About Redbox Instant

Redbox Instant by Verizon is a new online movie streaming service that currently features more than 8,000 viewable titles. Formed by a joint venture between Verizon and Redbox in February 2012, the company is geared specifically toward the U.S. consumer market, and began closed beta testing in December 2012. Available to the public as of March 2013, Redbox Instant has set its sights on becoming a primary Netflix competitor.

Redbox Instant Features and Pricing

Redbox Instant offers all new members a free 30-day trial, which can be cancelled at any time without further obligation. However, you will be required to submit your billing information at sign-up, though you will only be charged once your trial has ended.

Redbox Instant offers the following pricing:

  1. For $8 per month, members receive unlimited rights to the full streaming library with thousands of titles, most of which are older. In addition, this plan also offers four, one-night DVD rental credits that can be redeemed at more than 40,000 kiosks nationwide. For an addition $1 per month, members can also use these kiosk credits to rent Blu-ray content. Should you surpass these four credits within a month, standard kiosk rates will apply.
  2. For $6 per month, members receive unlimited rights to the full streaming library only (no kiosk credits).
  3. Redbox Instant members can rent new releases/premium content directly through their website, which start at $4.99 for standard quality, and $5.99 for HD.
  4. Movies can also be purchased online, which range between $12-$16 for standard quality, and $15-$20 for HD.

See Also: Stop Paying Too Much for Cable! Find Freedom by Cutting the Cord

Content can be streamed through a variety of devices, including PC or Mac computers, iPhone and iPad, select Android tablets and smartphones, Xbox 360 (the exclusive gaming console for Redbox Instant), Samsung Smart TVs and Blu-ray players, select LG TVs, Google TV, and Roku players.

Keep in mind that if you’re only interested in renting and/or purchasing movies, you do not need to become a Redbox Instant member, which is only necessary if you’re looking to stream content. It’s also important to note that not all movie titles are available for streaming—some will need to be reserved at a local kiosk and manually picked up. Also, even though streaming content is available in both SD and HD formats, the maximum resolution Redbox Instant provides is 720p, whereas primary competitors such as Netflix offer HD content in 1080p.

Pros:

  • Unlimited streaming for thousands of SD and HD-quality titles
  • Compatible with a variety of popular devices
  • Same price as Netflix and Hulu, but with the added benefit of four kiosk DVD rental credits per month
  • Redbox Instant can be less expensive than their competition, but only when choosing a plan without kiosk rental credits ($6 per month vs. $8 per month)
  • 30-day free trial with no contract

Cons:

  • Currently in Beta Mode, which could result in some flaws
  • HD streaming content only available in 720p, unlike Netflix, who offers 1080p
  • Streaming library offers older, non-premium movie titles
  • Streaming Redbox Instant HD/SD premium titles are much more expensive than rentals through their physical kiosks
  • Unlike Amazon Instant, Hulu, or Netflix, Redbox Instant currently only offers Movie and Documentary content categories
  • TV content is nonexistent
  • As of now, device compatibility doesn't exist for gaming consoles other than Xbox, nor for other big-name Blu-ray players, such as those from Sony.
  • Customers with other Verizon services (Fios, wireless, internet, etc.) do not receive reduced prices or any special offers

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

21 Customer Reviews for Redbox Instant

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 1 4 stars: 0 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 19
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    My experience was horrible.

    • Davenport, FL,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    I could never get a hold of anyone to help me with simple questions. When I tried to cancel I had to call three and was on hold for over an hour. When I asked to talk to manager, I was transferred over and put in hold for another 20 min, but in the end there was no one there. It is totally a scam. Not worth it. Do not do it.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad selection of movies and customer service

    • Omaha, Nebraska,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    RedBox Instant has a very bad selection of movies compared to other online services. Their customer services are not very well trained. I was told my free trial was canceled the day I contacted them but they still billed me afterwards. It has been a pain trying to get my refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Current play-store reviews are fake

    • Ocala, FL,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    Can't believe the app is still in the play-store with tons of fake user reviews. I downloaded the app weeks ago, but have never been able to use it because they are claiming to have a security flaw they apparently can't fix.

    It is a lie. They aren't accepting new users because they have failed and are not making money because they have poor content, poor technology, and extremely poor customer service epic fail. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Red Box Instant is a Scam

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 29, 2015

    Red box instant has charged my credit card for $8.78 for three months in a row. They also have charged my card $1.31 for each movie that I rent at the kiosk. The "credits" mean nothing. The customer service guy says that the 1.31 charge is only a hold a will be refunded. But it has never been refunded and this has happened all eight times. He says that he can't see the charges on his end so I will have to fax my credit card bill to the billing department but that I cant speak to anyone there.

    As for the actual service, the subscription side is a joke. They release a handful of old movies from the 90's every so often along with one new movie but the new movie is usually a straight to video "B" movie staring some washed up actor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Poor Service

    • Hampton, GA,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    I was never able to use DVD credits or stream a movie w/o hiccups. Constantly freezing up on all my compatible operating systems. Redbox Instant has a long way to go to be like Netflix. I will remain a Netflix customer. Don't go through the aggravation of registering, just to cancel a few days later.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Redbox is like the Hotel California

    • Virginia,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave. That is pretty much the way the Redbox Free Trial works. I couldn't find anything I wanted to watch, that is to stream, so I decided to cancel after about three weeks. They make it almost impossible to cancel. I tried both online, with no success, for over an hour. My password wasn't accepted. An email didn't work, nor did the chat line. Finally, I got the phone number and called at 1:25 pm. After going through a series of menus, I finally got a message to hit 5 to cancel. That was 35 minutes ago, and I'm still hearing music, not getting to talk to anybody. I have never experienced poorer service; it makes me not to want to have anything to do with this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Pay for extra content

    • Jun 23, 2015

    You have to pay for extra/new content. It's a real scam. All you get are old movies for $8 a month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and time

    • Jun 23, 2015

    I signed up thinking I would be able to watch the newest movies out at Redbox for free without leaving my home but it's not that at all. You have to pay five times as much to watch the new movies at home. The streaming movies are all on Netflix which I already pay $8 a month for a way better experience. Don't waste your time or money. Choose Netflix and continue to just buy from your nearest kiosk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Useless App

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    Complete waste of time. This app doesn't work! It's an insult to actual Redbox.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Total Rip Off

    • Idaho,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    For streaming stick with Netflix, Amazon Instant, and Hulu Plus who have proven track record.

    RedBox charges $8 a month which does not include any free streaming of new on-demand movies. On top of the $8 dollars they will charge you to watch new on demand releases. Total rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Redbox Instant a joke!

    • Needville, TX,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    So I'm getting a free trial of Redbox instant and they give me four credits. I reserve two movies thinking I have until the next night at 9 pm to pick them up. Wrong. I get an email stating I have to pick them up that night. Well, I didn't have time to watch two movies on a weeknight so I spoke to them and got two credits back.

    The next day, I try to reserve one movie and tried to pay for it this time. Online it says it looks like you already have a reservation for this movie please pick it up. I thought ok, maybe I have until tonight to pick them up. So I picked two movies up. Wrong again. I keep the movies Friday night and Saturday night.

    When I turn them in Sunday, I get an email stating I had my movies for three nights, all four credits are gone AND they charged me one night for two movies.

    What the heck? It's a rip-off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a review for Redbox Instant!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review