About Power Pressure Cooker XL

The Power Pressure Cooker XL is a digital pressure cooker that claims to be a “one button, one pot kitchen miracle” assisting you in preparing all of your favorite slow-cooked meals in a fraction of the time. Because of this, this "As Seen on TV" Power Pressure Cooker XL is claimed to help you create succulent, wholesome meals with one touch of a button and up to 70% faster than conventional methods, saving you time, energy, and money.

Admittedly, the Power Pressure Cooker XL’s advertising raises some interesting selling points. After all, who wouldn’t want to be able to create delicious, home-cooked meals in minutes as the manufacturer claims? The commercial is definitely compelling and you've come to the right place to learn more about the Pressure Cooker XL.

Since writing our original review, more than 135 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with the Power Pressure Cooker XL, which has given us much better insight into the slow cooker’s performance. So how do these experiences match up with the product’s claims? Let’s find out.

Understanding how the Power Pressure Cooker XL Works

Using Flavor Infusion technology that traps super-heated steam inside the pot, which forces liquid and moisture into your food and locks in intense flavor and nutrients, in addition to its intelligent one-touch settings, the Power Pressure Cooker XL is claimed to be ideal for cooking all you favorite foods, including meat, fish, vegetables, beans, rice, soup, stews, and much more.

In addition, according to the Power Pressure Cooker XL website, this “As Seen on TV” slow cooker is claimed to save you prep time by allowing you to put all your ingredients into one pot (including un-defrosted frozen foods), and its one touch pre-set operation means that you simply turn it on, choose your setting, and walk away. On top of this, because you’ll only be using one appliance, the manufacturer claims that the Power Pressure Cooker XL can help conserve energy and keep your kitchen cooler.

On top of this, you can adjust the pressure of your Power Pressure Cooker XL between 10-80 kPa, which means that you can brown and sauté your food, as well as can your choice of fruits and vegetables. Other features of the Power Pressure Cooker XL include a 6-quart capacity, stainless steel housing, digital display panel, safe lock lid, reinforced, and built-in steam ledge.

Once your food is finished cooking, the Power Pressure Cooker XL is claimed to automatically change toKeep Warm” mode, which, like it sounds, will keep your food warm until you’re ready to enjoy it. Afterward, the manufacturer claims that cleanup is a breeze, thanks to the Power Pressure Cooker XL’s removable, non-stick inner pot that is dishwasher safe (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Power Pressure Cooker XL Pricing & Refund Policy

The Power Pressure Cooker XL is priced at 3 payments of $33.33 or one single payment of $99.99, plus $29.99 S&H, bringing your total to $129.98. With your order, you’ll also receive power chopper, power cooker, and power canning recipe books.

The Power Pressure Cooker XL comes with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges, as well as a 60-day limited warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. However, you can also add a 3-year warranty for an additional $15, and a 6-year warranty for $30 at checkout.

In order to initiate a warranty claim or to begin the refund process, you’ll need to contact customer service at (973) 287-5159.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About the Power Pressure Cooker XL?

Based on HighYa reader reviews, the Power Pressure Cooker XL has an average rating of 2.0 stars. Below, we've broken down some of the most consistent complaints that consumers are citing.

Why the Long Shipping Times?

By far the most common complaint HighYa readers referenced is very long shipping times. Although it appears that most customers experienced delivery times within the 4-6 week range, some were as long a 10 weeks. In fact, one reader claimed that it took 137 days to receive their Power Pressure Cooker XL. Consumers stated in their reviews that the long delivery times were a result of the pressure cookers being on constant backorder, as they were told by customer service when calling to check up on their orders.

On top of this, numerous HighYa readers claimed to have received the Power Cooker Pro instead of the XL model. And even though these instances appear to have been the company’s fault, customers were required to pay for shipping back to the manufacturer, and were then charged another $29.99 S&H for the company to send them the model they originally ordered.

How is Customer Service Treating the Customers?

A very close second in regards to the most popular complaints from HighYa reader was poor customer service. These included representatives who were unable to answer questions about the product, difficulty processing returns (several customers even claimed they had to dispute the charges with their credit card company in order to avoid being charged), long hold times/frequent transfers, difficulty understanding representatives, duplicate/fraudulent charges, and no response to repeated emails.

See also: What to Do if You’ve Been Scammed by a Company.

Are Consumer Saying That the Product Doesn't Work?

Like many other “As Seen on TV” products, many customers appear to have been dissatisfied with how the Power Pressure Cooker XL performed and/or its overall quality. As such, numerous HighYa readers claimed that the Power Pressure Cooker XL won’t maintain adequate pressure, that it burns food on the inner pot and is almost impossible to clean, and comes with vague directions. Additional complaints referenced that the timer doesn’t work, the unit takes 20 minutes to pressurize before you can begin cooking, and that canning does not work 2000 feet above sea level. Even for those below 2,000 feet in elevation, some readers claimed that the Power Pressure Cooker XL has a tendency to break jars.

Also, it’s interesting to note that one of the Power Pressure Cooker XL’s promotional videos shows pulled pork being slow cooked over the course of 10 hours. However, most pressure cooker recipes recommend between 50 minutes and 1 hour 15 minutes (see here and here as examples) to cook pulled pork, which means that the device may not always cook food 70% faster as the manufacturer claims.

Our Final Review & Observation on the Power Pressure Cooker XL

Despite how attractive the Power Pressure Cooker XL infomercial and TV commercials make it seem, can it really help you cook more delicious meals with less effort? Perhaps, but in order to avoid some of the potential issues HighYa reviewers claimed to have experienced in their reviews, including excessive shipping times, very high S&H charges, and poor customer service, you’ll likely want to purchase the pressure cooker from a local retailer, such as Walmart. However, even by doing so, most HighYa readers appear to have been dissatisfied with the Power Pressure Cooker XL’s overall performance.

With this said, it's important to note that several consumers were pleased with the XL’s performance, and in response to other negative reviews, they stated that the bad experiences may be partly due to unfamiliarity using a pressure cooker from any manufacturer. Also, while some reviewers claimed that the Power Pressure Cooker XL often burned their food, this may be simple to avoid by reading the instructions and not over-cooking your food. As such, this specific complaint may not be directly related to the Power Pressure Cooker itself.

To conclude, the vast majority of consumer reviews here on HighYa are related to shipping times and customer service issues, not necessarily to the Power Pressure Cooker XL itself. Because of this, if we were to filter out these reviews, the Power Pressure Cooker XL would likely receive a much higher rating.

With this said, as consumers ourselves, we might recommend that you purchase the pressure cooker at your local Wal-Mart for about $80. And should you be dissatisfied with its performance, you'll then have the convenience of an absolutely hassle-free return process, without any additional fees.

243 Customer Reviews for Power Pressure Cooker XL

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 38 4 stars: 25 3 stars: 15 2 stars: 17 1 stars: 148
Bottom Line: 29% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-20 of 243
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Over priced

    • by Anonymous,
    • Anderson, CA,
    • Feb 24, 2015

    Why pay $99.99 plus close to $30 in shipping when you can buy the identical item at walmart.com for $79.95 with free shipping. Rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I like it but have problems with product

    • by Brandy,
    • Evans Colorado,
    • Feb 23, 2015

    My husband and I got one for Christmas. I love that I can put frozen meat in it. It does take longer than they say on TV but that is ok. I have made homemade jams in it and love it for that. The thing I do not like is we have only had if a few months now and the coating is already coming off of the pan and the buttons are already coming off. For the price you pay for one it should last longer. I will be calling to see if I can get it replaced. My mother in law has the same thing is happening to hers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Product

    I ordered this product in August 2014. I received it beginning of October 2014. LOVED IT - until yesterday. The entire thing went completely out. It no longer powers up at all. When I called the company, they told me it is now out of warranty. What the heck is wrong with that picture? It hasn't been, what 5 months, and now I am stuck with a "garbage item". I would NOT recommend this product at all. I would do my research and buy it from a reputable company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fabulous, I'm so impressed!

    • by Lisa,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    I absolutely love this kitchen tool. I do think that the directions and recipe booklet are very vague and left me kind of scratching my head. So I went on Pinterest, the Internet, and YouTube and just did some studying up on it. Then, I fell in love it with it. Five pounds of potatoes, perfectly cooked, with only a little bit of water in six minutes. I made dried beans without soaking in 15 minutes and the turned out tender and perfect. The ribs falling were off the bone. Just amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Company tried to bill me for a product I never ordered

    The company has threatened collection activity against me in spite of the fact that:

    1. I have never ordered the product.
    2. It was never shipped to my address.
    3. It was never ordered using any of my financial information.

    The only link they have is that I used to live in the same neighborhood as the person who originally ordered the cooker and paid for only the first payment.

    I am reporting this to the New York Attorney General.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    MoneyBack Guarantee?

    I ordered two (2) power pressure cookers XL. One for myself and one for my parents. The manual explained nothing. Called the company three (3) times for operating instruction. Of the three different methods of operation I was given, none worked. The pressure cooker never worked properly, essentially ruining expensive pieces of meat. Then, returning the cookers, I'm out 125 dollars for a cheap chopper.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A Hassle.

    • by Teresa Coffey,
    • Asheville, NC,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    I ordered this product on 1/19/15 and still don't have it. I have been charged two payments and according to the customer status web site, it is temporarily out of stock. Twice, I have emailed the address that was given on the site and have not gotten a response yet. I have demanded they cancel this order but they haven't. I am contacting the BBB and also my bank to dispute the charges. Do not order this product from the TV ad because you will regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Terrible product

    • by Scott,
    • WI,
    • Feb 19, 2015

    Like all as seen on tv products, it does not perform the way it should. The quality of the product is lacking overall. It does not cook as fast as it claims too. Shipping took forever, customer service is not helpful. I would advise to buy it from a store like Walmart so that you can take it back easily when it doesn't perform the way you want it to. Plus, it's cheaper than ordering it online, and no waiting. Great concept, horrible design and follow through. I would not repurchase this product or buy it for someone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    EXCELLENT CHOICE

    • by TerryLynne Ramsey,
    • New Kent, VA,
    • Feb 17, 2015

    Love this cooker. I have cooked meats, rice and meat dishes. Cooked roast, beef tips and a tough cut of steak as a test - came out TENDER. Well worth the money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Beginner Pressure Cooker User

    • by Nancy,
    • Canada,
    • Feb 17, 2015

    My first attempt at using the machine not so successful, not enough time. I learned from the mistake. It was a small frozen turkey breast. Once I re-cooked it, it was ok.

    Once I got used to the machine and became less nervous of it, I liked the results. It's nice to have an additional slow cooker. I have 2 others.

    I definitely like the convenience of this unit and my roast turned out very nice. We still like to do our pulled pork on the smoker. We have not tried it in this unit.

    I am still trying to figure out how to sear. So, I just sear the meat on the stove then transfer to the unit.

    I thought the price was reasonable. I've always wanted to use a pressure cooker but was nervous of them but this one is safe and I feel comfortable with it.

    I also tried a pasta side dish and rice. Both turned out well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    power pressure cooker xl

    • by Steve Scott,
    • Dubuque Iowa,
    • Feb 16, 2015

    Ordered the power pressure cooker xl they never told me it was on back order. Repeatedly called in, and received at least 3 to 4 different ship dates. They apologized and cut the shipping cost in half. I also ordered the steam tray which I've had for three and a half weeks with no power pressure cooker.

    I tied to cancel the order because I thought I would never get my pressure cooker. Now I'm stuck with steam tray which I cannot use. (One of the supervisors talked me into ordering it. He gave it to me for $87 and free shipping. Anyway, after I heard 3 to 4 different shipping dates and that the cooker was on 2 week backorder I finally decided to cancel the order. I called to get the return slip, but they offered to send me the accessory package. I asked her what good is that going to do me without the pressure cooker. So I canceled the order, it's ridiculous. I would never buy from this company again. I called the New Jersey Better Business Bureau and filed the complaint. Now my next step is to call the Attorney General and see about a class action lawsuit because I can imagine how many other people they have done this to. I wanted to buy this pressure cooker because I am a disabled vet and it's hard for me to cook but that didn't seem to matter and tell them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Happy? Not so Much

    • by Nancy Guthrie,
    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Feb 14, 2015

    When i can get the Power Cooker XL to choose a program I want to cook -- it is wonderful. Unfortunately I can't always get it to choose the program I want. It is very frustrating to count on the quick cook time of a pressure cooker, only to have to turn around and cook the traditional way on a stovetop or oven. There are no troubleshooting instructions in any of the provided pamphlets -- not a good thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never went to cooking time

    • by Ralph,
    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Feb 13, 2015

    Tried cooking beef short ribs in this. Never went to cooking time, it was always building pressure. I took meat out after 4-1/2 hours (still building pressure). It was done and falling off bone. Tried again just using water in canning phase, built pressure for 1 hour, never went to canning time. Called customer service, they said to start over, did that -- same result. Piece of crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Love the concept but very poor design

    • by B Harris,
    • Fairfield, OH,
    • Feb 13, 2015

    I received my Pressure Cooker XL a couple weeks before Christmas. The day I opened it, the plastic around the stream valve was cracked during shipping. I immediately called customer service and they said they would ship me the part. Today is February 13th and I have yet to receive it! The crack didn't effect the functioning and honestly most everything I have cooked in it had been good. But, after 3-4 uses the non-stick coating began to flake off. I have never used any metal utensils other than what came with the unit. This is very disappointing to me. Then when you try to return it you have to pay shipping both ways which is over 50 bucks! I only paid 70 for it, so it is not worth it. If they would fix the design, improve quality and stand by their guarantee. The company should pay shipping for their product flaws. Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Biggest change in how my food is prepared

    • by Dennis Milford,
    • Greenville PA,
    • Feb 11, 2015

    There are now 7 new cookers in the family. Most are the power models. One of them actually shorted out on its 3 usage. The replacement gets used 3 plus times a week with no problems. Everyone loves the quickness, taste difference, ease of cleaning up, and quality of the foods prepared. I sometimes wish I could get commissions on all the ones that have been sold due to my wife's and my recommendations. As I write this, lumpy apples are being made 10 minutes at pressure followed by chicken breasts and mixed vegetables 20 minutes at pressure. The instructions are lacking and yes I was able to put my lid on wrong once causing a long time figuring out the locking device. That is why the 4-star rating.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Steam Valve Issues

    • by Deb Rosenquist,
    • York, PA,
    • Feb 9, 2015

    I was very excited to try this new gadget. All went well while I was making beef stew, until it finished and I released the Steam Valve. Oh my word, juice and steam went everywhere including on the cabinets, walls, floors, etc. What a mess to deal with. I called customer service, who said this can be expected, and to next time to carefully open the valve. Minimal directions were included. I'm wary to use again as I don't want our new kitchen ruined!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Once you figure out the functions, it's easy and simple to use

    • by Joy L. Stoll,
    • Kansas,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    When I first got the power cooker, I tried using some of the recipes that came with it. Sadly, they were missing phrases and ingredients in the recipes. But as I love to experiment with food I soon made my own recipes and love the fact I can can cook a beef stew in about 45 minutes with a 3 pound roast. The preparation time is about 15 minutes using fresh vegetables.

    For those people having trouble with the seal after you wash it for the first time with soap and water, be sure put a little vegetable oil on the rubber. It will make the seal last longer and provides a better seal. As for the burning issue, make sure there is always some form of liquid, whether it be water, sauce, wine. etc. Liquid should always cover the bottom of the pot. That's Pressure Cooker 101 according to my mother and grandmother. The cooker is a little faster than a regular one but definitely not as fast as it claims.

    Overall, I find it to be safer than a regular pressure cooker as well. If the lid is placed on correctly and is locked, there is no way the lid can blow. My sister watched me cook using the power cooker and wanted one for herself as she does not have the time to cook when she gets home from work so I bought her one for Christmas. Sadly it did not come until mid January so yes, shipping is an issue. However My shipping and handling was free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Poor Lid Design

    • by James Scott,
    • Sullivan, Missouri,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    The company sends you a cooker with a lid different than the one shown in their advertisements and this one is poorly designed. The plastic sliding pressure valve has to be manually fiddled with to finally get a seal for the cooker to build up pressure.

    There's no way this unit could be programmed to come on without someone needing to adjust the valve.

    I've used this cooker and the Wolf-Gang Puck cooker. They both cost the same price and the wolf-Gang Puck is not only an 8 quart (power pressure xl is only 6 quart), but the lid is for superior and they shipped immediately.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Love to pressure cook

    • by Heidi Marvin,
    • New Jersey,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    I've been cooking with pressure cookers all my life and I'm a big fan of pressure cooking. When I saw this on TV, I loved the fact that I didn't have to guess on the timing or cook over an open flame. The pre-set buttons are great. I got mine at Kohls saving money and aggravation (based on the reviews). I'm very happy with mine and plan to be using it regularly. Yesterday, I made a small pork loin (in 30 minutes) and a pot of Rice-a-Roni that was finger-licking good.

    Next time, I will brown the loin first as I didn't like the way it looked when it was done, although it tasted delicious. As others have mentioned, pressure cooking is a different experience but well worth the learning curve. Those who have never cooked with one should give themselves time to learn.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • by Vanessa,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 8, 2015

    After trying my new pressure cooker my, husband and I liked how it cooked our chicken breast in 15 minutes. However, waiting the 17 minutes for the warm up time first makes it inconvenient. I cook it faster on the stovetop. It is not worth it and trying to call for a return was ridiculous. First they told me that no order exists. After I demanded to speak to a supervisor whom I couldn't even understand, she found my order and told me I have to pay to ship it back and they would refund my money in 3-5 business days after they receive it. I will be calling my credit card company to dispute the payment they try to take from me. Don't even waste your time ordering!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-20 of 243

Write a review for Power Pressure Cooker XL!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review