About Nina Silk

Nina Silk claims to offer an easy-breezy solution to hair removal without razors, wax, epilators or lasers. Described as an “elegant way to have stubble-free, touchable skin,” the Nina Silk is a small plastic handheld device with a flat bottom that features a special “crystal silk surface that’s tough on all types of hair, but gentle on your skin.”

What Nina Silk Has To Offer

From the comfort of your own home, Nina Silk promises that you can enjoy pain-free, salon-quality hair removal.

First, you’ll need to clean and dry the area of skin where you’d like to be hair-bare. Then, to use Nina Silk, simply rub the crystal silk surface in a circular motion, and the device will gently lift, twist and pull out unwanted hair. 

Nina Silk promises not to cause any irritation, to work on all hair types, including everything from thin hair to thick stubble. Nina Silk also claims it can be used on more sensitive body parts, such as your upper lip, chin, bikini area and underarms.

For those who are hesitant to buy another piece of plastic, this “one stop solution for hair removal” promises to never wear out and to never need replacement. The product’s site also claims that regular use will cause slower hair regrowth and silkier skin.

The company also manufacturers the Nina Micro for your hair removal detail-work, and claims it’s perfect for your face, eyebrows, and also your upper lip. Nina Micro is demonstrated in the Nina Silk advertising video, and it appears to be used in a straight up-and-down action, instead of circular movements.

How Much Does Nina Silk Cost?

For $10, plus $7.95 shipping and handling (totaling $17.95), you get 1 Nina Silk and 3 Nina Micros. Alternatively, $20 gets you 2 Nina Silks and 6 Nina Micros. Residents of Canada, AK, GU, HI, PR & VI should expect an additional $10 charge for taxes.

Nina Silk’s product site is currently offering free shipping with the purchase of two Nina Silk hair removers — which is a bold offer for a product that promises never to wear out. 

In addition, Nina Silk comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling. In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call 877-637-0784.

What People Are Saying About Nina Silk

There are limited reviews for the Nina Silk hair removal system available online. Many reviewers state that the product has worked well for them and leaves their legs feeling smooth. Others are less satisfied, and common complaints include:

  • Extremely long shipping times
  • Difficulty reaching customer service
  • Product failing to work as described

With this said, another product named the Smooth Away hair removal system appears to work in a similar way using “crystal” pads and a buffing motion. The only difference appears to be that Smooth Away has disposable pads (and plenty of reviews). While they’re not related to Nina Silk, one can infer there might be a similar experience from both products.

In this Gadgeteer Smooth Away review, the writer explains that while the product does work, she experienced the following complications:

  • Pads wore out very quickly
  • Extreme skin irritation made wearing pants difficult

Because of Smooth Away’s different design, the writer was able to see the back of Smooth Away’s “crystal pads,” which were marked with a 3M — as in the construction materials supplier. The pads were nothing more than sandpaper!

Gadgeteer’s writer concluded that the product does work, but it’s mighty uncomfortable.

The Bottom Line On Nina Silk

If you’re used to having salon-smooth skin and want to save on cost, Nina Silk may be an affordable option. The time it takes to buff away hair is certainly less than commuting to an appointment — not to mention the comfort of removing hair in your own home.

However, if you have sensitive skin, buffing the surface with “crystals” (that may essentially be fine-grain sandpaper) may not help your complexion. Additionally, those who have diabetes or skin problems should consult with a doctor before using abrasive measures to remove hair.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Customer Reviews for Nina Silk

Average Customer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 7
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Loving it

    • Watsonia, Victoria,
    • Feb 4, 2016

    I love it. All you complaining ain't doing it right. It's great, even my partner can do it for me. I don't get irritated skin, can't cut myself and my legs feel great afterwards. Forget about shaving and waxing, this is pain free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Jan 5, 2016

    I purchased a Nina Silk about a month ago. Never again will I spend this on my legs and it didn't even remove half the hair. Very disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Works for me.

    • Lommel, Netherlands,
    • Dec 27, 2015

    I love this system! I have eczema so my legs are almost always itchy and I get a lot of ingrown hairs. With this, I buff away enough dead skin that my legs clear up quite a bit. No itch, no hair, and my legs are very smooth!

    Oh, and it took about the same amount of time as shaving, for me. Maybe people complained about the time spent aren't doing it right?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Brisbane, Australia ,
    • Nov 2, 2015

    I bought a Nina Silk a couple weeks ago and tried it out and it took a lot of effort to use it. It only shaves the hair. So it's easier to get waxed or shave instead of using that. Save your money, it's not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Adelaide, Australia,
    • Nov 2, 2015

    A lady at the stand selling this tried it out on me and did small areas on both arms. Five years later, the hair is darker and thicker on those very spots. Do NOT buy this unless you want darker and thicker regrowth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 15 people found this review helpful

    It works great

    • Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia,
    • Oct 25, 2015

    Being a gay guy, I like to keep my skin looking smooth & young I find that the Nina Silk works for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Nice product

    • Duffel, Belgium,
    • Oct 3, 2015

    I've used Nina Silk for six months already and it's working great for me so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 47 out 49 people found this review helpful

    If It Sounds Too Good To Be True

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Sep 24, 2015

    If it sounds too good to be true then it usually is. This product is falsely advertised, how do these companies get away with it. I thought companies could be sued for false advertising. Besides my razor shaves in half the time it takes to remove unwanted hair. I thought I would give it a go because of what was shown in the ad to remove the hair from the root, but found that it only cuts it off from the surface. I feel totally disappointed about the lack of honesty and I am disgusted that companies have to go to these extremes just to make money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Awesome!

    • Finley, New South Wales, Australia,
    • Sep 22, 2015

    I have had very sensitive skin for a long long time. Every time I tried shaving I would end up with a very nasty looking rash. When I waxed my skin and then would pull off the wax with a wax, I would always end up with legs that looked as if I had the measles.

    Well, when I would use the Nina Silk, there was no rash and no skin missing. I have given a couple of the units to a friend who has graves disease and has hair growing where it shouldn't be. The first time she used it, she used no creams, shaving gels, or foams. She said it was the first time she felt like a woman again for a very long time This is well worth the money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    It took a long long time to remove a small amount of hair. Great for exfoliating your skin though. Probably a fine sandpaper block would do the same job. The small facial wands were sharp blades in a pretty holder. Waste of money. I sent the product back the same day for a refund. Still cost me the initial $9.95 delivery charge and $7.00 to return the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Great usefull product

    • Belgium,
    • Aug 21, 2015

    It works very fine for me. I was really surprised from the result. Much better than shaving because my skin feels very soft after doing it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a review for Nina Silk!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review