About Micro Touch One Razor

Micro Touch One Razor is a razor-and-blade system that harkens back to the days of yore, when men were men and shavers weren’t disposable. The Micro Touch Max is what is called a “safety razor,” which uses an old-school double-sided razor blade placed inside a weighted shaver, and promises to give you the best shave of your life.

But is Micro Touch One safety razor really safe? We’ve received a lot of reviews from consumers, which we will discuss below.

How Micro Touch One Razor Works

The makers of Micro Touch One Razor claim that it’s a modern version of a “timeless classic;” i.e. the men’s safety razor. It is pitched by Rick Harrison, bald-and-goateed star of the reality program Pawn Stars. According to the company, it’s the “best way to shave for over 100 years,” and that barbershops still use only one blade (although they use a straight razor or “throat cutter” blade).

The Micro Touch Razor—and safety razors in general—consist of a weighted base and a removable, curved shaving head that holds and keeps the blade centered, while resting against a safety bar. This exposes the tiny straight edge to your skin/face. The Micro Touch Razor is said to be made from solid brass that is chrome-plated.

The manufacturer claims that the key to Micro Touch One Razor, and any safety razor, is practice, practice, practice. In fact, Rick Harrison is even quoted on the website saying: "Like anything new, it may take you a few shaves to get used to…”

How To Use Micro Touch One Razor

The instructions listed on Micro Touch One Razor’s “Quick Start” page are quite simple.

All you have to do is hold it by the tip of the handle at a 45-degree angle and shave with the grain of your beard. You should use as little pressure as possible against your face, letting the razor do most of the work. This has also been confirmed by some sources we’ve spoken to who have tried the actual product.

Micro Touch One Razor Pricing and Returns

Micro Touch One Razor sells for $19.99 plus $7.99 shipping, plus $4.99 more for the “bonus” razor blades. Ultimately, this brings you to a total of $32.97 for 24 blades, the safety razor, and a carrying case.

Micro Touch One Razor has a 30-day money-back guarantee, minus any fees, plus return shipping.

Bottom Line: Is Micro Touch One Razor a Scam?

Based upon our 229 reviews (and-counting), Micro Touch One Razor seems to have generated quite a buzz. Currently, it averages a three-star rating, which seems to be due to the fact that there are extremely passionate people on both ends of the spectrum.

First, we’ll highlight of some of its BEST reviews:

Perfect solution for me… GREAT! If you know how… I certainly recommend it… great razor and easy to clean… Best Shave Ever… give it a chance… didn’t cut myself once…

These people generally felt that Micro Touch One Razor was a good, well-made product and they were happy with their purchase and the resulting shave. However, some of them recommend buying better razor blades and using special shaving cream (Cremo is a brand that is mentioned) because it doesn’t work so well with the regular kind. Some reviewers also claimed they bought the product at their local CVS or online at eBay for a better price.

The main takeaway from these positive reviews is that, with a little patience and practice, Micro Touch One Razor seems to be a good shaver, especially for the price.

On the other hand, here are some snippets from some of the WORST:

What a scam… getting soliciting phone calls… took 30 days to receive it… wife calls me Scar Face… scam… Made in China… almost injured myself… billed $30 per month… sells your phone number and address… charged $68 and I did not purchase $68 of merchandise…

These people have a mixture of complaints that reference not only cutting themselves and the product’s low quality, but they also mention feeling like a victim of deceptive marketing and upsell tactics by the company. According to these people, the product takes a long time to be delivered (if at all) and they are excessively billed. In addition, many talk about constant phone calls with solicitors who encouraged and/or automatically signed them up for a $100 gas card with savings vouchers, and then billing them $30 a month for the pleasure.

Here is our assessment of Micro Touch One Razor:

  • The product itself seems to generally work so long as you use it correctly.
  • It may not be best for elderly people with wrinkled skin.
  • If you do want to purchase this online, it is available at Walgreens, CVS, and other retail outlets at a discounted price.
  • Do NOT buy from the website as you will be barraged with spam.
  • Buy some stainless steel double-edged razor blades elsewhere.
  • Buy special shaving cream (one brand is Cremo).

Here is a home-made video a consumer posted of himself using a Micro Touch One Razor to cleanly shave their full goatee with just one pass of the razor blade:

What do you think? Please add your comments and reviews below and we will try to include them in our next update!

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

269 Customer Reviews for Micro Touch One Razor

Average Customer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 78 4 stars: 31 3 stars: 9 2 stars: 9 1 stars: 142
Bottom Line: 42% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 269
Sort reviews by:

  • Not impressed

    • Indiana,
    • May 10, 2016

    I bought this razor about a month ago. Same style of razor I learned to shave with as a teen in the 80's. Have to say I'm not at all impressed. Takes me twice as long to shave vs. my Schick Hydro 3 Razor I previously used. Can't get a good, close shave with the Micro Touch razor no matter how hard I try. Going back to Schick. I guess I'm out $20.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Loving It!

    Bought at Showcase, an "as seen on TV" store for $19.99 Canadian all in. If it lasts 2 months, it was worth it. Love the close shave. Preperation per included instructions is a must (Hold by the handle to like a Peruzzi and let the weight of the razor do the work). Unlike an electric or multi blade disposable, I get a smooth shave in a couple of passes and it lasts. I regard it as an entry to whether I want to go into the safety razor route. (That's a big Ten-Four). I have received no nicks and the fit of the blade in the unit I purchased is tight. Quality of my unit is better than I expected for the money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Equipment failure

    My razor froze up before my blades ran out. My dad's safety razor lasted him his lifetime, so I contacted Micro Touch, but all they would do is sell me a new set. I contacted New Jersey Better Business Bureau with a written complaint, and received a response that Micro Touch that they would replace my razor. I received a new package (that can be bought at Walgreens) with a new pack of blades. I now blow dry my razor. I'm 72 years old, shave every other day, and the blades last almost two months. Completely satisfied with Micro Touch's handling of my complaint!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Shower first = better shave.

    • Beecher, IL,
    • Feb 26, 2016

    Bought this on February 2, 2016 from Walgreens, 10 Dorco blades plus 5 more from Van der Hagen. I've followed instructions on showering beforehand to soften up beard and I take out Dorco blade after each use, rinse off and dry blade, then place Micro Touch upside down to let water dry off properly. Time will tell if this will last. It is China made. I've only used one side of the blade so far and gotten 10 shaves. I'm figuring over 20 shaves from one blade and over 300 total if the Micro Touch doesn't lock up. I will update this a year or two from now.

    Is this the right one for you? Not if you have a heavy beard or shave after 3 days or longer. It also helps if you shower first. Most people are in a rush to get to work. If one eye is open and one eye closed, then don't expect a perfect shave. Not happening, you're cutting with only one blade. You need to stick with the multi blades for ease and comfort. Do the math, 3 or 4 blades will cut better than one blade. There is no such thing as a safe blade, you can get cut up with any of the shavers out there. Now if you want to save money and have the extra time to shower first and clean and dry the Micro Touch, you will be thrilled with your shaver. If you're lazy and in a big hurry, this is not the shaver for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful!

    This is absolutely the closest shave I've ever had. It's amazing and it makes me wonder why anyone would use a disposable ever again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    I gave this a try, but I really do not the struggle with the multi blade throw a ways, which tend to clog with my heavy beard. The razor works fine, as any single blade will do (it is the blade, not the handle that does the work). The razor lasted about a year and a half. Even with proper cleaning after each use, the opening mechanism started to became harder and harder to twist open, then it finally froze up. I tried to open it with a couple of pliers, and snap, the cheap casting material could not take the torque. If you really want a single, old fashioned style razor, I suggest buying a good quality one, not this junk from China, which is hyped up on TV.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Micro Touch

    • Georgia,
    • Jan 25, 2016

    I'm 52 and I could shave everyday. But I can be ok with every other day, this is a quality product. One month one blade, and still fairly close shave. I do believe you have to develop a slightly different technique than modern multi-blade razors. but I'm betting on the long haul and getting years of service from this razor for the "bang for the buck."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Plastic junk

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 14, 2016

    I had purchased a Micro Touch One Razor. It seemed to be great, I have an old forties version of the Gillette safety razor, I love it, so I got this one. Now I see it's mostly plastic, as soon as I put it to my skin the blade moves and nicks me. I got cuts all over my face and like I said I've been using safety razors for several years so I know how to use one. The one I use was my grandfather's and it works great. A bit tarnished but works. I already should have known for the price it would have to be a rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • New Bedford, MA,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    This Razor is a piece of Junk. The blade does not hold tight in the jam. Made in China, Crap. Do not Waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The best razor I ever had

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Dec 28, 2015

    I lost my single blade razor in Katrina and couldn't find one. Eleven years later l found The Micro Touch. What a shave, beats the heck out of those multi-blade ones. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great product, one minor problem.

    I've tried all sorts of razors and there is one thing I've concluded about ALL razors: NONE of them are good enough to not need to re-shave. This one is no exception.

    The problem I have with other razors, the multi-bladed ones, is that I have pretty sensitive skin. I am almost 30 and I've been shaving since I was about 15 or so. I don't have a whole lot of facial hair, except around the mouth. (I can grow a glorious mustache and goatee, but not the portion that connects the two and Keanu Reeves can grow a significantly fuller beard that I can). When I shave, I am prone to razor burn if using a multi-blade razor, especially since I always have to shave twice (mainly around the chin and upper lip). What I like about this razor is that since it is a single blade, each time I run the razor across my skin it isn't causing as much irritation as other razors. I still have to shave my chin and upper lip twice when I shave, but I have to do that no matter what razor I'm using.

    As far as what everyone is saying about being bombarded with unsolicited phone calls and such, I avoided this by purchasing mine from Wal-Mart, which is where I get the refills as well. So, I would recommend going that route.

    Now, the one problem I do have is kind of two fold: I often end up leaving short hairs just under my nose (mainly right up against the center of my nose. The design of this razor makes it difficult to reach that part of my lip, but it only leaves 1 or 2 hairs and they stay pretty short, so maybe it's more a problem with my technique, I don't know. The next part of the problem I have is that I have a dimple in the middle of my chin (yes, I have a "butt-chin", which I freaking hate but it is what it is I guess). This razor makes it a little difficult (though not impossible) to reach the hairs in my chin dimple. They still get cut, but that's the problem, they get cut and not shaved. To be fair, this only happens about half the time.

    This razor doesn't give as smooth as a shave as some of the other razors I've tried, but it still give a pretty smooth shave, just not the smoothest I've ever had. However, considering the reasons I listed for liking this razor, I take the good with the bad.

    Also, I've been using this razor for almost a year now and have never had a problem with the mechanism "locking up" as a couple other people have mentioned. The only problem I've had is that I tightened the mechanism too much once or twice and had to put a little more force into opening it, but it was pretty negligible. If other people hadn't mentioned it I wouldn't have even brought it up. This razor, like all razors, isn't for everyone, I supposed, but if you have sensitive skin and are prone to razor burn I HIGHLY recommend giving it a shot. Buying it from Wal-Mart is pretty cheap, so if you end up not liking it, you won't feel like you've thrown a large amount of money away.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 31, 2015

      Rich

      I was also thinking of buying from Walmart. I'm tired of the two disposables I have left and want to buy an old fashioned single blade to use for the gym. How much did everything cost? I'll need extra blades too.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 269

Write a review for Micro Touch One Razor!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review