About Optyca

Established in 1998 and based in Brooklyn, New York, Optyca (www.optyca.com) is an online eyewear retailer specializing in discounted men’s and women’s eyewear from brand name manufacturers such as Hugo Boss, Burberry, Gucci, Prada, Versace, and more. Optyca’s goal is to merge the most technologically advanced eyecare center with a boutique that offers many of the biggest names in fashion eyewear, including sunglasses.

Optyca Features

In addition to eyeglasses and sunglasses, Optyca also offers a wide variety of contact lenses, though you will first have to provide your prescription information via online form, fax, or email. Once this is on file, you can continue ordering contact lenses without having to resubmit your prescription for each subsequent order.

Optyca guarantees that all their eyeglasses will be 100% accurate, or they will make it right at no extra charge. In addition, all eyewear sold through the company is brand new and comes with full manufacturer’s warranties.

While nearly all items sold through Optyca appear to be discounted, it’s important to note that some of their big name sunglasses can be found for comparable prices through other retailers such as Sunglass Hut and FramesDirect.com.

Optyca Shipping and Return Policies

After placing an order, you have up to 24 hours to cancel without incurring any penalties (Note: This does not apply to orders for prescription lenses, which can entail a 50% cancellation fee).

Once your purchase is complete, Optyca will generally take 3-5 business days to process your order, at which point it will be shipped. After this, it can take as long as 7-10 days to receive your order, or even up to 1-3 weeks, should your order contain prescription sunglasses. On a positive note, orders of $200 or more are eligible for free shipping.

Once your order is received, you do have the option of returning an item, though it will be subject to a 20% restocking fee. If you simply wish to exchange an item, Optyca does provide customers with a one-time exchange option, as long as it is completed within 14 days of the shipping date. If you receive a defective item, you will be required to report this to the company within three days of receipt.

Pros:

  • Good deals on eyeglasses and sunglasses from some of the most fashionable brands in the industry.
  • Optyca claims that all eyewear sold are fully authentic (e.g. new).
  • 100% guaranteed accuracy for all eyeglass orders.
  • Full manufacturer warranty on all products.

Cons:

  • Many customers have complained of delayed shipping (or not receiving their order altogether), of poor/rude customer service, and of false positive reviews posted by company employees.
  • Optyca’s site contains many technical flaws, so be careful when ordering.
  • Some big name sunglasses can be found for comparable prices through retailers such as Sunglass Hut and FramesDirect.com.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Customer Reviews for Optyca

Average Customer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 11
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Very Concerned

    • Los Angeles, CA ,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I ordered some designer sunglasses from this place over two weeks ago. I have emailed them twice and called several times and no one has gotten back to me. The message always says no one is available to take my call. My credit card was charged on the day I ordered, yet two weeks later, I have yet to receive my glasses.

    I'm concerned that this a scam. I'm planning on calling my credit card company and hoping to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This people are Scam Artists, Stay Away.

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    This people are a huge scam. Everything that all other bad reviews say is happening to me. They don't answer, answered after a week saying to cancel and will charge restocking fee. It's a huge scam not answering phone and email I am going though bank to dispute. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Experience

    • Gaithersburg, MD,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    Do not order from this site. I found out about all of this companies bad reviews after I placed my order. I don't know where to start on explaining how terrible their customer service is.

    First they shipped the item to me about two weeks after they were ordered. I told them to cancel the order because I would not get it on time but they sent it anyway. Then they sent the wrong item. I sent them back three weeks ago and still cannot get in touch with them about my refund. I have been calling and emailing.

    I am going to be leaving this review on several other sites until I get my money back. Do yourself a favor and order from somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awful Experience

    • Hercules, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I ordered two items, one sunglasses and one eyeglasses on April 22. Received the items around the end of April.

    I ended up returning the eyeglasses to exchange them into a different style. The wrong eyeglasses were sent to me. Waited for 32 weeks, never received any confirmation. Called them back and I was told that I will receive new eyeglasses after two weeks. It is now July 18, and I have not received anything, and I have been leaving them voicemail messages, three times already, always being forwarded to voicemail.

    I'm not sure if they went out of business but they owe me $147 .

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I also got ripped off

    • Bedford, MA,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    I ordered Persol sunglasses on March 19, 2013 and still have not received them. I emailed them various times and around end of August 2013 and I believe I received an email from the Manager saying that they apologize and they offered me different sunglasses and that they fired the Representative who had put the ordered and who had been dealing with me.

    I have tried calling them for the past 2 months and my call goes straight to voicemail which is not accepting any messages at this time. I have no way of contacting them. They just ripped me off $140

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever

    • Jun 20, 2015

    I ordered a pair of sunglasses for my husband's birthday back in May. The sunglasses were shipped three weeks after the order was placed. At first, I canceled the order and was actually refunded my money. The glasses were later shipped after the order was canceled. I returned the glasses the same day and have been unable to get my money refunded (it is now August). The company actually sent me an email saying they were not able to refund my money and that I had to contact my credit card company and have them refund the money.

    This is the shadiest company I have ever dealt with. No one answers the telephone, phone calls are not returned, and it has been nearly impossible to have emails returned. This is the most unethical company and I urge you to NEVER order from this site. If I could, I would have given 0 stars. Worst experience ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Consumer Fraud

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    I ordered a pair of Persol sunglasses and Optyca processed my PayPal payment. Days later, I was informed by email that the item was backordered. Days after that, I was informed by email that the item was discontinued and several alternative products were suggested--none of which worked for me. I didn't realize until several weeks later that they had kept my money. PayPal wouldn't help because too much time had gone by.

    Optyca has ignored now 4 emails from me demanding a refund, and 5 months have gone by. I am an attorney. I am considering suing Optyca and seeing if I can certify a class action against it for consumer fraud. Anyone wishing to share their story can contact me at info@andantelaw.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 15, 2013

      Joel

      Same here: Order #26344... Placed it in August, now it's December. I emailed them a bunch of times, nothing.... Phone line is down. But my money wasn't taken out of my account.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Fake positive reviews on other sites, pathetic "company." Go somewhere else!

    • NYC,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    From the day I ordered my frames I was told it would take 5-10 days. After 2 weeks I was told that they were expecting a shipment for my frames within the week. Finally 4 weeks later they finally came clean and told me that my frames were in BACKORDER from day 1. Paypal dispute filed, escalated to a claim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    1st order was ok, 2nd is a nightmare

    • Clarksville, TN,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I ordered for the first time and it went pretty decent. It took a little longer than I would've liked to receive my glasses but it was a quality product. The day I received my glasses I was impressed enough to order again a second pair of glasses and a pair of sunglasses. This was on August 17th, it's now October 11th and I have only received the sunglasses, which took me emailing them 4 different times with no response until I finally received a tracking number. But it was only half of the order.

    Now I can't get anyone to return my emails or get a hold of anyone at the number listed on the website. This website is a joke of a company and I would highly advise not ordering anything from them. I placed my order on August 17th and the money was taken out of my account on August 18th and it took over a month to just get half of it.

    They are horrible and it's just not worth the risk. Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A big headache

    • Kingston, NY,
    • Sep 25, 2013

    I bought glasses from them and they sent me the wrong color and the order took a long time to arrive. I returned them, but have yet to see my refund after 30 days. I have attempted to contact them numerous times via email and phone to no avail. I had to resort to filing a dispute through my credit card company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great Sunglasses!

    • Rice Lake, WI,
    • Aug 12, 2013

    So great! I'm so excited that I found these Sunglasses for about $60 less than in the stores. And they are so adorable! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a review for Optyca!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review