About Scott Yancey

Based out of Las Vegas, NV, Scott Yancey is a self-made millionaire through investing in residential and commercial real estate, as well as a published author, and an executive producer of A&E’s television show “Flipping Vegas.” Mr. Yancey claims to have made his first real estate deal and the age of 14, and with a personal belief that “your money works for you,” is passionate about helping others achieve this same success through his live real estate seminars.

Scott Yancey’s infomercials have been featured on networks such as NBC, CNN, and ABC, as well as publications such as the Wall Street Journal. While there are some positive online reviews, the vast majority are negative, with the most frequent complaint citing high-pressure, deceitful sales tactics.

How Scott Yancey Seminars Work

In addition to his infomercials and television shows, Scott Yancey’s claim to fame is his live real estate investing seminars, which claim to show you proven investment strategies that you can use to realize your own success. More specifically, Mr. Yancey’s seminars claim to provide core information in areas such as:

  • Residential Real Estate
  • Commercial Real
  • Estate Tax Liens & Tax Deeds
  • Multiple Income Streams

However, it needs to be noted that there are two types of Yancey events: Free and Paid. Free events are constantly being hosted in cities all across the country, and claim to provide basic information on how to:

  • Get your real estate investment career off the ground
  • Choose the best areas to invest in
  • Ensure your investments always remain profitable
  • Generate passive monthly income, or “big monthly paydays”

According to a wide variety of online reviews, these free events contain very high-level information, very little of which can be applied toward earning money in real estate. Instead, this information basically acts as a “teaser,” and you’ll be urged to purchase access to a paid event, which then promises to provide actionable information. Scott Yancey hosts several of these paid events, the most popular of which appears to the his 3-Day Workshop, though many more are provided, including:

  • Boots on the Ground
  • The Buying Summit
  • Inner Circle
  • On-Demand Training, which includes:
    • Seller Financing Boot Camp
    • Residential Rentals Boot Camp
    • Quick Cash Boot Camp
    • Cash Flow Boot Camp
    • PropTrend Real Estate Software

Scott Yancey Seminar Pricing & Refund Policy

Scott Yancey “Preview Events” are completely free of charge, and often include bonuses such as his “Go Time” book (in PDF format), free cameras, and a chance to win one of 15 iPads. However, it seems the primary intent of the Preview Events are to hard-sell you into purchasing a $2,000 ticket to his 3-Day Workshop. However, we learned that even this preliminary paid event features more hard-selling for additional training/events that range in price from $20K-$60K or more.

According to the Yancey Events website, a 100% tuition refund is available to seminar certificate holders who “close a new positive cash flow real estate transaction and submit the supporting documentation to us” within 100 days of the seminar date. The process is fairly technical, so if you find yourself in this position. Oddly enough, if the information provided in your seminar fails to help you purchase real estate, it does not appear any sort of refunds are offered.

Are Scott Yancey Seminars Worth the Money?

As mentioned previously, online reviews of Scott Yancey Seminars are overwhelmingly negative, and primarily cite high-pressure, deceitful sales tactics. During our research, we even came across several instances where it appears employees of Scott Yancey posted false positive reviews intended to counteract hundreds of negative ones.

Furthermore, if you base your decision to attend a seminar on the “Success Disclosure” page on the YanceyEvents.com website, a pie graph shows that 60% of students who attend a seminar have reached success. However, a closer look at the fine print does not indicate whether or not these individuals made any money on their transaction(s), or the length of the time period that was included in their sample pool. Additionally, only those who “purchased advanced training—above and beyond the 3-day Workshop” were included in the sample group of 1,966 individuals. Finally, even when taking a look a the Testimonials page, all the success stories are provided by students and teachers who “purchased additional training materials.”

In short, this means that it’s fairly apparent you shouldn’t expect to start closing deals and earning money from real estate from the Preview Event, or even the $2,000 3-Day Workshop. While no prices are listed for the supplementary training materials and events on the company’s website, our research uncovered prices ranging anywhere from $20K-$60K.

Bottom Line: Should you spend your hard-earned money on a Scott Yancey Seminar?

Based on our research, much of the information found in the seminars can be found elsewhere for free (or for minimal prices, such as the cost of a book), which can be read and applied at your own pace. Overall, with the huge number of negative reviews readers have left here, most of which tell nearly identical stories, we would recommend you doing extensive research to really make sure that this seminar is really right for you.

Want to Learn to Shop Smarter and Scam-Proof Your Life?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

182 Customer Reviews for Scott Yancey

Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 3 4 stars: 7 3 stars: 5 2 stars: 21 1 stars: 146
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 182
Sort reviews by:

  • The information was great

    • Greenville, SC,
    • Feb 6, 2016

    I enjoyed the event, and will attend the boot camp for two days as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rude & incompetent.

    • Schaumburg, IL,
    • Jan 29, 2016

    I have signed up for this course because a fast paced seminar is a good way to learn new things. No doubt all information they have to offer can be found for free on the internet. I enjoyed initial "seminar" where I had an "opportunity" to sign up for their three day get away seminar at a discounted price. $199 for two people compared to $1997 for one sounded like a hell of a deal.

    Clearly a different crew is running initial session and the three day event. Support crew at the actual seminar was rude and disrespectful towards participants. The leading presenter immediately asked for additional $30K from participants, which is a registration conversation before creating any enrollment and showing tangible results. He did however "offer" an opportunity to get a discounted $595 offer that was originally $1000, that normally cost no more than $150 at the Secretary of State site. Clearly it is a way to extort or milk money from people. The event was planned badly. The rented room from a hotel was too small. Clearly they are cutting corners just to get your money.

    The presenter told us that there would be no breaks but we can take break any time we want. "They would go on with course without breaks. There was so much material.” Funny, right? It is just about selling a real estate. It was just an illusion to create a sense of importance. A sales gimmick to get more of my money next day.

    I needed to take a break to go to a restroom - no breaks, but if needed, just take them. I walked out of the room to go to the bathroom. I was told by a rude door assistant that I would not be allowed back in. I found it a bit strange, given all they were after was our cash resources. Regardless, I was upset because I was there to learn something new. I walked around a guy that wanted to stop me but a much larger bouncer like guy physically blocked my pathway. It was a strange experience. I felt upset because I wanted to participate to learn new things; I am not sure why the rude crew would block me from participating. I guess, as the lead presenter came out clear, that everyone from "support team" gets paid lots of money for supporting participants. However with me gone, they do not get chance to steal more of my money.

    I will be calling my credit card to reverse all charges. My experience is that they are all thieves. Stay away from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Please don't do it.

    It's so sad that Scott Yancey allowed these people use his name to attract other people sincerely looking to improve their future. I am a Real Estate agent and already started a business flipping houses. We decided to attend the first invitation, to learn more about the business. They tell you that you need to pay more than $2,000 to have access to the tools and knowledge. Sadly, I paid it. The "seminar" is purely motivational. The "teacher", who was more of a bully, pressed you to invest THOUSANDS of dollars to be part of a system that I am sure doesn't work. I didn't go back, and I feel sorry for all those senior citizens willing to give their savings and 401K for an empty promise. These people should go to jail.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Boots on Ground real estate training

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Jan 9, 2016

    Attended Boots on Ground real estate training. Excellent presenter. Excellent course. Can take the training and put it into action. Looking forward to doing deals and flips.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Out to get your money

    I agree with the horrible reviews I've seen so far. I also received a bag lunch and no mp3 player. I put money down to attend the 3 day workshop just to hear mostly what they already talked about in the seminar I already attended. They give encouragement and convince you to get another package to attend. My mom and I got the diamond package which is about 29,000. Some people got a more expensive package. They say they will be there to help you through it and if you do not like the class, you could get a refund. Well the person who I worked with was very nice and friendly. After the seminar she got in touch with my mom and me regularly. As soon as I gave her my credit card information and she retrieved the money off of it, we never heard from her again. Her voicemail was full. I finally got through and left her two voicemails a week apart and never received a call back from her. I could get in touch with no one but Scott, who gave me a number to get reimbursed. Got in touch with someone who told me someone was going to contact me. Then that person called me to tell me someone else was going to call, I haven't received another call. I felt it was bad business. I got fed up and contacted my bank. I am still going through this matter trying to receive reimbursement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2016

      Gary Hyink

      Fantastically written review, thanks. Put the crooks out of business.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Scott Yancey Real Estate Seminar

    I have attended the Scott Yancey Real Estate Seminar on January 7, 2016 in Durham NC. I got a high pressure sales guy from the seminar trying to sell me the $2000.00 seminar. I am glad I didn't buy into this and went home and did some research and found your review and I see that it is not worth the cost. Thank you for the good information from your review and it will help other people not fall into this High Pressure sales and scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Thank you

    • Boston, MA,
    • Dec 20, 2015

    I too went to the free seminar with the promise of cameras, dinner and wealth beyond my dreams. In hindsight, I should have seen the writing on the wall once I ate my bag lunch and looked at the mp3 player I had been blessed with. However, the speakers were very good at clouding your perception with facts, figures, and formulas and case study after case study. Then they had actual people come in and tell us their rags to riches story.

    I fell for this and plunked down the $1900 for the 3 day workshop with the hopes that within a year I would have my financial freedom. The software is impressive. The promise of walking hand in hand on our way to financial freedom was impressive. I was ready to forgo buying a new truck that I desperately needed and plunk down the 29k for the diamond program, but the dots that they laid out did not connect. With a little investigation, I found that things were not as they appeared and that the company is little more than a pyramid scam.

    Thanks to all of you who took the time to write and save me a lot of aggravation and money. I did go to the third day of the seminar, but only to share my findings with several of the people that had been considering this opportunity. Three of us backed out. They were not happy and told the others that I was causing problems. I have yet to find someone that has benefited from this as they have said anywhere but on their own testimonial page.

    There are ways to make money in real estate as demonstrated in my brief search of existing investments, clubs, etc. You can find the software as well. In my initial search, I found it at around 2k with a monthly fee. There aren't any shortcuts here unless you are selling classes on how to make money on real estate.

    Thanks again, for giving back my Sunday and maybe tomorrow I will hit the dealership and look for a new truck. At least I can trust the salesman and his supervisor, right?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 31, 2016

      Karen

      Where did you find the software? This was my plus but did not feel it was worth 20,000 either.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Scott and Amie owe me $500.00.

    • Boston, Massachusetts,
    • Nov 24, 2015

    I attended their event on Real Estate on October 25, 2015 and was convinced from the lecture that I would participate and pay what they were asking. Then when I saw the people who attended, they were all minority and low income people but this didn't stop me. As the training starts within the next three days, it was Sunday and I couldn't make transactions in the Bank and neither did I have a credit card to pay them the whole amount. I run to a Bank and withdrew $500.00 and gave them, which they noted and with a promise that I would pay the rest the next day. When I went home, my family didn't agree with what I was doing and they were not convinced that it was true and thought that it was some kind of scam, after they have called the head office and couldn't be connected and talk to any one. The next day I went to a Hotel where they had the same kind of event and told them that my family was not happy with it and they couldn't be connected to any one in your head office and this created doubt about your organization and asked them for my money back. They told me to call the head office and I called and talked to the customer representative who said that a person from Quality Assurance will call me back. A man by the name Jason called me and told me that they would refund me and it would take 15 days. This was on October 28, 2015 and I still didn't get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2016

      Sarah

      What does minorities have to do with anything? You think because someone is a minority that they are not "worthy" to be in the same room as you? You sound so ignorant and the other 18 people who thought this was helpful is just as ignorant as you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Misrepresentation from the start

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Nov 21, 2015

    We received a mailed invitation to a seminar at the Marriott in Riverside, CA to be accompanied by dinner. The presentation started at 6pm on a Friday night and lasted until about 8:30pm, when we were finally offered "dinner" at our seats, consisting of a boxed sandwich lunch. Oh! and the reportedly wealthy group also splurged by supplying water in the vestibule as our beverage. I wonder what the people who had already signed up for the $1,997 3-day training session thought of such "quality" treatment. By the way, before the end of the meal the group was again hit up by an investment salesman trying to promote trading in stock options. Do not know how long this lasted; we had enough and walked out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your advices

    • Montréal, Québec, Canada,
    • Nov 8, 2015

    I did the 3 days real estate conference at 2000$ with my sister and we were planning on taking the $30,000 Diamond package. After everything I just read on this website, I'm backing out! They promised us a lot, but from what I see it's mostly lies and tactics to take our money! Thank you guys!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 49 out 52 people found this review helpful

    What you get is not worth the cost.

    • Florida,
    • Nov 4, 2015

    I enjoyed the 3 day workshop. It definitely is a fast start to the real estate investing world. However, after attending the 3 day workshop and the Boots on the ground, as soon as I finished the boots, I got a HIGH PRESSURE sales guy from Inner Circle which is another $20,000.00. And when I say HIGH Pressure I meant to the point of being rude. Shame on me because I bought into it thinking I would get a lot of one on one training. You get videos and a 30-minute Mentor every week for 15 weeks. IS This really worth another 20 grand? No. And no offense to my Mentor because he was very good but I found out that really they just send you papers and extra videos to watch.

    My Mentor was good but the stuff he gave I could get by listening attending local Investors meeting. It isn't worth an additional 20 grand. I am so sorry I invested in it. I take every opportunity to help others not get high pressured into to going that extra Inner Circle step. Not worth it.

    So $50,000.00 later, they don't do a lot of what they say.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 182

Write a review for Scott Yancey!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review