (SOD), an enzyme claimed to eliminate free radicals. As such, the company claims to hold an active patent on Protandim and several of their other products.

With this in mind, LifeVantage claims that all of their products are formulated around Nrf2 technology, which is a “a powerful protein that is latent within each cell in the body, unable to move or operate until it is released by an Nrf2 activator.” In layman’s terms, Nrf2 is claimed to signal your DNA to produce antioxidants, which may provide a wide variety of benefits, including protection from free radicals.

As such, here are LifeVantage’s Nrf2-based products:

  • Protandim – Using natural plant ingredients, this is a daily “NRF2 synergizer” dietary supplement that is claimed to help reduce oxidative stress by an average of 40% in 30 days, which is accomplished by increasing the amount of antioxidant enzymes produced by your body.
  • TrueScience – An anti-aging beauty system that uses Nrf2 technology to provide instant and cumulative anti-aging benefits, including increased hydration, smoother, brighter, and luminous skin, and more. Included in the system are an Ultra Gentle Facial Cleanser, Perfecting Lotion, Eye Corrector Serum, and Anti-Aging Cream.
  • Canine Health – May help reduce oxidative stress in dogs, in addition to supporting brain, eye, and skin function, supporting joint health and mobility, and supporting cognitive function.

The LifeVantage Opportunity

LifeVantage also provides individuals with the opportunity to sell their supplements as an independent Distributor, which the company claims have more than 67,000 of as of the end of the 2013 fiscal year.

When compared to other network marketing/MLM companies, LifeVantage claims to offer a real opportunity for real people that can help them feel good and lead a healthy life, while moving them toward financial independence. In addition, LifeVantage claims to have a compensation plan like no other, which includes a variety of bonuses and pools, as well as royalty commissions.

On top of this, LifeVantage claims to have created a proven system that can help you improve your chances for success, which they’ve named the Master Track program. This system is claimed to include a training manual, weekly training programs, training calls, conference calls, personal mentoring, monthly training meetings, quarterly events and annual conventions, in addition to incentives and promotions.

LifeVantage Pricing & Refund Policy

LifeVantage products are priced as follows:

  • Protandim: $50 ($40 for Preferred Customers)
  • TrueScience: $211 for the complete set ($160 for Preferred Customers). Note: Each product in the set is also available for individual purchase.
  • Canine Health: $30 ($25 for Preferred Customers)

The LifeVantage Preferred Customer program is basically an autoship program, where you’ll receive a reduced price for agreeing to receive automatic monthly shipments of your chosen product(s).

All unopened LifeVantage products come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that in order to be eligible for a refund they must be in original condition with all safety seals in tact and in saleable condition.

If you’re looking to become a LifeVantage Distributor, you’ll be required to fill out an application and pay $50 for a Start Kit, which includes 1 (30-pack) Presentation Tear Off Pad, 1 (25-pack) Newspapers, 1 (10-pack) LifeVantage Opportunity DVDs, 1 LifeVantage Decal, a 2 disc set Pro Audio series, plus an additional four weeks of discs. On top of this, you can purchase single LifeVantage products or entire packages that range from $25 to $630 each.

In order to ask additional questions about the Distributor program, to request a refund, or to cancel your Preferred Customer enrollment, you’ll need to contact LifeVantage customer service at 866-460-7241.

Note: Protandim is also sold through Amazon.com if you’d rather avoid having to go through a Distributor to purchase.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About LifeVantage?

From a Distributorship perspective, it appears that LifeVantage has a positive reputation for paying on time and according to their commission structure. On the other hand, many Distributors have claimed that the company’s high prices can make their products difficult to sell. In addition, several Distributors have voiced their concern about the lack of clinical evidence showing that their products work, which is something we’ll discuss in more detail in the final section. For now though, this website provides a very in-depth series of articles about LifeVantage and their products, including Dr. Joe McCord’s role at the company.

From a consumer standpoint, it appears that LifeVantage’s products have an evenly mixed online reputation, with some of the most common complaints referencing failure to work (as advertised or at all), high price, nausea/upset stomach/diarrhea, skin reactions (redness, welts, etc.), and bad taste.

Can LifeVantage Improve Your Health & Your Financial Position?

With all of this information in mind (and there’s a lot of it!), can LifeVantage’s supplements improve your health, and can their Distributorship program provide all the financial benefits it claims? Perhaps, although it’s important that you keep the following in mind:

Network Marketing/MLM Opportunities

First, keep in mind that when it comes to multi-level marketing (MLM) opportunities, including popular options such as Amway and Herbalife, it’s often the case that earning a solid income takes much more time, effort, and money than the companies may initially lead you to believe. And while it’s positive that LifeVantage seems to offer a fairly robust support system, the reality is that the vast majority of independent representatives end up losing money on the venture.

Note: Even among those who do make money, according to LifeVantage’s Earnings Claims Statement, the vast majority of Distributors make $570 or less per month in commissions, while the bulk of those actually earned $120 or less per month.

With this said, if you’re thinking about becoming a LifeVantage Distributor, be sure to thoroughly understand what you’re getting yourself into, including watching the company’s Basic and Detailed compensation plan videos.

Product Ingredients

It’s important to note that none of the company’s supplements include a product label or ingredients list on the LifeVantage website. This is a bit disconcerting, as this is something you’ll be putting in your (or your dog’s) body, and you deserve to know exactly what’s in it.

Fortunately, we were able to locate an ingredients list for Protandim on a third-party website, which includes the following:

  • Milk thistle extract (225 mg - 80% silymarin)
  • Bacopa extract (150 mg - 45% bacosides)
  • Ashwagandha root powder (150 mg)
  • Green tea extract (75 mg - 98% polyphenols)
  • Turmeric extract (75 mg -95% curcumin)

Clinical Studies & Efficacy

Now that we know more about some of the ingredients contained in LifeVantage products, let’s see what science has to say about their efficacy.

Regarding Protandim, ConsumerLab.com notes: “A daily serving of one caplet provides, with the exception of milk thistle extract, amounts of each ingredient far below those used in clinical trials,” and that “Protandim may have antioxidant activity, but there is little evidence that it provides any therapeutic benefit in humans.” In other words, between the only 2 clinical studies performed on humans, Protandim was only shown to be effective in one of them. All other studies have been conducted on mice and/or in vitro.

For additional in-depth scientific looks at Protandim and other LifeVantage products, we’d highly recommend this SupplementGeek.com review as well.

Note: There was a Protandim recall in December 2012 due to “the potential for contamination with small metal fragments.” However, it appears the issue has since been addressed.

Bottom line

Regardless of whether you’re thinking about joining LifeVantage as a Distributor or are simply interested in buying their supplements, keep in mind that unless you have a great deal of time to commit, you may end up losing money, and that there is only the slightest clinical evidence showing that their products work as advertised.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

11 Customer Reviews for LifeVantage

Average Customer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 5
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Best pill I've ever tried!

    After taking the Nrf2 by LifeVantage, by day three I had a better attitude and by day six, no more back spasms (lower back pain because I had surgery). After day 15, my kidney stopped hurting, and by day 30, my A.D.D. focus was amazing on Axio. Unbelievable!

    It's a miracle pill, and the Axio drink brought back my recall ability. I am 55 years old. If you're suffering, it's worth a try. Live healthily!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The only pill I will ever take

    I'm not one who likes medication, and I would always refuse to take anything. When Protandim was introduced to my family I liked the information about it, so I started taking it (my mother was shocked haha), and I have been taking it for four years now.

    Some people complain that it makes them sick or that it isn't working. If you get sick from taking it, it means you are being detoxed, and you have a lot of oxidated stress. I would not recommend it to old people. It helps my depression and anxiety, and if I don't take it, my emotions are off the wall.

    Also, the AXIO has helped my mood, and whenever I start getting upset at work, and I'm getting frustrated at everyone, I will drink an AXIO. It takes awhile to kick in, but once it does, I'm on top of the world. I'm so happy that my co-workers say I'm on drugs, but that's just how I act when I'm in a good mood. I let one of my co-workers try it because he was tired, and he said it helped a little bit.

    love the products, and I will be taking them for the rest of my life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2017

      Angelo Vergara

      Do you have an anxiety disorder or depression? Have you recovered from it using Protandim? I have generalized anxiety disorder, and I'm interested in Protandim. I just want to know if it has helped people with my issue. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    These are incredible products

    The products are incredible. It's an incredible company and I'm so thankful I was introduced to LV 2 years ago. It's really one of the best I've found.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Protandim

    My wife and I have been taking Protandim for 6 months. My wife suffers from Hypo Thyroidism and had been through the ringer with her Endocrinologist. She had tried generic medicine and name brands. Increased the dosage and then decrease the dosage. She was all over the map and still feeling miserable and her levels being way off. It wasn't until she started taking Protandim that she started feeling better. She now has the energy to get through the day and has been doing a boot camp every morning for the past 3 months. She feels that she's got her life back, and the only thing she did differently was she started taking the Protandim.

    For myself, I've battled inflammation and lower back issues and restricted flexibility. What I've noticed after being on Protandim is that my flexibility has increased and I no longer have a feeling of "man my muscles are so tight". I also noticed that my recovery from intense gym workouts is quicker than before.

    I think that the Protandim being part of MLM gets a bad rap. There is a lot of research out there and a lot of stuff to dig through. So everyone has to come to their own conclusion. No one's body is made the same so everyone is going to have a different experience. I'm sure a lot of people take Vitamin C every day assuming they helping their immune system, but do they feel the effects? No, but they assume it's working.

    Same with green tea or many other things. So in my opinion, Protandim has worked for me and my wife and we have referred it to other people to try. I read the articles, both good and bad and have come to my own conclusion. The biggest thing for me is that wife feels like she has her life back and that's what is most important and we both feel great.

    I don't believe that there is one magic pill that cures everything. You have to choose a healthy lifestyle and take the necessary actions of eating healthy, exercising, and just plain and simple taking care of yourself as you get older. So that's my 2 cents. If you're thinking about trying Protandim you should. Avoid the noise of the MLM or if the person is trying to get you to be a distributor. Think about your health first and see what kind of results you get. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Run from Pretendium!

    After really high sales pressure, I agreed and gave money to LifeVantage, and signed up for monthly checking account deductions. I went to a couple of sales meetings, where I was promised a silver BMW if I was successful.

    But then I did research on these human clinical studies, only to find out it was a joke, and I had been scammed really bad!

    It's a placebo vitamin MLM group, just like Amway. Run from it, as they want you to burn your friends and family, and really milk them for money. It caused a family hardship, because my little brother is naive and under educated. Run from these idiots!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2017

      Chaylee

      You spelled Protandim wrong and whoever told you that you'd get a BMW is wrong. It's the people who scammed you, not the company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 50 people found this review helpful

    I'm amazed

    • Watertown, SD,
    • Mar 7, 2016

    I've been taking Protandim for 1 month now. After 2.5 weeks, I noticed my brain was the clearest it has been since I was a child. My arthritis is also better. I've suffered depression all my life. I think the nightmare is finally over.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2017

      Angelo Vergara

      Have you recovered from depression completely using Protandim? I suffer from anxiety, and I'm thinking about trying Protandim.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Misleading and false advertising

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Mar 6, 2016

    I have a friend who just started selling Protandim and she is giving me the standard rhetoric given to her by her upline distributor. This included claims of curing cancer and diabetes. I suggested she look at the research and reviews of the company on the Internet. She gave me more excuses and rhetoric from her upline. I am a nutritionist and an alternative medical practitioner and am concerned that these herbs are in the "isolated chemical extract" form of the plant, except for ashwagandha​. The most this product could do is give someone a good liver cleanse if that is what they need. If not it has the potential to dry the body out and weaken the organs, especially the liver, from too much cleansing. I agree that the company is making a lot of money on vulnerable people while not delivering their word of mouth claims. The research done is poor science and certainly proves that they need to do a properly designed controlled, long term study on humans measuring improvements in the chronic diseases they claim (off the record) to cure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2017

      Chaylee

      I have been taking this product for four years now. It helped me with depression and anxiety. The longer you take it, the more it helps. You should not talk bad about something if you have not tried it yourself. It's the first natural supplement that made it to the pubmed.gov website. It has come a long way.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Do not take this pill. it doesn't work.

    • Orlando, Florida ,
    • Jan 7, 2016

    I started taking this supplement and it never worked. They said you would see good results in just one month. I took it for 3 or 4 months and I was still exactly the same. I still had chronic constipation and a lot of concentration problems. I stopped taking it and went to a Chinese medicine doctor that specializes in Chinese medicine with probiotics and stuff as well as some vitamins and in only 9 days I was going to the bath room 3 times a day and the constipation went away all while I was still eating the exact same healthy diet I was eating with Protandim. Bottom line is that Protandim didn't work for me. That's my review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2017

      Chaylee

      When I first started taking it, I thought the same exact thing. Although everyone around me was noticing a difference, so I continued taking it. I have been on it for four years now. The longer you take it, the more it helps.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 50 people found this review helpful

    AXIO

    • Salt Lake City,
    • Oct 5, 2015

    I was taking AXIO for 2 weeks, then I did not do it for 1 day, I was sick of depression. Be careful taking that please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 13, 2015

      Victor

      What is AXIO?

    • Feb 4, 2017

      Chaylee

      If you missed one day and then noticed you are depressed, that just goes to show you that it helps with your mood. I drink it when I'm tired, or when I'm getting grumpy. It helps.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 68 people found this review helpful

    Great Product

    • Ohio,
    • Aug 16, 2015

    I take Protandim daily. My doctor was skeptical and wanted to place me on RX meds for High Cholesterol and Hypothyroidism. He told me, it "may" help with cholesterol, but not with the Hypothyroidism, NOTHING can fix that except the RX meds.

    I asked him to please give me 3 months to try. I returned to his office 3 months later with updated lab work and he was absolutely amazed. My cholesterol was right where it needed to be and my TSH level was within normal range. I no longer needed to even consider the RX meds.

    I follow with my MD for blood work routinely to make sure all is good. I have been taking Protandim for over 2 years and I am a true believer that it has made me healthier. My doc is too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2015

      Nancy

      Protandim is an amazing product! Thanks for sharing your experience. I have personally seen and heard many facts like yours.

    • Feb 19, 2016

      Jim

      One too many Life Vantage members on this page.

      This is pure junk demonstrated by all the negative reviews.

      Only benefits the upper tier of corporate management, the sales people make on average of $120 to $500 a month after putting in tireless hours driving to meetings, spending money on seminars and other fees associated with being a salesperson. Rip off at best.

      The clinical trials are a joke 2 out of 13 clinical trials have been on humans, the rest in test tubes, rats and mice. A company making millions of dollars should have had FDA approval and would not have to place the disclaimer they have on their bottles, you know what the disclaimer states: "These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration".

      Anyone with common sense knows to stay away from snake oil products such as this. This company started multi marketing this product in 2004, that is when sales took off as they used worker bees to spread the false word this crap works.

      This product is highly unethical and those who know the truth about it are unethical as well.

      It is a short life we live, stop giving people false hope, whether it is people seeking a healthier life or those looking to make money.

      This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

    • Feb 4, 2017

      Chaylee

      Do not talk bad about something that you have not tried. I have been taking Protandim for four years now and will be taking it for the rest of my life.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 63 out 88 people found this review helpful

    dishonest company with shaky science

    I am a physician who is involved with a company that has far more scientifically valid products than Protandim. Over a period of a couple of years, the "leadership" at Lifevantage completely jerked our company around and told us about an imminent deal, etc. I can't imagine a more unethical dishonest company. Their product is extremely overrated and they have NO positive human studies whatsoever. The components in Protandim can be Acquired on amazon for a tiny fraction of the cost of what it's costing now. I would avoid any dealings with this extremely low class company who trades in BAD FAITH.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2017

      M. H.

      Wherever you obtained your medical degree, if I were you, I'd ask for my money back. Obviously, your medical school never taught you how to do honest research and didn’t show you how to use PubMed.gov.

      The bottom line is, yes, I would without reservation recommend this not only a friend but everyone I meet.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a review for LifeVantage!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review