About Scott Yancey

Based out of Las Vegas, NV, Scott Yancey is a self-made millionaire through investing in residential and commercial real estate, as well as a published author, and an executive producer of A&E’s television show “Flipping Vegas.” Mr. Yancey claims to have made his first real estate deal and the age of 14, and with a personal belief that “your money works for you,” is passionate about helping others achieve this same success through his live real estate seminars.

Scott Yancey’s infomercials have been featured on networks such as NBC, CNN, and ABC, as well as publications such as the Wall Street Journal. While there are some positive online reviews, the vast majority are negative, with the most frequent complaint citing high-pressure, deceitful sales tactics.

How Scott Yancey Seminars Work

In addition to his infomercials and television shows, Scott Yancey’s claim to fame is his live real estate investing seminars, which claim to show you proven investment strategies that you can use to realize your own success. More specifically, Mr. Yancey’s seminars claim to provide core information in areas such as:

  • Residential Real Estate
  • Commercial Real
  • Estate Tax Liens & Tax Deeds
  • Multiple Income Streams

However, it needs to be noted that there are two types of Yancey events: Free and Paid. Free events are constantly being hosted in cities all across the country, and claim to provide basic information on how to:

  • Get your real estate investment career off the ground
  • Choose the best areas to invest in
  • Ensure your investments always remain profitable
  • Generate passive monthly income, or “big monthly paydays”

According to a wide variety of online reviews, these free events contain very high-level information, very little of which can be applied toward earning money in real estate. Instead, this information basically acts as a “teaser,” and you’ll be urged to purchase access to a paid event, which then promises to provide actionable information. Scott Yancey hosts several of these paid events, the most popular of which appears to the his 3-Day Workshop, though many more are provided, including:

  • Boots on the Ground
  • The Buying Summit
  • Inner Circle
  • On-Demand Training, which includes:
    • Seller Financing Boot Camp
    • Residential Rentals Boot Camp
    • Quick Cash Boot Camp
    • Cash Flow Boot Camp
    • PropTrend Real Estate Software

Scott Yancey Seminar Pricing & Refund Policy

Scott Yancey “Preview Events” are completely free of charge, and often include bonuses such as his “Go Time” book (in PDF format), free cameras, and a chance to win one of 15 iPads. However, it seems the primary intent of the Preview Events are to hard-sell you into purchasing a $2,000 ticket to his 3-Day Workshop. However, we learned that even this preliminary paid event features more hard-selling for additional training/events that range in price from $20K-$60K or more.

According to the Yancey Events website, a 100% tuition refund is available to seminar certificate holders who “close a new positive cash flow real estate transaction and submit the supporting documentation to us” within 100 days of the seminar date. The process is fairly technical, so if you find yourself in this position, full details can be found here. Oddly enough, if the information provided in your seminar fails to help you purchase real estate, it does not appear any sort of refunds are offered.

Are Scott Yancey Seminars Worth the Money?

As mentioned previously, online reviews of Scott Yancey Seminars are overwhelmingly negative, and primarily cite high-pressure, deceitful sales tactics. During our research, we even came across several instances where it appears employees of Scott Yancey posted false positive reviews intended to counteract hundreds of negative ones.

Furthermore, if you base your decision to attend a seminar on the “Success Disclosure” page on the YanceyEvents.com website, a pie graph shows that 60% of students who attend a seminar have reached success. However, a closer look at the fine print does not indicate whether or not these individuals made any money on their transaction(s), or the length of the time period that was included in their sample pool. Additionally, only those who “purchased advanced training—above and beyond the 3-day Workshop” were included in the sample group of 1,966 individuals. Finally, even when taking a look a the Testimonials page, all the success stories are provided by students and teachers who “purchased additional training materials.”

In short, this means that it’s fairly apparent you shouldn’t expect to start closing deals and earning money from real estate from the Preview Event, or even the $2,000 3-Day Workshop. While no prices are listed for the supplementary training materials and events on the company’s website, our research uncovered prices ranging anywhere from $20K-$60K.

Bottom Line: Should you spend your hard-earned money on a Scott Yancey Seminar?

Based on our research, much of the information found in the seminars can be found elsewhere for free (or for minimal prices, such as the cost of a book), which can be read and applied at your own pace. Overall, with the huge number of negative reviews readers have left here, most of which tell nearly identical stories, we would recommend spending your hard-earned money on real estate training through more traditional methods.

139 Customer Reviews for Scott Yancey

Average Customer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 6 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 18 1 stars: 110
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 139
Sort reviews by:

  • The seminar

    • by johnny,
    • Gurnee, Il.,
    • Mar 26, 2015

    So, we went to Gurnee Key Lime Cove that was supposed to be a seminar but was a sales pitch to BUY a training session. Of course Scott was not there nor the gifts they promise. The dinner that was supposed to happen was a box lunch, crappy little sandwich and small bag of Doritos. Camera, no...a piece of paper saying to go to a website and fill out form. Gift card... haha no... 200$ visa card. What do you all think....no! At least the speaker was cool and didn't really pressure you into buying into another seminar even though they wanted $2k for a three day seminar. Lol

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Your worst nightmare on steroids

    • by Jim,
    • Henderson, NV,
    • Mar 14, 2015

    My friend and I attended one of the free seminars yesterday after I saw one of the infomercials on television and almost fell prey to the hard sell techniques employed by the Yancey team. It isn't just the hard sell, but the peer pressure of watching so many other attendees rushing to sign up for the three day workshop that make you doubt yourself.

    Are you missing something from the presentation? Are you stupid? Are you really the loser they are suggesting you must be if you don't jump up and act immediately? Are you a gutless person that has to get permission from your spouse before taking action? Call me a loser if you will, but spending $2000 without talking to my wife is not what we do in our household.

    Thank God for my wife and her Internet research. This morning, I am now sitting in the back yard, with a cup of fine coffee and only the regret of having lost a couple of hours of my life that I cannot recover. I hope others find these reviews early enough to save themselves from the rabbit hole.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    No REAL info provided at FREE event

    • by Babs,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Mar 13, 2015

    I attended event in Las Vegas last night. I am unemployed & just approved for food stamps, so the idea of using someone else's money/credit = Gold mine.

    Of course, I know better of typical FREE events. Why would anyone give you Free information that is supplied in a book you pay for? But the eternal Optimistic in me went anyway, and I'll take a free dinner. (It was a sandwich & piece of fruit) Also, for the 6pm event people started showing up at 2:30pm because first 50 people get FREE tablet. (fine print: first 50 each month in the entire region).

    No REAL info provided, just the pitch for $1,997 = 3 day retreat/workshop. I told them my situation & said "I'm not afraid, but I have $19.97, let alone $1,997; but I made them the offer to front the money for me & I would repay them double = offer declined.

    Hey, if you're sitting on some retirement money & you have 20 years until retirement = yes, jump on this program. But if you're broke = this will not pay your rent next month.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Con men

    • by Anonymous,
    • Eugene, OR,
    • Mar 3, 2015

    If you make the mistake of going to one of the seminars, get a refund. They dupe you into believing that you will get money up to $750,000 in financing and you will get info on how to get knowledge and info before anyone else. Then, you pay $2000 to go to three day seminar and hear stories and nonsense for the whole three days. You will only to be hard sold on going to the next level for a starting price of $19,997 and up to the diamond package for $30,000. Don't be a fool, they never delivered on things promised. Thank God we didn't pay anything beyond the $2000.00. Terrible people, beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    Unfortunately, my girlfriend got suckered into going to their three day workshop and like a fool I went with her. The main lie they started with us how we would be reach if stuck with them.

    Then we had to read a brainwashing short story (50 pages) about how we could be rich only if we tried their thirty thousand dollar seminar in Las Vegas. I didn't want anything to do with it. They had already stole $2,000.00 from her and then they pushed us into getting as many credit cards as we could. Before you know it, we put $20,000.00 on a credit card. I tried to get my money back from the start and they have refused a refund. I can't afford it and don't have the money to pay this credit card bill. I'm being charged a penalty and interest and that is costing me over $150.00 a month alone. They should be put in jail for using people as their bait. I want to sue!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Poor seminar

    I signed up for the seminar. Scott and wife were supposed to be there as advertised on TV and were not. I was also promised free complimentary gifts, which I did not get. Also lunch at half-time was not given. Got very upset as they strung us along. I would not recommend this seminar to anyone. These are just sales people giving you the old pitch similar to vacation timeshares. They are just trying to sell you a short course at a very expensive rate!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Traveling Circus

    My Partner and I just went to a FREE seminar last evening, and from the time we signed in, I was already suspicious. When it was time to go inside and start the presentation, I felt as though I was seeing a low-budget documentary with really BAD actors. First off, the "Real Estate Team" in blue polo-shirts were anything BUT professional; not professional-looking, not professionally dressed, and clearly not too familiar with professional/personal hygiene. Then, it was time for our Presenter, Trent, to come out and speak for what seemed like FOREVER. He just loved to keep sipping out of his empty Starbucks coffee cup and setting it back down...then pick it up again, take a "sip," and set it back down. Yeah, we sat in the front row and I know what it sounds like when an empty cup is set onto a table multiple times...if it sounds the same, like an empty cup, then it's empty...was just weird. THEN, it was time for the "testimony" from someone who had no experience, and quite frankly, had a POOR script that she probably had to memorize. OH, and she TOO looked very unprofessional, for someone who supposedly has a savings of around 2.2 million dollars...YEAH RIGHT!

    What struck me in the absolutely WORST way, was when Trent answered a question from someone who was hearing impaired. In the beginning of the presentation, YES, he asked that people hold their questions until the end...it's a scare-tactic that they do that. Anyway, the person performing sign-language for a gentleman asked a question about money...and "don't you have to work or have a job in order to come UP with this kind of money?" Without skipping a beat, Trent said to this person, very rudely, "how about you listen and I'll tell you...." UM, EXCUSE ME?! Yeah, ask anyone who went to that seminar and they will tell you the same thing - he actually said that. I actually have it on video if you want to see it!

    When it came time for the "break," we were only allowed 7 minutes to really discuss things...I told my partner that we absolutely should NOT do anything impulsively until we ask some other folks in this line of business - people we have personal friendships with. When we entered back into the room from our break, one of the "Team Members" couldn't answer a question that I had, so he calls Trent over to answer it for me...which he didn't and probably couldn't! After they both walked away, well, we were revisited by the "testimony lady" again, asking if we were going to do it...I told her that we were still on the fence...so she asked a Team Member named Mike to come over, who was extremely pushy. I basically put him in his place and told him that I didn't know him from a stranger on the street, so why should I trust HIM with my money over consulting a secondary opinion from someone on the outside (my friends). His only answer was, "well, if it's not for you, then don't do it...but why have someone else decide what is best for you?" Um, isn't that what learning life is all about? Information passed down? And what makes him think that HIS information is superior to someone else who has been in the real estate business for almost 35 years (my friends)?

    Like I said, it's a traveling circus that cannot produce results...there were holes all over the place in their presentation...and for anyone else that went to one of these acts, well, if you weren't convinced within the first 5 minutes of the presentation start time, hopefully you were convinced before writing your check!

    The only piece of truth they said, in my opinion, was that the Yancey program is there to make money....YES, they are there to make money, but they want to steal it away from YOUR pocket rather than help put it INTO your pocket. If you want results, it takes hard work ON YOUR OWN...don't buy into this garbage...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I received my refund within 5 days!

    • by Amal Long-Labaar,
    • Downey, CA,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    My husband and I attended the seminar in Burbank, CA on February 3rd, 2015. Although we did not complete the 3-days, we did however receive all our money back within five business days as promised. I appreciated the professionalism of the customer service staff and that of the follow-up counseling staff. They were understanding and friendly NOT pushy, which is a plus! Although this may not be for everyone, it is easy to understand and the counselors are fast to respond your questions, comments and concerns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Don't believe it. If it's too good to be true, step back please.

    • by Don Messinger,
    • Beaverton, Oregon,
    • Feb 20, 2015

    To begin with, they are real good sales men and woman. All I can say is they had us all nodding our heads right away. If I was as wealthy as Scott Yancey, I would help those less fortunate instead of stealing from them, especially the much older ones like I watched last night. Thank God I didn't have a check book or credit card like all the others had last night. I just can't believe there are so many companies out there like this praying on those less fortunate like these guys do. I agree with some of these others who got scammed, we should get someone to back us and make our own students program where people actually get the real information like promised. All I can say now is that more than ever, my new goal is to start my own research on where all this information is really at.Thank you for your time, Don

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    That was close!

    • by Dee,
    • Roanoke, Va.,
    • Feb 10, 2015

    I was so happy to finally find something that would help me break through, especially financing. That was the selling point. I couldn't believe I was one of the six that got up to take such a risk, but one gets tired of being afraid and untrusting. When the guy told me my credit card had been declined I realized I'd brought the wrong card. We arranged to get the right card and close the deal later by phone. I called many times,and there was no answer,so I decided to research and found this info. After many hours, I called the bank. New card. Barely escaped. Wow! Customer Service was a joke. I reminded myself many times not to ignore the warnings of which there were many. Still trying to find the camera web address. I guess that won't happen. I finally saw the light. I'll get two jobs for two years and start with a Hud House or something.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Issues with them

    • by Michael Babineau,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 6, 2015

    I took Scott Yancey's three day work shop. It's a waste of time because you get there and what do you get is trash until the third day. The third is when they drop the big bomb on you by saying you get what you pay ($2000) for and then they say that it will cost you anywhere from $18,997 to $39,997 U.S. Dollars for an additional course as that will be more worth it. Of course you get soaked into doing what you think will be best for you.

    This was a waste of time and money. If they were honest and reputable business they would tell you upfront as that would save everyone a lot of time and energy than having to dealing with these folks. I called customer service which provided me with no help to my dilemma involving getting a refund of my hard earned money. I get the shaft from their so-called customer service department. Stay away from this group it spells disaster .

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 25, 2015

      Frances

      I totally agree. I think it really is a waste of time and money. We attended it and was so fired up at the beginning. We bought properties at the summit. All we learnt is -- just look at the numbers, if numbers works, go for it. So we did, we bought from Buy PD. Oh my god, what a nightmare. They are very keen on communication when they asking for money. We paid full amount in November 2014. Then we wait and wait, till a couple of weeks ago, we were wondering what is going on. We request full amount as no way it would take this long. Then suddenly we were told the deal already closed on January 5. Shockingly we found out that property management company asked us to pay over $800 to evict the tenants due to no payment. Further, realized no security deposit, no first money rent collection. Good lord, where did Buy PD placed this property management company? Then we know insurance company refused to insure the property due to roof issues, the tenants need to be evicted due to no payment, no security deposit, the property was jacked up 3 times of the price the city assessed. Was told that it would be closed early January. But so far, we have not seen a cent paid to us as a landlord, but facing cost of water service shut off. I will never ever buy from buy PD and would never suggest anyone to go through these nightmares like us.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 139

Write a review for Scott Yancey!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review