About Mattress Wedge

Mattress Wedge claims to be an award-winning patented foam device that will close the open space beneath the headboard that often eats pillows in the middle of the night and covers them in dust. They claim it will also stop toys or other small items from meeting a similar fate and promote a good night’s sleep. Mattress Wedge also comes with side-pockets for small-item storage such as a TV remote.

BuyMattressWedge.com was recently registered in July 2013 and there is no information about the company behind it. As such, there is no BBB information or accreditation available.

How Mattress Wedge Works

The Mattress Wedge is a long piece of what they call “high-density comfort foam” that comes in different sizes: Twin, Full/Queen, and King/California King. Each has a flat bottom and triangular top. Place the Mattress Wedge triangle-side down into the space between mattress and headboard, which they say will cover that open gap and prevent pillows, toys, or any other loose, small item from falling in. (They suggest you can also use Mattress Wedge to close the seam between twin mattresses in a similar fashion.) In addition, they say the foam will stay cool in summer and warm in winter, helping you sleep more comfortably. It is said to be light and sturdy and comes with machine-washable cover and two removable side pockets for handy nighttime storage.

Each Mattress Wedge order comes with:

  • Mattress Wedges (size of your choice)
  • 2 pillow cases
  • 4 storage pockets

Mattress Wedge Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Mattress Wedge can be purchased for $19.95 (Twin), $29.95 (Full/Queen) or $39.95 (King/California King) plus $9.95 shipping & handling. In addition, when you purchase, you are getting a “free” Mattress Wedge for an (automatically) added cost of $9.95. Essentially, you are paying $19.90 in S & H in addition to the price of the initial unit.

They promise to ship Mattress Wedge to you within 30 days. Once you receive it, you have 30 days to return if you don’t like it, minus the $19.90 in shipping (and what it cost you to send back.)

Bottom Line: Should You Buy Mattress Wedge?

It sure can be annoying to lose a pillow to that “gap” in the middle of the night; the same goes for straining and reaching for a rubber ball or doll that fell in and is now covered in dust or dog hair. (Thankfully, this problem has mostly been solved in contemporary children’s bed set designs.)

Even if you do have a gaping older bed frame, the charge of almost $20 in shipping fees for 2 pieces of foam is ridiculous. We think you should wait until Mattress Wedge is available at more reputable shops like Amazon or Wal-Mart. You’ll pay less for shipping and have a hassle-free return - and that in-and-of itself will give you a better night’s sleep.

36 Customer Reviews for Mattress Wedge

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 0 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 35
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this product

    • Ridgeland, MS,
    • May 13, 2015

    We ordered the king mattress wedge for $39.95 plus $9.95 shipping and handling and selected the queen wedge for our free one under their "buy one get one of lesser or equal value absolutely free" offer. I eventually received the king wedge about a month later, but no queen. When we first contacted customer service, they said we were not going to get the second one since we did not pay for shipping. So much for "absolutely free". However, if you order from the website it does not allow you the option of adding shipping. When we contacted customer service a second time we were told that you had to order one of the same size. I read that person directly from the website what the offer was. They said that was not the way it worked. Basically, she called me a liar. I told her what I read was directly from their website, that she did not know what she was talking about and asked for someone in charge. After being on hold for a couple of minutes she came back on the phone and said a replacement will be shipped, said goodbye, and hung up. I doubt I will receive it. Everything on the website apparently is a scam since we get different stories of why the second one was not shipped, all of them lies.

    Additionally, they sell your information to a telemarketing company that enrolls you in a "savings club" which is free for 1 month and then start charging you if you do not cancel your membership.

    These people are bottom feeders and should be avoided.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from them.

    I, like several others tried ordering ONE mattress wedge, but purchased two. I received the twin one but not the Queen that I really needed. When I check with Fed Ex, it says the entire shipment has been delivered. One package, one wedge was all that was included. I can't get anywhere online with the www.customerservice.com website. However, the company won. I think I'm also screwed out of my mattress wedge and I received a telephone call about then wanting to send gasoline vouchers and trial programs. I told them I was not interested and them to just send what I had ordered. I wished I had seen the other reviews before I ordered. Otherwise, I definitely would not have ordered. Lesson learned. How do they get away with this? I haven't seen them advertising on TV lately, maybe it's getting out to the people that they're scam artists.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this company! They will sell your information.

    • Bethlehem, PA,
    • Apr 15, 2015

    First of all, I agree with all the reviews here. They force you to purchase two items for an additional charge. This is a very poor way to offer items for sale. I decided to get around this by ordering two twin wedges for a queen sized bed. This seemed like a good solution to their refusal to sell customers just one wedge.

    A few days after ordering, I received a phone call during the day, while I was at work, on my cell phone from someone claiming to be from Mattress Wedge confirming my address. I thought this was odd.

    Then they told me that there would be information with my order about a discount program and I would receive gasoline vouchers with my order to use.

    I told them that I didn’t want to be signed up for this program. They said I wasn’t being signed up for the program. They just wanted me to look over it and try it out. After talking about the program for a minute or so, they said that if I did nothing it would automatically renew and the credit card I’d used for my Mattress Wedge order would be billed monthly.

    I asked if I needed to contact them to be removed from this program and they finally admitted that I did.

    I told them that they just lied to me and that they were signing me up for a program I don’t want. I told them that again that I didn’t want to be in this program and that their practices may be illegal.

    They said they would remove me from the program and that I would be placed on their do not call list.

    After thinking about it I don’t believe this call was from Mattress Wedge at all. I believe they sold my information to another company. I’m not sure if this is illegal, but it certainly is immoral.

    As soon as I was home, I called the number on their website, 877-851-0732. It is impossible to speak to a human from this number, but after selecting the option to check on my order I got a recording directing me to call another number, 888-811-2033. I called this number and eventually spoke to a person and I canceled my order and explained why. I told them I didn’t want to do business with a company that uses the tactics they do and felt their practices may be illegal and I was going to report them. They said they would note my comments.

    In retrospect, the entire call from them was a sham. They had my address and nobody calls to confirm it for an online order unless they have a problem.

    Do not purchase the Mattress Wedge from their website located at www.mattresswedge.com

    If you do you will expose yourself to their practices and possibly the practices of the companies they sell your information to. You will apparently be signed up for programs without your permission.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Zipper Broke after first washing it for the first time.

    I purchased this product (King-size mattress wedge AS Seen On TV) through Heartland America. I had only used product for three days and decided to wash the cover. I followed instructions and the zipper came off in the washer while being washed for the first time! Now there's no way to close the protective cover unless I want to rig some kind of Velcro closures.

    I contacted maker through their website and asked for a new cover ONLY. They advised I would have to send the entire mattress wedge and cover back for a refund (I pay postage). They won't just send me a new cover, which is all I need. Heartland's Return Policy is the same. I would have to send the entire product back for a refund, minus the postage which I will have to pay up-front! The Mattress Wedge was made in China so that's no surprise!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    More than frustrated.

    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Feb 2, 2015

    I ordered the Mattress Wedge on a Sunday online. I ordered one queen size with a free one, and paid only $9.95 in shipping charges. I put my card info in and went to the next screen. I was offered to order additional wedges. The thing is, I didn't want additional wedges and the page forced me to purchase additional wedges before I could move onto the next screen. Needless to say, I was billed $112.18 and will end up with four wedges, when I only needed one. The whole next day, I tried to get customer service on the phone. I only heard automated voices and no real person ever answered. The bottom line is that unless you just want to be screwed out of your money, don't buy from this company. Shame on them for taking advantage of the hard working Americans!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It is a scam.

    • Garland, Texas,
    • Jan 31, 2015

    I tried to order only one and the menu voice (you don't talk to a person) wouldn't let me. Customer service later said that the commercial clearly stated that you would be buying two "for the price of one." I tried immediately, after reading reviews, to cancel and was told by customer service that it was too early to cancel - it wouldn't be available for a couple hours and this was a Friday, early evening. He said call tomorrow morning. Of course, they were closed Saturday. I called first thing Monday morning and they said it had already been shipped. My costs were $59.95 for two wedges and two "shipping and processing." I don't like the product, but mostly I don't like that I was cheated in the way that I was. I can't find the address for the Better Business Bureau or I would report it too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Poor Customer Service

    • Kansas,
    • Jan 28, 2015

    To be fair here, I made a mistake on a Sunday and ordered the wrong size. I called all customer service numbers I could find and they tell you to call back between the hours of 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM Monday through Friday EST. I called 2 minutes after they opened on Monday morning and was told by Karen that there was ABSOLUTELY NOTHING she could do to help me. I actually needed a larger size and would have spent more money. I will return this product unopened and will NOT reorder. I am so disappointed, but I guess it was an expensive learning lesson. Please save yourself the trouble of wasting your time with this company. I see now that I am not the only one here that thinks their customer service is actually not "customer service".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Purchased one buy one get one free, Charged for two

    • Miami,
    • Dec 29, 2014

    Terrible customer service, high shipping, ended up from $19.99 to $99. No customer service number on site, had to search and search...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2015

      Keri

      Can someone review the actual product? Looks like it is sold in local stores.

      Thank you for the warning on the direct purchase.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Stay Away. Fraudulent business practices.

    • Florida,
    • Dec 10, 2014

    I had an experience that is identical to those described above. There was no option to see the final cost until it was too late. The cost should have been $59.85, yet I was charged $119.17.

    I immediately tried to get a resolution but was told that customer service was only available between 8 am and 8 pm.

    When I called the next morning, I was told the order had already been shipped (less than 12 hrs had passed). I searched long and hard to find a customer service number, 888-811-2033.

    I'm in the process of reporting them to States' Attorneys, Better Business Bureaus, FTC and anyone else I can think of. They should be stopped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 22, 2014

      Lynda

      Just ordered this product via "Harriett Carter" website/catalog. It allowed me to order just 1 king wedge and there is a money-back guarantee. Will let you know how this goes.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Don't order from this company

    • Allentown, PA,
    • Sep 16, 2014

    This company is a scam, in my opinion. Even if I like the product, do not order from them directly. I placed one order and they sent and charged me for two. That is buy one, get one free... so I got four! Their system duplicated my order and they want me to pay for return shipping AND the original shipping. They charged me $59 and will only refund $39. Bad business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Misleading web site, credit card order taken before price screen comes on.

    • Texas,
    • Sep 16, 2014

    Went to the web site and decided to buy. After entering the card information, eventually got to the price site. Surprise, there is no single item order option. The extra item and processing fee is added automatically. I decided not to buy the item, but that wasn't the end. Shortly after that I got an email confirmation of my order! I tried to call and cancel, but my order was "not in their system." I was told that it could take 4 hours for the system to have the information. So, after 4 hours I called back to cancel. Sorry, the order may not show up for 24 hours, 4 hours is the minimum.

    I will try to call again, but I expect the order won't show up until after the item has shipped and the card has been charged. Do not enter any information on this web site. You can get the same item at several online places, such as Harriet Carter and amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a review for Mattress Wedge!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review