About My Spy Birdhouse

My Spy Birdhouse is a window feeder that claims to “give you a window into the secret lives of birds” by allowing you to watch them build their nest, hatch their eggs, and feed their young, without allowing them to see you.

In order to accomplish this, the My Spy Birdhouse is claimed to be constructed of plastic and to use all-weather suction cups to attach to any type of glass and remain in place year round. On the side facing the glass, My Spy Birdhouse features a “crystal clear” acrylic window with a 2-way film that gives you a glimpse into how they live and raise their young, without disturbing them (more about this in a moment).

As such, My Spy Birdhouse is claimed to keep birdwatchers of all ages entertained, season after season.

Although we have to admit that the My Spy Birdhouse seems pretty cool, consider the following before placing your order:

Environment Is Everything

Just like you wouldn’t want to build your house in a less-than-ideal location, birds are the exact same. In other words, they’ll need a place that’s quiet, not too sunny or hot, somewhere that matches their instinctive nesting patterns, and more.

As such, this means that you won’t be able to place My Spy Birdhouse anywhere you want. And even if you do follow the product’s FAQ and instruction manual to the letter, this still doesn’t guarantee you’ll have any birds nest there.

In fact, the manufacturer recommends that you “not place [the] birdhouse near a busy street or in an area with constant human activity,” so if you think you’ll be able to place it on your child’s window, you might end up disappointed.

Similar Options to My Spy Birdhouse

In addition, although the manufacturer makes it seem like the My Spy Birdhouse is a revolutionary product, this isn’t the case. This is because there are dozens of similar options from which to choose, which you can see for yourself by typing the phrase “clear bird house” or “bird house clear window” into your favorite search engine—many of which are less expensive that My Spy Birdhouse, considering the high, non-refundable S&H charges (more about this in the Pricing section).

In fact, if you want to complete a one-on-one project with your child, you can build one yourself for less than $20.

Customers Are Speaking Out about My Spy Birdhouse

Since writing our original review, 43 HighYa readers have provided their feedback about My Spy Birdhouse and have given the product an average rating of 2 stars (as of 6/4/15). Here, the most common complaints appear to reference cheap materials, poor quality, and no birds nesting despite following all instructions.

There were also 239 My Spy Birdhouse reviews on Amazon, with an average rating of 3 stars. There, some customers claimed that birds quickly nested in the birdhouse, and that the product was easy to set up and use. On the other hand, the most common complaints appeared to revolve around the same concerns noted on HighYa.

Important note: Many of the positive online Amazon reviews came from accounts where this was their only review, or from accounts where all reviews were posted on the same day (or within a span of several days). As we’ve often referenced in the past, these are common signs that they may be fake.

From a company perspective, My Spy Birdhouse is manufactured by Product Trend, LLC (a division of Hampton Direct, Inc.) who held a B rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 123 closed complaints. There, many of these complaints referenced the same concerns noted above.

My Spy Birdhouse Pricing & Refund Policy

My Spy Birdhouse is priced at $9.99 plus $7.99 S&H, as well as a $1 “web processing fee.”

For this price you’ll receive:

  • My Spy Birdhouse with clear acrylic window
  • 2-way mirror film
  • Indoor hanging privacy curtain card
  • Perch
  • Free birdseed pack.

You can also choose to purchase a bonus up-close bird feeder for additional $6.99 S&H.

All My Spy Birdhouse purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you take advantage of the bonus offer and decide to process a refund, you could lose twice as much in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund.

With this said, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-406-1765.

Can My Spy Birdhouse Provide a Wonderful Experience?

Chopping to the point: Ultimately, this depends on a wide variety of factors, such as where you place you’re my Spy Birdhouse, the light and noise it’s exposed to, the time of year, and even a healthy dose of luck.

However, with so many mixed online reviews for the window feeder, we might recommend purchasing My Spy Birdhouse from a local retailer, should you decide to take the plunge. This way, you might be able to save a decent chunk of change on S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied and decide to process a return.

44 Customer Reviews for My Spy Birdhouse

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 7 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 31
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • Never got mine.

    I am yet to receive mine. They took my money for my order as well as all the extras I ordered. It's been over six weeks and still nothing. And now to top it off, I call customer service and it keeps telling me all circuits are busy so I cant even talk about my order or get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2015

      Lisa

      I'm having the same issue. I emailed and it was sent back to me saying the email did not exist and when I call the customer service number all circuits are busy. This company has clearly gone under and still taking my money. I will be contacting a lawyer. I know it was only $25 but at this point it is principle.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do I need a for rent sign?

    • Martinsville, IN,
    • Mar 22, 2015

    I bought the birdhouse last year because my niece wanted to try it. We hung it on her birthday which is on April 5th. We left it on there until august with nothing, well no birds that is. I had a wasp nest that we had to get out of it. Now it's March of the next year so we hung it back up two days ago. I so hope we get a bird. She's thinking since we put it out two weeks earlier we may have a better chance this year. I so hope she is right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great Novelty Buy

    • California,
    • Dec 26, 2014

    Bought this for my 4 year old son for Christmas. Paid only $8 as it was on sale at a "going out of business" KMart! It's a great idea to teach children about birds and how they make their nests. It's a simple, easy project and would recommend to anyone with kids. Yes it is made out of plastic and it isn't the best quality possible but that's pretty standard for a 14.95 TV infomercial special :) You get what you pay for, but it is a good platform to teach children more about birds and get them interested in more projects ;)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Horrible would never buy

    • Baltimore,
    • Nov 15, 2014

    Birds fly into the window and die, do not want kids too see that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Waste of Time and Money

    • Auburn, MA,
    • Aug 28, 2014

    Cheaply made. Started end of Feb so birds would get used to seeing this. Used east side of house as instructed. Room not used at night so birds wouldn't be 'spooked' with a room light turning off and on, even with the privacy shade. Still NO BIRDS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    One-way mirror won't come off

    • Rockville, MD,
    • Jul 13, 2014

    I put my house up in March but apparently that was too late, so no birds came. I wanted to clear my windows for summer and try again next February but unfortunately I can't get the mylar reflective one-way mirror unstuck from my window. I have tried nail polish remover, Goo Gone, gasoline, and vinegar and it is stuck tight. I just hope I don't have to keep this tattered, torn mess on my window forever! Any ideas?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2015

      Melanie Bullard

      Use the ration of a table spoon of dawn to a gallon of water for solution. Spray on tint, take a sharp, new razor blade and scrape one long swipe, wipe off the razor blade, scrape again. once all the stuff is gone, dry off the window, use the goo gone to get rid of glue residue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No birds

    • Indianapolis,
    • Jun 30, 2014

    I have had my birdhouse up since March and I still have no birds. I was really hoping for birds  The weird thing is though I have had a bird nest in a tree at the end of my backyard, which is odd because we've never had a nest in the tree. It is sticking fine and have had no problems with it falling and I am not worried of it. Last week we had tornadoes sweep through and I had shingles blown off my house and heavy rains. The bird house was intact and didn't budge. Just wish I had a nest already.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Misleading product. Not worth the expense

    • Massachusetts,
    • Apr 27, 2014

    I would not recommend this product or company from which it comes. The materials are cheap and definitely not worth the expense. The suction cups became ineffective after removing the bird house to place in another location. The commercial on TV is misleading. After moving it to another location, the bird house fell down from a second story location. Fortunately there were no birds in the house, despite the fact that the house had been up for a month.

    The other day I received an E-mail from My Spy Birdhouse with a training video suggesting that the birdhouse needs to be near a bushy area. We have no bushes near our windows, therefore rendering the concept ineffective for our purposes. After making the purchase, I also received annoying telemarketing calls trying to sell me other items. I later learned from the company that they have a "third party company" that processed the purchase. This is by far the worst product I have ever purchased. They are selling the same product at Target for a lot less. However, the product is still cheaply made and does not seem to be a safe haven for young birds and their families.

    Don't waste your hard earned money on this product. You're better off purchasing a wooden birdhouse that provides protection and shelter to birds in the wild.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 17, 2014

      Leon

      Thank you so much for posting this review. You saved me a lot of money, as well as, by being annoyed from telemarketing nonsense too.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Buy in the stores!!!

    • The South,
    • Apr 3, 2014

    I never order off the TV commercials for the reasons listed above. If it is a decent product it will show up in the stores. I bought our MySpy birdhouse at CVS (also saw them at Target & WalMart) for $15. The instructions were clear & easy to follow. We had no trouble putting it together. I cleaned the window before I put the suction cups on (they won’t stick on dirt), & wiped the suction cups with a damp cloth before I stuck them on the window like the instructions said. So far, it is sticking fine.

    I like the fact that the bird house is plastic for several reasons: easy to clean, light weight, and won’t rot/deteriorate. I did not use the mirror because I was afraid it might scare the birds away, so I taped the cardboard screen on the inside of the window instead, hoping it will block more light & movement. We will peek when we have a nest.

    So far, I am very pleased. I just hope we have a family move in!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Worst product ever

    • Colorado ,
    • Apr 2, 2014

    When I received my two bird boxes I opened them and they were both used, dirty boxes. Made of cheap flimsy plastic, not real wood like I thought. When I called customer service to return them they were rude and they weren't going to pay for the shipping of the used boxes, but I explained that it wasn't my fault they sent me used boxes, with some talking they agreed to pay. I got a refund but they didn't refund $14.99, and when I called to ask why they told me for processing and handling. Their customer service people are rude, and actually hung up on me. When I called back to speak to a supervisor he flat out told me they will keep the $14.99 even though I tried to explain to him that it was their error sending me used dirty boxes. Worst product and company doesn't care about making things right. I would gave it zero stars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 18, 2014

      Coloradogirl

      I filed a complaint with the BBB and they were able to get the money they owed me back.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    2 years, no problems

    • Wisconsin,
    • Apr 2, 2014

    I've used the my spy birdhouse for 2 years with no problems. Suction cups didn't fail, but I put duck tape on all 4 sides just in case. I take it down for the winter and put back in spring. Put mine out end of Feb and March 31 I had the start of a nest. The birds can't see you! They aren't disturbed in any way. We have the "do not disturb" curtain up also, so if we put the light on they can't see it. My kids love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a review for My Spy Birdhouse!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review