About Profemin

Profemin is a dietary supplement that claims to contain a patented formula of 3 botanicals used in traditional Chinese medicine, all of which have been scientifically shown to relieve menopausal symptoms quickly, safely, and naturally, without taking hormones. On top of this, Profemin is claimed to be so safe and gentle that more than 100 million doses have been taken worldwide.

How Does Profemin Claim to Work?

According to the Profemin website, 1/3 of women today are affected by the symptoms of menopause, including trouble sleeping, moodiness, hot flashes, night sweats, fatigue, joint and muscle aches, and more. And although some of these symptoms can last for years at a time, Profemin claims to contain a standardized blend of 3 natural herbs that provide a powerful, synergistic benefit for the symptoms of menopause, such as:

  • Angelica Gigas extract for gynecological health
  • Phlomis Umbrosa extract for anti-inflammatory benefits and pain relief
  • Cynanchum Wilfordii extract for improved circulatory function

The supplement’s website claims that Profemin was subjected to an independent, double-blind clinical study, which showed that 96% of women taking it experienced relief from 4 or more common menopausal symptoms in 6 weeks. In fact, some are claimed to have experienced benefits in as little as a week.

Profemin is claimed to be safe and effective for use, and to be independently tested for purity and for the absence of pesticides and heavy metals like lead.

In order to begin using Profemin, the manufacturer claims that you should take one capsule twice daily, with or without food.

Profemin Pricing & Refund Policy

Profemin is available through 3 different purchasing options:

  • 30-Day Trial: $9.95
  • 1 Bottle: $59.95 plus 5.95 S&H
  • 2 Bottles: $69.90 plus $9.95 S&H

All orders are claimed to include a copy of Feeling Great Naturally, A Menopause Survival Guide.

If you choose the 30-day trial or 2-bottle options, keep in mind that you’ll be automatically enrolled in Profemin’s autoship program. This means you’ll continue receiving 2 bottles of the supplement every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $69.90 plus $9.95 S&H each time.

Profemin comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund or cancel your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-221-0905.

If you’d rather purchase through a third-party retailer, Profemin is also available at Amazon.com.

Can Profemin Help You Find Relief from Your Menopause Symptoms?

For some women, menopause can begins as soon as their late 30s or early 40s, and persist long after menopause has taken hold. During this time, many women can experience life-changing symptoms that have a big impact. But can Profemin help with this? Consider the following:

Profemin Ingredients Breakdown

Angelica Gigas is a perennial plant native to parts of China, Japan, and Korea, whose roots have been used for centuries to treat a variety of conditions. In 2007, a chemical known as decursin was isolated from the plant’s roots, although the vast majority of research on this chemical has been related to its anti-cancer properties, not for its relief of menopausal symptoms.

Most studies for Phlomis Umbrosa’s effects on menopausal symptoms have been conducted using supplements similar to Profemin (in fact, see here and here for nearly identical formulations but under different brand names), and not on the ingredient itself.

However, looking through the National Institutes of Health’s PubMed, the only reference to Cynanchum Wilfordii and menopause is found in the study for A. Gigas noted above.

Taken together, while some of the ingredients found in Profemin have been found to help with certain menopausal symptoms, this means that there is insufficient clinical evidence to say with certainty that this formulation will reliably work in all instances.

What Are Other Women Experiencing with Profemin?

Although Profemin’s URL was first registered in August 2013, there are very few online customer reviews available for the supplement. In fact, the only legitimate reviews we encountered during our research were found on Amazon.com.

Of these, it appears that most users were at least somewhat pleased with their purchase, although the most common complaint was failure to work.

Interestingly, among the 7 Amazon reviews for the product (as of 11/12/14), nearly all the positive ones were submitted by users with only one review, and all were submitted between October 22 and November 11.

Who is Dr. Tara Allman?

Dr. Tara Allman is referenced in several places on the Profemin website—in fact, her bio is the only information provided on the Science link on the supplement’s site. However, it’s not made clear (on the Profemin website or on Dr. Allman’s site) what her role is with the product.

In other words, did she formulate Profemin or help choose its ingredients, or is she simply acting as an endorser for the supplement? We’re simply not informed.

Arbitration Agreement

Finally, keep in mind that you’ll be submitting to an arbitration agreement when placing your Profemin order, which means that you’ll be waiving your right to a jury trial or to become part of a class action lawsuit related to your use of the supplement.

Bottom Line

When it comes down to it, menopausal symptoms can be caused by a wide variety of factors, including “nutritional status, lifestyle habits, shifting and declining hormone levels, plus genetics and epigenetics.” This means that what works well for one individual may not work at all for another.

However, keep in mind that while Profemin may be more gentle than prescription menopausal treatments, its 3 botanicals lack sufficient clinical evidence showing that they’re equally as effective. Because of this, it’s strongly recommended that you speak with your physician before placing your order for Profemin.

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Customer Reviews for Profemin

Average Customer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 3 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 5 1 stars: 5
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It is a good product for Menopause

    I've been using Profemin for about two months. After using it I haven't had any hot flashes and was able to do my daily routine without worrying about it anymore. I was also able to have better sleep in the night.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • California,
    • Aug 26, 2016

    I've been using Profemin for about a month now. Literally after the first use I haven't had any hot flashes and have been sleeping like a baby.

    I ordered through Amazon as I wanted to try first and I must admit that it is working great for me.

    I definitely recommend this product

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Nurse

    I love Profemin. I've been taking it for 2 weeks now, and I fell so good. I used to have hot flashes every 45 minutes, I was so embarrassed when I was in public, my face dripping sweat and my makeup would be smeared. Thank God for Profemin. And it's natural.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 55 people found this review helpful

    False information

    • High Desert,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Even though I felt less severe hot flashes, I just canceled my subscription. I called to ask why I was charged on the 4th of Dec and again on the 29th. Was told if product was not returned within 30 days they charge you. Saying this is stated in the paperwork that comes with the product. I read to her exactly what my order form said and that nowhere does it state that. She was argumentative and rude. There are other products for a lot less to try.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 15, 2015

      Rita

      Does this pill really work? Someone help me.

    • Mar 2, 2015

      Pamela

      No it doesn't work so don't waste your time or money. Look into a supplement called DHEA. It worked for me.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 40 people found this review helpful

    It does help, but what is in there?

    • Eureka, CA,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I bought Profemin through eBay, paying a lot less. I took it for a couple of months and found my hot flashes and night sweats greatly reduced. However, I am rather nervous about the ingredients. I have developed severe headaches over the last few weeks and am wondering if these pills may be the cause. I have stopped taking them. "Proprietary Blend" can mean anything. What is really in there? I am not willing to take that risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Please Read Before You Buy

    • Williston, ND,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    I bought this and used it for two months. I took it to get rid of hot flashes and night sweats. It made them worse. I called the company and they said I was not giving it enough time. So took it another month. Then told them I would like to cancel. I still got a shipment on the tenth of March and was told it had to be back in there hands on the 21st. Also had to do all kinds of stuff to package to send back. But they were willing to offer me a 20% discount if I did not want to go through the hassle of sending it back! What a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Two months and no difference

    • Utah,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    I started taking this on December 1st and now into February, I'm still taking Profemin and never missing a dose. I'm not even seeing a small difference in my hot flashes or sleeping. As I'm writing this review, I'm getting hot flashes so in my opinion this product does not work and do what it was supposed to do. Please don't waste your money like I did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    I'm menstruating again.

    • Poconos, PA,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I started taking Profemin two weeks ago and it helped with being hot. But after going six months without menstruating, I was wondering why I am now having a period again? I'm sending them back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    I'd recommend Profemin.

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I've been taking Profemin for three weeks now. The first thing I recognize was my irritability and moodiness less severe. I could go from 1 to 100 in a minute and the stress of it. Now my moods are calmer and I can think clearer. I sleep better, can lay down and fall asleep. No more vaginal dryness and best of all I am not fatigued when I wake. I'm also ok with the pricing because I chose the vitamin d blend, so roughly I'm paying $50 a month. So it's $100 bi-monthly. I'm okay with it because I truly wanted to feel better and I truly do. It felt good to be calm when I was challenged by my everyday life and not to respond the way I was accustomed to. I'd recommend Profemin and hope it gives you the same effect. It's been roughly three weeks, I'm hoping this does it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    I will not recommend it.

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Maybe to other people this product works, but I called to order on 10/31 and they told me clearly that it would take 2 to 3 weeks to receive. Well I received the product on the second week of December and I was giving it time to work. Then I went to use the little money I had in my account but they took $79.90 from my bank account.

    I called them and some very rude man told me that they took the payment because they had delivered the product on the 6th of November but I explained to him that this wasn't the case yet he just said that they had proof with a tracking number and that I should call my post office.

    I did call my post office and they didn't even want to check on the tracking number. They told me that if it was more than a month then there was nothing they could do. I really think that it's not fair for this company to do this to honest people.

    I don't know if I was the only one that experienced this but I'm going to talk to a lawyer to see what they advise me. My advice to others is to be very careful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 3, 2015

      JANNIE SULL, MAINE

      I got the worst heartburn from this that I thought I was having a heart attack. If you are on other medication, check first and make sure it doesn't interact with prescription meds.

    • Feb 18, 2015

      Anonymous

      This company is a fraud! Do not, I repeat do not, buy these crap pills.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It works for me

    • Crestview, FL,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    I am been using this product for six months and it reduced a lot my menopause symptoms. I been having circulation problems with different hormones treatments so I decided to try Profemin and so far I like it. Every woman goes through menopause in different ways and Profemin works for me. The only issue is that it's quite expensive.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a review for Profemin!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review