About Omax3

Developed by physicians associated with Yale University, omax3 claims to be an “ultra-pure” omega-3 supplement that contains “nearly 100% potency and purity,” and is easy to swallow. In addition, the manufacturer claims that omax3 caused no fishy aftertaste, and is 100% contaminant free.

Omax3 is manufactured by Prevention Pharmaceuticals, Inc. based out of Lambertville, NJ, and is not listed with the Better Business Bureau. Most online reviews regarding the supplement itself appear to be from independent bloggers who received a free sample of omax3 in exchange for a review. However, we were able to find several uncompensated online reviews, all of which appeared to be positive, with no common complaints.

How omax3 Works

According to the omax3 website, most people don’t get enough omega-3s, which contain the essential fatty acids EPA and DHA, from their diet. These nutrients are an important part of overall health, as they improve heart, joint, eye, and brain health, balance your body’s inflammatory response, and reduce triglyceride levels. To put this in perspective, one dose of omax3 is claimed to contain the same omega-3 content as 16 krill oil softgels.

With this in mind, the product’s website claims that most store-bought omega-3 supplements only include 30-60% omega-3, while omax3 contains “nearly 100%.” On top of this, the product is claimed to be easy to swallow, to cause no fishy odor or aftertaste, and to be 100% contaminant free—especially when it comes to saturated fats.

In fact, omax3 is claimed to have “nearly 100% potency and purity,” and to be double distilled, which removes omega-6 fatty acids, as well as fish-related contaminants such as mercury, lead, and PCBs. To prove this point, a video on the product’s website shows several frozen omax3 softgels next to a competitor’s. After taking a closer look, the omax3 capsules are completely clear, while the competitor’s have turned cloudy. According to the company, this cloudiness is a result of all the impurities, which are not contained in omax3.

The ingredient list for omax3 contains only the following:

  • Vitamin E 10 IU
  • Omega-3 Fatty Acids 1.5g

All Omax3 batches are third-party tested to ensure purity, and in order to begin experiencing benefits, you’ll simply need to take 2 softgels daily. According to the company’s website, omax3 cause no known side effects.

Omax3 Pricing & Refund Policy

While omax3 is available through GNC, Amazon.com, Drugstore.com, and many other online retailers, if purchased directly through the manufacturer, you’ll have two options:

  • 1 Month Supply (60 softgels): $47.95
  • 3 Month Supply (180 softgels): $95.90

No return or refund information is listed on the omax3 website, so you may need to contact customer service at 800-794-6629 or omax3.CustomerCare@PrevPharm.com to inquire about this prior to purchasing. If purchased elsewhere, refund policies will vary by retailer.

Bottom Line: Is Omax3 a Scam?

According to WebMD, omega-3s have been demonstrated time and time again to have a wide variety of health benefits. However, WebMD also claims that it’s best to obtain omega-3s directly through fish, instead of through a supplement. With this in mind though, omax3 is claimed to be derived from anchovies and sardines, which are shown to be some of the best fish from which to obtain omega-3s.

Based on our research, it appears that omax3 was previously manufactured by Cenestra Health, LLC, which changed to Prevention Pharmaceuticals sometime between May and August of 2011. While Prevention Pharmaceuticals claims to manufacture only “patented and clinically proven products which have been tested on humans to demonstrate their claimed health benefits,” we were unable to uncover any additional information as to why this occurred.

Finally, most online omax3 reviews appear to be from independent bloggers who received a sample of the supplement for free. However, we were able to find several uncompensated reviews online, all of which appeared to be positive, with no common complaints.

Bottom line: If you’re going to begin taking an omega-3 supplement, omax3 appears to be a solid choice. However, keep in mind that you should always consult with your physician before beginning any new supplement regimen.

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Customer Reviews for Omax3

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 5 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 20
Bottom Line: 39% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Rip Off - $50.00 Restocking Fee

    My husband and I both have high cholesterol and joint pain, so the ad on TV caught our attention. I called to order and was informed that I really needed the vitamin D to make the fish oil absorb more efficiently. I ordered a 6 month supply of both.

    After taking the product for 6 months, our joint pain has not decreased and my blood work shows my cholesterol is higher than ever.

    I called to cancel the automatic shipment and to return the unopened second box. The customer service rep informed me there is a $50.00 re-stocking fee. This is absolutely ridiculous. Not only does the product not work, in fact in my case made matters worse, but they want that much money to re-stock?

    Please do not trust this company. I would rate them with a negative star if possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Works but beware

    • Ypsilanti, MI,
    • Jul 18, 2016

    This product is great and really worked to ease my joint pain but the pain is back since I discontinued using OMAX3.

    Why would I quit using this miracle product? Unfortunately, if using for joint pain, one must take 4 of the capsules a day and I can't afford the product.

    I told the person with whom I initially placed my order repeatedly that I was talking this for joint pain and he said nothing about doubling my order to take pet instructions. Imagine my surprise and disappointment when I read the instructions.

    I am currently looking for an affordable alternative.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 63 out 69 people found this review helpful

    Omax3 policies will make you sick

    • Denver, CO,
    • Mar 28, 2016

    Was very wary when I decided to do the 30 day trial when they kept asking that I understood that I would be charged if I did not cancel within the 30 day period. Decided (unfortunately) to proceed with the trial.

    The product was very similar to the omega product I was getting from Purity Products (a very good company BTW) so decided to cancel the future order. Most mail order companies have 24/7 customer service, but when I called on Sunday to cancel (day 29) I got a recorded message. I left my cancellation on their voicemail system. You probably have guessed by now I received the second shipment anyway. When I called to find out why I was told that cancellations could not be made via voicemail. I said that the voicemail message did not state that. So, they wanted to charge me a re-stocking fee of 32%.

    I have disputed the charge as fraud. I am sure they are very practiced at dealing with these disputes, so I am not optimistic, but don't like people that do business this way to get away with what in my opinion is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 30, 2016

      Howdy

      Why wait until day 29? No mention of the product you probably got for just shipping costs.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 56 out 57 people found this review helpful

    Omax3

    • West Virginia,
    • Mar 22, 2016

    I had a friend order this product through the phone (she has no internet) and she decided to cancel within 2 days of ordering! The cost was going to be too much for each month and she decided to try a different route! When she canceled, she was not told she had to cancel the doctor on call or any other "items". She was "fast talked" into purchasing. So when she found a charge of $24.95 for this on her credit card bill she was unhappy! She was charged for this service she didn't request and she didn't remember ANY of these "extras". After calling all morning yesterday, she was finally able to get the right number and cancel this service. These people who run this website, or the phones need to talk slower and advise people what exactly they are signing up for!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Great for winter depression

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 28, 2016

    I have always had Seasonal Effective Disorder (SAD) (aka winter depression, not linked to year-round depression), and this winter, I have been managing it with strategic, almost excessive (but not quite), use of Biotech's D3 50,000 IU (taking three doses, four times a week). I take Cal-Mag daily, which helps the body absorb D3, and helps prevent bone density loss from birth control. Anyway, I found a bunch of studies showing that Omega 3 with high EPA and low DHA are super beneficial to SAD. Within a week of adding this into my vitamin regimen, I noticed a difference in my overall mood/outlook. I'm very sensitive to serotonin fluctuations, so this was great.

    Sadly, the price has jumped $20 (I paid $32, but it's now $49) in the three weeks since I bought it first. I'm still going to shell it out, though. The way I see it, I just need it for four to five months a year, so it's definitely worth it, and way better than paying for chemical SSRIs!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Omax3 expensive poison

    • Austin,mn,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    Several of the foil packs are very impure. One smelled up the room of dead fish in foam and others smelled like turpentine. It was sickening. This product should be ashamed of the claim to be pure. I requested a refund since these were six months before expectation. Do not buy this product. Fish Oil at the drugstore is better than this junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Feel better

    I've been taking Omax3 for a year now. I never felt better. I'm telling everyone to try it. It really does work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 27, 2016

      Doris

      Thanks for the comment. I do not have a problem with this product and it keeps my triglycerides low.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Crooks. Don't Buy.

    • Jan 20, 2016

    The product does NOT work. Don't order. Extremely skilled sales people who care nothing about your health, only getting your money. In common with other reviews; I was set up for 6 month autoship, no longer wanted the product because it did not work, and was told I would receive a refund, but will be charged a $42.25 restocking fee after 3-4 weeks of processing.

    The customer service manager was disgustingly rude (yes, the manager) and I plan to expose these FRAUDS whenever given the opportunity. PLEASE don't order, save yourself some money and stress.

    The good reviews I'm certain only stem from the companies brainwashing ads that convince their prey (people in pain) that the pills will make them better; hence, mind over matter, such as a hypochondriac that convinces themselves they are sick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 12, 2016

      Marilyn

      I had a similar experience. I wanted to try the free sample sample of Omax3 but I was told that I also had to receive some of their D3 (which I told them that I did not want). After a month, I received more D3 (which I still did not want), and when I called, I was told that because I had not called again to cancel the D3 it was auto-shipped and auto-billed. They told me they would check the recorded original call and call me back, but they never did.

      They told me (no apologies, by the way) that I had two choices:

      1) get half my money back for the D3

      2) pay to ship it back to them and get my money back MINUS the restocking fee.

      Considering the time and hassle of returning the product that I never wanted in the first place (and had told them so multiple times) plus the restocking fee, I would probably only get half the money back anyway, so I opted for that choice.

      I am not unhappy with the OMax3 product, but I would never recommend buying it directly from the company. They seem to be very unethical.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Good stuff!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jan 18, 2016

    Both my husband and I started taking Omax3 last September. There was no burping or after taste. We did the freezer test. Our nails stopped splitting and grew thick. I feel it reduced inflammations.

    My husband has a lot of pain and he took more than I did. We took them every other day, forgot a few days. They're but we are going to do another round.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Rip off company

    • California,
    • Jan 10, 2016

    Omax3, whatever name they go by, is a rip off. They are not licensed by the Better Business Bureau so they can do anything they feel and nothing will be done to them. Their customer service sucks and the product is just crap. They are saying that this is the next best thing since slice bread but their product does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Dec 23, 2015

    I have severe back arthritis. I could not get out of bed without help. I cried all the time. I could not wipe myself after a bowel movement in the morning because I could not reach my buttocks. Omax3 has taken away my pain. I sprout up out of bed in the morning now. I have forgotten about my arthritis. It changed my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a review for Omax3!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review