About Persopo

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 27, 2017

Persopo is an online people search service that aggregates public records from federal, state, and county government agencies and delivers it to customers in a fast, safe, and affordable manner, so that they can make more informed decisions about new individuals they meet.

Persopo claims to make it easy to find detailed and important information about anyone using data from all 50 states, including criminal, arrest, and police records, marriage records, background details, and contact information.

This way, Persopo claims you can locate long lost friends and family, find out more about your neighbors, learn if sex offenders live near you, and even protect yourself from dating fraud.

How Does Persopo Work?

In order to begin using Persopo, you simply need to enter the person’s full name, their city, as well as their state on the home page, and then press Search. According to the company, your query will always remain completely confidential, and their top-notch customer care team is always available to help if you have questions.

Once complete, Persopo will display matching results, including the person’s name, age, location, and possible relatives. Then, once you click on the Access Report button, you’ll need to answer three security questions to verify that:

  1. You’re 18 or over and a legal citizen of the U.S.
  2. You agree not to use the information for employment decisions.
  3. You agree not to use the information to blackmail anyone.

Finally, you’ll be required to enter your email address and choose a membership package (more about this in the Pricing section) in order to view the report. Persopo claims that each of their membership options includes unlimited searches and comes with zero hidden fees.

Making personal connections with others is one of the biggest joys in life. But whether you’re looking for someone with whom you lost contact long ago, or to check up on a new person you’re dating, are Persopo’s services worth your hard-earned money? Consider the following:

Where Does Persopo Pull Its Information From?

Similar to other people search companies such as Instant Checkmate, SpyFly, and BeenVerified, Persopo aggregates public records information and combines it into an easy to read report.

The information Persopo pulls includes “documents or pieces of information that are not considered confidential,” and are widely available to anyone with online access. In other words, you have the ability find this information yourself elsewhere, for free.

With this said, the primary benefit that many people search companies claim to provide is saving you the time and hassle of visiting dozens of different state, county, and city websites, and scouring their databases for the exact information you need. Instead, they claim to provide the information you’re looking for in seconds, and to display it a simple report.

Is There Anything that Persopo Can’t Be Used For?

Persopo is not classified as a Consumer Reporting Agency, which means the information you obtain from their site cannot be used for employment, credit or insurance eligibility (including student loans and/or scholarship eligibility), or tenancy.

Instead, if you need information related to any of these services, you’ll have to use a reporting agency approved by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Are Customers Pleased with Persopo’s Services?

Since writing our original article, 15 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Persopo, giving the company an average rating of one star. In general, most complaints appeared related to inaccurate or incomplete information in reports, along with recurring monthly charges after an initial trial.

The company had a similar rating on SiteJabber among nearly 100 customer reviews, many of which mirrored those found here on HighYa.

Despite this, Persopo had an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 46 reviews and nearly 70 closed complaints, as of 6/7/17.

With this in mind, it’s important to note that most of the complaints listed against the company are nearly identical to the other people search companies we’ve written about, and aren’t unique to Persopo.

It seems Persopo is focused on improving this type of feedback, though, as a representative reached out to us directly, writing:

“Persopo.com gathers records from federal, state, and county government agencies that hold public records. Unfortunately, we’re not the source of the information, so we can’t guarantee what will or will not be returned.

We have not gone blind to the negative feedback and are improving customer relations all the time.”

How Much Does Persopo Cost?

Persopo’s services are available through three different membership packages:

  • 1 Month: $19.93/mo
  • 3 Months: $14.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $44.79
  • 6 Months: $9.93/mo, paid in full upfront at $59.58

All membership options include unlimited searches. Remember that your membership will automatically renew when the time comes, so you’ll need to contact the company to cancel in order to prevent this from recurring.

Important note: Unlike many of the other people search companies we’ve reviewed, based on customer feedback, it doesn’t appear that Persopo nickel-and-dimes you for anything beyond basic information.

However, many customers complained that their report took 72 hours (or longer) to be sent to them after performing their initial search. In fact, several customers complained that they never received their reports at all.

According to Persopo, they offer a guaranteed 100% no hassle and no haggle cancellation process. Regarding refunds, the company representative who reached out to us noted: “Each case is different, but the emphasis is always on making the customer happy.”

In order to cancel your Persopo membership, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-371-2590 or support@persopo.com.

What’s Our Bottom Line About Persopo?

Chopping to the point: In The Problem With Online People Searches, we noted that, since these services pull information from public sources, there are methods of obtaining much of the same information for free—although it might require more time and effort than offered by one of these reports.

Furthermore, it’s been our experience, whether here on HighYa or elsewhere online, that the majority of customer responses to these services have been negative, with frequent complaints citing incomplete/incorrect information in reports and recurring monthly subscriptions.

On the other hand, with think it speaks volumes that a Persopo representative reached out to us directly, noting that they’re actively working on improving this seeming customer dissatisfaction. Here’s what they told us:

“Our goal at Persopo.com is to ensure every customer fully understands what we do, and the reality of the situation, so that every customer, whether they continue to be so or not, never leave with a feeling of being cheated.”

On top of this, it appears that Persopo is willing to offer refunds on a case-by-case basis, so you might not have much more to lose than a few minutes of your time by giving them a try.

Did Persopo’s report deliver the information you were looking for? If not, were you able to process a refund through customer service? Talk about your experience in your very own review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Customer Reviews for Persopo

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Persopo gives you false numbers to call so you can't cancel your subscription.

    • West Virginia,
    • May 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not satisfied at all with Persopo. I called the number they provided to cancel your monthly subscription. This number they provided me with (1-800-371-2590) takes you on a roller coaster ride of advertisements and free offers. Then after staying on the phone with this crap for 20 minutes listening, they then get on and tell you that this number is no longer in service in my area. They give me another number to call to cancel my subscription (1-800-712-6600). I called this number to cancel and low and behold another host of advertisements and free offers.

    I still cannot cancel my subscription. Please be aware. Now I must contact my bank and cancel my card and wait for my new banking card to arrive because this site gives you the runaround and provides you with false and misleading phone numbers when trying to cancel my subscription. I have learned a valuable lesson today. Never again will I be scammed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2017

      Mike M, Supervisor

      We must say that we apologize for the journey you took. We do see that you have in fact emailed our company previously to cancel your account. The account was canceled at that time. Just for confirmation, your account has been set to cancel and you will see absolutely no further charges from our company moving forward.

      Additionally, we must clarify one thing. You stated that you tried contacting us through a 1-800-371-2590. The reason you did have difficulties would be that our number is 1-866-371-2590. We are an 866, not an 800, the number you called has absolutely no connection with our company in any way, and the 6600 number they provided also has nothing to do with us. We do apologize for such a terrible misunderstanding.

      If you have any other questions or concerns please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Total rip off

    I can't believe I fell for this one. The $1 trial fee turned into a $29.93 monthly rip off, for something I never even used! When I confronted their "service" people about the charges, they offered to refund the last five billings, with no questions asked. I contacted my credit card security, and they would provide a refund for four billings.

    I am reporting this outfit to my State's Attorney General for a review and possible fraud charges, which in this state can result in treble damages. Don't use or even think about using this "service."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2017

      Mike M, Supervisor

      We are sorry for your experience Richard. When you signed up, you selected the checkbox that completely explained your billing plan, acknowledging that you understand that billing. It states that if you don’t contact us to let us know you no longer want a membership, your trial membership to our site becomes a monthly membership at a rate of $29.93 per month.

      You can also find that information in the email confirmation we sent after registering. We do understand that mistakes are made. We are glad you see that we did, in fact, bend over backward to accommodate you with even more credit than your own card service would attempt.

      If you have any other questions or concerns please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590, or email support@persopo.com. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Waste of your hard-earned money!

    • Massachusetts,
    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid for a comprehensive report on top of paying for a membership. They gave me information that I could have looked up on Google for free!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 6, 2017

      Mike M, Supervisor

      We definitely understand your frustration with a service, when you did not see the information that you were hoping for. Unfortunately, the nature of our service is not the location of specific records for specific people. The service that we provide is a membership to perform unlimited searches of our existing and continually updating the database of public records on over 320 million Americans. Since we are not the source of these records, but a resource, we have no control over what records may or not show.

      In short, you can think of it like a library. They have an existing and continually updated resource of information. Like them, we cannot guarantee to have a piece of information (books). Also, like a library, we are unable to edit or create new information and can only order new information created by the source. So, the statement of us not having information that you believe should show is similar to stating that a library doesn't have a book that you were able to purchase from the publisher.

      While we understand that this can make it difficult to locate information that you want and in some cases, desperately need, it is the reality of what public record is and how it operates. We do apologize for any inconveniences experienced. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please call customer service directly at 1-866-371-2590 or email support@persopo.com. We have representatives standing by, ready to assist you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't be fooled

    • Bridgeport, CT,
    • Feb 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, half the information isn't there. I mean public information!

    Secondly, they are rude on the phone when you cancel. The woman I spoke to must have thought she was in a street fight instead of a customer service representative helping a customer. She never let me get a word in when I said I had thought I had already canceled and was still getting billed. I mean, she was nasty. I guess it's the kind of company that values that kind of "customer service" representative. I learned my lesson.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Santa Clarita, CA,
    • Feb 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They offered a "report" for a dollar as I was about to leave the website. I took the bait, and the search revealed my full name and phone number for one dollar. What a waste!

    Then, they immediately charged me $29.95 on my credit card after promising a trial. They now have my credit card info, and I can't access it at their website, so I can't delete my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Albany, NY,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not only did their reports show misinformation and incomplete information, but they sold my email address. 12 hours after signing up I had received 32 spam emails, all similar in nature about loan services! Now almost 24 hours later, it's just gotten worse.

    I've never seen such spam before. I called their "Customer Support, " and they told me they don't sell email address. Yeah, right!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    It's garbage.

    • California,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not waste your time or money. I needed some marriage date but it had none.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Run away as fast as you can

    I only wish I had looked up the reviews for Persopo before I subscribed. I learned a good lesson, that's for sure. As all reviews have commented, nothing is shown on this site that I could not have been found on a free site. Moreover, when I tried to sign in immediately after logging in, using my newly minted password and e-mail address, I was told that one or both were wrong. When attempting to contact the company by phone, no luck there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Poor Results, poor customer service

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The results were incomplete as compared to similar services. The customer service rep was rude and kept cutting me off when I tried to speak. Don't waste your money. ZERO STARS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Was looking for a marraige certificate

    • Aug 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site provide useless or no information, it is definitely a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    • Ohio,
    • May 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    All you get is phone number and address. Then they tell you to wait up to you 72 hours. I got no more info than I get from my white page app. This isn't for me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for Persopo!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review