About Scratch + Aide

Created by the makers of Dutch Glow, Scratch + Aide is claimed to be a wood scratch mender that can make scratches on wood surfaces instantly disappear and can bring all your wood furniture, flooring, and cabinetry back to life.

In order to accomplish this, Scratch + Aide is claimed to go on clear and absorb the existing stain color, allowing it to match any type or color of wood, help your wood look brand new again in seconds, and save you hundreds of dollars on repairs in the process. In fact, Scratch + Aide is so is claimed to be so easy to use that it works in 3 simple steps:

  • Fill the crack or gouge.
  • Smooth using the included spatula.
  • ​Allow to dry and the crack or gouge will be gone.

According to the manufacturer, Scratch + Aide is guaranteed to provide you with amazing results, regardless of the type of wood you’re repairing or its location.

Wood décor in your home can add a level of warmth that’s difficult to achieve with other furnishings, although the constant scratching, wear, and tear can cause your once-new furnishings and floors to start looking dingy fairly fast. But can Scratch + Aide help prevent this in a simple and easy manner? Consider the following:

Does Scratch + Aide Work As Well As Advertised?

In the Scratch + Aide commercial, the scratches shown during demonstrations appeared to be fairly light and only on the top layer of the wood, so it would be interesting to see how well it performs for bigger scratches that penetrate the wood on a deeper level.

In addition, although the scratches appear to immediately blend in to the surrounding wood after Scratch + Aide is applied, keep in mind that adding the liquid to the scratches may just refract light and prevent the scratch from being easily visible. Also, since the existing stain on your wood is dried, we’d be curious as to how Scratch + Aide immediately absorbs its stain once applied.

Also, since the demonstrations in the Scratch + Aide commercial are from only one angle, we’d be keen to test it out an learn if the liquid’s sheen is visible after it’s dried.

Finally, although Scratch + Aide’s commercial claims the liquid goes on clear, it appears to have a fairly deep brown tint based on the picture on the website. As such, it may not match all wood stains equally.

Keep Your Options Open

Next, remember that wood repair kits are nothing new, so you’ll be able to find hundreds of options online, as well as through local retailers. Granted, not all of these options will repair your wood scratches exactly like Scratch + Aide, and some may be more expensive. Although, when it comes to self-repairing your wood furniture, you’re probably more focused on quality results than you are necessarily on cost.

Mind the Arbitration

Finally, by placing your order on the Scratch + Aide website, you’ll be bound to the company’s arbitration agreement, which will limit your ability to become part of a class action lawsuit or any type of legal proceeding against the company.

What Are Other Consumers Saying About Scratch + Aide?

Scratch + Aide was a very new product and didn’t have any online customer reviews available at the time of our research.

However, Scratch + Aide is manufactured by SAS Group, who also makes Dutch Glow (which also goes under the name Amish Wood Milk), another popular ASOTV wood finishing product. With this said, based on more than 220 HighYa reader reviews (as of 1/6/15), Dutch Glow had a 1.5-star rating, with some of the most common complaints citing:

  • Failure to work as advertised (in fact, after reviewing the product ourselves, we weren’t able to tell a difference between cabinets that had Dutch Glow applied and those that were simply wiped down with a dry cloth)
  • Long delivery times
  • Poor customer service (e.g. numerous upsells during calls, frequent solicitations from telemarketers after purchasing)
  • Order totals that were much higher than expected

Granted, many of these complaints focus more on customer service than they do product performance, so keep in mind that this isn’t necessarily indicative of what you’ll experience with Scratch + Aide.

Finally, SAS Group holds a B- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on more than 120 complains (as of 1/6/14), most of which appeared to reference the same complaints noted above.

Scratch + Aide Pricing & Refund Policy

Scratch + Aide is priced at $10, plus $12.90 S&H (yes, you read that right!) and a $2 “web fee,” bringing your total to $24.90. For this price you’ll receive the following:

  • 1 bottle of Scratch + Aide Scratch Mender
  • Wood Butter – fills and conceals cracks and gouges
  • Microfiber dusting and polishing mitt

Scratch + Aide comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you decide to return your Scratch + Aide order, you’ll lose more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is before you even include how much it’ll cost you to send the product back to the manufacturer.

With this said, if you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-561-8543.

Can Scratch + Aide Revolutionize How You Care for Your Wood Surfaces?

Chopping to the Point: It’s technically possible, although based on our experience with other cleaning products from the same manufacturer, the results might be much less spectacular than the commercial makes it seem. As such, if you plan on rolling the dice with Scratch + Aide, it’s important to remember you’ll lose a good chunk of change on S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied, and to keep your expectations realistic.

Tired of Rip-Offs on TV? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

44 Customer Reviews for Scratch + Aide

Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 2 4 stars: 1 3 stars: 0 2 stars: 0 1 stars: 41
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off!

    They offered "free" sponges but then they said it would cost a separate S&H fee of $7.95. I then tried to opt for the free sponges but the ordering process would not let me.

    Then when I got the package, the sponges came in the same package as the Scratch Aide kit! So I paid TWO S&H fees for ONE package, plus a $2 processing fee!

    I called Scratch Aide to complain and asked for a refund of one of the S&H fees plus the processing fee. They refused to give me anything more than $5 back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Total Rip Off

    • La Jolla, CA,
    • Jul 15, 2016

    Firstly, the product doesn't work as advertised. Second, if you order the $10 deal they will hammer you for $17.95 shipping and handling charges that are NOT refundable. Total scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Scratch + Aide is the Best!

    I just received this product and wanted to repair scratches that my dog made on my antique coffee table. This stuff completely fixed my table! I would have paid $100 or more to repair this priceless table. Thank you for offering such a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Quality of Product

    • Denver, CO,
    • Feb 6, 2016

    Don't waste your time with these Scratch & Aide products, especially the scratch mender and wood butter. They did not perform the way the TV advertisement claimed. I tried them both a couple of times, on a couple of different surfaces, and it did not work for me at all. You are probably better off buying a bottle of Old English scratch cover, which is a very reliable product. And an extra $7.99 for S&H for those three sponges? Wow, do I feel like a fool to have fallen for this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Ripped off

    • Texas,
    • Feb 2, 2016

    Their customer service is very rude and not helpful at all. The product does not work at all, and may damage wood. Do not buy this, since you do not get your money back either. Personally, I wouldn't even give them one star, but it was the only way to submit this review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Scratch Aide is Garbage

    • Manhattan, Illinois,
    • Jan 24, 2016

    The only place this product works is on TV. The cost is 10 dollars. BUT WAIT -- the processing fee is $2.00. The 3 bonus sponges (available at local hardware store for $1.50) were free -- EXCEPT for the shipping and processing fee of $7.99. The shipping and processing for the scratch mender was $7.95. So, for the low price of $27.94 you can buy a $10.00 item. Oh -- if not satisfied, you can send it back (at your expense) for a credit of the cost ONLY of the scratch mender ($10.00). It appears that they make fortune on processing, shipping, and handling. Don't be as stupid as I was -- get a quality product at your local hardware, Lowes, or Wal-Mart, for a lot less money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Huge rip-off.

    • Wilder, VT,
    • Jan 18, 2016

    I ordered two Scratch menders and was charged $53.88. After I saw what I was being charged, I tried to go back in and remove items, but there is no place to remove items from my order.

    You are charged twice for processing ($15.90) and twice more for processing bonus 3 eraser sponges ($15.98).

    I contacted customer service and asked them to remove one scratch mender and told them that I didn't want the 3 bonus eraser sponges and was told that there wasn't an option to cancel the 3 bonus erasers.

    I ended up cancelling the whole order. I only wish that I had read the other reviews before I ordered this product. I would give this product a zero. What a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Poor product

    • Jackson, MS,
    • Jan 18, 2016

    I was able to buy this Scratch and Aide in a store, so I avoided the S/H charges. Local CVS pharmacy has a shelf for As seen on TV" products. I was able to return it with no questions asked after I tried it on some deep and some not so deep scratches on both light and dark wood finishes. I saw absolutely NO improvement whatever. So glad I did not fall for the online order. Would love to rate it a minus 5!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    This is a SCAM

    • Columbia,
    • Jan 12, 2016

    I was trying to place an order and received a "script" error. When ordering I did not want the magic sponges so I had NOT CONFIRMED my order. I just exited out of the site. The next day I received an email that the order had been placed. I tried emailing the company and calling. At this time I have been waiting over 15 minutes for someone to answer. BEWARE don't order unless you want the items. If I only had seen the other complaints before starting I would not have even gone to the website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Fabulous Scratch Aide

    • Rockville, MD,
    • Jan 3, 2016

    Scratch is the greatest product I have ever tried for my scratches. My old dresser looks like new. My dear dog scratched the edges of my table trying to get something down when I am not home. Bad scratches all along two sides. With Scratch Aide, they are all gone. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    This product does not work. The Old English is better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a review for Scratch Aide!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review