About My Spy Birdhouse

My Spy Birdhouse allows you to combine your birdwatching hobby with your inner voyeur by attaching the birdhouse to your window and watching the birds up close.

The birdhouse, a Lenfest Media Group product, has a transparent acrylic wall that lets you see right into the birdhouse and catch all the action of the birds‘ lives, including building nests and hatching and raising their young. Aside from giving birdwatching lovers a good up close peek inside the lives of our feathered friends, it touts itself as a great way to educate children and teach them how to observe without disturbing. 

My Spy Birdhouse Features

My Spy Birdhouse looks like a regular birdhouse except that the back wall is transparent and instead of hanging it in a tree, you put it against a window of your house with all-weather suction cups. Then, you just wait for birds to take up residence and observe them as much as you like.

The My Spy Birdhouse, which you can paint to customize to your tastes, comes with a two-way mirror so you can see into the birdhouse, but the birds can’t see into your house. It also comes with a privacy card that you hang against your window on the inside so light from your house won’t disturb them during the night or if you just want to give the birds some privacy at any time.

It will accommodate any small birds like wrens, nuthatches and chickadees and includes a perch for the birds. 

While the My Spy Birdhouse doesn’t have any online consumer reviews yet, it has been reviewed positively by other review sites.

My Spy Birdhouse Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

You get the My Spy Birdhouse with perch, the indoor privacy card and the two-way mirror for $14.99, plus $7.99 shipping and handling for a total of $22.98.

For an extra $7.99 in shipping fees, you can also get an Up-Close Bird Feeder that attaches to your window via suction cups and allows you to watch birds feeding up close. You are not obligated to purchase the bird feeder, but if you do, the total comes to $30.97.

The My Spy Birdhouse is covered by a 30-day money back guarantee if you are not satisfied with it. As per usual, you will receive your purchase price back, but not the shipping and handling fees and you will have to pay to ship it back to the company.

You can email myspybirdhouse@customerstatus.com or call customer service at 1-888-406-1765 Monday through Friday from 8:00am-10:00pm EST if you have inquiries.

Bottom Line – Should you buy the My Spy Birdhosue?

The biggest questions about the My Spy Birdhouse are whether the materials are strong and whether the suction cups will hold. It would be nothing less than horrifying to have the suction cups fail when there is a nest full of babies in the birdhouse. Without any consumer reviews to go by, that is impossible to tell.

The My Spy Birdhouse is fairly inexpensive and if it does work, would be a good idea for a bird watching enthusiast. For a relatively small risk financially, it could make a good gift for a bird watcher. However, the real risk is to the birds that nest in it.

43 Customer Reviews for My Spy Birdhouse

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 7 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 30
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • Do I need a for rent sign?

    • by Wendy,
    • Martinsville, IN,
    • Mar 22, 2015

    I bought the birdhouse last year because my niece wanted to try it. We hung it on her birthday which is on April 5th. We left it on there until august with nothing, well no birds that is. I had a wasp nest that we had to get out of it. Now it's March of the next year so we hung it back up two days ago. I so hope we get a bird. She's thinking since we put it out two weeks earlier we may have a better chance this year. I so hope she is right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great Novelty Buy

    • by Ginger,
    • California,
    • Dec 26, 2014

    Bought this for my 4 year old son for Christmas. Paid only $8 as it was on sale at a "going out of business" KMart! It's a great idea to teach children about birds and how they make their nests. It's a simple, easy project and would recommend to anyone with kids. Yes it is made out of plastic and it isn't the best quality possible but that's pretty standard for a 14.95 TV infomercial special :) You get what you pay for, but it is a good platform to teach children more about birds and get them interested in more projects ;)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Horrible would never buy

    • by Anneliese,
    • Baltimore,
    • Nov 15, 2014

    Birds fly into the window and die, do not want kids too see that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Waste of Time and Money

    • by Elaine Bruso,
    • Auburn, MA,
    • Aug 28, 2014

    Cheaply made. Started end of Feb so birds would get used to seeing this. Used east side of house as instructed. Room not used at night so birds wouldn't be 'spooked' with a room light turning off and on, even with the privacy shade. Still NO BIRDS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    One-way mirror won't come off

    • by Gail Schmitt,
    • Rockville, MD,
    • Jul 13, 2014

    I put my house up in March but apparently that was too late, so no birds came. I wanted to clear my windows for summer and try again next February but unfortunately I can't get the mylar reflective one-way mirror unstuck from my window. I have tried nail polish remover, Goo Gone, gasoline, and vinegar and it is stuck tight. I just hope I don't have to keep this tattered, torn mess on my window forever! Any ideas??

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2015

      Melanie Bullard

      Use the ration of a table spoon of dawn to a gallon of water for solution. Spray on tint, take a sharp, new razor blade and scrape one long swipe, wipe off the razor blade, scrape again. once all the stuff is gone, dry off the window, use the goo gone to get rid of glue residue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No birds

    • by Tina,
    • Indianapolis,
    • Jun 30, 2014

    I have had my birdhouse up since march and i still have no birds! I was really hoping for birds :-( The weird thing is though I have had a bird nest in a tree at the end of my backyard, which is odd because we've never had a nest in the tree. It is sticking fine and have had no problems with it falling and I am not worried of it. Last week we had tornadoes sweep through and I had shingles blown off ny house and heavy rains. The bird house was intact and didnt budge. Just wish I had a nest already.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Misleading product. Not worth the expense

    • by J. Griffin,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Apr 27, 2014

    I would not recommend this product or company from which it comes. The materials are cheap and definitely not worth the expense. The suction cups became ineffective after removing the bird house to place in another location. The commercial on TV is misleading. After moving it to another location, the bird house fell down from a second story location. Fortunately there were no birds in the house, despite the fact that the house had been up for a month.

    The other day I received an E-mail from MySpybirdhouse with a training video suggesting that the birdhouse needs to be near a bushy area. We have no bushes near our windows, therefore rendering the concept ineffective for our purposes. After making the purchase, I also received annoying telemarketing calls trying to sell me other items. I later learned from the company that they have a "third party company" that processed the purchase. This is by far the worst product I have ever purchased. They are selling the same product at Target for a lot less. However, the product is still cheaply made and does not seem to be a safe haven for young birds and their families.

    Don't waste your hard earned money on this product. You're better off purchasing a wooden birdhouse that provides protection and shelter to birds in the wild.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 17, 2014

      Leon

      Thank you so much for posting this review. You saved me a lot of money, as well as, by being annoyed from telemarketing nonsense too.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Buy in the stores!!!

    • by DB,
    • The South,
    • Apr 3, 2014

    I NEVER order off the TV commercials for the reasons listed above. If it is a decent product it will show up in the stores. I bought our MySpy birdhouse at CVS (also saw them at Target & WalMart) for $15. The instructions were clear & easy to follow. We had no trouble putting it together. I cleaned the window before I put the suction cups on (they won’t stick on dirt), & wiped the suction cups with a damp cloth before I stuck them on the window like the instructions said. So far, it is sticking fine.

    I like the fact that the bird house is plastic for several reasons: easy to clean, light weight, & won’t rot/deteriorate. I did not use the mirror because I was afraid it might scare the birds away, so I taped the cardboard screen on the inside of the window instead, hoping it will block more light & movement. We will peek when we have a nest.

    So far, I am very pleased. I just hope we have a family move in!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worst product ever

    • by Coloradogirl,
    • Colorado ,
    • Apr 2, 2014

    When I received my two bird boxes I opened them and they were both used, dirty boxes. Made of cheap flimsy plastic, not real wood like I thought. When I called customer service to return them they were rude and they weren't going to pay for the shipping of the used boxes, but I explained that it wasn't my fault they sent me used boxes, with some talking they agreed to pay. I got a refund but they didn't refund $14.99, and when I called to ask why they told me for processing and handling. Their customer service people are rude, and actually hung up on me. When I called back to speak to a supervisor he flat out told me they will keep the $14.99 even though I tried to explain to him that it was their error sending me used dirty boxes. Worst product and company doesn't care about making things right. I would gave it zero stars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 18, 2014

      Coloradogirl

      I filed a complaint with the BBB and they were able to get the money they owed me back.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    2 years, no problems

    • by Brynn Vanessa,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Apr 2, 2014

    I've used the my spy birdhouse for 2 years with no problems. Suction cups didn't fail, but I put duck tape on all 4 sides just in case. I take it down for the winter and put back in spring. Put mine out end of Feb and March 31 I had the start of a nest. The birds can't see you! They aren't disturbed in any way. We have the "do not disturb" curtain up also, so if we put the light on they can't see it. My kids love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    So far so good

    • by Gina,
    • Chicago,
    • Mar 31, 2014

    You can buy this birdhouse at Toys R Us. I paid $13.00 including the taxes. So far it seems decent. Hopefully the birds nest in it. If not, I took a gamble and only paid $13.00 and didn't have to pay shipping and all the other nonsense I read so far in these reviews with the billing issues etc.

    Quality is also decent. It came with double sided tape and the suction cups. I decided to use the double sided tape - it's very secure; no worries about it falling. I also used the 2 way mirror. Just so you know the 2 way mirror gets applied to the inside of your window - not outside or on the plastic panel of the birdhouse.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 43

Write a review for My Spy Birdhouse!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review