About Potato Express

Potato Express is a bag that allows you to bake up to four large potatoes in the microwave in as little as four minutes. Sold under the “As Seen on TV” brand, Potato Express is a product of Ontel Products Corporation based in Fairfax, NJ.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

How the Potato Express Works

The makers of Potato Express claim that the “unique insulation design” creates a steam pocket while cooking that gives your potato just the right amount of moisture so it will have a tender skin and fluffy inside.

You simply put up to four full-sized potatoes into the bag and put it into the microwave for four minutes.

It can also be used to cook corn in the microwave and soften hard bread.

The Potato Express has few reviews online, but one review stated that it could not hold four full-sized potatoes as claimed, but only four small potatoes. That review also stated that it only cooked a single potato in four minutes and actually took about 10 minutes to cook the four small potatoes. The single potato did cook as advertised, though.

It also mentioned that there were less expensive alternatives available that do approximately the same thing and that the Potato Express cannot exactly duplicate a real oven-baked potato.

There are many people online who said they were put off purchasing the Potato Express due to what they feel is exorbitant shipping and handling costs for what many people claim is just a cloth bag.

charity: water

Potato Express Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

The Potato Express sells for $10, plus $6.99 shipping and handling and comes with a recipe guide and a Super Slicer for free. If you pay an additional shipping and handling fee of $6.99, your order will be doubled except for the super slicer. That means for $23.98, you will receive two Potato Express bags, two recipe guides and one super slicer.

The website offers a 30-day money back guarantee, but you will not receive your shipping and handling back and would have to pay for the shipping to return it to the company.

The product website does not cover how to return the product, but if you have questions, you can contact the makers at 1-877-883-9082 or via e-mail at potatoexpress@customerstatus.com.

Pros

  • Claims to save you time
  • Can also be used for corn and to soften hard bread
  • Reusable and machine washable

Cons

  • May not work exactly as advertised.
  • Almost certainly less expensive alternatives available

50 Customer Reviews for Potato Express

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 8 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 3 1 stars: 33
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 50
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Will not cook 4 potatoes in 4 mins

    • by Jill,
    • Australia,
    • Jan 26, 2015

    Don't waste your money. It does not cook four potatoes. Currently, I've spent 15 mins cooking time and still not done. If the product is specific to the type of potato to be used, then the instructions should state it. Another gimmick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Works as advertised.

    • by Rog,
    • Jan 9, 2015

    One of the best Christmas gifts received this year.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    False Advertisement

    • by Karen,
    • Eagle Lake, FL,
    • Dec 28, 2014

    I placed three medium sized potatoes in the bag and put in microwave for 4 minutes. When I took the potatoes out of the bag, hard as when I put them in. Put in for a few more minutes. No change. Ended up putting them in the oven to cook. This product did not work for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love this, here's how I do it...

    • by lar cnagas,
    • Dec 27, 2014

    Wrap washed potatoes in a PAPER TOWEL to absorb moisture, put into the pouch, close the flap, and place the pouch FLAP SIDE DOWN in the microwave. Wattage makes a difference, microwaves differ, and potatoes vary. I cook two sweet potatoes together in 8 minutes. Going to try other root vegetables, too. Love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • by Anonymous ,
    • Indiana,
    • Dec 25, 2014

    My husband and I love potatoes in the microwave. It's a quick and easy meal for us. But this piece of crap kept shutting off our brand new microwave. Honestly a plastic Walmart bag works better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sorry I ordered Potato Express

    • by Anita Duncan,
    • Rowlett, TX,
    • Dec 9, 2014

    Not the least bit impressed... just another gimmick to get our money. I ordered one online (with one free). However, I received two orders, or four total and was charged for same. When I called today to see about returning the unopened and unused second order, I was told that since it was past the thirty day period, I could not return them for a refund. "Real" customer service...REALLY? Don't deal with these people...and save your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great product

    • by Gail C H,
    • Nevada,
    • Nov 19, 2014

    Love this for baked potatoes. Am making frozen ears of corn tonight. This is a must for any kitchen, if you have a microwave, that is!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Isn't at all what they say

    • by Tina Whitney,
    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Nov 19, 2014

    I give product a three stars because it does cook the potato, but it takes longer than four minutes for one large one. It actually takes eight minutes and that's not what it advertise for.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Works Great, I love it.

    • by Robbin Prince,
    • Fredonia, New York,
    • Sep 21, 2014

    This bag works great if you know your potatoes. Normal white potatoes and reds which are both round cook perfectly. BUT, russets are really considered X-LG potatoes so yes, you cannot put as many in the bag and again, yes, it will take longer for the bigger potatoes. Then there are your Yukon golds, they are a heavier & denser potato without as much water content in them so they also take longer.

    This is common sense 101 for most people, but since there are people who do not realize that there is a difference in potato types, this should be some educational info. There are more types of potatoes out there, you just have to feel them for weight & density to know if they require more time.

    It is a shame that the companies selling all these products do not educate more, but they assume that everyone knows these things already. I hope this has been of some help to anyone thinking of buying the Potato Express, because it really is a great product.

    Buy at Walmart though instead of through the mail, the price you have to pay for S&H can also buy you that slicer at Walmart instead. Smile and happy eating!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great gadget

    • by Boyd,
    • Edmonton Alberta Cada,
    • Sep 15, 2014

    Got one as a gift, we love it. There are only 2 of us and this saves a lot of time. We are using fresh grown garden (ours) potatoes, maybe that makes a difference? We cook up to 4 fist sized spuds at a time for 4 minutes and they are perfect!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't deserve even 1 star

    • by Bob,
    • Greeley, CO,
    • Sep 5, 2014

    I got one of these at Walmart and cooked 2 potatoes for 4 minutes and then ended up putting in microwavable container for another 3 minutes. Better off buying those Walmart 5 minute microwavable potato plastic bags. I'm going to try doing it just like that except in big ziplock bag and vent little bit. If Walmart wouldn't have put these above the little plastic bag microwave potatoes, I probably wouldn't have gotten it because those potatoes turned out excellent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 50

Write a review for Potato Express!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review