About Pure Garcinia Cambogia

According to the Pure Garcinia Cambogia website, their weight loss extract contains 60% HCA, which has been clinically shown to be “the key to fat reduction.” The company claims that their supplement is 100% pure and natural, and is completely free of fillers or harmful ingredients (see more about this in the final section).

Pure Garcinia Cambogia is based out of Pasadena, CA, and has an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on 13 closed complaints over the past three years. With such a generic company name it was difficult to locate any legitimate online reviews, though the most common complaints regarding generic garcinia cambogia appear to be high price and failure to work as advertised.

How Pure Garcinia Cambogia Works

Similar to Garcinia Cambogia Premium, Genesis Today Garcinia Cambogia, and Whole Body Garcinia Cambogia, Pure Garcinia Cambogia contains 60% (HCA), which is claimed to help boost metabolism and reduce visceral fat. According to the Pure Garcinia Cambogia website, in order to start realizing these benefits you’ll need to take just two capsules per day, each of which is 100% natural and pure, and contains the following ingredients:

  • Calcium 50mg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Potassium 50mg
  • Garcinia Cambogia Extract 60% HCA 1,000mg

Important Note: While each bottle of 60 capsules is manufactured in the U.S. in a GMP certified lab, keep in mind that calcium (a primary ingredient in Pure Garcinia Cambogia) has been shown to reduce any purported benefits provided by HCA.

In addition, despite the two clinical trials referenced on the Pure Garcinia Cambogia website here and here, there have been a wide variety of scientific papers published on the National Institutes of Health website that make it fairly clear the science behind many of these claims remains suspect. For further reading, also see our in-depth article titled Can Garcinia Cambogia Really Help You Lose Weight?

Pure Garcinia Cambogia Pricing & Refund Policy

Pure Garcinia Cambogia is currently available only from the manufacturer, in four different purchasing options:

  • Buy 1 Bottle – $48
  • Buy 2 Bottles, Get 1 Free - $98 ($32.67 each)
  • Buy 3 Bottles, Get 2 Free - $148 ($29.60 each)
  • Buy 4 Bottles, Get 3 Free - $195 ($27.86 each)

As of the time of this writing, shipping was free on all packages.

Pure Garcinia Cambogia comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, though you’ll need to contact customer service at (888) 492-0802 or Support@PureGarciniaCambogia.com to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number beforehand. For complete details, see “Return Policy” here.

Bottom Line: Is Pure Garcinia Cambogia a Scam?

While Pure Garcinia Cambogia does appear to be a legitimate product, there are some significant concerns regarding the quality of the supplement. Here’s why:

First and foremost, it’s ironic that the company wrote the following on their How it Works section: “The problem is when manufacturers attempt to put out an inferior product and reduce its effectiveness.” This is because calcium, one of the primary ingredients in Pure Garcinia Cambogia, has been shown to significantly reduce any benefits provided by hydroxycitric acid (HCA). And frankly, any company worth their salt would know this.

Second, many of the claims cited in the studies listed on the Pure Garcinia Cambogia website have been overblown, and/or are based on incomplete science. For a fairly brief overview of this, please see our Garcinia Cambogia article.

Finally, it’s once again ironic that the company writes, “How many Garcinia Cambogia supplements have you seen being sold by companies that did not exist only a few months ago? A simple Google search will yield you 50+ companies who tout their product as the best.” This is because the company’s URL was only registered in October 2012, which was right around the time Dr. Oz first touted the benefits on his TV show.

Ultimately, as with any nutritional supplement, be sure to consult with your physician if you’re thinking about taking Pure Garcinia Cambogia extract.

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

21 Customer Reviews for Pure Garcinia Cambogia

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 20
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Vaughn, MT,
    • Nov 28, 2016

    So, my mom ordered the free trial, didn't get it until maybe 5 days after, then today they decided to take two hundred dollars out of her account for another thing that they haven't even sent out.

    This is how they make money, they scam people, they are completely heartless. They don't even work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Joke

    I could not cancel and couldn't find a number to cancel. I only had the products a week but they took $79.99 from my account plus the $4.95, no one knows who I am. It's a joke, don't buy from them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Garcinia Cambogia is a scam.

    • Evanston, WY,
    • Mar 5, 2016

    This is a scam. Garcinia Cambogia made me gain weight, not lose it. Want a refund and my money back. Garcinia Cambogia does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Be very careful

    • UK,
    • Nov 18, 2015

    I bought this online. This company went into my account, took out money from my bank account without permission. I struggled to get my money back. Not happy at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 23, 2016

      Ana

      This company promises a free sample and later they go to your account and take your money. I can't even find their contact number. Can somebody provide me their phone number please.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Framingham, MA,
    • Oct 23, 2015

    This company is a scam. I only paid $5 for a free trial but it obviously was not real. Charged me over $60 the first time, then almost $90 the next month. I would not order from these people. They will just steal your money away from you. Because of them I had to get a new debit card so they would not have my information. Such B.S.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 14, 2015

      Anonymous

      It is a huge scam, I tried to order before over the phone with a pre paid card. The gentlemen said hold on, came back and said they cannot take pre paid card. So I went online order with my pre paid and it went through. My gut feeling was right. Now they got scammed by me and I hope others go get a pre paid card when ordering online.

    • Dec 17, 2015

      Laura

      I got scammed by the free trial. They took $79.99 out of my account without permission. How do I get money back?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Pure Garcinia Cambogia

    • Florida,
    • Sep 1, 2015

    It worked wonderfully for me, my friend, my niece, my sister and we still use it when we gain a little back. I lost 50 lbs. Sister lost around 30 and niece the same.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    I was also scammed

    This is what I sent to them.

    I am writing this because I was robbed by scammers with false advertisement. You set people up with that false statement of trial size failing to say it starts the day it is ordered as day one. Who in their right mind does that? People that wants to try it get conned into trying something they think is free and only pay the shipping charges. It is not really a trial, it is a scam to get money. I will tell whoever is listening about this scam and to be very careful. No real company will operate that way. You stole from me but I will see to it that no one else gets scammed. You are dishonest and a bunch of crooks trying to make a buck. You are not real! How can you claim 14 days when the product have to get there for people to try. It is not a trial, it is a scam to get money out of people. This needs to be checked into. Now you have my information and will probably steal from me again. And yes I am pissed, because I got scammed. I am going on social media and anywhere else where people can get this to let them know to be careful. All that stuff you have showing on your page is fake to entice people to get it by telling them 14 day trial, only pay the shipping, without telling them the day it is ordered is day one. How can a person start a 14 day trial without the product. This is crazy! But you are scammers and it makes a lot of sense to you. Maybe you are so desperate to where you feel a need to scam people. I hope the money you stole do you some good. But I refuse to leave it at that. I hate a thief and that is who you represent. That is who you are. You are criminals and everyone needs to know that, to be careful and investigate before giving their info out to criminals . May your day be as messed up as you are. THIEVES!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Portage, IN,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    Been taking Garcinia Cambodia for a month. Twice a day 30 minutes before meals. No weight loss, no energy, had strange pain in my head for the first week. Stuff doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Rip off or not?

    • Hamburg, Illinois,
    • Jul 17, 2015

    I ordered 1 bottle on June 3rd. Got charged for another on July 3rd. Is this a rip off?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I got scammed with this.

    • Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada,
    • Jul 17, 2015

    Watch where you buy online because I got scammed into paying $250.00. The customer service was no help. Please don't fall into the same scam as I did with this Pure Garcinia Cambogia.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Huge scam. FULL OF CRAP.

    • La Vernia, TX,
    • Jul 17, 2015

    I was charged $78 under the assumption that it was a free trial. The customer service refused to refund me and wouldn't cancel order. Had to cancel my card due to them keep charging me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a review for Pure Garcinia Cambogia!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review