About Probiotic America

Manufactured by Probiotic America, Perfect Biotics is a digestive health supplement that’s claimed to designed around “the latest scientific research and cutting-edge technology” to help relieve your chronic fatigue, gas, and bloating.

According to the Probiotic America website, Perfect Biotics is formulated around providing users with an 80/20 “gut equilibrium” between good and bad bacteria, so that you’ll experience increased energy, improved metabolism, and many other digestive benefits.

In addition, when compared to the competition, Probiotic America’s claims to raise their bacteria cultures in a Wisconsin laboratory, encapsulate and third-party test it in Utah, and then test it a third time upon arriving at the company’s distribution center in Southern California. And because they’re cutting out the middlemen—and the length of time spent on store shelves, Perfect Biotics is claimed to arrive at your door with maximum freshness and maximum purity.

Ultimately, Probiotic America dubs its Perfect Biotics supplement “the most powerful probiotic on the market.” But is this necessarily true, and are Probiotic America’s products worth the price? Consider the following:

What Ingredients Does Probiotic America’s Perfect Biotics Contain?

Probiotic America claims that Perfect Biotics contains a patented formula of 15 high-quality bacteria strains with 30 billion CFUs (colony-forming units), each with their own unique set of benefits:

  • Lactobacillus Salivarius – Claimed to protect against cavities and gingivitis.
  • Lactobacillus Casei – May help inhibit the inflammatory response.
  • Lactobacillus Plantarum – Possibly helps heal injuries.
  • Bifidobacterium Infantis – May help improve your immune system.
  • Bifidobacterium Bifidum – Can help prevent the overgrowth of candida (yeast).
  • Lactococcus Lactis – Helps metabolize (break down) carbohydrates.
  • Lactobacillus Paracasei – May help relieve symptoms associated with atopic dermatitis (eczema).
  • Streptococcus Thermophilus – Possibly helps fight respiratory infections.
  • Lactobacillus Acidophilus – May help reduce blood pressure and cholesterol levels.
  • Bifidobacterium Breve – Can reduce gas and other bowel, stomach, and intestine irritation.
  • Lactobacillus Brevis – May help prevent kidney stones.
  • Bifidobacterium Lactis – Can improve digestive comfort.
  • Lactobacillus Bulgaricus – May help “draw away toxins.”

Perfect Biotics is claimed to be made in the USA in a GMP facility, without soy, lactose, or gluten. According to the company, most users notice a difference after 4-6 weeks of regular use.

Do Probiotics Provide Any Health Benefits?

Before discussing Perfect Biotics specifically, it’s important to note that for the most part, probiotics have a fairly large amount of clinical data showing them to be effective for numerous conditions. These include reducing irritable bowel syndrome symptoms (as well as gas and bloating), increased immune system response, decreased allergic responses, and much more.

For an in-depth look at probiotics and their benefits, be sure to read through our article titled Everything You Wanted to Know About Probiotics, but Didn’t Know to Ask.

Are Perfect Biotics’s Ingredients Effective?

With this said, even though lactobacillus and bifidobacteria have been shown to provide some benefits for the majority of people who use them, this doesn’t necessarily mean your health will significantly be improved, or that you’ll experience everything claimed by Probiotic America.

For example, although one of Perfect Biotics’s claimed benefits is increased carbohydrate metabolization, this doesn’t mean you’ll be able to eat all the bread you want, or that you’ll lose weight if you don’t. Also, although one study may have shown some probiotic strains could help promote healing, this doesn’t mean you’ll experience a noticeable reduction in healing time if you were to sustain a severe injury tomorrow.

In short, you’re much more likely to experience relief from constipation, gas, bloating, and other types of digestive upset, and possibly from eczema, using probiotics (Perfect Biotics or otherwise) than you are some of the others claimed on the supplement’s website.

Is Probiotic America “The Most Powerful Probiotic on the Market?”

Perhaps because of the benefits experienced by so many users, probiotics such as Perfect Biotics have flooded the market over the past couple years, including other popular options such as ProbioSlim, Whole Body Keybiotics, Essential Cultures, and many more.

The point is that you have a wide variety of options from which to choose, so it’s important that you research several probiotics before handing over your hard-earned money (HighYa is a great place to start!).

With this said, many of Probiotic America’s competitors manufacture supplements with 10 million (or more) bacteria CFUs, so Perfect Biotics isn’t necessarily the most powerful available (important note: Perfect Biotics from Probiotic America does not appear to be related in any way to PerfectBiotics from Perfect Origins).

Does Probiotic America Cause Any Side Effects?

According to WebMD, most people who take probiotics do not experience any side effects, and those that do are generally mild. These include digestive upset, bloating, or gas, although these should subside within a couple days as your body adjusts to the increased bacteria levels.

SEE ALSO: The Side Effects of Probiotics: What to Watch for, When to Talk To Your Doctor and When You Should Say No

Are Customers Finding Relief with Probiotic America?

Perfect Biotics is manufactured by Probiotic America, LLC based out of Woodland Hills, CA.

The company appears to be very new, as their trademark was filed in October 2014 and their website URL was registered in January 2015. As such, Probiotic America wasn’t listed with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, and no online customer reviews were available.

However, more than 200 HighYa readers have provided feedback on the popular probiotics noted above, and gave them an average rating of almost 4 stars. Common compliments included reduced gas and bloating, increased regularity, and an improved metabolism. On the other hand, the most common complaint was failure to work.

Granted, this may not be what you’ll experience with Probiotic America’s supplement, but it’s always helpful to know what consumers are saying about the competition.

Probiotic America Pricing & Refund Policy

Perfect Biotics from Probiotic America is priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99 plus $4.95 S&H
  • 3 Bottles: $119.82 plus free shipping
  • 6 Bottles: $221.94 plus free shipping

Since writing our original review, Probiotic America released a second product named Perfect Digest (more about this in the next section), which is priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle: $29.95
  • 3 Bottles: $76.37
  • 6 Bottles: $141.96

Note: According to Probiotic America’s Terms & Conditions, an autoship program is available that provides regular shipments (once per month) of Perfect Biotics to your door. However, we were not presented with an autoship option when checking out, and no additional information is provided on the supplement’s website.

All Probiotic America purchases come with a 90-day refund policy, although you will be required to send the empty bottles back to the manufacturer. In order to request a refund or cancel your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at (866) 803-9895.

What’s Different Between Perfect Biotics & Perfect Digest?

Instead of supplying your body with beneficial bacteria like Probiotic America, Perfect Digest supplies a blend of 16 different enzymes:

  • Amylase 20,000 DU
  • Diastase 20,000 DP
  • Bacterial Protease 50,000 HUT
  • Glucoamylase 50AGU
  • Fungal Protease 20,000 HUT
  • Alpha-Galactosidase 500 GALU
  • Lactase 750 ALU
  • Cellulase 1,500 CU
  • Beta-Glucanase 50 BGU
  • Lipase 2,400 FIP
  • Xylanase 1,000 XU
  • Pectinase 50 endo-PGU
  • Acid Protease 20 SAPU
  • Phytase 10 FTU
  • Invertase 500 SU
  • Hemicellulase 500 HCU

By taking one capsule daily, Perfect Digest claims to help breakdown food and support healthy digestion, leading to reduced gas and bloating, along with increased nutrient absorption from food. Is there any evidence these enzymes will accomplish this?

First, enzymes digest food by attaching themselves to particles and breaking them down so that you’re body can absorb the nutrients they contain. To this extent, different enzymes are responsible for breaking down different kinds of food; amylase for carbohydrates, bacterial protease for proteins, lactase for milk products, lipase for absorbing fat, and so forth.

But does this necessarily mean that adding more enzymes to your diet—or taking an enzyme supplement like Perfect Digest (or any of the other supplements we’ve reviewed, like Prolazyme and Zymbiotix)—will provide any benefits claimed by the company? Here’s how a 2013 US News article puts it:

“In considering whether taking supplemental digestive enzymes may be beneficial, one should recognize that the term ‘digestive enzymes’ is a catchall that includes a variety of compounds with different purposes—similar to “vitamins’ or ‘probiotics.’ Just as we can’t draw sweeping generalizations about whether taking vitamins is beneficial (it would depend on which vitamin in which individual), so too with digestive enzymes: It depends on which enzyme and in what population.”

For example, do you have a pancreatic insufficiency? Lactose intolerance? A high fiber diet? In any of the instances, taking specific enzymes could aid in the digestion process. But overall, there’s a lack of clinical evidence showing that general enzyme supplementation can reliably provide improved digestion in all individuals.

Who is Dr. Cary Nelson?

Dr. Cary Nelson is a board certified physician who graduated from the University of Guadalajara in 2000, and who has specialized in family medicine and aesthetic medicine for the past 12 years. In that time, Dr. Nelson has been the recipient of numerous awards, including a Patients’ Choice Award five years in a row, a Top 10 Doctor in the city of Torrance, and more.

Today, Dr, Nelson uses his training in laser techniques, skin rejuvenation, and anti-aging to help his patients achieve the look their desire. Because of this, most patients seem pleased with the care he provides, whether at his South Bay Family Medical Group practice or at Torrance Memorial Medical Center.

Despite his background in medicine, Dr. Nelson suffered from digestive health issues for much of his life. In fact, he claims that these problems were so common that he thought it was “just the way [his] body worked.”

It wasn’t until he was an adult that Dr. Nelson began supplementing his diet with probiotics, which he claims opened his eyes, improved his digestion, and turned him into a much happier and healthier person. Now, with Probiotic America, he’s able to focus on formulating “cutting edge probiotic supplements” based on “the latest nutritional breakthroughs” that could very well help you bring your digestive system back into balance. After all, like Dr. Nelson, you might not even realize that you’re suffering in the first place!

Should You Purchase Probiotic America’s Supplement?

Chopping to the Point: Overall, probiotics have helped millions of people find relief from a variety of “gut” issues, including gas, bloating, IBS, diarrhea, and much more. Because of this, many of the strains contained in Probiotic America could possibly help you experience the same.

However, it’s important that you put your expectations into perspective. In other words, if you think taking Perfect Biotics will automatically send your immune system through the roof; that your stomach problems will be a thing of the past; or that you’ll have perfect oral health, you’re bound to be disappointed. On the other hand, if you want relief from mild to moderate bloating and gassiness, probiotics such as Perfect Biotics may help. Just be sure to speak with your physician first.

Finally, because there are so many probiotics from which you can choose, including multiple ones at your local pharmacy—many of which are priced lower than Perfect Biotics, you might want to search near your home first. And don’t worry; many modern probiotics manufacturers include proprietary technology to ensure your bottle contains the maximum number of CFUs, regardless of how long it’s been sitting on a store shelf.

SEE ALSO: Probiotics 101: Their Benefits, How They Work, & Foods That Contain Them

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

838 Customer Reviews for Probiotic America

Average Customer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 606 4 stars: 166 3 stars: 26 2 stars: 11 1 stars: 29
Bottom Line: 94% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 838
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Everybody is different

    • Corte Madera, CA,
    • Sep 21, 2016

    I have taken the Perfect Biotics for six months but have not noticed any difference in my health or the way I feel. I had great hope but have been disappointed. Each and every one of us is different, so I would not discourage anyone from giving it a try. It may work well or great for you. I have also taken Perfect Digest for six months and have not noticed any difference either. I am not giving up, however. I am trying their new product Vital Biotics to see if this makes any difference for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    A Good Product

    • Florida,
    • Sep 14, 2016

    Since a young age, I have suffered various bouts of intense intestinal cramping coupled with constipation followed by severe diarrhea. As I grew older (I am not in my mid-30s) this became worse and worse. Over the past years, in particular, it became almost daily, and became part of my "Well, this is just life."

    I have never been formally diagnosed with any illness. Last year I also began to have joint problems, starting with my knee and then spreading to ankles, feet, shoulders, neck, and wrists. This progressed very quickly. After doing some research on arthritis, I found that intestinal problems could be one culprit.

    On a hunch, I changed, first, my diet. I cut way back on red meat and ate way more veggies. The other thing I cut down on was alcohol intake (and this in itself does wonders, don't let anyone tell you otherwise) - whereas I had been drinking 14-20 drinks per week, I cut back to 5 - 7, and cut out hard liquor and beer, opting for white wine, instead.

    Finally, I decided to see if these "probiotics" were all they were cracked up to be. After taking this (Perfect Biotics by Probiotic America) for just a few days, I no longer had diarrhea. I wasn't going to the toilet 3-4 times day. I did feel "heavy" for the first few days, but I attributed this to the fact that I had been constantly using the bathroom for years, and in fact this new feeling was normalcy!

    I continued it for a month and while I did have 1 or 2 episodes, for the most part, I noticed a marked improvement. I am no scientist or doctor and I know people are rightly suspicious of these kinds of pills, but I can say - I know what I know about my body, and there was a definite improvement with these. Was it all the pill? No. Was it 100% totally better? No. But better than it's been in years.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    My true experience with this product

    I really think that I gave this product a fair chance. I used this product for over 3 months and saw little to no effects for myself and felt that for the price that I was unable to continue using it. I wouldn't DISCOURAGE ANYONE from trying it, because what works for one person may not work for another. Our genetic make up is different for everyone I feel it was worth a good and fair chance.

    Thank you,

    Deidre Matney

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 12, 2016

      Lorelai, Customer Advocate

      Hello Deidre. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your honest feedback here on Highya. We are very glad that you gave Probiotic America a chance. As you mentioned, what works for one may not work for another. I would be more than happy to ensure that you are fully refunded, per our Money Back Guarantee. Please email me directly at lorelai@probioticamerica.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Can't live without

    • Florida,
    • Sep 7, 2016

    I absolutely LOVE these probiotics. They are easy and safe for my children to take. My smaller kids I just use half. It helped 2 of my 3 children with constipation. The other one never had that issue. Plus my daughter who is soon to be a teenager, her acne cleared up.

    For me, I'm 44 and feel fantabulous when I am taking these. My energy level is better. I crave less unhelpful foods, my skin looks brighter and my bloated tummy disappears.

    Then there is another bonus, I don't have to refrigerate them, so traveling makes it very easy. Plus they are a powder inside an easy release gel tab so your body can absorb them better.

    I had given a friend 5 capsules, ran into her a week later and she told me that when she went to fill her cravings, she then looked at the food and her body wasn't interested. It takes up to 9 months to clean out your intestines. Give this one 3 months and you will see changes that only can make you smile.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Probiotic America is great!

    • Marlborough, MA,
    • Aug 30, 2016

    I saw the ad on Pinterest and decided to check it out. I have been having problems with diarrhea for several years. I figured why not try it. I started taking it Jan 2016 and gave it 30 days and it worked. I figured I would try it for longer, 60 days and it really impressed me when I had no diarrhea incidents for that long. My usual issue was hurry to the bathroom with diarrhea 2 or 3 times a week and I couldn't change my food as it caused more issues. I work outdoors all year doing landscaping type work and going from one site to the next. I worked in sites where there were no restrooms and had a couple close calls. It was embarrassing and it has now been 8 months and I feel so much better. I have lost 7 pounds and feel I can leave the house and actually exercise more without the worry of a diarrhea incident that used to inhibit my freedom to enjoy going places and eating away from home. I recommend you try it, everyone is an individual and products affect people differently but I have heard lots of good things about Probiotic America.

    I recently gave 2 bottles of the Perfect Biotics with 15 strains to a friend who is having some issues and so far I have not heard anything bad. I have also told my 5 sisters about the changes and they seem to be ready to try them. Oh, I felt good enough to start riding a cruiser bicycle ( I am almost 64) that I recently purchased and don't feel worried about being away from the restrooms! I feel less sluggish and feel like doing some activities that I used to do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great Product.

    I read a review about this product and wasn't sure at first if I should try it or not. Luckily I found a 5% off coupon code for the 6 bottle option on this page, and it helped push me to try them. I definitely don't regret it. I feel less bloated and am not craving sugary sweets as much. Cheers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product, but....

    • San Antonio, Texas,
    • Aug 2, 2016

    I've been taking these probiotics for several months now. I took the bottle to my gastroenterologist to look at the ingredients. He asked me why I started taking them and I told him it was mostly to address my lactose intolerance (which I diagnosed myself several years ago).

    He said a probiotic won't help with lactose intolerance and it would be better to take Lactaid pills to help with that.

    I found a product that addresses lactose intolerance and also has some probiotic in it so I ordered some to try.

    I decided to stop taking Probiotic America and see how the new one works when it arrives.

    Since stopping it, I have had stomach cramps and intestinal cramping and diarrhea for days. I finally went back on it and feel better.

    I'm wondering if anyone else has had a similar problem going off the product?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Helped with my diverticulitis

    After my diagnosis of diverticulitis I found this to be a great help - combined with more fiber in my diet.

    It's a little expensive, but you often find with these 'boutique' supplement companies that the product quality is just leaps and bounds better than the average rubbish you find on Amazon for a few bucks.

    Side effect, I've always had fairly bad skin - and this cleared that up better than any of the prescribed antibiotics I've been given.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Probiotic America

    Perfect Biotics is the BEST product I have ever used. After spending thousand of dollars at the gastrologist​ with no answers, Probiotic America solved all my problems in just one month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    This product ended 5-6 years of constipation

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 10, 2016

    I have been suffering from chronic constipation for the past 5-6 years, and I am now in my third month of taking Perfect Biotics and have been regular at least 85% of the time (depending on the week and my stress level). My constipation started rather abruptly and then ebbed and flowed over the years, and I was very confused over the cause of it. I am a generally healthy eater (eating mostly vegetarian), I exercise and strive to keep a good life balance. I knew that there was nothing significantly wrong with me, like disease or cancer, and figured it was stress (since I am more naturally wired towards anxiety).

    Since I've had horrible luck with Western doctors and had health insurance off and on, I didn't/couldn't take the traditional Western doctor route in treatment. I tried various probiotics from the store, acupuncture, energy work (which did work, short-term), and other natural/ Ayurvedic​/Chinese herb supplements, but nothing gave lasting results. I had to drink Smooth Move Tea almost every night in order to keep regular. I watched the video for Probiotics America, and figured that I might as well give it a shot, and I am SO grateful that I did. Now that I have been taking Perfect Biotics, I feel like I am becoming normal again! I started noticing significant differences within my 2nd month of taking the product. I am now regular more of the time than not, I feel like my appetite is more balanced (I don't crave sweets as strongly as I used to), and I don't get fatigued as easily. Overall, this product has saved me. The longer I have taken it, the more results I have noticed. If you're teetering on whether to try, I say totally go for it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I need Perfect Probiotics back.

    I first watched the video for Probiotic America. I identified with most of the symptoms to my surprise.

    My most significant symptoms were gas, bloating, and especially constipation. These symptoms were greatly improved, but I realized that maybe I should try other probiotics (less cost), since I had never taken them before.

    Now, months later, I am miserable. I have tried several other probiotics to no avail and I'm ready to go back to Probiotic America, Perfect Biotics, and the cost is worth it.

    Of course I will continue to look for price breaks and sales.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 838

Write a review for Probiotic America!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review