About Lumi Doh

Made of non-toxic, heat resistant, non-allergenic, and glow-in-the-dark silicone, Lumi Doh claims to stretch like rubber and mold like dough, so it holds the shape of whatever you create, without leaving a mess. On top of this, after you’ve rolled Lumi Doh out or cut out shapes, the manufacturer claims it’s reusable, so that you can make and remake in so many ways.

In fact, unlike ordinary dough, Lumi Doh can be baked in your oven so that it remains glowing and bendable forever. And if stored properly, Lumi Doh will never harden—but even if it does, the softness can be restored by simply rubbing it between your hands.

When it comes down to it though, is Lumi Doh really as versatile as the manufacturer claims, and will it provide you children with hours of entertainment? Consider the following:

Is Lumi Doh Easy to Work With?

According to dozens of customer reviews (more about this in a moment), the number one complaint related to Lumi Doh is that it’s not malleable like traditional Play Doh. In fact, several customers complained that it doesn’t hold its shape at all, so it’s all but impossible to mold anything from it.

On top of this, numerous customers complained that if you cut a shape from the original Lumi Doh sheet, the two pieces will always remain separate. In other words, the 2 individual pieces can’t be folded back into one another like with traditional clay or Play Doh.

Is Lumi Doh Really Mess-Free?

Ultimately, this depends what you define as a “mess.”

This is because, according to the Lumi Doh FAQ: “Silicone contains oil used in products such as baby lotion. Due to the nature of the material, it can make surfaces slippery, so please instruct children not to play with LUMI DOUGH™ on the floor without a play mat.”

However, you know that kids aren’t exactly the best at following directions, so not only will Lumi Doh create a slippery “mess” if it touches your floors, it may actually create a dangerous slip and fall hazard.

Other Considerations Regarding Lumi Doh

In addition to slippery floors, it might take some elbow grease to remove Lumi Doh from carpets or fabrics, since you’ll first have to wait for it to dry, and then loosen it with a stiff brush and remove it bit by bit. And if you use water of cleaning solution, it could actually make the situation much worse.

On the other hand, Lumi Doh appears to be relatively easy to remove from hair. Whatever you’re not able to immediately remove will come out entirely in the shower after the hair has been washed.

For additional information, be sure to read through the company’s Instructions page.

Customers Don’t Seem Pleased with Lumi Doh

Since writing our original Lumi Doh review, 10 HighYa readers have provided feedback based on their experiences, and have given the product an average rating of 1.5 stars. This is primarily based on common complaints surrounding difficulty shaping/molding, small portion sizes, and damaged walls.

Based on 48 Amazon customer reviews, Lumi Doh had an average rating of 3.1 stars. While some consumers were pleased with Lumi Doh, just as many cited similar complaints as those found on HighYa.

Important note: It should be mentioned that many positive reviews found on Amazon came from accounts where this was their only review, or where all their reviews were posted in a very short period of time, both of which may be signs that they’re fake.

From a company perspective, Lumi Doh is manufactured by Product Trend, LLC, which is a division of Hampton Direct, Inc. The company held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 123 closed complaints (as of 6/8/15), many of which referenced difficulty ordering, order totals that were much higher than expected, and frequent solicitations after placing orders.

Lumi Doh Pricing & Refund Policy

One set of Lumi Doh (includes 5 glowing colors; clear, green, pink, purple, and blue) is priced at $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H, although you’ll be able to order a second set at checkout for an additional $7.99 S&H.

With your order, you’ll also receive a bonus black dough, play mat, star shapes cut outs, and non-stick baking sheet.

Lumi Doh comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you take advantage of the BOGO offer and decide to process a return, you could lose as much in S&H charges as you’ll receive as a refund.

With this said, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 877-370-4193.

Note: Keep in mind that Lumi Doh is available from many third-party retailers, including Toys R Us, Target, Sears, and more, which could help you avoid paying the high S&H charges.

Can Lumi Doh Help Expand Your Child’s Creativity?

Chopping to the point: Considering Lumi Doh’s mixed online customer reputation, as well as the list of common complaints, it appears likely that you won’t be pleased with its performance, and may be better off sticking with traditional Play Doh.

However, if you do decide to give Lumi Doh a try, we’d strongly recommend purchasing it from a local retailer, which could save you a good chunk of change if you’re dissatisfied and decide to process a return.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Customer Reviews for Lumi Doh

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 2 1 stars: 10
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't hold, shape

    • Petal, MS,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    I bought Lumi Dough at Walmart so no shipping cost for me. I have used polymer clays for some time but wanted something to use with the grandkids. The polymer clays are very messy and stain everything, that being said, the Lumi dough doesn't do that. It is clean and I like that it is antibacterial. You can wash it with mild soap and water. My only complaint is that it shrinks back up when pressed and doesn't hold shape, making it impossible to create shapes to bake. Also, you don't get very much dough for the price. I paid 19.88 for 6 colors, each weighing 1.41 ounces.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    My daughter was disappointed with the Lumi Doh. It didn't hold its shape when molded and when we baked it became lumpy and distorted instead of smooth and shiny. I would definitely not buy this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I bought three

    • OakRidge, TN,
    • Jul 17, 2015

    Around Christmas time, I purchased three boxes of Lumi Doh because Walgreens had it on clearance for $4 a box. I purchased two for my children and one for my niece. My children played with it all for an hour maybe and threw it down. I tried making some things out of it myself and the stuff will barely stretch and goes back to its original shape. It is impossible to make anything except a big blob so glad I did not pay 19.99 a box like others and not to mention the shipping cost. The bags are extremely tiny and it takes a whole box to make anything of size. It does glow in the dark if you hold it to a light before hand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awful for small hands

    • Jul 13, 2015

    My daughter was given Lumi Dough as a gift. She's only four and loved it at first. However, once she started to play with it, we realized it's almost impossible to shape. Even when you can get it to roll out flat, using the shapes to punch something out only results in a big semi-shaped blob since the dough goes back to being bulky and misshapen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not satisfied

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    I purchase Lumi Doh on July 18 2014 and let's say this, I was not very satisfied at all. The dough was hard and the Lumi Doh stuck to my walls and damaged my walls to the point where now I am going to have to paint over the damage caused by Lumi Doh.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's a rip off.

    • South Elgin, IL,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I bought Lumi Doh for my daughter two days ago. For 19.99 you get small bags of dough which is glowing in the dark, but it is not stretching as rubber as the claim. It is very difficult to make something with, even for an adult. I consider they take advantage of people through children.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    They charged my card without my consent

    • Michigan,
    • Jun 25, 2015

    I was ordering Lumi Doh online and it asked for your address and card number up front, that should have been my first warning sign. Then I was offered "special" offers which I thought were just upgrades, didn't realize until I got to my cart that they all add up, $289 roughly. I started editing my cart, got it down to $108 and figured I would just close out and reorder over the phone.

    It says that the order will NOT be placed until you hit the confirm button at the bottom of the page. I did not hit the confirm button, I exited out of the entire website. I saw on my bank statement that they processed the order without my confirmation. I called them and they told me I had to have hit that button, that I was a lie. I am a computer technician, I can assure them I did not do that.

    They refuse to cancel the order that never sent out yet and didn't care that I will now bounce a check for Consumers because I have $108 worth of play dough on it's way, because they shipped it out the day after I called them. Instead of having management give me a call like I had asked, because they "were not onsite".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrid

    • Larchmont NH,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    Quality: It's no good, can't really mold anything easily and when you do, it doesn't stay like that.

    Experience: Looks beautiful and shiny but when you play with it for a while it starts cracking. If you leave it in the box, with the sachet on, it starts getting even HARDER to mold.

    Truth: It's a horrible product and the only true thing they say is that it's:

    1) washable

    2) glow

    3) non-toxic

    4) no-mess or powder

    Overall, this is no good, don't spend your money on it and your kids will be disappointed when they find out it's horrible and VERY hard to mold.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Tough hard dough

    I got Lumi dough for myself because, even as an adult, I like anything that glows in the dark. Kmart was selling it for 5 dollars a box, and when I got home I figured out why. The dough is hard and cannot be molded, especially like they show in the pictures. I even got a rolling pin and forced my whole weight on it and it just kept shrinking into an even smaller blob. I still can't get in contact with Lumi Doh's customer service and Kmart won't refund me. If I could give zero stars on this site I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Please Watch Your Kids

    • Detroit, mi,
    • Jun 13, 2015

    After reading the instructions on Lumi Doh I made sure I sat next to my 6 year old and watched her play. (It statement that it's not harmful but if swallowed seek medical attention immediately scared me.) A few minutes after she began to play she kept having me scratch her face, neck, ears. (I had instructed her to not touch her face.) Then all of s sudden she began to cry her eyes were burning and indeed they were swollen and red. She is very healthy, no allergic conditions or any other medical conditions. Needless to say Lumi Doh is now in the garbage. I think there is a lot more to this dough than stated. Please parents beware and watch your children.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work at all

    • Mar 11, 2015

    I got this for Christmas and it was impossible to mold. I got it because my mom thought it would be cool to make glow in the dark stuff and because I like working with clay. I've done work with clay plenty of times and made really cool stuff but this clay was terrible. It was lumpy and tough like it had already dried and even after pressing something flat for two months, when I pulled it up the surface wasn't pressed smooth. It was full of lumps. Shaping anything was impossible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a review for Lumi Doh!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review