About Power Pressure Cooker XL

The Power Pressure Cooker XL is a digital pressure cooker that claims to be a “one button, one pot kitchen miracle” assisting you in preparing all of your favorite slow-cooked meals in a fraction of the time. Because of this, this "As Seen on TV" Power Pressure Cooker XL is claimed to help you create succulent, wholesome meals with one touch of a button and up to 70% faster than conventional methods, saving you time, energy, and money.

Admittedly, the Power Pressure Cooker XL’s advertising raises some interesting selling points. After all, who wouldn’t want to be able to create delicious, home-cooked meals in minutes as the manufacturer claims? The commercial is definitely compelling and you've come to the right place to learn more about the Pressure Cooker XL.

Since writing our original review, more than 345 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with the Power Pressure Cooker XL, which has given us much better insight into the slow cooker’s performance. So how do these experiences match up with the product’s claims? Let’s find out.

Understanding how the Power Pressure Cooker XL Works

Using Flavor Infusion technology that traps super-heated steam inside the pot, which forces liquid and moisture into your food and locks in intense flavor and nutrients, in addition to its intelligent one-touch settings, the Power Pressure Cooker XL is claimed to be ideal for cooking all you favorite foods, including meat, fish, vegetables, beans, rice, soup, stews, and much more.

In addition, according to the Power Pressure Cooker XL website, this “As Seen on TV” slow cooker is claimed to save you prep time by allowing you to put all your ingredients into one pot (including un-defrosted frozen foods), and its one touch pre-set operation means that you simply turn it on, choose your setting, and walk away. On top of this, because you’ll only be using one appliance, the manufacturer claims that the Power Pressure Cooker XL can help conserve energy and keep your kitchen cooler.

On top of this, you can adjust the pressure of your Power Pressure Cooker XL between 10-80 kPa, which means that you can brown and sauté your food, as well as can your choice of fruits and vegetables. Other features of the Power Pressure Cooker XL include a 6-quart capacity, stainless steel housing, digital display panel, safe lock lid, reinforced, and built-in steam ledge.

Once your food is finished cooking, the Power Pressure Cooker XL is claimed to automatically change toKeep Warm” mode, which, like it sounds, will keep your food warm until you’re ready to enjoy it. Afterward, the manufacturer claims that cleanup is a breeze, thanks to the Power Pressure Cooker XL’s removable, non-stick inner pot that is dishwasher safe (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Power Pressure Cooker XL Pricing & Refund Policy

The Power Pressure Cooker XL is priced at 3 payments of $33.33 or one single payment of $99.99, plus $29.99 S&H, bringing your total to $129.98. With your order, you’ll also receive power chopper, power cooker, and power canning recipe books.

The Power Pressure Cooker XL comes with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges, as well as a 60-day limited warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. However, you can also add a 3-year warranty for an additional $15, and a 6-year warranty for $30 at checkout.

In order to initiate a warranty claim or to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at (973) 287-5159.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the Power Pressure Cooker XL?

Based on HighYa reader reviews, the Power Pressure Cooker XL has an average rating of 2.0 stars. Below, we've broken down some of the most consistent complaints that consumers are citing.

Why the Long Shipping Times?

By far the most common complaint HighYa readers referenced is very long shipping times. Although it appears that most customers experienced delivery times within the 4-6 week range, some were as long a 10 weeks. In fact, one reader claimed that it took 137 days to receive their Power Pressure Cooker XL. Consumers stated in their reviews that the long delivery times were a result of the pressure cookers being on constant backorder, as they were told by customer service when calling to check up on their orders.

On top of this, numerous HighYa readers claimed to have received the Power Cooker Pro instead of the XL model. And even though these instances appear to have been the company’s fault, customers were required to pay for shipping back to the manufacturer, and were then charged another $29.99 S&H for the company to send them the model they originally ordered.

How is Customer Service Treating the Customers?

A very close second in regards to the most popular complaints from HighYa reader was poor customer service. These included representatives who were unable to answer questions about the product, difficulty processing returns (several customers even claimed they had to dispute the charges with their credit card company in order to avoid being charged), long hold times/frequent transfers, difficulty understanding representatives, duplicate/fraudulent charges, and no response to repeated emails.

SEE ALSO: What to Do if You’ve Been Scammed by a Company.

Are Consumer Saying That the Product Doesn't Work?

Like many other “As Seen on TV” products, many customers appear to have been dissatisfied with how the Power Pressure Cooker XL performed and/or its overall quality. As such, numerous HighYa readers claimed that the Power Pressure Cooker XL won’t maintain adequate pressure, that it burns food on the inner pot and is almost impossible to clean, and comes with vague directions. Additional complaints referenced that the timer doesn’t work, the unit takes 20 minutes to pressurize before you can begin cooking, and that canning does not work 2000 feet above sea level. Even for those below 2,000 feet in elevation, some readers claimed that the Power Pressure Cooker XL has a tendency to break jars.

Also, it’s interesting to note that one of the Power Pressure Cooker XL’s promotional videos shows pulled pork being slow cooked over the course of 10 hours. However, most pressure cooker recipes recommend between 50 minutes and 1 hour 15 minutes (see here and here as examples) to cook pulled pork, which means that the device may not always cook food 70% faster as the manufacturer claims.

Our Final Review & Observation on the Power Pressure Cooker XL

Despite how attractive the Power Pressure Cooker XL infomercial and TV commercials make it seem, can it really help you cook more delicious meals with less effort? Perhaps, but in order to avoid some of the potential issues HighYa reviewers claimed to have experienced in their reviews, including excessive shipping times, very high S&H charges, and poor customer service, you’ll likely want to purchase the pressure cooker from a local retailer, such as Walmart. However, even by doing so, most HighYa readers appear to have been dissatisfied with the Power Pressure Cooker XL’s overall performance.

With this said, it's important to note that several consumers were pleased with the XL’s performance, and in response to other negative reviews, they stated that the bad experiences may be partly due to unfamiliarity using a pressure cooker from any manufacturer. Also, while some reviewers claimed that the Power Pressure Cooker XL often burned their food, this may be simple to avoid by reading the instructions and not over-cooking your food. As such, this specific complaint may not be directly related to the Power Pressure Cooker itself.

To conclude, the vast majority of consumer reviews here on HighYa are related to shipping times and customer service issues, not necessarily to the Power Pressure Cooker XL itself. Because of this, if we were to filter out these reviews, the Power Pressure Cooker XL would likely receive a much higher rating.

With this said, as consumers ourselves, we might recommend that you purchase the pressure cooker at your local Wal-Mart for about $80. And should you be dissatisfied with its performance, you'll then have the convenience of an absolutely hassle-free return process, without any additional fees.

SEE ALSO: Your All-In-One Buying Guide to Pressure Cookers

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

567 Customer Reviews for Power Pressure Cooker XL

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 131 4 stars: 58 3 stars: 32 2 stars: 49 1 stars: 297
Bottom Line: 38% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 567
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    5 stars

    Received this as a birthday gift on my B-Day! Neat huh? Just made a pot roast with veggies in 25 minutes. The meat was tender and the veggies perfect. We loved it! Hope all my experiences with it are as good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I love the Power Pressure Cooker

    About 2 years ago I ordered the Power Pressure Cooker Pro 6 quart. It was everything that was advertised. With my very busy schedule I can make dinner for my family of 7 in 25 minutes or less. I have never had a problem. Today I ordered the 10 quart XL, and can't wait until it arrives. I will use my Pro in our RV, so I can make fast and healthy meals when we travel. Thanks to the makers of the Power pressure Cooker, you made my life so much easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Can't live without it

    • Cotulla, Texas,
    • Apr 17, 2016

    Just want to say that my experience with the Pressure Cooker XL has been very good. I've had mine for a little over a year but unfortunately it gave out about a week ago. I use mine almost every day. I make tamales, pinto beans, BBQ on bun and so much more. I need to order another one, but this time I will order the 10 quart. I have a family of 8 so will go for a bigger one this time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great cooker but not heating after 8 uses

    Purchased my cooker in 12/2015, used 8 times and now it won't heat. Contacted the company to inquire about repairing it and was told to contact the place I bought it to repair or return it. I ordered through Fingerhut catalog and the 90 day return policy has expired and was told to contact the manufacturing company to find how to have it repaired, figure that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Does what it is advertised to do.

    I've only had my XL Pressure Cooker for a few days but already love it. Easy to use, easy to clean and cooks food perfectly. I would and have already told friends and family. I am a Chef and I also use it in my Restaurant.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment

    I actually bought my Power Pressure Cooker XL from Walmart. It is the same as the one advertised on TV. I work many long hours and eat out a lot so I thought this would be great to save me time and be able to eat more healthy meals at home. I was excited to try out the cooker and used it the same night I bought it.

    I made the macaroni and cheese. It is nothing like it is on TV! I followed the directions in the cookbook that came with the cooker and the mac and cheese burned and stuck to the bottom of the pot. I called customer service to ask about this and they offered several solutions of which none have worked. They recommended spraying the inner pot with cooking oil or adding more water. I even thought that maybe it could be the pot and asked for an exchange they said they cannot do that for me since I did not purchase a warranty.

    The rice on TV is loose and falls between the hosts fingers. Not true either. The rice is sticky and sticks together. I must say that I will not recommend this product to a friend and I am very disappointed. Never again will I buy any more products from this company. My review: DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Awesome

    My review is based on only 2 uses. I ordered mine from another online store and received it in 4 days. I have never used a pressure cooker before so there is a few things to learn. First it takes a few minutes to pressurize before it starts to cook. But after cooking my first 2 meals, BBQ wings and fall off the bone chuck roast, I am very happy. Clean up was easy, so now I will see how it handles daily use. Or maybe 4 to 7 days a week. I don't cook every day. I highly recommend it, just buy it from another retailer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Still crazy about mine

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Mar 23, 2016

    I've had my pressure cooker for a year and almost 4 months. I probably cook with it at least 2 times a month, and sometimes 2 times a week. I absolutely love it. I love getting creative and finding adventurous recipes online (it does seem to get a bit difficult to find recipes specific to the XL Pressure Cooker brand. I've had no technical trouble with the device at all, though I did have the shipping drama that people complain about and I really thought that was weird.

    However, I've made some of the most amazing meals in this thing. The ONLY dish I ever made that I was concerned about was a New England clam chowder and that only sucked because I was a dork and didn't know to rinse the clams once they'd opened to get the sand out, so it was delicious - but gritty. Great product. I'd never cooked with an old-time pressure cooker because they looked dangerous to me, but this thing is easy and I just love it. When it ever dies, I'll get another - but it's pretty durable so far and I've got no complaints whatsoever. Fun to cook with the XL Pressure Cooker.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 30, 2016

      Lynn Strawn

      Where do you find recipes? Can I just use any crockpot recipe, then adjust the time? I, too, can find only a handful of recipes specific to the XL Pressure Cooker. Thank you.

    • Apr 4, 2016

      Jody

      I just Google Power Pressure Cooker XL recipes. It can be a challenge.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Pine, Colorado,
    • Mar 19, 2016

    I bought my Power Pressure Cooker XL with the intent on doing some canning. The instructions say don't use it for canning above 2000 ft. I'm way over that. Reviews further down the line say don't use it for canning at all. Canning is serious business, doing it wrong can get you killed. Needless to say, I'm disappointed I can't use it for canning.

    I bought mine at JC Penney for $99.99 with a $15.00 discount and no shipping charges. Ended up saving money on the online deal and I didn't have to wait a long time to get it.

    I dutifully followed the instructions for cleaning and first use, only to find it had missing parts. Well, the parts weren't really missing, only temporarily lost. Eventually found it. Warning, it has small parts that can be easily lost. Gaskets and seals will need regular replacement.

    The selling point of the pressure cooker is fast cook times. Well, that's true but add about 17 minutes to the recipe for it to come to pressure. If you are at altitude will you need to increase the cooking time on top of that.

    I used the pressure cooker once so far to make chili. I used dry beans, soaked overnight. I adjusted cooking time for altitude. The chili with beans didn't come out too bad. The beans weren't completely ender but were pretty close.

    I see a lot of reviews saying it quits after only a few uses. I hope I have better luck with mine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Complete garbage

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Mar 13, 2016

    I bought this thing and the first meal I cooked was a pork roast, and the roast came out tender and juicy but burned to the bottom of the cookpot. I thought maybe I did something wrong. So I tried a full chicken in it, same thing, it burned to the bottom. It takes forever to get up to pressure, but that can be expected with any pressure cooker.

    My 5th meal was over the 60 day warranty period, and it no longer works. Called customer service who refused to do anything because it was out of warranty. Cost me over $100 for 4 meals.

    They know most people won't use it that much, so 60 days is all they offer for warranty, if it fails they keep your money and your stewed.

    This cooker is just not right for me at this time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap

    • Alabama ,
    • Mar 9, 2016

    I ordered my Power Pressure Cooker XL pro on Saturday night, then on Sunday I told a friend about ordering it. He said that he had ordered one but it only worked for a couple of weeks before it quit working all together. He returned it and bought a similar cooker at Walmart (and loves it). He advised me to cancel my order and pick one up at Walmart instead.

    So first thing Monday morning (at the beginning of business hours) I called to do just that. The customer service rep told me that it had already shipped. I told her that I would refuse the package and she asked me to give it a try first because I might like it. She said that I would have 60 days to try it out and that I could return it for a full refund if I was not satisfied with my purchase. I asked if that included shipping and she said yes. My cooker arrived on Friday and I tried it out on Friday night. I followed directions to a T and it did not work. I thought maybe I had done something wrong so I tried it again. It would get hot, but no pressure. When I called on the following Monday to get a return authorization number so I could send the cooker back, I was informed that I would be responsible for the shipping charges (even though it was a defective product.) All in all, I paid $60 in shipping (both ways) for an item that didn't even work.

    Save your money people, go to Walmart or somewhere like that if you want to purchase one of these cookers. That way if you aren't happy you have hassle free returns with no shipping charges. This is definitely not for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 567

Write a review for Power Pressure Cooker XL!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review