About NuWave Oven

A product of Healthware, Inc. and based out of Libertyville, IL, the NuWave Oven Pro is an “As Seen on TV” countertop oven that uses infrared heat to cook your food up to 3x faster – and healthier – than conventional ovens. Whether you’re cooking, broiling, roasting, grilling, baking, barbecuing, steaming, dehydrating, or air-frying (similar to the AirWave Fryer), the makers of the NuWave Oven claim that no defrosting or preheating is necessary, and it helps you save money on energy costs by using up to 85% less energy. As such, the company’s website claims that the NuWave Oven has sold more than three million units, and is the number one countertop oven in the U.S.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

The NuWave Oven has gained a fairly high amount of publicity, having been featured on ABC, CNBC, FOX, Good Morning America, and more. Even though Healthware, Inc. has specialized in a variety of countertop kitchen products since 1997, they currently hold an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, with a total of 1284 filed complaints within the past three years. Of these complaints, the majority appear to be related to problems with services/products and advertising issues.

How the NuWave Oven Pro Works & Features

When compared to conventional ovens, the makers of the NuWave Oven claim its Triple Combo Cooking Power is what makes it so unique and powerful, which consists of the following:

  • Conduction – Direct heat, much like a conventional oven.
  • Convection – Uses a fan to circulate hot air around your food.
  • Infrared – Penetrates your food, and simultaneously cooks it from the inside and the outside.

According to the company, this Triple Combo Cooking Power results in food that is evenly cooked, and is always crispy on the outside and moist and juicy on the inside. In addition, you can begin cooking frozen foods, without drying them out like a traditional microwave.

Getting started with the NuWave Oven is simple and easy. First, you place your food into the oven. Then, set your timer based on the food type, whether or not it is frozen, as well as total weight. The oven’s power level will be set to 10 by default, but can be adjusted to whatever you need. One nice feature about the NuWave Oven is that it will automatically shut itself off once cooking is complete, so that you don’t have to worry about it continuously running like a conventional oven. Also, because it doesn’t require any preheating or venting, it won’t heat up your kitchen, and all the heat is focused on cooking your food to perfection. It’s important to note that your oven will come with a reference sheet/guide that explains what power levels and times are best for different types of foods, whether or not it is frozen, weight, and several other attributes. This is intended to help ensure the best possible cooking results, and if it’s not followed, your food may not turn out like you intended.

The NuWave Oven comes with a total of 10 power settings, with “HI” being the maximum, which roughly translates to about 350 degrees in a standard oven. Unlike a traditional oven though, your food will cook very quickly due to the Triple Combo Cooking Power. For example: a 10lb frozen turkey will roast in about 2.5 hours. In order to avoid any cooking confusion, your oven will come with a handy power level/temperature equivalency chart.

Once you’re finished cooking, you NuWave Oven is completely dishwasher safe (with the exception of the power head), allowing for quick and easy cleanup. However, it’s highly recommended that you set your dishwasher to “air dry” in order to avoid damaging your oven.

Can the NuWave Oven Help You Stay Healthy as Promised?

According to the manufacturer, the NuWave Oven helps promote good health, as it helps to reduce cholesterol and to aid in digestion. This is because their proprietary cooking technology helps keep your food juicy and moist, so you’ll be less likely to add fats or oils while cooking your food, or grease or fatty sauces after it’s complete.

With this said, the NuWave Oven will not have a direct influence on your health like a weight loss product would, since you always make the decision as to which foods you’ll cook. In other words, you can still cook unhealthy foods. However, if you’re already cooking healthy meals, the NuWave oven will support this decision by draining unhealthy oils while it cooks.

So, can the NuWave Oven really help you stay healthy? Perhaps it’s best to think of it this way: The NuWave Oven simply acts as a tool to help support your healthy cooking choices, which can ultimately help you lose weight. Just like with any other cooking device, if you choose to prepare healthy, low-fat foods, you’ll increase your chances of losing weight. In this way, the NuWave Oven can help you live a healthier life, but only if you make the conscious decision to do so first.

NuWave Oven Pricing & Return Policy

The NuWave Oven is available from a wide variety of retailers, including Macy’s, Walmart, Bed Bath & Beyond, and more, and ranges in price from $120-$160. However, if purchased directly from the manufacturer, it will cost you $120, or three separate payments of $39.95, in addition to $29.95 shipping and handling. This will also give you the opportunity to purchase a second NuWave Oven¾just pay an additional $29.95 shipping and handling.

However, if you go this route, there are two red flags that we noticed during our research:

  1. When you click on the “Buy One Get One Free” special offer on their home page, you’ll be redirected to a checkout section that will only display one oven, without the option to add a second.
  2. In addition, you won’t be given the opportunity to make a full payment, but instead will only be able to choose the three-payment option.

If you decide to proceed with your purchase directly from the manufacturer’s website, you’ll pay $69.90 upfront ($39.95 for the first payment, plus $29.95 shipping and handling), and will then be billed two follow up installments of $39.95 every 30 days thereafter. In other words, after your initial payment, you’ll have your NuWave Oven paid off in 60 days. With all this said, we would recommend calling the company directly at 1-800-809-4035 to place your order.

The NuWave Oven comes with a 90-day money back guarantee, though you likely won’t receive any of your shipping and handling charges back, and you’ll have to incur additional charges to ship the item back to the manufacturer. Because of this, we would recommend purchasing your NuWave Oven from your local Macy’s or Walmart in order to avoid additional shipping charges, as well as the hassle of returning it should you be dissatisfied with its performance.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Customer Reviews for NuWave Oven

Average Customer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 10 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 4
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • Check credibility of company with Better Business Bureau before buying

    I wish I would have checked with the Better Business Bureau before buying. Additional prices added on, and the delivered price was doubled from the ordering price. The customer service personnel were terrible when I called to discuss order pricing.

    The oven is falsely advertised and does not do what it is supposed to. Cooking times took much longer, and the finished product was not appealing. It was the worse investment that I ever made. It was not worth keeping, but I can't afford to return for a refund. The company should not be allowed to continue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Angry customer

    They have lousy customer service.

    I called, and almost half an hour later, I was still waiting for someone to hear my complaint, and I'm on a cell phone. This was after I waited for the second dome for my oven to arrive, which I was told was better and stronger, but it's not!

    Why can't they do what they claim and not charge me again for another dome? They should send it to me and stand by their product. And they don't pay for shipping either!

    I am still waiting, and it's over half an hour now, and I'm getting more disgusted!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great cooker!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 27, 2017

    I bought my NuWave Pro Plus about a month ago (12/17/2016) from Amazon.com. It does everything the TV advertisements said it does. I have seen a BIG difference in the steaks, pork, and chicken I eat now without the grease, and I simply love it!

    The only downside, to me, is the cleaning of the grill. If you don't clean it pretty quick, it's a pretty tough job. I would definitely recommend the NuWave Pro Plus to anybody that asks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Nuwave nightmare

    I bought this oven a little over a month ago and it cracked already. I was told the replacement dome is now a different size (smaller). I will need to replace the cooking rack as well and will be charged $35.00 plus shipping and handling. From all the other reviews this is a common problem. I am sorry I wasted my money. Thankfully the store where I bought it is giving me a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    The Best

    I was sitting in a business one day and one of those darned infomercials was on the TV and they were demonstrating the NuWave oven. I got hooked. Long story short, I bought one and absolutely love it! Whole chickens and pork roasts come out extremely juicy. Brats are just like on the grill and hamburgers are perfect. I've even done meatloaf in a pan in it. I wouldn't be without the darned thing. Hardly ever use the regular oven anymore.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Unresponsive customer service

    • Barrington, RI,
    • Oct 9, 2016

    I originally enjoyed my Nuwave until (once per day using it), it just stops working. I called customer service and asked for a replacement. I was asked to send the broken top part (the only part with defective motor) in order to not be charged. I agreed.

    Two months later I realized I had stored away a broken oven and never received the replacement. I contacted customer service and asked to return my item under the 90-day guaranty. They sent me emails back and forth for over a week trying to convince me to keep the device for "birthday or Christmas gifts". I said I would not gift an item that breaks in less than a week. Finally after this back and forth he advises me what the return address is and that I am responsible for shipping and tracking.

    I would have no problem doing this except I had already paid shipping for the oven to be delivered and for the "free gifts" that cost $29.95 each. I asked for a supervisor and the supervisor told me the same thing. Too bad, pay the $100+ shipping charge to return or keep the item for gifts. The supervisor has yet to get back to me for another week and I am so disgusted I would rather keep the ovens and junk them myself.

    The broken highly over priced junk and horrible "customer service" remind me what I hate about the world.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    LOVE, my NuWave air fryer.

    I saw the NuWave on TV and it looked too good to be true. I thought about it for a few days and then decided to check out some reviews. I was pretty sold on it just reading the reviews.

    I went out and bought one at Bath bed and beyond.

    I love it! I Did fries chicken and fried pickles in it and it was just like my food was fried in oil. I am sold. So many fewer calories in my food. I love fried foods so this is a life saver for me in cutting back on calories. I can't wait to try some new recipes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Love this product!

    • New Jersey,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    The NuWave cooker is EXCELLENT! I have a small kitchen, and bought a Kitchenaide Gas/Convection Stove. I think it's too much stove for my kitchen, just turning on one burner brought my kitchen to close to 100 degrees. The NuWave solves that problem. I have four of them! Only downside is that induction-ready cookware is a bit expensive, but WORTH it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Only goes to 350°

    • Derry, NH,
    • Dec 17, 2015

    I love using the NuWave Oven, but it only goes to 350°. It does not air fry as well as the older models. I had a Walmart generic version called the Big Boss and it went to 425° which cooked fish much better and faster. It now takes 20 to 30 minutes to air fry fish depending on the size of the fish. With the older model I could do it in 15 minutes. In the regular oven, at 425°, the fish will take about 20 minutes to cook. This means the NuWave Oven is slower than the regular oven. I still love the unit, but wish it could cook hotter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • York, PA,
    • Nov 1, 2015

    This sucker does everything and does it faster! I've had this oven for over a year and absolutely love it, so easy and convenient.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I'm very happy with it, except for one thing.

    • New England,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    When my $3,000 Thermador over hit the skids, I bought the buy one/get one NuWave to get me through until I had enough cash to fix my oven. As far as the cooking capabilities, the size is a little small, but I love it. Everything roasts/bakes really nicely except for baked goods. So I don't use it for most pies/cakes, breads, etc. Meats and veggies, though, cook very nicely. The big drawback is the early dome death, which has had many complaints. The plastic dome lasted about a year or less for me (I use it every day). For some people it seems to last a shorter period. It's expensive to replace ($50, I think), and you can get an upgrade but that's even more expensive. I'd rather have paid slightly more at the beginning for the better dome. It's a stupid policy, as it's generated a lot of bad press. But overall, for the price of the unit, it's really a great little oven.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 1, 2016

      Rich

      I had the same problem with an earlier version called the Flavorwave. Same plastic dome, same type of conduction heating. I bought my last two from Target online from Sunpentown for under $100 shipping included. It's all Pyrex glass, top and bottom, plus it can heat up to 425 degrees. There are better options out there than the hype from Nuwave and similar plastic domed cookers.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a review for NuWave Oven!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review