About Porch.com

By providing design and remodel ideas and inspiration, residential construction costs, as well as a way for local contractors to connect with customers, Porch.com claims to be the leading home improvement network. As such, Porch claims to make “home improvement easy, delightful, and connected.”

But when it comes down to it, is Porch.com really a one-stop shop for home improvement ideas, and is it a good method of reaching your customers? We performed some research and here’s what we learned.

Porch.com Details

Matt Ehrlichman claims he came up with the idea for Porch after he began building his Seattle home, but couldn’t find a website that provided inspiration, access to professionals, and customer reviews all in one place. As such, at its most basic, Porch.com claims to be a home improvement network that uses public and private data to showcase featured projects and related professionals in your area, in addition to real reviews from other customers who’ve used these same contractors.

Professionals

With this in mind, Porch features more than 1.5 million professionals across 250 categories that you can search for based on a variety of criteria, including those used and endorsed by your neighbors, project and cost history, as well as your personal preferences (e.g. contractor expertise, licensing, credentials, etc.). In order to locate a professional using Porch.com, you’ll simply need to enter the type of contractor you’re looking for (e.g. carpenter, electrician, etc.) and your city, and then press the “Go” button.

Inspiration

When browsing Porch’s photos for inspiration, you can view all projects at once, only those for specific rooms (e.g. kitchen, dining room, etc.), as well as those related to landscaping and outdoor living ideas. Then, you can further filter these results by popularity, cost, and distance.

Data

Next, Porch.com provides insights on over 90 million projects across the U.S. through expert advice, the ability to scrapbook photo ideas, in addition to maintenance reminders and historical information about your home (e.g. past projects, permit history, who’s worked on your home, etc.). On top of this, you can also view your neighborhood’s stats regarding project costs, home values, and more.

Your Porch

Finally, as you’re browsing the Porch website, if you run across a professional you’re interested in contacting or an inspirational pic you’d like to use as a reference, you can save them to your Home section for later retrieval.

Porch Pro

In addition to the consumer-focused features noted above, Porch.com also offers a Pro version, which is intended for use by businesses looking for customers. Using the Pro feature, businesses can create free profiles that become available when local customers search for contractors in their industry, who can then rank their experience and thereby build a word-of-mouth reputation.

Porch Pricing & Refund Policy

In order to sign up for a free Porch.com individual (e.g. non-business) account, you can do so through either Facebook or email.

While there are no prices listed on the Porch website for their Pro service, this review from 2013 puts the cost at $35.

What’s the Bottom Line About Porch?

With all of this in mind, does Porch.com really organize “inspiration, project data, and word-of-mouth referrals in one place?” Likely, but keep the following in mind:

Although Porch was founded in 2012, the company didn’t go live until the end of 2013. Because of the company’s unique use of data and its application in the home improvement niche however, Porch.com has received an immense amount of media attention over the past 6-8 months. In fact, because Porch claims that its reviews can’t be “gamed,” the company is widely expected to give other review website such as Angie’s List and Yelp a serious run for their money.

With this said, there are almost no online reviews from customers who’ve used Porch.com’s services, so it’s difficult to gauge overall satisfaction levels. With this said their service is completely free, so if you’re not pleased you’ll only be out some time.

We also didn’t locate reviews from any professionals who paid for Porch’s Pro service, although we did find more than one review from former/current sales staff that these Pro accounts may not provide clear value or return on investment.

Bottom line: Porch.com’s new way of using data to help individuals prepare for home building/renovation projects could stand to revolutionize the industry, although it remains to be seen how effective this will be at helping businesses connect with customers.

Now read: Insider’s Tips: How to Avoid Home Improvement Scams or Rip Offs & How to Find a Reliable Contractor

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

136 Customer Reviews for Porch.com

Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 36 4 star: 2 3 star: 2 2 star: 6 1 star:  90
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 136
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not qualified to do job

    • Littleton, CO,
    • Aug 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired from Porch.com based on a recommendation from Lowe's. They expressed how these people are pros and this is where they look (Lowe's) to get their subs.

    I certainly didn't get any pro. This guy couldn't make a straight cut in the tile. He didn't have the proper equipment to do the job. I kept hoping it would get better, but it didn't. I now have a job that someone else is going to have to come in and repair.

    Word of mouth is the best way to find good people, not the internet. Good people are in high demand but it is definitely worth waiting for them and getting the job done right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Most disorganized referral service EVER

    I tried to arrange for a bathroom exhaust fan to be installed. I contacted Porch.com and filled out the entire questionnaire on service that was to be fulfilled. They set up appointments with the wrong type of sub contractors. Two different HVAC people called and said they don't do this. Each time I called back Porch.com, they didn't have any particulars of request needed except phone and email.

    Today I spoke to them three different times, each time explaining each item needed for this, venting, electrical, and dry wall work. They promised by the fourth call they would get the PORCH Home Services and it would be scheduled. No call from Porch Home Services. I finally call to see if there will be someone to show up after taking off work. They tell me "sure!" Oh, but "we don't do electrical." No kidding, six phone calls and three days wasted.

    Horrible referral service, horrid customer service and follow through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst lead generation company.

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been a member of Porch for about eight months. First, they told me that they will charge me $300, so every lead will deduct from the $300. They start sending me leads where I couldn't get in touch with people, and for work I do not do. Once I went on the estimate, and when I told the customer that they didn't write that in the request and I don't do that type of work, the customer told me that Porch's customer service told them to put that information to get a better response.

    I did get a refund for most of them. It's been about three months, and I haven't got a single lead. I asked to get a refund and was told to try and cover a larger area and then I will not get a refund. Use any other lead generation company; this one is no good. I'm a contractor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Under cabinet lighting

    • Jonesboro, GA,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter used Porch to hire an electrician to install LED lights under her kitchen cabinets. Instead of fishing the wires in the wall or through the plastic conduit in the corners, this man drilled several 1/2" holes dead center in the shelves, severely damaging them and making it impossible to put any plates in the cabinets.

    After threatening to sue the electrician, he gave back half of the cost, and we hired someone else to make the job right.

    I contacted Porch and asked them to make good on their published guarantee to reimburse us for the damages. They refused to accept any responsibility.

    I have pictures to send to anyone interested.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very unprofessional, did not resolve the problem.

    I had a water leak inside of my home. It was my first and the last experience with "pros" from this site! The guy, Mike Collins, responded very fast, came on the same day, sounded very promising. It took him two days instead the promised one day to do the job. But the main thing is, $2500 later he made a very nice "ceiling," white, etc., but the leak still was there, which I found the night right after he left. And, by the way, he left without a word, just left without saying anything, even did not let me know that he is done and leaving. I realized that he is done and not coming back five hours later.

    Now I still have the leak, I still have to find somebody to fix it, and I still have to pay for fixing it. Plus, after every rain, something white dripping on my head and all over the place from the "ceiling" he made. I have no idea what it is. Very disappointed! I am an ICU nurse and if I would do my job with the same quality as he does all my patients would be dead.

    He even did not give me a chance to sign anything. Which is my fault. Otherwise, I would ask for my money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Poor leads, poor service

    • Woodstock, GA,
    • Aug 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Porch twice now. You would have thought I would have learned the first time, but I decided to give them another shot. Combined, I have tried their lead generating services for approximately two years, spent a few thousand dollars, and found that the quality of the leads that were sent mostly very poor. I spent more time trying to collect refunds from them for poor leads than I did actually doing work for customers that I landed with them.

    I recently tried to cancel my account again only to have them charge my credit card again, and then to charge me for two more poor leads. If you are a contractor and you are considering using them as a lead generator, do NOT do it! They have extremely poor customer service, the quality of the leads that are supposedly vetted are extremely poor, and you will be wasting your money. I hope this helps another contractor to make a good decision and not waste money like I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Complete incompetence

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to Lowes to purchase a new dryer and washing machine and indicated that I may need to fix my dryer exhaust cap on the wall of my home since it was cracked and loose. They said, "Oh yes, you will need to fix it before we install your new dryer. We strongly recommended it." They gave me the name and number of Porch.com to call for hiring a technician to fix the vent.

    I scheduled an appointment with them on the same Sunday in which I bought the machines for the following Thursday. Someone from Porch.com called me on Sunday and told me someone would be coming between 9:00 am and 12:00 pm on Thursday so I took a 1/2 day off from work to wait for the "technician."

    When no one had called or mailed or texted me by 9:00 am on Thursday, I decided to contact Porch. That's where the nightmare began. I was given number, after number, after number, after number to call because no one could find my information.

    In all fairness, a few people over the phone (out of the dozen or so I had to speak with) tried to be helpful, but in the end, the result was, well, "We don't know what happened, too bad for you."

    I cannot overstress the incompetence and run around that you will experience with Done.com and Porch.com, apparently two blundering sister or brother companies. I even had someone from an electrical company call me on Wednesday to ask me if I was a real customer or was I trying to sell his company on joining Porch.com. The owner of the company said he gets so many calls and emails from them trying to recruit him to join Porch.com that he does not trust this company. I suspected then I was in trouble.

    Had I looked online at this company's reviews first and not trusted Lowes I would have seen that I am by far not the only person with this experience with this so called "service."

    Save the stress and hire a local handyman. DO NOT trust these companies.

    I will never trust Lowes recommendations nor Porch.com or Done.com again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They will not give you your money back

    • Reno, NV,
    • Jul 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys will take your money and will not give you your money back for canceling services with them. Total scam!

    I talked to them today, and they were going to send me an email to cancel the service but would not give me the money I deposited with them back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Contractors beware

    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Jul 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Leads from Porch are garbage, they never respond. After spending $350 on leads and no return calls, I had to fight to get some money refunded, but what is the point? Porch will not refund your money back to you, only to your Porch account, which is used to generate worthless leads. I was never told by the salesperson I would be charged every month $350 and had to do so for 90 days. I disputed the initial charge and reported my credit card lost so they can't charge me any more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    WORST experience ever!

    After no less than ten calls to them and a missed appointment, I will never attempt to use this company again. Highly unprofessional, multiple contact people and missed deadlines make for a poorly run company. I will take my business elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Dreadful experience! Stay away!

    • Madison, TN,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a back and forth with Porch.com to install a door and window. They confirmed everything repeatedly, with a lot of "blah blah blah" about how professional they are. They gave me a very good deal on the installation and the delivery. And guess what? I take a day off from work to be at home for them, and 30 minutes prior to our appointment to pick up the door/window to bring it home and install it, they voice mail that they can't do the job I needed because it requires breaking the wall. I have repeatedly specified in detail the work that needed to be done, and they confirmed everything.

    Stay away from these unreliable, fake contractors! They don't know what they're doing. Thank God they did not get to have my credit card info. I would NOT recommend to anyone this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 136

Write a Review for Porch.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review