About Micro Touch One Razor

Micro Touch One Razor is a razor-and-blade system that harkens back to the days of yore, when men were men and shavers weren’t disposable. The Micro Touch Max is what is called a “safety razor,” which uses an old-school double-sided razor blade placed inside a weighted shaver, and promises to give you the best shave of your life.

But is Micro Touch One safety razor really safe? We’ve received a lot of reviews from consumers, which we will discuss below.

How Micro Touch One Razor Works

The makers of Micro Touch One Razor claim that it’s a modern version of a “timeless classic;” i.e. the men’s safety razor. It is pitched by Rick Harrison, bald-and-goateed star of the reality program Pawn Stars. According to the company, it’s the “best way to shave for over 100 years,” and that barbershops still use only one blade (although they use a straight razor or “throat cutter” blade).

The Micro Touch Razor—and safety razors in general—consist of a weighted base and a removable, curved shaving head that holds and keeps the blade centered, while resting against a safety bar. This exposes the tiny straight edge to your skin/face. The Micro Touch Razor is said to be made from solid brass that is chrome-plated.

The manufacturer claims that the key to Micro Touch One Razor, and any safety razor, is practice, practice, practice. In fact, Rick Harrison is even quoted on the website saying: "Like anything new, it may take you a few shaves to get used to…”

How To Use Micro Touch One Razor

The instructions listed on Micro Touch One Razor’s “Quick Start” page are quite simple.

All you have to do is hold it by the tip of the handle at a 45-degree angle and shave with the grain of your beard. You should use as little pressure as possible against your face, letting the razor do most of the work. This has also been confirmed by some sources we’ve spoken to who have tried the actual product.

Micro Touch One Razor Pricing and Returns

Micro Touch One Razor sells for $19.99 plus $7.99 shipping, plus $4.99 more for the “bonus” razor blades. Ultimately, this brings you to a total of $32.97 for 24 blades, the safety razor, and a carrying case.

Micro Touch One Razor has a 30-day money-back guarantee, minus any fees, plus return shipping.

Bottom Line: Is Micro Touch One Razor a Scam?

Based upon our 229 reviews (and-counting), Micro Touch One Razor seems to have generated quite a buzz. Currently, it averages a three-star rating, which seems to be due to the fact that there are extremely passionate people on both ends of the spectrum.

First, we’ll highlight of some of its BEST reviews:

Perfect solution for me… GREAT! If you know how… I certainly recommend it… great razor and easy to clean… Best Shave Ever… give it a chance… didn’t cut myself once…

These people generally felt that Micro Touch One Razor was a good, well-made product and they were happy with their purchase and the resulting shave. However, some of them recommend buying better razor blades and using special shaving cream (Cremo is a brand that is mentioned) because it doesn’t work so well with the regular kind. Some reviewers also claimed they bought the product at their local CVS or online at eBay for a better price.

The main takeaway from these positive reviews is that, with a little patience and practice, Micro Touch One Razor seems to be a good shaver, especially for the price.

On the other hand, here are some snippets from some of the WORST:

What a scam… getting soliciting phone calls… took 30 days to receive it… wife calls me Scar Face… scam… Made in China… almost injured myself… billed $30 per month… sells your phone number and address… charged $68 and I did not purchase $68 of merchandise…

These people have a mixture of complaints that reference not only cutting themselves and the product’s low quality, but they also mention feeling like a victim of deceptive marketing and upsell tactics by the company. According to these people, the product takes a long time to be delivered (if at all) and they are excessively billed. In addition, many talk about constant phone calls with solicitors who encouraged and/or automatically signed them up for a $100 gas card with savings vouchers, and then billing them $30 a month for the pleasure.

Here is our assessment of Micro Touch One Razor:

  • The product itself seems to generally work so long as you use it correctly.
  • It may not be best for elderly people with wrinkled skin.
  • If you do want to purchase this online, it is available at Walgreens, CVS, and other retail outlets at a discounted price.
  • Do NOT buy from the website as you will be barraged with spam.
  • Buy some stainless steel double-edged razor blades elsewhere.
  • Buy special shaving cream (one brand is Cremo).

Here is a home-made video a consumer posted of himself using a Micro Touch One Razor to cleanly shave their full goatee with just one pass of the razor blade:

What do you think? Please add your comments and reviews below and we will try to include them in our next update!

Want to Learn to Shop Smarter and Scam-Proof Your Life?

Join 1,203,040 HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

262 Customer Reviews for Micro Touch One Razor

Average Customer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 76 4 stars: 28 3 stars: 9 2 stars: 8 1 stars: 141
Bottom Line: 41% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 262
Sort reviews by:

  • Plastic junk

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    I had purchased a Micro Touch One Razor. It seemed to be great, I have an old forties version of the Gillette safety razor, I love it, so I got this one. Now I see it's mostly plastic, as soon as I put it to my skin the blade moves and nicks me. I got cuts all over my face and like I said I've been using safety razors for several years so I know how to use one. The one I use was my grandfather's and it works great. A bit tarnished but works. I already should have known for the price it would have to be a rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Junk

    • New Bedford, MA,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    This Razor is a piece of Junk. The blade does not hold tight in the jam. Made in China, Crap. Do not Waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The best razor I ever had

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Dec 28, 2015

    I lost my single blade razor in Katrina and couldn't find one. Eleven years later l found The Micro Touch. What a shave, beats the heck out of those multi-blade ones. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great product, one minor problem.

    I've tried all sorts of razors and there is one thing I've concluded about ALL razors: NONE of them are good enough to not need to re-shave. This one is no exception.

    The problem I have with other razors, the multi-bladed ones, is that I have pretty sensitive skin. I am almost 30 and I've been shaving since I was about 15 or so. I don't have a whole lot of facial hair, except around the mouth. (I can grow a glorious mustache and goatee, but not the portion that connects the two and Keanu Reeves can grow a significantly fuller beard that I can). When I shave, I am prone to razor burn if using a multi-blade razor, especially since I always have to shave twice (mainly around the chin and upper lip). What I like about this razor is that since it is a single blade, each time I run the razor across my skin it isn't causing as much irritation as other razors. I still have to shave my chin and upper lip twice when I shave, but I have to do that no matter what razor I'm using.

    As far as what everyone is saying about being bombarded with unsolicited phone calls and such, I avoided this by purchasing mine from Wal-Mart, which is where I get the refills as well. So, I would recommend going that route.

    Now, the one problem I do have is kind of two fold: I often end up leaving short hairs just under my nose (mainly right up against the center of my nose. The design of this razor makes it difficult to reach that part of my lip, but it only leaves 1 or 2 hairs and they stay pretty short, so maybe it's more a problem with my technique, I don't know. The next part of the problem I have is that I have a dimple in the middle of my chin (yes, I have a "butt-chin", which I freaking hate but it is what it is I guess). This razor makes it a little difficult (though not impossible) to reach the hairs in my chin dimple. They still get cut, but that's the problem, they get cut and not shaved. To be fair, this only happens about half the time.

    This razor doesn't give as smooth as a shave as some of the other razors I've tried, but it still give a pretty smooth shave, just not the smoothest I've ever had. However, considering the reasons I listed for liking this razor, I take the good with the bad.

    Also, I've been using this razor for almost a year now and have never had a problem with the mechanism "locking up" as a couple other people have mentioned. The only problem I've had is that I tightened the mechanism too much once or twice and had to put a little more force into opening it, but it was pretty negligible. If other people hadn't mentioned it I wouldn't have even brought it up. This razor, like all razors, isn't for everyone, I supposed, but if you have sensitive skin and are prone to razor burn I HIGHLY recommend giving it a shot. Buying it from Wal-Mart is pretty cheap, so if you end up not liking it, you won't feel like you've thrown a large amount of money away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 31, 2015

      Rich

      I was also thinking of buying from Walmart. I'm tired of the two disposables I have left and want to buy an old fashioned single blade to use for the gym. How much did everything cost? I'll need extra blades too.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Edison N.J.,
    • Nov 28, 2015

    Total waste of money. I'm 50 years. Been shaving since I was about 12. I used this razor about 3 times and threw it in the garbage. Ripped chunks of meat out of my head and face. Been shaving my head for over 15 years. I bled like a stuffed pig.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 8, 2016

      Frank

      You had to share you started at 12 - really?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Cheap copy of a good razor

    • VA,
    • Nov 27, 2015

    I have a Merkur safety razor, which was a bit expensive, so I thought I would buy a cheaper one to travel. If I lost it no big deal. You get what you pay for.

    It will work, but use better blades like Feather. Easily available online. Preparing your face is very important. Also plenty of tutorials online. If you are seriously thinking of trying this type of razor invest in a good quality one and not this piece of junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not a good choice

    • Barnesville, GA,
    • Nov 27, 2015

    I bought this at my local CVS. I used to shave with a vintage Gillette razor that I have since lost. With that razor it was the best shave I have ever had, it was smooth with zero razor burn or discomfort. I've been using Mach 3 and Fusion for a while now but wanted that comfortable close shave again that I used to get with the safety razor. The very first shave with this razor was great, it was so smooth that I thought I hadn't even gotten the hair but I did. Since then the razor has been terrible, it hurts like crazy to shave with it, it cuts me, and it leaves lots of hair behind.

    I was using shave foam, I switched to quality English shaving cream, a badger hair brush, pre shave oil, and after shave. In addition to those I stopped using the junk Dorco blades that came with it and have since tried Merkur and Feather blades. The blades made a difference, especially the Feather blades but it's still not very good. I shaved with it tonight (I go back and try it again from time to time) using Feather blades and while it was fairly comfortable, no burn and no cuts, it left lots of hair on my face, I went over these areas multiple times and could still hear the hair crunching under the blade but it just wouldn't shave it.

    I think the issue is that the blade is set too far back from the safety bar and at a bad angle which keeps it from making proper contact with your face, resulting in the poor shave. I just ordered myself a Merkur open comb razor which should take care of my complaints.

    Overall I would say that the razor is well made and it certainly looks nice, the barn door system is very nice for cleaning and changing blades, but the overall experience is just not good. I have pretty much gone back to the Fusion razor and get much better results. Hopefully the new one I just ordered will work better, but I'm tossing this one in the trash and I would advise anyone out there to pass it by.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Breifly got my hopes up, then it locked up.

    • Melbourne, FL,
    • Nov 23, 2015

    Got fantastic shaves for a few months. No nicks or cuts. Then it locked up. Mechanism did not bend razor enough to avoid nicks and cuts. Do not recommend, as it becomes dangerous after first sign of locking up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's a Weishi razor

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Nov 20, 2015

    This razor is manufactured by Weishi, in China. It is a copy of the Gillette Superspeed. It is sold in the U.S. under the Weishi brand, and repackaged by Van Der Hagen and Micro Touch One. It's a mild shaver, and I bought it to retire my dad's Gillette SS. It shaves me well, using the same techniques as the Gillette. I use shave soap and brush or tube cream and brush to apply lather after my shower. Rinse and use after shave. I change blade weekly. I've shaved this way for 43 years now. It's a good razor. It seems the Micro people are cutthroat profiteers. Buy a Weishi or the Van Der Hagen repackage version. My sample is solid, well made, and shaves well. By the way, mine was the VDH repackage, bought at Target.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The worst razor I have ever used

    This razor does not cut! After using it I still have hair on my face. I must use it again but it won't cut the hair. The 12 month supply is a joke. This company got me this time but never again. Their Micro Trimmer dose not work either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • Florida,
    • Nov 13, 2015

    I purchased this razor expecting it to be better than buying expensive Gillette match 3,4,5. I regret it so much I'm even laughing about it! I got bleeding cuts all over my skin. I wouldn't ever recommend this product to anyone. Plain terrible. Don't listen to that bald headed Rick Harrison (pawn stars) . The product is worthless and dangerous!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 262

Write a review for Micro Touch One Razor!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review