About Perfecter Fusion Styler

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is an “As Seen on TV” all-in-one hair styler brush that claims to give you salon results in just 3 minutes, including instant shine, volume, and body. In addition, the Perfecter is claimed to fully heat in as little as one minute, and to remain cool to the touch while in use.

The Perfecter Fusion Styler was invented by stylist Maria McCool, and is manufactured by Tristar Products based out of Fairfield, NJ. This company specializes in a wide variety of “As Seen on TV” products, including the Power Cooker, Clear TV Antenna, Flex-Able Hose, and many more. Tristar holds a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 1,000 closed complaints over the past three years.

Regarding the Perfecter Fusion Styler specifically, we’ve accumulated more than 100 customer reviews about the product over the past several months, and have found that the overwhelming majority are negative. With this in mind, the most common complaints are as follows:

  • Failure to work as advertised. This includes everything from not performing properly to severe hair tangling. In fact, more than one HighYa reviewer claimed that the Perfecter Fusion Styler became so entangled in their hair that it actually had to be cut out.
  • Poor quality construction. This includes everything from suddenly ceasing to turn on after 20-30 days, to teeth breaking and falling off after a very short period of time.
  • Extreme difficulty obtaining a refund. A very common theme running throughout HighYa customer reviews includes extremely long wait times (<30 minutes), sudden hang ups, needless transfers to other departments, constant “upsells” and rebates aimed at convincing you not to process a refund, and much more. Essentially, the company appears to create as much distraction as possible prior to authorizing a refund.
  • To add insult to injury, even once the manufacturer has signed for the package, numerous complaints claimed that the company will deny ever having received it. More often than not, customers appear to have addressed the problem with their credit card company long before a solution was offered by the manufacturer (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).
  • Finally, several customers even claimed that their credit card information was compromised soon after placing their order, which resulted in hundreds of dollars in fraudulent charges (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

How the Perfecter Fusion Styler Works

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is claimed to combine a curling iron, flat iron straightener, dryer, and heated round brush into one easy to use device. In fact, the manufacturer claims that the Perfecter is “the most revolutionary, new hair care tool ever invented,” and that its fusion styling technology results in ceramic heat that helps shine and smooth your hair, while the ionic technology helps fight frizz, hydrate, and heal your hair.

See Also: Five Mistakes You Should Avoid to Prevent Damaged Hair

The Perfecter Fusion Styler can be used on two temperature settings: Low (356 degrees) for thin or fine hair, and high (392 degrees) for thick or coarse hair. Despite this heat, the Perfecter website claims that the bristles never become hot to the touch, which even allows you to use both hands for greater styling control.

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is claimed work with all hair types, and to be as easy to use as brushing your hair.

Perfecter Fusion Styler Pricing & Refund Policy

The Perfecter Fusion Styler is priced at three payments of $33.33 (total of $99.99), plus free shipping and handling. On top of this, you’ll also receive three free gifts (a $40 claimed value):

  • Thermal travel case
  • Detangle brush
  • 3 styling clips

In addition, you’ll also be able to enroll in the Calista Tools autoship program, which means you’ll receive one bottle of Achieve 10 styling cream for just $7.99 S&H. Beginning 30 days from your original order, you’ll start receiving a new bottle of Achieve 10 once per month, and your credit card will be charged $19.99 each time.

Next, you can also choose an extended 2-year warranty for $3.99 per payment ($11.97 single pay), or a 4-year warranty for $6.99 per payment ($20.97 single pay). Keep in mind that if you’re a CT, NJ, NV, NY, or PA resident, you’ll also be subject to state sales tax.

Finally, you can pay an additional $14.99 for FedEx Express shipping, $19.99 for 2-Day, and $29.99 for Overnight.

All Perfecter Fusion Stylers come with a 60-day, “no questions asked” money back guarantee (see more about this in the following section). Unfortunately, no other information about this guarantee is provided on the product’s website.

Bottom Line: Is the Perfecter Fusion Styler a Scam?

Based on our research, as well as the more than 100 Perfecter Fusion Styler customers who took the time to write a review on HighYa, we feel fairly confident stating that the product is a scam. As we noted above, the vast majority of HighYa reviews give the product just one star, and include complaints of poor quality, failure to work as advertised, extraordinarily bad customer service, fraudulent credit card charges, and an almost impossible ability to receive a refund. While this is a common occurrence for “As Seen on TV” products, and there are only a handful of manufacturers for thousands of products, it seems to be especially bad with the Perfecter Fusion Styler.

Furthermore, as we mentioned in our Perfecter Fusion Styler article, most hair devices intended to perform more than one function often fail to do any of them adequately. In layman’s terms, they just don’t work, and the Perfecter appears to be no different.

After all is said and done, we strongly recommend against placing an order for the Perfecter Fusion Styler. Based on the hundreds of customer reviews we’ve encountered during our research—both on HighYa and elsewhere—it doesn’t work like you may think it does, it won’t last very long, and you’ll likely throw your hands up in frustration long before successfully obtaining a refund. Instead, save your time and your hard-earned money.

166 Customer Reviews for Perfecter Fusion Styler

Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 24 4 stars: 11 3 stars: 7 2 stars: 17 1 stars: 107
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 166
Sort reviews by:

  • Teeth

    • by Helen Maxwell,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 23, 2015

    It is not a bad product and usually works for me. However, all the teeth are breaking and falling out. I would like to find out where to get new teeth units. If I could get these units, I would give a higher rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Review for the Perfecter

    • by Jamila,
    • Fayetteville, AR,
    • Mar 19, 2015

    I wish I could review this product. I ordered it middle of February and I've been calling customer service ever since to try to figure out where my item is. Needless to say, their customer service is very sorry. I asked for a supervisor during three calls and just got transferred to one who still would not fix my order or tell me anything about it. So needless to say I can't tell you whether the product works or not. I wish I could, it would have been nice to get what I ordered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I have curly, frizzy hair and hoped the Perfecter would turn it into smooth, lustrous locks...

    • by Elizabeth,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Mar 13, 2015

    At my husband's insistence, I grew my hair long (below my shoulders). I have a lot of natural body and curl which tends to be frizzy. I got a salon cut and style which involved using a big round brush, a blow-dryer and a curling iron.

    In an effort to mimic the salon style, I went out and purchased the above equipment. I was able to master the blow drying with the brush easily but the curling iron was a nightmare. I always had it in the wrong direction and was petrified I would burn myself.

    I bought the Perfecter (at a store) as an alternative to the curling iron and with the hope that I would smooth my frizzy hair as well as give me the finishing curls. I got 1 out of the 2. While the Perfecter is full of crap when it claims to use ions to smooth frizzy hair, it does allow me to style my ends without any fear of burning myself.

    It does heat up quickly, it is super easy to use although I do have to be careful not to get my hair tangled in it. I am very happy with what it can do for me in finishing the styling of my hair because my look is not achieved with just blow drying, the curling piece has to happen. The Perfecter allows me to curl my hair without worrying what direction my hand is facing, it combs through my hair and I never, ever have to worry about getting burned!

    So 1 out of 2 is good enough for me. I have had my Perfecter for over 6 months with no problems with its functioning. I would buy it again (from a store not from the website).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scam in my opinion.

    • by Anonymous,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Mar 9, 2015

    What a joke. I am pretty well convinced that anything like this advertised on TV is not worth buying. I have thin fine short hair and I get better results with my fingers! I am returning it. MAYBE if the thing was not so big round it "might" work but one size does NOT fit all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Attempts to return took over a year!

    • by Julie,
    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Mar 8, 2015

    After ordering and attempting to return month after month, they continue to offer styling products in an attempt to make me keep the product. After numerous back and fourths, I finally got a return code (once I began threatening legal action), I mailed back. They received the Perfecter on 02/17/2015 and I called three times before and they finally admitted they received the return. I called on 3/2/2015 and a supervisor told me she was issuing my credit to post in 3-5 business days. Well there's no sign of credit yet! Do NOT order from this infomercial because the same products are offered on QVC where at least you have no questions asked if you want to return something. Lesson learned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • DOESN'T WORK AS ADVERTISED

    • by Mary,
    • Fayetteville, AR,
    • Mar 7, 2015

    This product does not work as shown on TV. My InStyler works much better. The Perfecter left lumps in my hair resulting in it not being smooth. The curl at the ends fell out right away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Defective product

    I purchased this product and really liked it. Unfortunately, it just quit working 8 months later. I called them and they gave me a return authorization which I did and fully expected them to replace the product. In my opinion a product should last at least a year. Particularly a $100 product. I waited and waited and eventually called. They told me they only warranty 60 days (or perhaps it was 90) and that I could have purchased a longer warranty. Well forget that. I told them you should have a product that at least lasts one year. Truthfully it should last longer than one year. Bad product and they don't stand behind it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love it when it works

    • by Libby Parkerson,
    • Charlotte NC,
    • Feb 24, 2015

    I love the product but it only lasted 2 months (not using it every day). The customer service department is terrible. They do not stand behind their product. Bet the executives of the company do not know this.

    Shame shame shame! God help customer service. Wish the perfecter would work. I love and miss getting good results on my hair but cannot afford to replace it after short time of use.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Poor Quality, Poor Customer Service

    • by MKEL,
    • LaGrange IL,
    • Feb 23, 2015

    I too fell victim to this scam. I tried to return it as I didn't feel it lived up to its styling promises, but they sent me conditioner and said that would fix it - it didn't.

    It is now impossible to get through to customer service, and all e-mail addresses I could find are coming back as undeliverable.

    My problem is that the teeth are falling out, and I asked if there is a replacement sleeve I can get - was told no, but they would sell me another unit - REALLY?

    So this doesn't work as promised, and they do not stand behind their product at all. Impossible customer service and a big waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Tangles In long hair

    • by Mary,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 22, 2015

    Bought for use on my grand-daugher's long hair. Almost had to cut her hair to get it out. I ended up selling it to someone for $10.00

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Cheaply Made

    • by Barbara V.,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 11, 2015

    I bought the hair Perfecter about a year ago. I liked it for about a year, and then the bristles started falling out. As of now, I don't use it because more than half of the bristles are gone. What's funny, is that I have a similar curling iron (smaller) with bristles that I've had for about ten years, which I paid about ten dollars for, and it has not lost one bristle to date. Very cheaply made. Would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 166

Write a review for Perfecter Fusion Styler!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review