What is Satin Youth?

Published on: Jan 24, 2017

Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Reducer is a daily moisturizer that claims to help you achieve visibly younger looking skin—without needles or surgery.

Instead, Satin Youth promises to provide a formula with only natural ingredients that repair your skin’s structure at the cellular level. The results, they say, is a smooth, firm, and radiant complexion that combats the signs of aging.

Normally we’d take an in-depth look at Satin Youth’s claims. However, in this case, we’re going to skip ahead to some observations.

That’s primarily because Satin Youth doesn’t disclose any of its active ingredients, making it impossible to verify the product’s claims. But also, because we’ve heard these promises before!

No, not as in the general promises made by every anti-aging product. Instead, we mean that an almost word-for-word copy of the promises on Satin Youth’s website can be found on another anti-aging product site called Evelina Collagen Serum.

After our interest was peaked, we took a closer look and started to recognize a few more aspects of Satin Youth worth mentioning.

Before we dig deep into an explanation, how do we identify points of concern?

Our Experience Offers a Bird’s Eye View of the Anti-Aging Industry

Here at HighYa, we’ve covered hundreds of these online anti-aging products by thoroughly examining the full scope of what goes into a product. This includes examining:

  • What a product claims to do?
  • What kinds of marketing tactics are used?
  • What customers are saying about the product?
  • Can the ingredients listed (if any) help the product perform as claimed?

Then, we combine what’s learned from our methodological approach with a wealth of topical knowledge gained by interviewing experts and medical professionals.

This gives us a comprehensive understanding of the be all, end all questions asked by consumers before they buy: Will this product do what it claims? And, is it worth the money?

Here’s how Satin Youth holds up to closer examination:

Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Reducer Uses an Identical Anti-Aging Website

We mentioned above that, at the time of our research, Satin Youth’s official website featured carbon copy content to that of Evelina Collagen Serum.

But that’s not all—their entire websites are darn near twins! Satin Youth goes beyond yanking Evelina’s wording to using an almost identical website template and images as well.

In Consumer Alert: Avoid These Scam Anti-Aging Websites Like the Plague, we share why this type of copycat product website can be a cause for concern.

Our experience as shown that identical websites may be a sign of products being made and sold by the same company under different names.

For example, a company that’s developed a less than stellar reputation might use this tactic to earn a clean slate, simply rebranding their product with another name and effectively shedding all the negative reviews they’ve accumulated as well.

Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Reducer Current Reputation Among Consumers

Often is the case with lesser-known products that it’s difficult to find reviews. Not so with Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Reducer.

Here is an overview of four common customer complaints:

1. Satin Youth’s “free trial” isn’t free.

Customer “cnoland” of Winona, Minnesota reports that she ordered a free trial of Satin Youth after seeing a Facebook ad that promoted the product as having appeared on Shark Tank.

(Note that this appears to be false advertising and that we were unable to verify that Satin Youth was ever featured on the popular NBC program Shark Tank.)

The initial web page that she used to make her order said nothing about the free trial leading to ongoing monthly charges, or that you needed to contact the company within 14 days to cancel and avoid charges altogether.

“On 12/27/16 I found a $99.95 charge on my bank account. I called the phone number associated with the charge and was told that the 15-day trial period (even though it is actually 14 days) had ended, so I was automatically charged.”

“When I told the staffer I saw no notice of the 14 days, they said it was on the checkout page. Granted, I did not see it or I would have definitely called prior to the charge.”

In our experience covering trial-based anti-aging products, we’ve learned that Cnoland’s surprise at being charged after ordering a free trial product is surprisingly common—something we explain in Exposing the Widespread Scam of Anti-Aging Products & Free Trials.

Consumers are drawn by the promise of something for free, and can easily miss fine print that explains terms more thoroughly. While it is up to consumers to find this information, some companies seem to do their best to make it hard to find.

For example, when we attempted to locate Satin Youth’s disclosure of charges after the trial period ended, we were unable to find any mention on the checkout page itself!

This setup is particularly difficult for consumers, since you’re forced to enter your credit card information before the full extent of what you’re signing up for is made apparent.

In the end, we were able to locate Satin Youth’s pricing policy on their Terms page, which is located in the website footer.

A word of advice from the US Attorney General: These kinds of questionable marketing tactics are often used to sell products that can’t stand on their own merits, and consumers should proceed with caution.

We second that advice and would like to add that, especially when a product is advertised as a free trial, it’s prudent to always dig deep into the fine print to find payment terms before entering your credit card information. If none are available, call the company to double check.

2. Satin Youth continued to charge customers after it was canceled.

Cnoland recounts that she had called Satin Youth to get a refund and was offered first a 20% refund, then a 50% refund, before being connected to a supervisor.

“I shared my experience and said that I would only accept a 100% refund. He finally agreed to cancel the account and send a full refund.”

Cnoland disconnected her call with the Satin Youth customer service supervisor, assuming that the matter of being refunded $99.95 was handled and there would be no more charges.

“To my disbelief, I was charged $89.95 on 12/29/16! I called again and had to repeat the above scenario all over again. I was told the second charge was for the second product.”

At this point in Cnoland’s review, she has been charged a total of $189.90 for a free trial product, and sat through two phone calls in the attempt to receive a refund.

“I found another phone number on the product itself, so I called. This time a staffer offered me a 25% refund, which I refused and asked to speak to a supervisor. It was the same bait and switch: The supervisor was very busy and I would have a long wait. I waited.

I told him about my conversation with the supervisor I spoke to on 12/27/16 who assured me I would receive a 100%. He said there was no information regarding that conversation. What a surprise! I insisted that both charges be refunded to my bank account & he said he could only refund 50%. I accepted that... for now.”

At the end of the day, Cnoland was only refunded $94.95 for her trouble. In her review, she states that she’ll now have to go through the process of contacting an attorney or the Attorney General of Utah (where Satin Youth is based) for any chance of receiving back the other $94.95.

Additionally, she may have to cancel her credit card to avoid future charges.

3. Satin Youth refused to acknowledge proof of cancellation or offer a refund.

Sadly, Cnoland isn’t the only Satin Youth customer who has received unauthorized charges after canceling.

Nicole of De Pere, Wisconsin writes that she received the trial of Satin Youth, but was unimpressed and canceled within the 14-day period. One month later, her credit card statement reflected almost $200 charged by Satin Youth—similar to the total Cnoland was charged.

Upon calling customer service, Nicole was subjected to customer representatives who she describes as rude, and was forced to call three times before being connected with a supervisor.

Despite having documentation that she had canceled within the time frame, Satin Youth claimed that there was no record of her cancellation.

At the time of her review, it had been thirty additional days and she never received any money back or further communication from the Satin Youth company.

4. Satin Youth customers turn to Facebook to warn others.

In our experience researching products of any category (assuming that it’s not brand new), not being able to locate customer reviews online could be a bad sign. To double check a company’s reputation, head to their Facebook page and examine both the visitor posts and comments on links and images the company shares.

As you can see by the above customer posts to Satin Youth’s Facebook page, social media makes hiding their customer’s dissatisfaction a little harder.

In the case of Satin Youth, many of the complaints center on one fact: Customers were not made aware that taking advantage of Satin Youth’s “free trial” would incur future charges.

This is in line with the reviews we shared above—and there’s certainly no doubt that a surprise charge of almost $100 would cause anyone’s blood to boil!

However, it’s important that we point out a minor error on the side of Satin Youth’s customers: Calling the product a scam.

Why does it matter? A scam is when you literally get nothing for your money. These customers were the victim of some less-than-ideal charging practices. But, they also failed to seek out the terms themselves. While we don’t mean to diminish the trouble that Satin Youth customers experienced, it is important to distinguish the difference.

A final note on scanning a product’s Facebook page: Look for reviews that mention surprise charges, difficulty reaching customer service or receiving a refund. If you spot any, run the other way.

Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Customer Service Is Difficult To Reach

To offer a chance for Satin Youth to respond to these reviews, we decided to go ahead and give them a call. The Contact Us page invites customers to do so anytime, stating, “Monday through Sunday call 855-337-5679 anytime for Customer Support!”

Our phone call was immediately picked up by an automated system which stated “Thank you for holding, we appreciate your patience. Please continue to wait on the line for the next available customer care specialist.”

As you can see from the screenshot above, we remained on hold for over five minutes without ever being put in touch with a person or being given the option to choose a department.

This experience is consistent with many customer reviews of anti-aging company's—long hold times are used to weed out customers who want to complain.

As frustrating as the experience was to just sit on hold, we can only imagine how much more so it would be if we were calling in hopes of getting a refund on our hard-earned money.

How Much Does Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Reducer Cost?

Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Reducer is advertised as a free trial for the product, while shipping and handling cost $2.95.

As you’re aware from the reviews listed above, Satin Youth is not actually free. However, as we mentioned earlier, you need to locate the website’s Terms page in the footer to read about the real costs of ordering.

“By placing your trial order today you'll be shipped a 30 day supply of Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Reducer. All products ship within 1 business day and deliver within 2-4 days from shipment.”

The terms clarify that you don’t actually have 14 days to try Satin Youth. Instead, at very best, you have 10 days, plus an additional four days for transit time.

The terms then state:

“If for any reason our product is not for you, you may call our Customer Care toll-free at 855-337-5679 within your 14 day trial period to cancel. If you are satisfied, do nothing and you agree to be charged $99.95.”

There it is! So, in short, a 30-day supply of Satin Youth costs $99.95 plus shipping and handling. (Note that the website states S&H to be $2.95, while the terms state $4.95.)

But that’s not all, folks!

If you do not cancel your Satin Youth order—even after receiving the first shipment—you will continue to be shipped another 30-day supply and incur another charge of $99.95 plus shipping every month.

Now, Satin Youth claims that their customer service is available 24 hours a day for those who want to cancel. However, our experience attempting to reach a live agent shows otherwise.

Bottom Line: As a Consumer, Would I Purchase Satin Youth Instant Wrinkle Reducer?

Once you’re aware of the real cost of ordering Satin Youth, whether or not this product is worth it depends entirely on you.

Personally, as a consumer, I would give this one a pass. Beyond the copycat website and pricing that’s built into another page, what would concern me most is the prospect of ongoing charges due to an auto-ship program and reports of difficulty canceling.

If the prospect of younger-looking skin peaked your interest, but you’d like to shop around, check out the many anti-aging products that we’ve reviewed. Once you’ve made a purchase, learn how to test your anti-aging products to see if they’re really working before plunking down cash for a second bottle.

Read Next: 4 Types of Wrinkles and How to Treat Wrinkles, Creases, Lines, & Folds

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

17 Customer Reviews for Satin Youth

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 17
Sort reviews by:

  • Bad costumer service - rip off

    I ordered a small tube of this stuff because it said it was made by the girl on Fixer Upper show, Jill, so I pay $5.00 for this small tube of cream that does not work and two weeks later I was charged $99.95! When I bought the little tube for $5.00 it said NOTHING about being charged $99.95. This is a scam, and I wonder if Jill knows her name is even being used.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scandal!

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • May 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Scandal! Do NOT buy Satin Youth.

    They say it's free and you just pay shipping for $3.95, but then every 30 days they charge you $99.95 for NOTHING. I didn't even notice until after two months when my bank contacted me about potential fraud because of these two charges. Customer Service is a circus joke; it's just a hassle that I wish I had avoided by believing that it's too good to be true! Sandra, especially, from their "customer service" team is the worst.

    Save your money and your time! It is not worth it. They don't even deserve to be an existing company, stealing people's money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy from this deceitful merchant!

    • Keller, TX,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their online ad popped up on Facebook for a FREE sample with just a small shipping fee. I searched for recurring orders, cancellation after days, autoship, etc. and did not find any. I received a VERY small tube of JUNK with NO paperwork, instructions or anything. They do not disclose an ingredient list or details about the product, just that it's "miraculous."

    After a few weeks, they charged my credit card $99.95. I called them and canceled my autoship and asked for a refund. Of course, they refused (and hung up on me and my credit card rep) because this was their whole plan in the first place; to deceive and cheat people!

    My credit card company could only refund me 1/2 of the charges and take a loss on their side, although they were well aware that this company is DECEITFULLY getting access to your credit card number and charging indefinitely until you call to cancel your membership!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Please don't buy

    Please don't buy this product; it is a scam! They tell you it's a free trial, and then charge you $100 for the trial sized tube within seven days. The trial sized tube only lasts for four days, then they send you another tube and charge you $100 again. And on top of that, the product doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worthless!

    • Connecticut,
    • Apr 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product is worthless, and the customer support is even worse! What a scam. I called to cancel during the 14-day trial, and they charged me $99.95. I called back, and they said they had no record of my call. They said they would issue a partial refund, which they never did. Run away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't do it

    • Plain City, OH,
    • Apr 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After ordering my free trial, I never received it. I can get over paying $8 for shipping, but then they charged my bank card for $99.95? For one, I never got to try this Satin Youth, and I'm not about to pay $100 for it. I called the company, and they only wanted to give me 25% of the $99.95 back to me. Well, after I was done with them and threatened to report them, I will be getting a full refund, but that could take up to 14 days. Errr.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • What a scam

    • Fairview Park, OH,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I also purchased the sample. I received no paperwork, no agreement in writing, nothing. I start using the cream and don't see any of the results like in the videos. I feel like it was another failure.

    Before I know it, I see I have a $99.95 charge on my credit card. I am so mad at myself for being scammed. A month later I get an envelope with another tube of this. I call the number and ask for a refund. I am not a satisfied customer. The first guy just cancels future orders. I ask for a supervisor. He tells me he is legally not allowed to give me a refund. He cannot tell me what statute will not allow refunds. Then he offers me 25%.

    I tell him I want his supervisor. He doesn't have one. I ask if he is the owner. No, just the customer service supervisor for the call center. I tell him I am contacting the FDA, the attorney general of Ohio, Utah, Nevada, California and my attorney. He then offers me a 50% refund. He will not connect me to or give me a name or phone number to reach his supervisor. I ask, "when I can see an email with confirmation of my cancellation?" He says 24-48 hours. I will now have to contact my credit card company too.

    I feel sorry for all the people who don't even know that this is such a scam and cannot afford this. This company has such low morals that I wish I could rate it no stars but only poop emojis!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointed!

    • Ogio,
    • Mar 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try this cream for $4.95. Didn't do anything at all for me, in addition to that they took out $189 and I called to stop any future deductions out of my account. It's been 11 days and still no reimbursement has been made. I've been given one excuse after another. I will make sure no one ever buys From this company again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Biggest Scam worst customer service

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Mar 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a product and got two completely different things than what I thought I was going to receive. Then about 15 days later, my bank account gets charged $99.95. I didn't receive any more products.

    I called and they told me it could be refunded and it would take a good amount of business days but I'll eventually get it. I looked at my bank statement and I was charged another $89.95 and still no refund.

    I called back and they said whoever handled my first refund didn't do it correctly and they will resend the first refund as well as the new charge of $89.95.

    I did finally receive the $89.95 refund but am still months later waiting for the $99.95 refund. I asked the exact companies name so I could make a review and warn other people and they refused to tell me that information.

    They told me that it was private information and they couldn't provide me with that information. I called back and spoke with a different rep and did not disclose any of my information and she gave me the name of the business with no problem.

    Please, whatever you do, do not buy anything from these people. It will make your life hell for months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Review

    • Altoona, PA,
    • Mar 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is awful. I had a bad reaction on my throat, with burning in my mouth. I thought I was choking to death! Don't buy this stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this, it's a scam

    The whole thing is a scam. They want to charge you $100 per month forever, and it will be very hard to cancel this. We had to cancel our debit card and get a whole new number. Never sign up for their fake free trial, it is a scam, 100%.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 17

Write a Review for Satin Youth!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review