About Potato Express

Potato Express is a bag that allows you to bake up to four large potatoes in the microwave in as little as four minutes. Sold under the “As Seen on TV” brand, Potato Express is a product of Ontel Products Corporation based in Fairfax, NJ.

How the Potato Express Works

The makers of Potato Express claim that the “unique insulation design” creates a steam pocket while cooking that gives your potato just the right amount of moisture so it will have a tender skin and fluffy inside.

You simply put up to four full-sized potatoes into the bag and put it into the microwave for four minutes.

It can also be used to cook corn in the microwave and soften hard bread.

The Potato Express has few reviews online, but one review stated that it could not hold four full-sized potatoes as claimed, but only four small potatoes. That review also stated that it only cooked a single potato in four minutes and actually took about 10 minutes to cook the four small potatoes. The single potato did cook as advertised, though.

It also mentioned that there were less expensive alternatives available that do approximately the same thing and that the Potato Express cannot exactly duplicate a real oven-baked potato.

There are many people online who said they were put off purchasing the Potato Express due to what they feel is exorbitant shipping and handling costs for what many people claim is just a cloth bag.

Potato Express Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

The Potato Express sells for $10, plus $6.99 shipping and handling and comes with a recipe guide and a Super Slicer for free. If you pay an additional shipping and handling fee of $6.99, your order will be doubled except for the super slicer. That means for $23.98, you will receive two Potato Express bags, two recipe guides and one super slicer.

The website offers a 30-day money back guarantee, but you will not receive your shipping and handling back and would have to pay for the shipping to return it to the company.

The product website does not cover how to return the product, but if you have questions, you can contact the makers at 1-877-883-9082 or via e-mail at potatoexpress@customerstatus.com.

Pros

  • Claims to save you time
  • Can also be used for corn and to soften hard bread
  • Reusable and machine washable

Cons

  • May not work exactly as advertised.
  • Almost certainly less expensive alternatives available

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Customer Reviews for Potato Express

Average Customer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 9 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 34
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Do not bother

    • Camp Hill, PA,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Two large baked potatoes for nine minutes in the bad, and two minutes outside. I think I can do them faster without this heap on junk. I'm glad it was a Christmas present and I never paid for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great for steaming.

    • Santa Barbara, CA,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    I make these Yam Apple Almond Pancakes and they call for 10 ounces of steamed yam puree. It took me about an hour to an hour and a half to prepare the yams for this recipe until I got my hands on this Potato Express. Now, 7-10 minutes and it's done. Great product (depending on what you are using it for).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Idaho,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    Got this from my Mother in law for Christmas and it sucks. Put four small red potatoes in it and it took 16 total minutes to cook thoroughly on high, I am mad! I cooked the rest of my dinner and left the potatoes for last since they would be done quickly. That didn't happen so I had to reheat all of my other dishes again and ate dinner 45 minutes later than expected. Crappy product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Potato Express, Rip off

    • Murfreesboro, TN,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    Unfortunately I purchased three of these stupid bags as Christmas gifts. I decided to test mine so I could tell others how great it is. I put a small to medium sweet potato in the microwave which is a three year old high end unit and after four minutes it was far from cooked. I put in for an additional one minute as suggested and still the same. I had to put back in the microwave without the bag for additional two minutes when it finally was cooked. This is a rip off as it does not live up the claims. Do not waste your money on the crappy product. One star rating is too high. FTC needs to be notified, you bunch of thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money.

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    Daughter said someone on radio talk show loved it. One potato, medium size, should have taken two minutes for my power of microwave. Two minutes, another minute, another minute, out of bag and onto plate for two more minutes, easily four minutes without bag. Daughter is going to return it to Walmart tonight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Brilliant.

    • Australia,
    • Jul 22, 2015

    Three medium potatoes in the bag, placed flap down in 1200kw microwave for 4 minutes and potatoes cooked perfectly. Will use this a lot. Would recommend it, and getting some more to give to friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Will not cook 4 potatoes in 4 minutes

    • Australia,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Don't waste your money. It does not cook four potatoes. Currently, I've spent 15 minutes cooking time and still not done. If the product is specific to the type of potato to be used, then the instructions should state it. Another gimmick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Sorry I ordered Potato Express

    • Rowlett, TX,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Not the least bit impressed, just another gimmick to get our money. I ordered one online (with one free). However, I received two orders, or four total and was charged for same. When I called today to see about returning the unopened and unused second order, I was told that since it was past the thirty day period, I could not return them for a refund. "Real" customer service. Really? Don't deal with these people and save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Works Great, I love it.

    • Fredonia, New York,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    This bag works great if you know your potatoes. Normal white potatoes and reds which are both round cook perfectly. BUT, russets are really considered X-LG potatoes so yes, you cannot put as many in the bag and again, yes, it will take longer for the bigger potatoes. Then there are your Yukon Golds, they are a heavier & denser potato without as much water content in them so they also take longer.

    This is common sense 101 for most people, but since there are people who do not realize that there is a difference in potato types, this should be some educational info. There are more types of potatoes out there, you just have to feel them for weight & density to know if they require more time.

    It is a shame that the companies selling all these products do not educate more, but they assume that everyone knows these things already. I hope this has been of some help to anyone thinking of buying the Potato Express, because it really is a great product.

    Buy at Walmart though instead of through the mail, the price you have to pay for S&H can also buy you that slicer at Walmart instead. Smile and happy eating!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't deserve even 1 star

    • Greeley, CO,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    I got one of these at Walmart and cooked 2 potatoes for 4 minutes and then ended up putting in Microwavable container for another 3 minutes. Better off buying those Walmart 5 minute Microwavable potato plastic bags. I'm going to try doing it just like that except in big Zip-lock bag and vent little bit. If Walmart wouldn't have put these above the little plastic bag microwave potatoes, I probably wouldn't have gotten it because those potatoes turned out excellent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not quite four minutes, but great for frozen hamburger buns.

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I really like this product. I usually cook two (rather large) potatoes at a time, and it does take more than four minutes. But this is great for the hamburger/hotdog buns I have to freeze so they don't go bad. My kids put one in the pouch from the freezer and in 20 seconds it's thawed without any hard edges.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a review for Potato Express!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review