About Rocky Mountain Knife

Tom Buck, who says he is a survival expert, touts the Rocky Mountain Knife as the only tool you will need when out in the wilderness. They claim it has a super-sharp blade with serrated spine, a compass, and even an emergency preparedness kit which is stored inside the handle.

Rocky Mountain Knife is brought to you by Spark Innovators, a direct marketing company based in Towaco, NJ. They are not accredited by the BBB and currently have an F rating (the BBB says this is due to a lack of information about the company and the failure to respond to 2 complaints).

How Rocky Mountain Knife Works

They state the Rocky Mountain Knife is versatile and durable (but decline to state what it is made of). They say you can use it to cut cord or branches, tie on the end of a stick and create a spear or saw, and then catch and gut a fish using its jagged edge. Embedded in the knife’s handle is what they tout as an “NSA-proof” compass they say will help you navigate your way (presumably without being spied upon.)

If you screw off the top of the Rocky Mountain Knife, you will find inside what they call an “emergency preparedness kit” which includes, fishing kit, whistle, sharpener, and True Spark flint, which they claim will enable you to start a fire any time with virtually any thing. Mr. Buck boasts that only with the Rocky Mountain Knife can you catch, clean, cook, and consume.

Mr. Buck states that for thousands of years human beings have depended on some type of cutting tool for survival means. In the modern era, he says disaster scenarios are occurring far more often and that you and your family must be prepared for anything. He cautions, if you don’t have the Rocky Mountain Knife, “it can’t help ya!”

Rocky Mountain Knife includes:

  • Knife with serrated edge
  • Nylon sheath
  • Compass
  • Emergency Preparedness Kit
  • Paracord Survival Bracelet (extra S & H)

Rocky Mountain Knife Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

They say Rocky Mountain Knife is not available in stores and they are selling a limited amount during their “Survive America” campaign for $14.99 plus $7.50 processing for a total of $22.49. They say you can add a “paracord bracelet” which they claim is “great for every day solidarity” and you can unravel for rope in case of an emergency.

Pros

  • Versatile knife
  • Compass
  • Emergency kit

Cons

  • As Seen On TV products sometimes overstate their claims
  • Will loose your Shipping and Handling money, plus pay out of pocket should you return the Rocky Mountain Knife

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Customer Reviews for Rocky Mountain Knife

Average Customer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 5 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 6
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great knife for what it is

    • Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada,
    • Oct 26, 2015

    I picked ip a Rocky Mountain Knife tonight for 10 bucks at the local Giant Tiger. I got it home, tore it open and checked it out. It's cheap. It has a bunch of survival things, I like that and I'm keeping it for fun. It's a dud knife, but I will admit I like it, and the flint fire starter will last forever. It's worth 10-20 Bucks folks. Unless you're super cheap, pick one up if you see one. You'll like it. A good mountain knife.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Deluxe Rocky Mountain Survival Knife

    • Hemet, CA,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    Upon searching for another Survival Knife, I found this one. At first, I was interested until I gave my credit card, at which time a new ad changed my mind. They described the Deluxe as being sturdier and a better buy? It was $10 extra. My card had been processed for the lesser priced or inferior, cheaper knife. I immediately called the company to cancel the first order, in which they did. I informed them of my second and final order. They shipped it and it came on time. I am a former Hunter, but I now fish for Big Tuna and have been for over 10 years. I am used to Sharp knives. This knife was sharp but You know how habits go. So, I sharpened it to my satisfaction. Everything was there to my satisfaction, except One item. There should be instructions on unraveling the "Para cord?" As well as wrapping it back when finished? I'm a firm believer, you get what you pay for. I'm Satisfied thus far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The knife is great

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I got it as a Christmas gift and the blade itself is great. The back edge needed some sharpening, but everything else works great and is sealed tight. The grip might need some extra grip that you yourself can put on, but the knife itself is amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great knife

    • Texas,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    I bought this knife at Kmart for $15 and it is awesome. The handle is well gripped, the blade is sharp, and the flint actually works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Rocky mountain Knife

    • Madison. Wi,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    This knife is garbage, plastic handle, no stability. Don't waste your money. I even paid the ten bucks for the upgraded blade, sucks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Saved My Life.

    • Montana,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    So I bought this knife to survive. And it did not let me down. I found myself 4000' above the rocky mountains in my hang glider Peacefully sailing in the crisp morning breeze my knife on my side. Suddenly my right fairing snapped loose, the end if my wing spinning in the air. You fell into a tail spin. Without thought I took out my survival knife. I stabbed my ripped off fairing and was able to pull it tight against the frame of my glider. It straightened out and I was able to steer safely to ground. As I said. It saved my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 21, 2014

      Diane

      Maybe it is true, but this story sounds as good and true and this "fantastic" (I say sarcastically) knife.

    • Jul 10, 2014

      John

      If you can't tell this guys story is as fake as their knife, you should buy one too.

    • Aug 5, 2014

      John C.

      Non-sense!

    • Oct 29, 2014

      Saul

      Ok McGyver! Right.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam.

    • Nevada,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    Saw it advertised on Glenn Beck's Blaze. When I realized they were doubling the price I canceled. I gave them the order number, they couldn't find the order but said it was already shipped. Three days later they sent me a email that showed it was just shipped, three days after they said it was shipped. I will mark it refused, notified the credit card company of the scam and they will charge them back and I am done with them. I know Glenn Beck's Blaze must be embarrassed because their other items come from reputable companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Pathetic company, can't even get a knife, after reading reviews will cancel ASAP.

    • Maryland,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    The order line has credit card info, but does not give an order number. What a rip off, wish I would have read reviews before trying to order again. They have no record of either order, but have my credit card number. Tom Buck, your company sucks, you should be ashamed for taking advantage of peoples fears. I am a hunter, have my own skinning knives, just bought this so not to mess up my $200 real knives.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Was already broken.

    • Herndon, VA,
    • Jun 29, 2015

    I just got my knife about 15 minutes ago in the mail, and I am already disappointed. Upon opening the packaging, I noticed a slick oily stain on a corner of the box. I soon discovered to my disdain that the "NSA proof compass" had come lose and had spilled its fluids all over the knife. I deducted two stars for that alone.

    The Third star was lost after examining the rest of the knife. The handle is average, does not have a good grip, and does not appear very durable (It appears to be made of plastic). The sheath likewise is average, and does not look suited to handling the outdoors on a regular basis.

    The blade was the only reason I am rating this at two stars. As far as blades go, it has a very fine edge, and appears very durable. On the other hand, the "serrated edge is not sharp", and I wouldn't trust it to cut anything.

    In conclusion, if all you need is a sharp knife, then this knife is not so bad (I mean, at least it is sharp). However; if you are looking for the acclaimed Survival Knife this one claims to be, I suggest you look elsewhere, and spend a few more dollars for something of much better quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    NSA approved? Seriously?

    • Cincinnati Ohio,
    • Jun 15, 2015

    It's a piece of junk toy. Guaranteed to break when you need it. Buy this instead -- the Dajo Survivor knife from Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 10, 2014

      MW

      It's NSA "PROOF." Wow.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Really cool!

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Apr 5, 2015

    When I first saw this knife I was like "awesome"! This knife is cooler looking than the $200 Rambo First Blood one and it's very sharp. The blade is about six inches long and it's not thin so the metal wont break or bend for sure. All of my friends think it's cool.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a review for Rocky Mountain Knife!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review