About My Spy Birdhouse

My Spy Birdhouse is a window feeder that claims to “give you a window into the secret lives of birds” by allowing you to watch them build their nest, hatch their eggs, and feed their young, without allowing them to see you.

In order to accomplish this, the My Spy Birdhouse is claimed to be constructed of plastic and to use all-weather suction cups to attach to any type of glass and remain in place year round. On the side facing the glass, My Spy Birdhouse features a “crystal clear” acrylic window with a 2-way film that gives you a glimpse into how they live and raise their young, without disturbing them (more about this in a moment).

As such, My Spy Birdhouse is claimed to keep birdwatchers of all ages entertained, season after season.

Although we have to admit that the My Spy Birdhouse seems pretty cool, consider the following before placing your order:

Environment Is Everything

Just like you wouldn’t want to build your house in a less-than-ideal location, birds are the exact same. In other words, they’ll need a place that’s quiet, not too sunny or hot, somewhere that matches their instinctive nesting patterns, and more.

As such, this means that you won’t be able to place My Spy Birdhouse anywhere you want. And even if you do follow the product’s FAQ and instruction manual to the letter, this still doesn’t guarantee you’ll have any birds nest there.

In fact, the manufacturer recommends that you “not place [the] birdhouse near a busy street or in an area with constant human activity,” so if you think you’ll be able to place it on your child’s window, you might end up disappointed.

Similar Options to My Spy Birdhouse

In addition, although the manufacturer makes it seem like the My Spy Birdhouse is a revolutionary product, this isn’t the case. This is because there are dozens of similar options from which to choose, which you can see for yourself by typing the phrase “clear bird house” or “bird house clear window” into your favorite search engine—many of which are less expensive that My Spy Birdhouse, considering the high, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this in the Pricing section).

In fact, if you want to complete a one-on-one project with your child, you can build one yourself for less than $20.

Customers Are Speaking Out about My Spy Birdhouse

Since writing our original review, 43 HighYa readers have provided their feedback about My Spy Birdhouse and have given the product an average rating of 2 stars (as of 6/4/15). Here, the most common complaints appear to reference cheap materials, poor quality, and no birds nesting despite following all instructions.

There were also 239 My Spy Birdhouse reviews on Amazon, with an average rating of 3 stars. There, some customers claimed that birds quickly nested in the birdhouse, and that the product was easy to set up and use. On the other hand, the most common complaints appeared to revolve around the same concerns noted on HighYa.

Important note: Many of the positive online Amazon reviews came from accounts where this was their only review, or from accounts where all reviews were posted on the same day (or within a span of several days). As we’ve often referenced in the past, these are common signs that they may be fake.

From a company perspective, My Spy Birdhouse is manufactured by Product Trend, LLC (a division of Hampton Direct, Inc.) who held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 123 closed complaints. There, many of these complaints referenced the same concerns noted above.

My Spy Birdhouse Pricing & Refund Policy

My Spy Birdhouse is priced at $9.99 plus $7.99 S&H, as well as a $1 “web processing fee.”

For this price you’ll receive:

  • My Spy Birdhouse with clear acrylic window
  • 2-way mirror film
  • Indoor hanging privacy curtain card
  • Perch
  • Free birdseed pack.

You can also choose to purchase a bonus up-close bird feeder for additional $6.99 S&H.

All My Spy Birdhouse purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you take advantage of the bonus offer and decide to process a refund, you could lose twice as much in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund.

With this said, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-406-1765.

Can My Spy Birdhouse Provide a Wonderful Experience?

Chopping to the point: Ultimately, this depends on a wide variety of factors, such as where you place you’re my Spy Birdhouse, the light and noise it’s exposed to, the time of year, and even a healthy dose of luck.

However, with so many mixed online reviews for the window feeder, we might recommend purchasing My Spy Birdhouse from a local retailer, should you decide to take the plunge. This way, you might be able to save a decent chunk of change on S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied and decide to process a return.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

46 Customer Reviews for My Spy Birdhouse

Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 7 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 46
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Birds don't like it

    • Cleveland, Ohio,
    • Sep 5, 2015

    Bought one after seeing an ad for it and thought it would be a great piece to add to my bird feeder and bird bath. Not one bird ever looked at it twice. All the things it said to do were done. Birds just don't like it.

    Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My Spy Birdhouse

    • New Hampton, IA,
    • Aug 20, 2015

    I bought a My Spy Birdhouse for both of my granddaughters for their birthday two years ago. We haven't seen any birds yet, not even a nest. We also have moved it a few times to see if it would work better. I'm sorry but it's a dud. I'd appreciate my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    I do not recommend this product

    • Southwestern, PA,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    I ordered this for my husband on December 18th as a Christmas gift after seeing the infomercial. I ordered the "special" the second birdhouse for only s&h and the free window bird feeder included. I realized that, only a week before Christmas, it may not arrive in time but that was reasonable, no worries.

    On December 19th, a rep from the customer called me to "thank me for ordering" but, in reality, was trying to sell me something else, telling me they were sending me some blah, blah, blah (can't remember what it was) and if I kept it, I would be billed. Only if I canceled, would I not be billed.

    I asked "Wait, so you are sending me something unsolicited that I have to take the time to cancel in order not to be billed?" He said no, he was asking me know if he could send it. No, thank you. I was a little annoyed that a simple online purchase turned into a slick sales call for something else.

    I then asked the rep "What are my chances of this arriving for Christmas?" He was very vague as he said "it's shipping right away". Ok again, I understand that a week before Christmas there are no promises.

    My credit card was not billed until six days later on the 24th. The product did not arrive until 13 business days later on January 2nd. And when it did arrive, there was no bird feeder. And the product, while it appears to be wooden on the infomercial, is plastic and pretty junky. Definitely not worth $15.00 IMO.

    Spend a few extra dollars and buy one of the much better quality wooden products that are out there and where you probably will not get a slick sales call the next day that, if you are not paying attention, will cost you more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 5, 2014

      Someone with sense

      @Birdwatcher's Wife | Southwestern, PA, serves you right for ordering that junk in the first place. Like seriously, and as a Christmas gift at that. What are you thinking?

    • Feb 2, 2014

      Youngandcommonsensed

      Yep, seriously sweetheart, he should take your credit cards and throw them off a cliff.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 16 people found this review helpful

    My spy bird house

    • Florida,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    What happen to my "spy bird house" order? Its almost three weeks now and two days after my order. I kept calling 1 888-406-1765 and all I get is a call-back-later message. I could never speak to a live person.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Complete scam.

    • Aug 7, 2015

    Don't buy it. Bought it back in August, they keep saying they put me on backorder. Still haven't got the birdhouse as of December. It's a complete scam, do not purchase the birdhouse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 49 people found this review helpful

    They sell your name

    • Louisiana,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    Haven't even got them in yet, but I am being hammered by third party sales and people they have given my information to. Do think about this before ordering. I am wary.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Check your credit card statement.

    • Massachusetts,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    Charged me twice, two different amounts, when I only ordered one birdhouse. Also only received an email receipt for one, so I never would've known if I didn't check my statement.

    They charge your credit card before you actually submit the order. You can't hit "back." Called customer service, no help. Completely unethical. I wish I had researched before I ordered. Give your business to an ethical company. Do not order anything from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do I need a for rent sign?

    • Martinsville, IN,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    I bought the birdhouse last year because my niece wanted to try it. We hung it on her birthday, which is on April 5th. We left it on there until August with nothing, well no birds that is. I had a wasp nest that we had to get out of it. Now it's March of the next year, so we hung it back up two days ago. I so hope we get a bird. She's thinking since we put it out two weeks earlier we may have a better chance this year. I so hope she is right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Great Novelty Buy

    • California,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Bought this for my four year old son for Christmas. Paid only $8 as it was on sale at a "going out of business" Kmart. It's a great idea to teach children about birds and how they make their nests. It's a simple, easy project and would recommend to anyone with kids. Yes it is made out of plastic and it isn't the best quality possible but that's pretty standard for a 14.95 TV infomercial special. You get what you pay for, but it is a good platform to teach children more about birds and get them interested in more projects.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    One-way mirror won't come off

    • Rockville, MD,
    • Jul 3, 2015

    I put my house up in March but apparently that was too late, so no birds came. I wanted to clear my windows for summer and try again next February but unfortunately I can't get the mylar reflective one-way mirror unstuck from my window. I have tried nail polish remover, Goo Gone, gasoline, and vinegar and it is stuck tight. I just hope I don't have to keep this tattered, torn mess on my window forever! Any ideas?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2015

      Melanie Bullard

      Use the ration of a table spoon of dawn to a gallon of water for solution. Spray on tint, take a sharp, new razor blade and scrape one long swipe, wipe off the razor blade, scrape again. once all the stuff is gone, dry off the window, use the goo gone to get rid of glue residue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No birds

    • Indianapolis,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I have had my birdhouse up since March and I still have no birds. I was really hoping for birds  The weird thing is though I have had a bird nest in a tree at the end of my backyard, which is odd because we've never had a nest in the tree. It is sticking fine and have had no problems with it falling and I am not worried of it. Last week we had tornadoes sweep through and I had shingles blown off my house and heavy rains. The bird house was intact and didn't budge. Just wish I had a nest already.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 46

Write a review for My Spy Birdhouse!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review