About Scott Yancey

Based out of Las Vegas, NV, Scott Yancey is a self-made millionaire through investing in residential and commercial real estate, as well as a published author, and an executive producer of A&E’s television show “Flipping Vegas.” Mr. Yancey claims to have made his first real estate deal and the age of 14, and with a personal belief that “your money works for you,” is passionate about helping others achieve this same success through his live real estate seminars.

Scott Yancey’s infomercials have been featured on networks such as NBC, CNN, and ABC, as well as publications such as the Wall Street Journal. While there are some positive online reviews, the vast majority are negative, with the most frequent complaint citing high-pressure, deceitful sales tactics.

How Scott Yancey Seminars Work

In addition to his infomercials and television shows, Scott Yancey’s claim to fame is his live real estate investing seminars, which claim to show you proven investment strategies that you can use to realize your own success. More specifically, Mr. Yancey’s seminars claim to provide core information in areas such as:

  • Residential Real Estate
  • Commercial Real
  • Estate Tax Liens & Tax Deeds
  • Multiple Income Streams

However, it needs to be noted that there are two types of Yancey events: Free and Paid. Free events are constantly being hosted in cities all across the country, and claim to provide basic information on how to:

  • Get your real estate investment career off the ground
  • Choose the best areas to invest in
  • Ensure your investments always remain profitable
  • Generate passive monthly income, or “big monthly paydays”

According to a wide variety of online reviews, these free events contain very high-level information, very little of which can be applied toward earning money in real estate. Instead, this information basically acts as a “teaser,” and you’ll be urged to purchase access to a paid event, which then promises to provide actionable information. Scott Yancey hosts several of these paid events, the most popular of which appears to the his 3-Day Workshop, though many more are provided, including:

  • Boots on the Ground
  • The Buying Summit
  • Inner Circle
  • On-Demand Training, which includes:
    • Seller Financing Boot Camp
    • Residential Rentals Boot Camp
    • Quick Cash Boot Camp
    • Cash Flow Boot Camp
    • PropTrend Real Estate Software

Scott Yancey Seminar Pricing & Refund Policy

Scott Yancey “Preview Events” are completely free of charge, and often include bonuses such as his “Go Time” book (in PDF format), free cameras, and a chance to win one of 15 iPads. However, it seems the primary intent of the Preview Events are to hard-sell you into purchasing a $2,000 ticket to his 3-Day Workshop. However, we learned that even this preliminary paid event features more hard-selling for additional training/events that range in price from $20K-$60K or more.

According to the Yancey Events website, a 100% tuition refund is available to seminar certificate holders who “close a new positive cash flow real estate transaction and submit the supporting documentation to us” within 100 days of the seminar date. The process is fairly technical, so if you find yourself in this position, full details can be found here. Oddly enough, if the information provided in your seminar fails to help you purchase real estate, it does not appear any sort of refunds are offered.

Are Scott Yancey Seminars Worth the Money?

As mentioned previously, online reviews of Scott Yancey Seminars are overwhelmingly negative, and primarily cite high-pressure, deceitful sales tactics. During our research, we even came across several instances where it appears employees of Scott Yancey posted false positive reviews intended to counteract hundreds of negative ones.

Furthermore, if you base your decision to attend a seminar on the “Success Disclosure” page on the YanceyEvents.com website, a pie graph shows that 60% of students who attend a seminar have reached success. However, a closer look at the fine print does not indicate whether or not these individuals made any money on their transaction(s), or the length of the time period that was included in their sample pool. Additionally, only those who “purchased advanced training—above and beyond the 3-day Workshop” were included in the sample group of 1,966 individuals. Finally, even when taking a look a the Testimonials page, all the success stories are provided by students and teachers who “purchased additional training materials.”

In short, this means that it’s fairly apparent you shouldn’t expect to start closing deals and earning money from real estate from the Preview Event, or even the $2,000 3-Day Workshop. While no prices are listed for the supplementary training materials and events on the company’s website, our research uncovered prices ranging anywhere from $20K-$60K.

Bottom Line: Should you spend your hard-earned money on a Scott Yancey Seminar?

Based on our research, much of the information found in the seminars can be found elsewhere for free (or for minimal prices, such as the cost of a book), which can be read and applied at your own pace. Overall, with the huge number of negative reviews readers have left here, most of which tell nearly identical stories, we would recommend spending your hard-earned money on real estate training through more traditional methods.

146 Customer Reviews for Scott Yancey

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 6 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 18 1 stars: 116
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 146
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Same BS North of the 48th!

    • by Tom O'Connor,
    • Lloydminster, AB, Canada,
    • Apr 27, 2015

    Same high pressure crap in Canada. Neglect to fully explain how tuition is "refunded". Read the documentation called their company, no answer. Called Visa, refund is being processed.

    Explains why Flipping Vegas is no longer on TV. Scott and Aimee don't need the extra exposure as someone may take them out. Surprised they haven't gone into the Witness Protection Program.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bogus program, not as advertised

    • by JJ,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Apr 25, 2015

    I went to the free Scott Yancey seminar and talked to a knowledgeable instructor who at the time appeared to be very professional. He assured me that the 3 day, $1,997 seminar was full of valuable real estate information. Far from it, the information you get from the 3 day event can be easily found online.

    What the three day seminar is REALLY about is this, it is nothing more than a Rah Rah session to get you to buy into their $30,000 advanced program that all but promises to make you wealthy. They bait you with in house financing and mentoring programs. The problem that I had with this 3 day "program" is that you were discouraged from asking questions in class, only during a break. FACT: Four people were escorted out at the break for making the comment that they couldn't see paying the $30,000. Too much time spent on promoting the $30,000 program and not enough on true real estate practices. Most of what was presented was theoretically possible but, not what you would use in your every day transactions. This was NOT that informative.

    Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    This scam stinks so bad you can smell it miles away

    Unfortunately, I didn't sniff it out until it was too late. The training staff is rude, condescending, and are only interested in growing their own wealth (they are on commission), certainly not mine. They even mentioned that this is not Scott Yancey's company, or even his system. So that he's making money off of endorsing this stuff.

    I just called Abundance Edu to ask for a refund for my three day workshop since I left after 1 1/2 days. I am supposed to get a call back. I wonder what bull they are going be shoveling my way. I left because I couldn't stand them telling me in a very veiled way that I was stupid for not going deeper into "good debt" to finance their $30,000.00 training. I expected a sales pitch at the 3 day event, I did not expect it to be a full 3-day sales pitch.

    When I told my mentor how pissed off I was about it, he got a bit rude and, went back to the sales pitch "why would I let my anger at a few people in the company ruin my future?" Seriously?! I had to read a juvenile book about mice and cheese with some great revelation and then discuss it for an hour. It was written for 7th graders. It's about mice and cheese! In addition, I asked the question about up-selling at the 1-day event and was blatantly lied to. Or, how about the idea that you can't ask questions during the presentations? Maybe they don't want anyone showing how little the instructors really have to offer? Have you ever met any type of instructor, teacher, or mentor that didn't encourage their students curiosity and interest? And how about the threat that they will ask you to leave if you are negative? What? I am paying them and they are going to tell me what kind of attitude I can have? No, they said that they wanted to "weed out" people that would bring the group down.

    What they were weeding out were people that wouldn't get scammed any further and didn't want to discuss with the rest of the group, God forbid, we should think! If you really want to learn about real estate investing, go to the Armando Montelongo seminar. Infinitely more information, they will try up-sell a $30,000.00 package, but they do not spend all of the time pushing it, and, if you can get the financing, you will have enough knowledge to start in real estate investing. Better instructors, personality-wise too. Not only would I not recommend the Yancey seminar to a friend, I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • by Rolando Cuban,
    • Saint Petersburg, FL,
    • Apr 18, 2015

    Total joke!! The Yancey seminars are structured under the classic high-pressure boiler-room scheme. The seminar focuses on why you should become successful, but they don't teach you how to become successful. They are only interested in getting your tuition fee of $2,000 or more on your very first visit. You are not allowed to think about it or call them the next day with your decision. It is Now or Nothing. That specific approach classifies the opportunity as a scam and the FTC (Federal Trade Commission) should be all over them for that reason. Not to mention their tactics on targeting individuals who have a lot of money saved up within their IRA which is extremely unethical.

    As for your Free Dinner, don't get your hopes up. After a few hours of listening to their bull crap, they pass around a "meal in a box" containing a ham wrap, apple, and a cookie. I'm very surprised to see Scott Yancey make the business decision to screw people like that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Ripped off

    • by Laura,
    • Coon Rapids, MN,
    • Apr 17, 2015

    I attended one of the free meetings MONTHS AGO. They gave all of us participants a coupon to go online to their site to receive the free digital camera just for attending their meeting. The site never has had a link to receive the camera. I wrote them an email and never heard back. I'm very disappointed in their false advertising. Oh well. Just another company that will rip off the public while trying to get our money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 13 people found this review helpful

    3 Day Workshop review

    This is a review from a single Dad with full custody of three young boys. I do have a good job and make decent money so I'm looking at this program as a strategic value in how to do something that I've always been interested in (Real estate). 3 stars because I think this system can work. -2 stars due to the treatment and disrespect from one of the counselors. At this time I would still recommend this program to a friend and I will attend it again as long as I'm treated with respect and understanding from the counselor that I had to deal with.

    To start off with, I NEVER write reviews (this might be my 1st one) but this deserves a review and I hope it helps some. I have written a long review but the details are fresh for me and have some good information included. This is not a scam but please read on. For those people who go to a free seminar and expect the magic answer as to how become rich for free, well, that just doesn't exist. An education does have a cost which is a reasonable expectation. Like any other seminar and workshop they are trying to sell you their services (or in this case their system). This does not make it a scam and this group appears to have a good system. They are up front and honest about what they are trying to sell and what you get out of it and I respect this. And yes, when you get to the 3 day seminar they do try to sell you an advanced education program. Again... expected. But one way to do this is to use what they teach you in the workshop to build up enough money to then go back and pay for the advanced seminars which then takes you deeper into their system to make your margins higher. It appears to be a good system but just like with any other group it will take some legwork and dedication. I went to the free seminar knowing that it is a marketing sales pitch and what they were selling was something that I was interested in so I paid the $1997 plus $200 for a friend.

    Day One: I went to the workshop and it went late the first night (11pm, not 10pm). They have the main instructor and multiple "counselors" or "mentors". The main instructor (Deno, ('m bad with names but his name is printed on my workbook, you'll understand the humor in this in a minute) can come across as hard or cold but honestly he is a good person and a very good instructor (I have taught many classes so I understand the challenges and expertise it requires for this). No complaints with Deno at all. When you break off into your "groups" you are assigned a counselor to work with along with the rest of your team. The first counselor I was assigned to (I believe her name was Caroline... I'm bad at names but I know I'm close... she was the only lady there) was very nice, intelligent, and a pleasure to work with. I then was changed over to another counselor (Wyatt, I won't forget his name and this will become clear as to why shortly) due to the size of the class. The new counselor asked if I could come in on day 2 for our 1 on 1 at 7:30am or have the session at 1pm. And since it was 11pm and they had given us a book to read and so some homework on it I chuckled (yes, I have a sense of humor) and declined coming in 90 minutes early.

    Day Two: As a single Dad of 3 boys and a job that keeps me busy in the evenings, I did not have the chance to complete the reading of the book and finish the worksheet. I'm smart enough to get the gist of a story in less than the amount of time it takes to read it. There were about 8 other people who were unable to complete the assignment so they had us go out into the hall and WHO KNEW??? there was a YouTube video of the book which was a much better instructional resource so we watched it. The instructor (Deno) then came out and talked to us as a group privately without the rest of the class and explained why it was important for us to have read the book (or in this case watch the video) when it was assigned to us. He was not demeaning, he was teaching and he's very good at that. Kudos to Deno for how he handled the "lesson". I was then pulled aside by my "new" counselor (Wyatt... see, I didn't forget his name) and was told that I was not being a "team member" and I was not showing dedication to this education and workshop. Obviously I was a little confused because I had been participating in the class and I was enjoying what I was learning. I asked if any of the other people who didn't do the "homework" were being pulled aside (he said "no") and that's when he then stated that this was Day 2 and I already had 2 infractions (or this was the 2nd time). This really confused me. I found out what my first infraction was and I will get to that shortly. After I asked why nobody else was being pulled aside and being talked to about missing the "homework" he told me that I had a bad attitude. Something about me... I'm pretty easy going, very humble, and about as happy as people get. So again, I was confused. I started to feel like he was attacking me because he was not nice in his demeanor. He then kept harping about how I had a bad attitude.

    I explained to him that when someone feels attacked for no reason that they get defensive and I felt like I was being attacked (Psych 101). It got to the point where I asked if I was being kicked out of the class and he said "no" so I asked how we could resolve this and he continued with his tirade and never said anything constructive (he was very negative). He said that if I didn't want to be there then I can leave. I explained that the only time I step out is if I have to field an email for my job because it is Friday and due to the line of work that I'm in I still have work that might come up. The final straw was when he told me that if I have to do some work then I should go out to the parking lot and do my job and not return to the class. That's when, unfortunately, I had to ask for a refund and he said "no problem". It's expected that if I have an interruption that I respect the instructors and the class (which I am in agreement with) but then it is stated to me that I am expected to disrespect my employer and those who currently put food on the table for myself and my 3 young boys.

    After this took place I asked Caroline (again, sorry if I got her name wrong but again,.. I'm close) if we could talk. My new counselor (Wyatt... yup, I still remember his name) hovered around until I made it clear that I would only talk when he was out of "ear range". I explained to her the situation and as I stated before, she was very nice, intelligent about the situation, and again a pleasure to work with. She informed me that my first infraction was when we were given our first break (3 hours into the seminar) I left the room and came back while everyone else walked up to their counselors. I explained to her that the only reason I left was because after 3 hours without a break I really needed to use the restroom. :) I then came back and joined the group. She asked if I wanted to rejoin the training and I told her that at this point I was frustrated, embarrassed, and did not feel comfortable. I will take the class again if it comes back to town and I don't have to deal with Wyatt (see. I won't forget his name).

    My refund is processing. I feel serious (dedicated) about this enough that I am delivering a copy of this tomorrow (a 1+ hour drive for me and my 3 boys) back to the instructor (Deno... his name is printed on my workbook so I'm cheating when it comes to names) so that hopefully they will correct this situation and misunderstanding because I do believe that they have a good system going. I will update this as soon as I know how all of this plays out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 22, 2015

      Lisa Tome

      That is way to much to go through for a seminar. Too much drama.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    What happens in Vegas does not stay in vegas, but sure wish Yancey stayed there!

    • by Mary Field,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 31, 2015

    I went to his free event because it was Scott Yancey and I liked his show, even though I don't like at all how he treats his wife, Aimee. That should have been my first clue to stay away from this man. Who can trust a man who is so verbally abusive to his wife and on camera to boot? Guess she puts up with him stealing for the money. Well Aimee, you can't take it with you. But God will see that you both have a newly renovated very warm room that won't be in Vegas for ripping off people of their hard - earned money. Some people don't even have the $2,000 but are so full of hope that they borrow it from their family or friends because they too want to believe that you two are good people and want to share some of your knowledge with others. After all, it's Scott and Aimee, right? Wrong! It's Scott and Aimee, money hungry monsters who are leading you down a dark alley to rob you of your time and money.

    They are preying on innocent victims and if you think for one second that they want to help others think again. They only want to help themselves to your pocketbook! And they have come up with a cleaver way to do it. Instead of Murdock ' s way, call it education. Yeah, right. The only thing they are teaching is how to be a crook. I, too, fell prey because it's Scott and Aimee after all and I an trust them - after all they have a TV show, right!? Boy, was I that stupid to believe I could trust mean Scott? Run away from the seminar and from signing up for the three day workshop. I see that it's just another con to rip $30,000 or more from people holding onto the false hope of success. If there is an investigator or postal inspector reading this, I truly hope and pray that you investigate and prosecute Scott and Aimee to the fullest extent of the law and stop them from ripping off more and more innocent people every weekend.

    Go undercover to their seminars and 3 day "education" classes to see that they just want more cash for their pockets and shut down their illegal activities. Please do whatever it takes to bring down these crooks and put them into a cell next to their buddy, Rupert Murdock. Their con game is the same -- ripping off innocent trusting people. Their deck of cards will hopefully come crashing down on them soon. It's time to flip Scott.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    The seminar

    • by johnny,
    • Gurnee, Il.,
    • Mar 26, 2015

    So, we went to Gurnee Key Lime Cove that was supposed to be a seminar but was a sales pitch to BUY a training session. Of course Scott was not there nor the gifts they promise. The dinner that was supposed to happen was a box lunch, crappy little sandwich and small bag of Doritos. Camera, no...a piece of paper saying to go to a website and fill out form. Gift card... haha no... 200$ visa card. What do you all think....no! At least the speaker was cool and didn't really pressure you into buying into another seminar even though they wanted $2k for a three day seminar. Lol

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Your worst nightmare on steroids

    • by Jim,
    • Henderson, NV,
    • Mar 14, 2015

    My friend and I attended one of the free seminars yesterday after I saw one of the infomercials on television and almost fell prey to the hard sell techniques employed by the Yancey team. It isn't just the hard sell, but the peer pressure of watching so many other attendees rushing to sign up for the three day workshop that make you doubt yourself.

    Are you missing something from the presentation? Are you stupid? Are you really the loser they are suggesting you must be if you don't jump up and act immediately? Are you a gutless person that has to get permission from your spouse before taking action? Call me a loser if you will, but spending $2000 without talking to my wife is not what we do in our household.

    Thank God for my wife and her Internet research. This morning, I am now sitting in the back yard, with a cup of fine coffee and only the regret of having lost a couple of hours of my life that I cannot recover. I hope others find these reviews early enough to save themselves from the rabbit hole.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 7, 2015

      Lair

      LAWSUIT.

      I have done extensive research into this seminar and training, and have also read comments on this site, as well as several other sites. I then attended the "free" seminar. Sure enough, the trainer, who was kind of rude to some of the people who attended, wouldn't let anyone ask questions. Promised that people could ask him questions at the end of his training, but kept stating that he was behind schedule. As it turned out, no one got to ask any questions. Pretty arrogant guy, in my opinion. But I didn't think he was as smooth as the ones who were tricked into spending $2000 of their hard earned money. There were people in the seminar, who did not appear to have that kind of money, and I think they signed up by maxing all their credit cards? Unfortunately, a very close acquaintance of mine did get conned into spending $2000. She tried to get a refund and tried calling the customer service number before midnight as the instructions stated. But there was no one to answer the phone because their business hours are 8-5 M-F. There are countless numbers of people on this site as well as other sites that state they have been scammed. My question is, should we form an alliance, find an attorney, and sue these people to get refunded? Seriously...if you have watched the program with Scott and Amy, that should be enough to convince you that this punk is not legitimate. Just the way he acts on the program. I've always figured that it was part of the character he was playing, but definitely not someone I can watch for any period of time. I don't watch that show. Besides, they spend in excess of $40,000 to rehab a property? Then end up selling it at an astronomical price and always get a buyer. I question that. Please get this out to other people, as I certainly will try. So that no one else gets scammed out of their money.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    No REAL info provided at FREE event

    • by Babs,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Mar 13, 2015

    I attended event in Las Vegas last night. I am unemployed & just approved for food stamps, so the idea of using someone else's money/credit = Gold mine.

    Of course, I know better of typical FREE events. Why would anyone give you Free information that is supplied in a book you pay for? But the eternal Optimistic in me went anyway, and I'll take a free dinner. (It was a sandwich & piece of fruit) Also, for the 6pm event people started showing up at 2:30pm because first 50 people get FREE tablet. (fine print: first 50 each month in the entire region).

    No REAL info provided, just the pitch for $1,997 = 3 day retreat/workshop. I told them my situation & said "I'm not afraid, but I have $19.97, let alone $1,997; but I made them the offer to front the money for me & I would repay them double = offer declined.

    Hey, if you're sitting on some retirement money & you have 20 years until retirement = yes, jump on this program. But if you're broke = this will not pay your rent next month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Con men

    • by Anonymous,
    • Eugene, OR,
    • Mar 3, 2015

    If you make the mistake of going to one of the seminars, get a refund. They dupe you into believing that you will get money up to $750,000 in financing and you will get info on how to get knowledge and info before anyone else. Then, you pay $2000 to go to three day seminar and hear stories and nonsense for the whole three days. You will only to be hard sold on going to the next level for a starting price of $19,997 and up to the diamond package for $30,000. Don't be a fool, they never delivered on things promised. Thank God we didn't pay anything beyond the $2000.00. Terrible people, beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 146

Write a review for Scott Yancey!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review