About Pure Detox Max

Pure Detox Max is a nutritional supplement that’s claimed to help you achieve a tighter body, naturally increase your energy, flatten your stomach, and promote healthy longevity by flushing harmful food debris and toxins from your body, leaving it “clean, disinfected, and functioning properly.”

In order to accomplish these benefits, Pure Detox Max claims to include the following natural ingredients:

  • Psyllium Husk
  • Rhubard Root
  • Ginger Root
  • Apple Fiber
  • Senna Leaf

Summer is just around the corner, and you’re probably thinking about how your body will look in a swim suit after the cold, dark winter (and lots of Holiday eating!). Can Pure Detox Max help get you in shape by the time the weather turns warm, or will you just be hot from all the money you lost? Consider the following:

What Does Science Say About Pure Detox Max’s Ingredients?

According to WebMD, there is insufficient clinical evidence showing that psyllium, rhubarb, ginger, apple fiber, or senna can provide any of the benefits claimed by Pure Detox Max’s manufacturer.

Instead, what some of these ingredients (specifically psyllium and senna) have been shown to be effective at is relieving constipation. In other words—not to put too fine a point on it—they make you poop. And because your system is temporarily flushed, you might find your stomach flatter and your body lighter.

However, as you probably imagine, this slimming effect and weight loss is only temporary, and will likely return soon after your next meal.

But think about it this way: there isn’t a product label provided on the Pure Detox Max website, so even its ingredients were shown to be effective (which they’re not), there’s no way to know if the supplement contains enough to work as advertised.

Do You Even Need a Detox Supplement in the First Place?

Which leads us to the big question: do you even need a detox supplement like Pure Detox Max? According to Dr. Michael Smith, whether you’re talking about colon cleansing, detox diets, or detox supplements:

“If your goal is to detox your system, don’t waste your time or money. Your body is an expert at getting rid of toxins no matter what you eat. Toxins don’t build up in your liver, kidneys, or any other part of your body, and you’re not going to get rid of them with the latest detox wonder. Especially avoid diets that promise to detox your liver with supplements or “cleanse” whatever the diet determines needs washing out.

The only type of detox diet that is worthwhile is one that limits processed, high-fat, and sugary foods, and replaces them with more fruits and vegetables. That clean-eating approach is your best bet to getting your body in tip-top shape.”

In short: no.

Will Pure Detox Max Cause Side Effects?

Aside from the lack of clinical evidence showing Pure Detox Max’s ingredients to be effective, and the fact that your body doesn’t require “cleansing” in the first place, the good news is that the supplement’s ingredients should be well tolerated by most individuals.

In some instances, ginger has been shown to cause side effects such as digestive upset/stomach discomfort, and psyllium to cause bloating and gas as your body prepares to purge itself.

Are Customers Getting Healthier with Pure Detox Max?

When searching online for “Pure Detox Max reviews,” although it was posted across dozens of websites, the only “review” we found was a fake news article that claimed the supplement—along with Garcinia Cambogia Pure Extract—helped Kim Kardashian lose weight.

However, there is no third-party indication that Kim has used (or even heard of) Pure Detox Max, so it’s almost certain that this is a fake celebrity endorsement. Many of these types of articles are promoted by affiliates, who earn commissions from each sale they refer, and who also tend to post fake online reviews that appear to be legitimate, but are actually just more marketing hype.

With this said, we’ve reviewed several of the most popular detox supplements here at HighYa, including Pro Power Cleanse, Advanced Cleanse Plus Aloe, and Ultimate Flush Colon Cleanse, many of which use the same ingredients as Pure Detox Max. And of these, the average rating is just 1.5 stars, with common complaints citing difficulty with the free trial (more about this next) and failure to work.

We did learn that Pure Detox Max is manufactured by Nutra Life Brands based out of Lutz, FL, who also makes many other flavor-of-the-day nutritional supplements. The company holds an F rating with the Better Business Bureau (as of 3/19/15) based on 81 closed complaints, nearly all of which reference problems with the free trial.

Pure Detox Max Pricing & Refund Policy

Pure Detox Max is only available through a 14-day trial, for which you’ll pay $6.95 to cover S&H charges.

Then, once your trial expires, your credit card will be charged $69.50 for the original bottle you received. At this same time, you’ll also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you’ll continue receiving a new bottle of Pure Detox Max once per month, and your credit card will be charged $69.50 each time.

Important note: As we outlined in our free trials and autoship articles, these are often intended to suck you into paying full price for a product that may or may not work, and then to rack up as many charges as possible. Because of these concerns, we generally recommend staying away from products sold using these methods.

Outside of their 14-day trial, Pure Detox Max comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. However, this only applies to unopened bottles. In other words, once you’ve opened it, you’ve bought it.

With this said, in order to request a refund, cancel your trial, or stop your automatic shipments, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-820-9822 for an RMA.

Will Pure Detox Max Work for You?

Chopping to the Point: As you might imagine, based on:

  • The fact that the only “benefits” provided by some of the ingredients is going to the bathroom,
  • The fact that your body doesn’t need to be “cleansed” in the first place,
  • The product’s high price, and
  • The fact that it’s only sold through a free trial and autoship program,

….it’s our opinion that Pure Detox Max is a scam and should be avoided.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Customer Reviews for Pure Detox Max

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  29
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • No good company

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product is worthless, but wait until you see the marketing side of this scam.

    Multiple products you never ordered will show up, billed to your credit card in an endless cycle, they won't cancel your order until you pay up, but never give a refund for past orders. Are they in the USA or not? Good luck trying to find out.

    If you call customer service you just get a runaround that Abbott and Costello would be proud of. They use multiple (fake) company names and pretend that you are the problem because you are too stupid to know what you intended to order. This business should be shut down; it is unethical marketing at its best. I have notified the Attorney Generals office in Ohio and hope for results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scum!

    • Columbus, Indiana,
    • Feb 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Lies, lies, lies. I called five minutes AFTER placing the order, and they said they already processed it and couldn't cancel.

    I should have read reviews BEFORE dealing with the jerk on the phone. I got mad and raised my voice after threatening a lawsuit, and the guy was rude and said I had to wait until I got the shipment, then return it back to them. Keep in mind, all of this was five minutes (for real) after I had ordered. It is NOT possible to have already gotten it ready for shipment.

    They are jerks and wouldn't let me speak to a manager. I'm filing a report with the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Complete money stealer

    • Defiance, OH,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I gave this a try thinking it might really work, but shortly after (I only tried it for a week or so) it made me sick and basically was worthless! Then to be even more angry about this order, they have taken another $150 out of my account without sending me anything in return, which is complete crap! So I have two bottles of junk and spent almost $200 to get it. What a GREAT investment. NOT.

    Don't make the same mistake I did. There is absolutely no coming out of this, it is just a hassle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Unethical company

    This company engages in highly unethical practices. Their "free trial offer" will cost you a lot of money. They shipped me additional product in spite of me telling them I didn't want any more and charged my credit card an outrageous price for it. When I returned the product they refunded me 6 weeks later but charged me $37.00 for S&H. That's $37.00 shipping for two little bottles of pills that I didn't order in the first place. They were shipped in one small box by regular US mail. They are making big profits just off those shipping charges even when people return product they never ordered. I changed my credit card number to avoid another charge because I have no doubt they would continue this practice as long as they had access to my number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Sep 12, 2015

    Thinking that I would be paying for shipping only, This is total rip off for a trial that ended up costing me $171.60 and the stuff made me sick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Sep 12, 2015

    The pills caused instant headaches. When I called customer service about canceling before the 14 days they said, “Fine, sure, will cancel.” Then I got a email from the bank account that they took by money for the full payment.

    When I called back, one representative name Monica said, “It's not her fault that I was dumb enough not to call and cancel.” Seriously? I asked her for a manager and she said there is no manager available for me and kept screaming, “No refund for you, no refund for you!” and laughed.

    That's the worst customer service I have ever experienced in my life and they still refused to give me my money back in full.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 11, 2015

      HighYa Team

      Kayan,

      We're sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortunately, many other customers state similar issues with many other nutritional supplement companies. In this case, we can suggest you call your credit card company, explain the situation to them in great detail just as you did in your review here, and they will more than likely reverse your charges and put a block on all future charge attempts from the merchant. Another route you can take prior to calling the bank is you can call the company back to them, explain the situation to them once again and make it known that you will contact your attorney to report this as fraud as well as your bank. Most likely, they'll refund your money as well. They may offer you discounts at first, you can simply state you are not interested in any discount and that you wish for your full refund.

      Hope this helps!

       

       

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    This is a total scam. Just don't do it. The 'free trial' is for a few of the pills in the bottle - you have to pay for shipping, and pay for shipping BACK to them for them. They have to receive it back within 2 weeks, so that you don't pay for the remainder for the product, which is $150. Foolish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    This company is a fraud with the various prices they charge. Customer service is horrible. I wouldn't recommend the product or the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • NY,
    • Aug 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    This products is a total scam. Charged my credit card 78.20 and 79.50 for the trial period. Then when I did speak to someone I only got refunded 30 per bottle which is ridiculous. It's a scam. The fine print said trial -- not that I would be charged an absurd amount of money for two bottles. They need to be shut down ASAP.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Big Scam

    • Maine,
    • Jul 23, 2015

    By the time you realize the product doesn't work, they already process your card with the full amount of $78.20. And then you do get more in the mail and that is when it's very hard to get your money back. After you send the unopened bottle back, unless you call, they will not give you your money back. I sent them back the bottle on January 26th and I still did not get my money back, after calling twice today (May12), they told me they will send me check for $60.20 but will keep $18 for processing. This is just another scam, and that will take 5-10 days. We'll see.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Pure detox Max

    • Jackson, GA,
    • Jul 15, 2015

    Horrible experience. Before I had the chance to open the so called free bottle, my account was charged $78.20. I'm disputing the charges with this fraudulent company. You cant even get them on the phone unless you don't have a job and can stay on hold all day.

    The new website now shows the disclaimer that was not visible when I paid the $6.95 shipping and handling to get the free bottle. They charge you on a Friday night and they are closed until Monday. If I was going to pay that kind of money I would have taken the time to do research on the product. My bank is saying that they get a lot of calls concerning free stuff that ends up charging you. Now I have to take the time to file the dispute and get them on the phone to make sure they don't use my card ever again.

    As for the product, I haven't even opened the bottle but I looked online and there is no scientific evidence that the ingredients work.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a Review for Pure Detox Max!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review