About Orbitrim

Billed as “the perfect solution for the perfect yard,” the Orbitrim is a metal grass trimmer blade that’s claimed to feature a patent pending safety ring to protect flowers and trees while you’re trimming.

In addition, Orbitrim is claimed to also make edging, trimming hedges, and cutting thick, heavy grass quick and simple, while easily attaching to most gas trimmers in seconds. As such, Orbitrim claims that their revolutionary design “makes caring for your yard easier than ever.”

But once you cut through all the marketing hype, is Orbitrim worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

Orbitrim’s Unique Design

While the Orbitrim Trimmer design is unlike anything we’ve reviewed before, based on the product’s commercial, it appears that you have to come over the top of the grass in order to cut it (versus trimming/edging in a side-to-side motion with traditional string trimmers), which could take some getting used to.

And until that time, it might take several passes to achieve the same result as your trust string trimmer. Even then, we could imagine that Orbitrim might consistently miss individual blades of grass, which could quickly become frustrating if you’re especially picky about the look of your lawn.

Who Might Benefit Most by Using the Orbitrim Trimmer?

Given this, we might think that Orbitrim is ideal for those who have small, compact yards with numerous flowerbeds and other sensitive plants, where traditional lawnmowers may not fit and string trimmers may easily damage sensitive vegetation. If you’re using Orbitrim on anything larger, we could imagine that the over-and-down motion could translate into added time, as well as extra wear and tear on your arms and wrists.

And if you were inclined to use Orbitrim on one part of your yard and a traditional string trimmer on the other, taking each head off and reattaching might waste more time than it saves.

What Happens When Orbitrim Needs to Be Sharpened?

We’re not informed what type of metal Orbitrim is crafted from, or how long you can reasonably expect its sharp edges to last.

However, once the time comes, Orbitrim’s outer “safety ring” might make the sharpening process more laborious.

No Customer Feedback for Orbitrim

Orbitrim was a very new product at the time of our research (URL registered March 2015) and didn’t have any online customer reviews available.

We did learn that the manufacturer is based out of Boynton Beach, FL, although they weren’t listed with the Better Business Bureau.

Orbitrim Pricing & Refund Policy

One Orbitrim trimming blade is priced at $19.95 plus $6.95 S&H, and comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

In addition, Orbitrim is claimed to come with a lifetime guarantee, even if the damage is your fault.

In order to request a refund or process a warranty claim, you’ll need to contact customer service at 561-739-8219.

Will Orbitrim Make Your Yard Work Easier?

Chopping to the point: Overall, it appears that the main benefits associated with Orbitrim are that you 1) don’t have to constantly replace string, and 2) that you won’t have to worry about damaging flowers and other plants. However, if you have anything other than a small yard with numerous shrubs and flowerbeds, the over-and-down motion necessary to use the Orbitrim—and the fact that you’ll need a socket to change it out—might not be worth the added effort.

For additional ideas on making your yard work easier this spring and summer, be sure to read our 5 Tips For Achieving the Greenest Grass on the Block article!

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

47 Customer Reviews for Orbitrim

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  46
Showing 1-11 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Hunk of junk

    The Orbitrim is the worst trimmer head I have ever tried. It will not cut up against the house, trees, corners, or any flat service. The commercial is very misleading. On top of this, you have to pay for shipping when you go to return it. The rep will give you a $6.99 refund instead of sending it back. Right now, I have a $19.99 piece of crap. DO NOT waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy!

    This is a SCAM. This product is a total waste of money! Not only that, it endangers the engine on your string trimmer!

    Yes, it allows the engine to operate at much higher RPMS than designed. Two-stroke engines are inherently good at higher RPMS, however, when they design these products (i.e. Piston's sleeves) they use the least amount of material needed for the stresses of the designed RPMS and loads. So not only does it not work, it is damaging the engine you attached it to!

    Please save yourself the hassle research stuff before you buy it. I research everything, but unfortunately, my father-in-law doesn't, and it ended up on our string trimmer I'm not happy, and now he can't find the original string trimmer. Now I have to spend 40 bucks for a new string trimmer attachment. I might as well go buy a brand new trimmer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not worth a jug full of crap

    • Tasmania, Australia,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    How the heck could I recommend this worthless piece of crap to anyone or anything else from the GlobalShop? It is total rubbish, just ripping the old off. It looked great when it arrived in its box, but that's where it ended. How could they have the nerve to advertise such rubbish on TV?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Ditto to the other reviews!

    • Yacolt, WA,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Someone said one star is too high a rating for this product. I completely agree. I have two Stihl brush trimmers, an older FS106 and a much newer one. This will not fit properly on either, despite the manufacturer's claims. Even took it to a shop to see if they could get a good fit that didn't vibrate dangerously. No luck. It's trash. Looks like a nice idea, but beyond worthless. AND, I even bought the “deluxe” model hoping for a nice product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Don't purchase

    • Texas,
    • Apr 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Orbitrim does not cut weeds or grass between the edge of the circle and wall or whatever you're trimming against. It only cuts what is inside the circle. Do not purchase, it is a waste of money. You can have mine; I won't use it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Totally useless

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Apr 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this thinking it would be good to eliminate replacing trimmer strings and would be good for edging. After wasting 15 minutes attaching it to my Ryobi, I then wasted ten minutes trying to get it to edge our lawns. A total waste of time. It does not cut effectively (if at all, as I couldn't get it to cut anything). Do NOT waste your money on this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 67 out 67 people found this review helpful

    Orbitrim, a very dangerous and useless device

    • Perth, WA,
    • Jan 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the worst devices that I've come across. The spacers are useless and cause the trimmer to vibrate dangerously. I had to machine up a spacer on the lathe to get it sound, not an option for most.

    Now, regarding the cutting ability. First of all, it is useless on long grass or wispy dry grass. I got it to somewhat trim sound, short lawn, but what a waste of time. I tried it on a soft hedge, only to tangle and jam, which makes it (once again) useless. I tried it on a soft, small Rosemary bush and in one blink, the blade snapped on a small 5 mm piece of green wood.

    A one-star rating is far too high for this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 2, 2017

      R

      Thank you for your review. I was very dubious after seeing the advertisement, and I certainly won't purchase it after reading all of the negatives reviews. I can't find one positive review.

    • Aug 4, 2017

      bill arruda

      Who do you call to return it?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 69 out 70 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the effort

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jan 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to see a product that looked as though it would be helpful at cutting and trimming the edges around my lawn and ordered one. That is where the excitement ended. I received it in due course without any instructions on attaching it to my Ryobi trimmer. I had to google it to find suitable instructions. They were clear and concise and enabled me to attach it.

    I then started the Ryobi up and tried to do the edges near the fence and path. I then found all the design faults. It wouldn't go to the edges and left the edges and lawn looking untidy. Sparks flew from it when I touched the concrete path edges creating a fire hazard (it was a 39 degree Celsius day when I tested it). It does what the advertisement says, but it doesn't do what the user wants. The advertisement only shows part of the things that a lawn edger does. I went back to using the Ryobi supplied head. If anyone wants an OrbiTrim used once for the cost of the postage, contact me, otherwise, it's going out with the recycle rubbish.

    I have given this a one-star rating only because I can't leave it empty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 67 out 67 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this rubbish

    • Bridgetown, WA,
    • Jan 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Does not work anything like the TV ad, you have to come down on top of the weeds/ grass. You are better off with the ordinary whipper snipper, at least that does what it is meant to. Guess I deserve to lose my money for being so gullible. If some thing looks too good to be true it usually is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 82 out 82 people found this review helpful

    Orbitrim

    • Broadford Victoria, Australia,
    • Dec 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I fitted Orbitrim and it shook like crazy, it cut very short grass for about 15 seconds and kept cutting out my machine because of it being out of balance. The people that advertise this rubbish should be accountable for this B.S. They should give everybody their money back, including the freight. They should be ashamed. Don't buy this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 1, 2017

      Rob Gee

      I bought one of these, and immediately broke my new trimmer machine! It would not allow the engine to run properly. For the few seconds that it did run, it was unmanageable because it shook violently. The Orbitrim cost me $60, which is the replacement cost of the trimmer now too.

      Do yourself a big favor, give this product a very wide berth. The line trimmers don't come with solid heads, and for a good reason, because they don't work as they say they do.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 87 out 88 people found this review helpful

    Dangerous

    • Minnesota ,
    • Nov 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Orbitrim, thought it would be wonderful for weeding around our small trees. There was difficulty attaching it to our trimmer, but finally got it running. The Orbitrim worked great for short grasses but not at all for anything tall, had to try and cut from the top.

    Yesterday it started vibrating and the next thing I knew, a section of the ring flew off. We searched for quite some time and finally found the section bent and twisted.

    Ring is just formed material, not solid. Someone could have been injured if hit by this piece of metal.

    This is a great idea but it really does need more quality control. I will see how it goes getting a refund on this poorly made product. Don't imagine they would like any injury lawsuits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 47

Write a Review for Orbitrim!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review