About Magic Finder

The Magic Finder is an “As Seen on TV” electronic device that claims to attach to almost anything, including keys, wallet, remotes, pets, luggage, and much more, and to help you find them if they become lost in 3 different ways:

  • Radar – Tracks the distance to your item (up to 150ft).
  • Sound & Light – Will “ring” your Magic Finder while also lighting it up, for visual and auditory clues as to its location.
  • 2-Way Tracking – Or, you can press the button on your Magic Finder to activate an alarm on your smart phone, even if it's turned off, in order to help you find it in seconds.

The Magic Finder is claimed to work with any Enabled-enabled iOS/Android smart device, and to be easy to set up; simply attach the Magic Finder to the item you want to track, download the free app, and pair your Magic Finder with your smart device. Once installed, the manufacturer claims that you can track up to 8 items at once.

But is Magic Finder ultimately worth your money? Let’s take a closer look.

The Popularity of Electronic “Tagging” Devices

While Magic Finder is a very new product (URL registered July 2014), there are already a wide variety of these types of devices available from companies such as TrackR. This means that you have a lot of options from which to choose, although many are admittedly more expensive than the Magic Finder.

How Well Do Bluetooth Tracking Dongles Work?

However much you pay for a Bluetooth tacking dongle though, by far the most common complaint about them is that you have to be within a certain distance of the items they’re attached to. In the instance of Magic Finder, this translates into 150 feet (about the distance of a ¼ of a block), although most consumers claim that the range is often less than what’s advertised by the manufacturer. In fact, in the instance of TrackR, many consumers claimed the proximity is actually in the 10-20 foot range.

Unlike TrackR though, it’s not made clear if the Magic Finder can provide you with the last known location of your item while you’re out of range. Otherwise, you could end up going on a wild goose chase looking for your item, which could defeat the original purpose.

The Accuracy of Bluetooth

Whether you choose the Magic Finder or a similar device from another manufacturer, keep in mind that Bluetooth won’t always provide you with an exact location. At times, this means you might find that your item’s located in the same room, despite the fact that your app showed it somewhere down the block.

Magic Finder Pricing & Refund Policy

The Magic Finder is priced at $19.99 plus $5.95 S&H, with a mandatory second Magic Finder added at a price of $5.95, bringing your total to $31.89.

All Magic Finder purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means you’ll immediately lose $11.90 if you decide to return your Magic Finder, which still doesn’t include what you’ll pay to send it back to the manufacturer.

With this said, in order to initiate the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 862-437-1111 x14.

Bottom Line: Can the Magic Finder Help Prevent You From Ever Losing an Item Again?

Considering that most Enabled-enabled personal tracking devices, even those from mainstream manufacturers, tend to have middle-of-the-road reputations with consumers, we’d be surprised if lower-cost, “As Seen on TV” options such as Magic Finder worked any better. Because of this, as long as you recognize:

  1. That you may not get the advertised 150-foot range with your Magic Finder,
  2. That it’s not a foolproof solution, and
  3. That you could potentially lose almost as much money in S&H charges as you’ll receive as a refund,

…it may be worthwhile to give the product a try. Otherwise, you may want to wait until this type of technology becomes more honed-in before spending the money.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Customer Reviews for Magic Finder

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 9
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Should of bought lunch instead

    • Michigan,
    • Sep 1, 2016

    Not a good product. The battery back falls off, and it has to reset all the time. Just don't buy it. Go have lunch instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    We were extremely disappointed with our order. First of all, the order was doubled and we were charged twice, and I still haven't gotten a refund or notice that our package was received. Secondly, the devices do not work. Any time we open the App and press "find it", the App says that our device isn't turned on, or the keys are out of range, however neither of these applied. Do not waste your money. Our's went in the trash, and we feel taken advantage of.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Waste Of Money

    This device only worked once. I bought two of them. The first one worked once but after that, I kept getting a "Device Does Not Power On" notification box, every time I tried to use my phone to test it.

    The instructions that are included with the device are written in very poor English. Doesn't work at all. Don't waste your time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not bother buying it.

    • Vancouver, WA,
    • Jan 7, 2016

    I bought one as a Christmas gift for my son and one for me. Mine worked for a few days. Today, however (installed about 5 days total) it stopped working. I reset the battery and reinstalled the device to my phone. Nothing worked.

    So I called their customer service for help. I gave up after a long wait, and went to the store and exchanged it for a new device. Guess what? The new one does not work either. It "bonded" with my Magic Finder device, but it says the device is "not turned on". (It does, however, locate my phone. Go figure.)

    So I called customer service again and waited. Eventually I spoke with a nice lady who said all she can do it send me an email with more device information. So far that email has not arrived and it has had plenty of time to come through.

    It's a bit late to take my son's gift one back! I hope it turns out to be better than the two I have tried. I do not recommend this product. There is no order number below as I bought it at a store in Vancouver, WA.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money on this.

    • Salina, KS ,
    • Dec 17, 2015

    This product does not work and I have not been able to get my money back when I returned the product. The app will not open, I have uninstalled and reinstalled many times, after leaving many messages they gave me a number to return it. It's been 2 months since I returned it and have not gotten my money back. I call all the time and all I get is an option to leave messages, which I do and still have not heard from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Magic Finder

    • Union, SC,
    • Nov 29, 2015

    These things are a piece of junk! Don't waste your money unless you just want to give it away.

    After going through three of these because I took every one back that I've purchased, I can say that these Magic Finder you buy from Dollar General marked with an As Seen on TV label are nothing but junk.

    None worked longer than ten minutes completely like they should have and all had sound problems from the first time I used them.

    One would at least chirp a little and did help me find my misplaced phone even if it was where I would have looked any way.

    So at first I thought that the chirping noise would be OK but finally that turned into a clicking sound that would not stop unless the battery was removed.

    So after three in three weeks I can honestly say that unless these go back to the drawing board to work all the bugs out they will only sell to people once. Hopefully everyone takes or sends the thing back because the company must be praying that at least 50% of the people that buy them will never return them.

    If a million get sold at the 19.95 charge then the company is still profitable with an item that's worthless unless something is done to correct the current problems.

    I buy gadgets and I've bought some that worked and some that worked a little but never three that ended up not working at all not doing what the company promised and finally all broke to the point of no repair and had to be returned within a week of buying them.

    Bottom line is that these are cheaply made and sold for a higher than normal price for a gadget.

    So take it from someone that's tried these out and finally gave up.

    They are a piece of crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Magic Finders

    • UnionSC ,
    • Nov 19, 2015

    After purchasing two of these, I still have not found one that works with a good beeping sound. As far as tracking, they both work good. But the sound ends up sounding like a dyeing bird that's on its last breath of air.

    This problem has been on three of the ones I've seen purchased so far because a friend's also has the same problem with his.

    Still using the radar works and it puts you very close to your keys and after digging around you will find them faster than without one.

    So all in all, it works but a few bugs need to be worked out on the small speaker that's installed in them right now. Then the price should be lowered to ten bucks because it only does half of what it should. Still with that said, it gets a five for now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Magic Finder

    • Snohomish, Washington,
    • Nov 1, 2015

    I purchased on October 15. I took it home and immediately paired it with my Galaxy S3. It worked just fine, although the light & alarm levels are pretty weak. It sat on the kitchen table until the afternoon of the following day when I went to show my wife and explain that we should put one in each vehicle to track where it is parked. I could not hear or see it 20 feet from me. Now there is NO sound. Would have purchased 8 more if they were not such a piece of crap.

    Can't find email contact for them or I would have given them a chance to make good before giving them a poor review. So sorry but of you sell crap, you get this kind of review.

    It gets two stars only because it did NOT blow up or electrocute our cat right out of the box. But it would NOT allow me to give it NO STARS. That is, really, what it deserves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Does not work with any bluetooth-enabled smartphone.

    • Oct 22, 2015

    Thankfully, I was able to get this at Walmart, so I didn't lose the S&H. It says it works with ANY Bluetooth enabled smartphone. That's only partly true. You have to have Android 4.4 or higher. Well, the Galaxy S3 has 4.1. So, that isn't working.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Kind of Underwhelmed

    • Sep 9, 2015

    The product says you can use it to find multiple items, but gives no instructions for how to connect anything besides the smart phone you pair it with, and even those instructions (under help) are not altogether clear. Word to the app developers: Don't insult me with poor english because it matters! Even idiots, ignorant, 8th-grade dropouts understand good English syntax, grammar and punctuation better, even if they don't know why! And why is the FAQ labeled "clause?" Get an editor. Really?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Piece of Crap

    • Southern Ohio,
    • Sep 1, 2015

    Product does not work. I downloaded the app and installed it on my phone. Phone will link with the device, but the app can't find it. Some features mentioned in the manual do not exist in the app. App gives error messages that are not covered in the troubleshooting section of the tiny manual. Error messages are even misspelled. This is a complete waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a review for Magic Finder!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review