About Navage Nose Cleaner

Pull, don’t push!

This is the main idea behind Navage Nose Cleaner, a self-proclaimed “game changing” nasal hygiene system that can help you breathe better now—and forever.

Instead of pushing water through your nostrils like most other cleaning systems, Navage Nose Cleaner works by using gentle powered suction to help flush out everything from microscopic particles and pollen, to dust and environmental pollution. Not only will you breathe better without drugs, but Navage can also eliminate the fuss and mess you might find with other products.

And with Navage’s SaltPod capsules, you’ll experience a soothing, refreshing, perfectly balanced saline rinse every time, without having to worry about pre-measuring. You might even reduce your snoring!

Regardless of whether you’re thinking about using Navage Nose Cleaner only when needed, or are planning to use it several times per day, is it really everything it’s cracked up to be?

Let’s start by looking at what causes nasal congestion.

What’s Causing Your Nasal Congestion?

Like pain (and many other medical conditions), long-term nasal congestion is more of a symptom than a cause. The causes of congestion, however, are many and include:

  • Bacteria and viruses (e.g. common cold or flu)
  • Allergies
  • Chronic sinusitis
  • Hay fever
  • Environmental pollutants
  • Medical conditions, like nasal polyps and deviated septums
  • … and more.

With this in mind, even if Navage Nose Cleaner works exactly as advertised, it will only temporarily relieve your congestion, but won’t address the underlying cause.

As such, we’d strongly recommend visiting your doctor, who can recommend treatment options based on your specific diagnosis.

Is nasal irrigation a healthy way of relieving your congestion?

Is Nasal Irrigation Safe for Everyday Use?

There are some clear advantages to using nasal irrigation systems like Navage Nose Cleaner, since they can flush away accumulated mucus and help you breathe better. And in general, these devices are completely safe.

However, in order to prevent possible infection, the FDA recommends only using filtered, treated, or processed water. This can help avoid any bacteria, protozoa, and amoebas that might be found in tap water.

Also, keep in mind that how often you should irrigate is up for debate and can vary between patients. For example, the American Association of Family Physicians claims that you can do it twice per day as part of your normal routine.

On the other hand, WedMD writes that irrigation doesn’t just flush out mucus, but also “very important immune elements that are the first line of respiratory defense against infections,” including “beneficial antibacterial, antifungal, and antiviral agents.” In fact, the article cites one study where participants’ nasal health actually improved after they stopped regular irrigation.

So, before you go overboard with products like Navage Nose Cleaner, you might try irrigating only when you have symptoms, and then proceeding from there. Just be sure to use filtered water!

Speaking of which, is there anything else out there quite like Navage Nose Cleaner?

Other Irrigation Systems Like Navage Nose Cleaner

According to the company, Navage is “the world’s only nasal irrigator that uses powered suction.” Is this actually the case?

In short, it appears so. Yes, there are thousands of different nasal hygiene systems available, and hundreds of them are powered, but none of them use suction like Navage.

Here’s the catch though: Navage’s manufacturer doesn’t provide any clinical evidence showing that its suction provides any better results than traditional methods like neti pots. We didn’t locate any clinical evidence elsewhere online, either.

Yes, since the saline solution doesn’t pour out of your nostril, Navage Nose Cleaner will almost certainly be less messy. But this doesn’t mean you’ll achieve more thorough results—but you will spend more money.

Exactly how much does Navage cost?

Navage Nose Cleaner’s Price

Navage Nose Cleaner will cost you $49.95 plus $7.95 S&H. If you spend more than $100, you’ll receive free shipping.

There are also other products sold on the Navage site, including:

  • SaltPod Packs: One or two 30-packs are priced at $14.95 each. If you buy three or more, you’ll pay $9.95 per pack.
  • Drying Rack: $14.95
  • Travel Case (Black or Teal): $19.95
  • Replacement Silicone Nose Pillows (pair): $6.95
  • Replacement Nasal Dock: $9.95

All Navage Nose Cleaner purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges, as well as a limited one-year parts and labor warranty against manufacturing defects.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to call (800) 931-7828.

We’ve talked about the Navage system a lot already, but what’s up with these SaltPod packs?

What’s the Deal with Navage’s SaltPod Packs?

If you’ve searched online for powered nasal irrigation systems before, you almost certainly found ones that used pre-measured salt packages. Just insert them into the appropriate place and turn on the machine, which will automatically mix it with water and create a perfectly balanced saline solution.

According to the product’s website, Navage’s SaltPods contain only pure sea salt and purified water, which mix to yield “isotonic saline of 0.9% w/v sodium chloride when its contents are mixed with 7.8 ounces of water.”

Yes, this will almost certainly be more convenient than mixing your own solution, but you’ll pay for this convenience. For example: If you paid $14.95 for a 30-pack, each pod will cost you about $0.49. If you paid $9.95 per pack, each pod will cost you $0.33.

Sure, this might not sound much, but if you’re using your Navage Nose Cleaner 2-3 times daily, this can quickly add up.

Are Navage’s customers complaining about the expense?

Navage Nose Cleaner’s Online Customer Reputation

At the time of our research, there were 34 customer reviews posted on the Navage website, with an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments cited ease of mess-free use, better breathing, and solid design. Despite this positivity, more than one user mentioned that it takes some getting used to.

Canada.com featured a quick video review of someone who had never used a nasal irrigation system. Overall, they found that Navage Nose Cleaner definitely helped them breathe better (and even gave it a “big thumbs up”), but repeatedly mentioned that it was “very uncomfortable.”

Outside of this, there weren’t any online reviews of customers who had actually used Navage.

From a company perspective, Navage Nose Cleaner is manufactured by RhinoSystems Inc. based out of Brooklyn Heights, OH, which had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau with no closed complaints (as of 10/22/15).

Does Navage Nose Cleaner Suck?

Nose irrigation has been used for thousands of years to help people breathe better, and it seems like Navage Nose Cleaner has brought the process into the 21st century by using gentle suction.

But the key here is that there’s no clinical evidence showing mechanical suction can provide better clearing than traditional methods like neti pots. Yes, Navage will be slightly less messy than other methods, but only you’ll be able to decide if this benefit is worth the extra money—especially when you consider that Navage will cost you between $0.33 and $0.49 per use.

Our recommendation? Talk with your doctor first. Then, try less expensive irrigation systems from your local pharmacy.

If you find you’re not getting the results you want, then Navage Nose Cleaner might present a solid option for helping you breathe better.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Customer Reviews for Navage Nose Cleaner

Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  1
Bottom Line: 92% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • San Diego, California,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this product advertised on the internet and thought that this would solve a problem my mother-in-law has, which is Rhinitis. I bought this basic package and tried it for myself before setting it up for my mother-in-law. My wife and mother-in-law raved how wonderful this is at cleaning out her nose without getting soaked.

    Definitely a five-star product. Thank you for a great product. I will have to order more saline pods in the near future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 7, 2017

      Jack Baldwin

      Arthur, if you're getting soaked using a neti pot, you're not doing it right. Just a thought.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Excellent pre-emptive action

    • Santa Barbara, CA,
    • Jun 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a terrible problem with sinusitis. Living here in California with all of the new growth (pollen, spores, etc.) really aggravates my sinus. In the past, whether it be an allergy or cold, I would develop post-nasal drip then terrible bronchitis.

    Since I have been using the system, ALL of this stopped. In the eight months I have been using this, not a "hint" of congestion, and my sinuses are cleared out. Last month I ran myself down and got what seemed to be some sort of sinus infection. The gentle "suction" cleared out the worst of the goop accumulating in my lungs. I use the Navage rather than blow my nose because it really clears out any and all debris or mucous build up. I have used all sorts of remedies before this. Navage is a little more "assertive," but gentle. Two friends now use this system.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    The suction is the key.

    Like the others, I have problems year around. I'm alergic to something in every season, and nothing I have tried has worked, and I believe I've tried them all; Flonase, Naslicrom, Singular, Zyrtec, all the other stuff, the list is extensive, but you get the point. I've used Neti Pots without much success. I used one of those squeeze bottles and had a bit better luck, but still left wanting.

    Then I bought the Navage. Wow, what a difference. The gentle suction makes all the difference because I can hold my head upright and the water gets all the way to the back of my lower sinus where it really had trouble getting to before. As they say, it's better to pull than try to push the mucus out. Now I'm breathing better than I ever had in my life.

    There is another product I like to use sometimes in the water called Alkalol Nasal Wash, it's a mucus solvent. I like to put about a shot glass worth in it first, then the distilled water. It's safe to use every time, but you really only need it when you are congested, and it leaves your sinus fresh feeling and clean as a whistle. The only drawback is that the salt pots are way overpriced. I will be searching YouTube for that workaround that was mentioned. I do recommend this product, especially to people like me that's tried everything else.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Shocked it worked the first time

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Apr 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the unit yesterday and set it up. I had watched many of the videos made by other users on YouTube, and it properly psyched me out. What did I get into?

    Fortunately, many of the users just didn't seem to read the instructions, which resulted in the often hilarious looking videos. Use warm water and say "ahhhhhh." Don't try to talk when it is running. I was shocked that I barely felt anything when it was running and before I knew it, it was finished. I blew my nose, and there was certainly no mess on the counter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    The "powered" nose vacuum

    • Washington,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a chronic nasal restriction. Often I can't taste or smell due to the congestion. For several years I have been using the squeeze bottle with pre-measure salt packets. Since I will do most anything to get a better sinus and nasal state, I bought into Navage.

    It works in a more gentle and less messy way than the squeeze and blow bottle method. Navage is less messy, but it doesn't seem to that the power to really evacuate nasal cavities that are even moderately blocked. After using the device, I will blow out (I know it's gross, but effective) the backed up solution and more mucus often is expelled. That means it didn't get sucked out with Navage.

    I get a good feeling, however, knowing that I'm tackling the problem from another angle. I would also suggest looking up the YouTube work around video to lower costs by using the less expensive salt packets rather than the Navage pre-packaged ones.

    One tip; after loading the Navage, express a bit of solution by activating the switch. I experienced the first flow of solution being cold, and that wasn't comfortable, so just get a bit started in the sink and the rest will be at the temperature of the solution you have loaded.

    The machine is bulky and not really stable on its stand. The more frustrating part is that I forget to take it with me when I'm relocating to my mid-week lodging, or on trips. If you like it and get used to it, you might need to invest in two or get the carrying case.

    I'd also like tips on the best way to clean it out. The configuration of the device and the bottom tank are such that some of the solution stays in the unit. There isn't really a good way to dry it out.

    It works, and if you have chronic problems, it's worth a try. If you have only occasional issues, it's probably too expensive for a moderately effective remedy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Navage

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have suffered from a deviated septum and constant every season post nasal drip which I've tried to treat with sinus pills, cough syrup, puffers, nasal sprays, etc.

    I had a pituitary tumor removed through my nose years ago and was supposed to irrigate with a Neti pot but never did get the procedure right. The Navage does the work and does it well.

    I saw the Navage nose cleaner and decided to give it a try. This is my third day of doing it twice each day and I can't praise it enough! I can smell things I haven't smelled in many years and breathe through my nose. I no longer feel stuffed up and I add 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar for an antibacterial.

    I know the saline pods are pricey but my health is more important and the medications I tried didn't help like this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Product!

    • Chino Hills, CA,
    • Oct 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have suffered from sinus congestion and allergies for as long as I can remember. I have used the NetiPod, NeilMed Sinus Rinse and various allergy medications. However, any relief I received was temporary. In hopes of finally clearing my sinuses, I purchased the Navage and it did not disappoint! For anyone who has used a NetiPod or Sinus Rinse, you know the mess it can make, the Navage does not make a mess. Using the Navage may take a couple attempts to get used to but once you get comfortable with it, you'll be amazed. I have been using mine for over a month and have noticed a significant change in my sinuses. I would recommend this product to a friend and have bought one for my dad.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 26, 2016

      Mary

      What's this "big mess" you and Navage Nose Cleaner are referring to while using a Neti Pot? All you do is pour in the saline packet, fill it up with distilled water, use it over a sink and then rinse it. It takes me less than two minutes to prepare, use and clean unless you have two hooks for hands. I'm not sure why your Neti Pot is so messy.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 47 out 49 people found this review helpful

    It's about time!

    I bought this system mainly because nothing else worked. I thought that if this didn't help, nothing ever would. I suffer from chronic sinusitis and living in Florida can be hell for breathing. The heat is one thing but the rainy season sends my nose into orbit. Itchy eyes, runny nose or stopped up all together, that's my life and oh yeah, I'm also an asthmatic.

    Well, day one with Navage and wow. Yeah, wow. It was a little freaky seeing what's in your nose but it is so great not having it up in there! I use the system every other day and if I forget and miss a treatment, boy will my nose let me know it. I can breathe again and have not had one sinus infection all year. Hands down, this is the best thing I ever bought. You would be crazy not to purchase this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • Providence, RI,
    • Jun 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I suffer from allergies, I'm always getting bad headaches, and sinus infections. I was miserable. I took allergy pills, Flonase, flushed my sinuses, Sudafed, pain medication and still the problems would continue. Then one day I seen the commercial for Navage, I read the reviews and they seemed believable, so I ordered it. I will tell you this, whoever invented this, you are my savior. I have never felt better. No more pain, no more infections, I barely used my allergy medication (only on high pollen days). If I have pressure starting to build up, I use it and it relieves the pain, if my nose is stuffed I use it and it clears me up. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 77 people found this review helpful

    Very unsatisfied

    This is a complete rip off as the sales team advised complete satisfaction or else full refund. However, when I actually tried to get my refund I was advised there is $8.99 shipping and handling costs plus I am responsible for return shipping costs which was $25.03

    The unit did not have any suction and no liquid went to the bottom container.

    I checked I am a real customer but was unable to use as it did not work.

    Rating needs to be less than 1 star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 61 out 66 people found this review helpful

    Review for two days of use.

    • Winston-Salem, NC,
    • Jan 26, 2016

    This is now my second day using this system. The very first time I used it, I was not impressed. My head was really stuffy and the machine had a difficult time getting a vacuum. I have used the machine four times as of this morning. It is working fantastically and I could not be more pleased with the results. My nasal drip and congestion has almost ceased. I will update this post next week.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for Navage Nose Cleaner!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review