About MiniMax

Smaller than a cell phone, MiniMax is a portable device that provides quick power on the go and can easily charges all your devices.

Battery dead? MiniMax’s lithium cobalt battery is even powerful enough to instantly jumpstart your car, truck, or boat! And unlike traditional jumper cables, MiniMax is safe for drivers of all ages, and even features a high-powered LED flashlight for seeing in the dark.

When you’re finished using MiniMax, its small size means it easily stores in your purse or glovebox. Taken together, this is why the manufacturer calls it “the most innovative portable charger ever made.”

Is MiniMax really anything special? Can you expect it to perform as well as the commercial makes it seem? Are there any other considerations you should know before buying it?

We’ve got answers to your most pressing questions about MiniMax. First, the competition.

Is MiniMax Portable Charger Really a Unique Product?

Unique? Not really. Part of a small (but expanding) group of products that can charge devices and jumpstart your car? Definitely.

Perhaps the best-known charging device/jump starter manufacturer is PowerAll, who makes devices very similar to MiniMax, as well as smaller versions and miscellaneous accessories. But there are also other popular brands, including Ivation, Jumpr, Matco Tools’ VersaPower Micro, Cobra JumPack, and more.

Pro tip: To see how many options you have, try typing the phrase “portable device and car charger” or “portable power bank jump car” into your favorite search engine.

The point? MiniMax’s manufacturer might want you to think this is something extraordinary, but it’s really just a slightly redesigned version of already existing chargers, which is a common theme among ASOTV products (more about this in the final section).

Next up, we’ll talk batteries.

MiniMax’s Lithium Cobalt Battery

As with the product itself, MiniMax’s manufacturer might want you to believe that their lithium cobalt battery is innovative. But the reality is that there are thousands of applications where these types of batteries are used (and have been for years), so it’s fairly commonplace, although the technology is still developing.

In fact, as Battery University notes, “Most lithium-ion batteries for portable applications are cobalt-based.” This is because they feature a high energy density, long run-time, and little power loss when not in use, which means they can provide hours of power for portable electronic devices.

However, lithium cobalt batteries do come with a couple big drawbacks. First, if lithium cobalt batteries are overloaded, they can actually become unsafe to use, since they contain pressurized, flammable material. Also, these types of batteries have a generally short lifespan of roughly 2-3 years.

Pros and cons aside, can the lithium cobalt battery in MiniMax really jumpstart your car?

Can MiniMax Actually Jump Start Your Car?

A jump starter’s power is often measured in cranking amps (CA) or cold cranking amps (CCA), which basically just references the amount of power released from the device into your car’s battery.

Most standalone jump starters (i.e. those that don’t also charge electronic devices), range from about 250 CA to 1,000+, while most power bank devices feature 300-600 CA (MiniMax is on the lower end of this spectrum, at 200).

Now, whether or not this would be enough to jumpstart your car depends on several factors, although the two most important are:

  1. The outside temperature (the lower the temperature, the more amps you’ll need), and
  2. The number of amps your battery requires in order to start.

Unless you’re starting a heavy-duty vehicle in sub-freezing temperatures though, the 200 cranking amps provided by MiniMax should be adequate in most circumstances.

Pro tip: Remember how we talked about the relatively short lifespan on lithium cobalt batteries above? Well, you won’t be able to continue jumping cars indefinitely, and you’ll likely only get 15-20 jumps before the device’s battery will no longer hold a charge.

Speaking of charge, how much does MiniMax cost?

MiniMax’s Price & Refund Policy

MiniMax is priced at five monthly payments of $19.95 plus free shipping, bringing your total to $99.75.

In addition to your MiniMax, you’ll also receive:

  • Multi-charger
  • Car charger
  • Carrying case w/jumper cables

All MiniMax portable chargers come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. In order to request one, you’ll need to call Big Boss’s customer service department at 877-206-6760.

Big Boss? Who is that?

Additional Info about MiniMax’s Manufacturer

MiniMax is manufactured by Big Boss, a division of Emson, Inc. (E Mishan & Sons), who also makes a variety of other products, including XHOSE, Big Boss Insta Mop, Car Cane, and more. What are consumers saying about these products?

Overall, these products had an average reader rating of 2 stars here on HighYa. Common complaints seemed to reference failure to work as advertised, poor quality, and difficult customer service (problems obtaining refunds, etc.).

From a company perspective, Emson had 75 closed complaints with the Better Business Bureau (as of 10/20/15), many of which referenced these same concerns.

Given all of this, should you spend your hard-earned money on MiniMax?

Will You be Shocked by MiniMax’s Portable Power Performance?

Here at HighYa, we sometimes feel that we sound like a broken record when reviewing As Seen on TV products. Why? Because they almost always come down to a question of value.

In other words, will MiniMax charge your portable devices and help jumpstart your car if necessary? Probably. Will it last for a long time and work as advertised? That remains to be seen.

But based on the manufacturer’s mixed online reputation—not to mention the fact that you’ll have to pay to ship it back to the company if you’re not happy—and that nearly identical products can be purchased locally for about the same price, we’d have to question MiniMax’s overall value.

Tip: Here’s some great feedback we received from a HighYa reader! While MiniMax might help start your car, your vehicle’s battery might not have enough power to continue operating the alternator—and consequently, the fuel pump—once MiniMax is removed. As a result, this could cause even more expensive repairs than just replacing your battery (they recommend doing so every 12 months).

Did you give MiniMax a try? We’d love to hear about your experience, so please consider leaving a review below!

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

34 Customer Reviews for MiniMax

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 34
Sort reviews by:

  • Scam

    Bought this item in June 2016. It does not work.You need a jump, this will not do it. The first use was in October 2017 and it did not start a Passat vehicle. The second time used was in March 2017 and it did not start a Ford Focus. The third time used was in May 2017 and it did not start a Subaru. I called them back and they said maybe it will charge your phone or tablet. Total scam! Do not buy.

    You must give a rating or the review will not be accepted. Screw MiniMax.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • BS product

    • Denver, Colorado,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the product about three times, all times it had a full charge in the MiniMax. By the fourth time, it wouldn't even turn my engine over. Don't believe the commercials because they're full of crap and this item is a piece of crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad product, total ripoff

    • California,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a MiniMax to ensure my daughter was never stranded due to a dead battery in her Jeep. The first time I tried to use it, it didn't work. Not even close. I had to call a tow truck for the car. Since it didn't work, I put it aside and tried to charge it today thinking it may actually work. It won't even charge now. It is kind of hard to jump start a car with a product that won't even charge itself. Maybe it will charge a phone or an iPad, but it absolutely will not jump start a car.

    Total ripoff. Waste of money, and good luck getting a response from customer service. Buy at your own risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worst product ever

    I bought the MiniMax charger for an emergency in case my car won't start. When I needed it to start my car, it did not work. It did not even spark when you touch both cables. It does not work, and I would not recommend it to my enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    MiniMax - great product

    My wife's sister's car was dead for over a week and could not start. I brought my MiniMax, and it started right way with no problem. I love this device.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Need a new one

    I had nothing but trouble with it. The first cable went bad and now the unit won't do anything but come on. I tried to get ahold of them but you can't get a hold of them to get it fixed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Works great

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Apr 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our student left the lights and the climate system on (yes, left keys in the car!). The battery was dead. We used MiniMax, and the Jeep Patriot started right up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Won't even start a lawn mower

    • North Carolina,
    • Apr 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought this would be a good item for this summer for the mower, but it won't even jump it. Nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2017

      Gary Kittelson

      I owned and operated an auto repair body shop for 33 years. Electrical problems can be frustrating as the causes can be numerous and not always apparent. A car battery or lawn mower battery can be beyond the stage where they can be jumped or charged by an outside source. Connections can also cause the problem, as well as the battery or the connecting cable ends to the vehicle or starter, etc. So, I'd the MiniMax doesn't solve your problem, it may not be the problem. The lawn mower batteries especially are not high-quality reliable units.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    MiniMax battery pack stopped charging

    • New York City, NY,
    • Apr 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, I was telling everybody about MiniMax. But now, I wonder. Now when I charge my charger, the battery pack won't charge! What can I do now?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    It exploded

    I purchased my MiniMax charger because I heard a lot of people talking about it. My car battery was dead and I couldn't find jumper cables, then I remembered mi MiniMax. I hooked it to the battery and went to start the car, and before I got around the car, the MiniMax busted open. Then it popped, and smoke literally billowed out of it. It melted part of my battery cables; it is literally a health hazard.

    No, I would not recommend it to anyone. Thank you Sherry Cossin. I wanted to give it 0 stars but had to give it one star. But one start for pretty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    MiniMax charger

    • Atherstone, England,
    • Mar 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 63-year-old single lady. I had a dead battery on my Vauxhall Vectra, so I connected my MiniMax, turned on the ignition, and my charger promptly burst into flames, and my battery did not start. Their customer service was already closed for the day, so I will be ringing them for a REFUND only tomorrow.

    I am so disappointed as I felt I would be less vulnerable carrying this device. I'd ask for a replacement if I wasn't worried that my iPad, iPhone, Galaxy, Kindle, Hudl, and Nexus wouldn't be damaged.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 34

Write a Review for MiniMax!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review