About SeroVital-hgh

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jun 26, 2017

SeroVital-hgh is an oral anti-aging liquid concentrate that’s claimed to contain a special blend of amino acids that can naturally increase human growth hormone (HGH) levels within your body by 682%, resulting in an anti-aging effect (reduced appearance of wrinkles, tightened skin, etc.), as well as increased lean muscle mass, reduced body fat, increased energy, improved mood, and heightened sex drive. According to the SeroVital-hgh website, this is accomplished using 6 primary ingredients:

  • L-lysine HCl
  • L-arginine HCl
  • Oxo-proline
  • N-acetyl-l-cysteine
  • L-glutamine
  • Schizonepeta (aerial parts) powder

Until now, SeroVital-hgh’s manufacturer claims that the only way to boost your human growth hormone levels was through injections at your physician’s office. However, the company claims after more than 30 years of time-consuming and detailed research, they have finally produced an oral compound that can boost your HGH levels at a much lower price.

But let’s get real: Can you expect SeroVital-hgh to work as well as injections? Here’s what we learned:

What is Human Growth Hormone (HGH)?

According to WebMD, human growth hormone (HGH) is released naturally by the body’s pituitary gland, and is responsible for a wide variety of functions, including growth during childhood and the regulation of “body composition, body fluids, muscle and bone growth, sugar and fat metabolism, and possibly heart function,” in addition to muscle growth (even as adults) and the firmness of skin. However, as we age, we produce less and less HGH, resulting in increased signs of aging from multiple perspectives.

In order to counteract these unwanted effects, an increasing number of men and women have turned to their physicians and undergone HGH injections, which introduce synthetic growth hormone directly into the body. This is in contrast to SeroVital-hgh, which does not contain any HGH whatsoever, but instead claims to feature key amino acids that are administered orally and are claimed to cause your body to release more HGH.

Will SeroVital-hgh Cause Any Side Effects?

Although SeroVital-hgh’s ingredients probably won’t cause anything worse than mild digestive upset (if anything at all), there are a few important considerations.

For example, WebMD notes that L-arginine can sometimes cause “allergies, airway inflammation, worsening of asthma, and low blood pressure.” They also note that in rare instances, n-acetyl-l-cysteine “can cause rashes, fever, headache, drowsiness, low blood pressure, and liver problems,” and in high doses, schizonepeta can damage the liver.

Finally, we’ll talk more about this in a moment, but oxoproline is considered an “uncommon and little studied” amino acid, so potential side effects are largely unknown.

What about HGH supplementation in general? HGH therapy has many legitimate medical uses, including treating chronic kidney insufficiency, Prader-Willi syndrome, short bowel syndrome, muscle-wasting disease, and more. When monitored by a physician, any long-term or severe side effects can be minimized.

However, for individuals who supplement (i.e. inject) HGH for long periods of time, such as bodybuilders, a whole slew of nasty side effects can manifest, including nerve, muscle, or joint pain, edema (swelling caused by fluid), carpal tunnel syndrome, skin numbness and tingling, high cholesterol levels, an increased risk of cancer, and more.

Here’s the thing though: based on existing research and evidence, we don’t think you’ll have to worry about any of HGH’s side effects with SeroVital. Why? Let’s learn more.

Does SeroVital Really Increase Your HGH Levels?

The SeroVital-hgh website provides a copy of their study claiming to show the product’s efficacy, although it’s interesting to note that the conclusion states: “Our results show that a single oral dose of these amino acids can significantly increase GH [growth hormone] Levels after 120 minutes in healthy men and women. Whether these GH changes persist over a longer duration or have other positive effects is being further examined.” In other words, although these amino acids were shown to increase growth hormone within the context of the study, there was no direct correlation between this GH increase and any of the benefits claimed by the company.

In layman’s terms, based on their own study, even if SeroVital-hgh does actually increase HGH levels, this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll feel younger, have more energy, increase muscle mass, or anything else claimed by the company. The manufacturer appears to circumvent this problem by undermining the medical community when saying on their website, “the “established” medical community (and of course, they know everything) would say [SeroVital-hgh’s] benefits are largely anecdotal.”

But what does the medical community have to say about boosting HGH levels using amino acids? As it turns out, there doesn’t appear to have been a lot written about the link between the two, although we did locate a very in-depth article by QuackWatch (hint: the short answer is no). WebMD also wrote an informative article about HGH supplementation, claiming that “the Federal Trade Commission has seen no reliable evidence to support the claim that these [natural supplement-based] products have the same effects as prescription HGH, which is always given by injection.”

Even when looking at each ingredient Independently, according to WebMD, there is insufficient evidence showing that l-lysine, l-arginine, oxoproline (also known as pyroglutamic acid), n-acetyl-l-cysteine, l-glutamine, or schizonepeta can have any impact on HGH production.

Important note: Although the manufacturer claims that the research behind SeroVital-hgh was featured on Dr. Oz’s 10/28/2012 episode named “Supercharge Your Body with Human Growth Hormone,” after watching the episode ourselves, we didn’t find anything mentioned that would identify the company or the supplement. In fact, Dr. Oz mentioned that you only need 4 amino acids in order to boost HGH production (glycine, ornithine, arginine, and lysine), two of which aren’t included in SeroVital-hgh.

Are HGH Supplements Safe?

As noted previously, it’s important to make a very clear distinction between treatments that actually contain HGH (such as injections at your doctor’s office) and supplements that contain no HGH, but use different ingredients that are claimed to boost HGH production within your body (similar to SeroVital-hgh).

With this distinction in mind, the repeated use of treatments containing human growth hormone can lead to “joint swelling, joint pain, carpal tunnel syndrome, and an increased risk of diabetes.” However, since SeroVital-hgh doesn’t contain any HGH, the possibility of experiencing these types of side effects might be extraordinarily rare.

On the other hand, when taken in the recommend dosages, the amino acids contained in SeroVital-hgh appear to result in very few side effects (we’ll talk about this more next). For additional information on the SeroVital side effects, you can learn more here.

What are Consumers Saying About SeroVital?

Although there were no testimonials listed on the SeroVital website at the time of our research, taking a look at consumer reviews on sites such as Ulta.com and GNC.com, the supplement appears to have an average rating of 3.8 stars. While some users appear to have experienced positive benefits from using SeroVital-hgh, some of the most common complaints cited failure to work, high price/low value, and side effects such as bloating, trouble sleeping, skin redness/blotchiness, and joint pain.

Since writing our original review, 96 HighYa readers have chimed in on their experiences as well, and have given SeroVital-hgh an average rating of 2.7 stars. According to these reviews, some of the most common complaints also cited failure to work as advertised and high price.

From a company perspective, SeroVital-hgh is manufactured by Sanmedica International based out of Salt Lake City, UT. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on just 12 closed complaints (as of 6/26/17), the majority of which appeared to reference difficulty obtaining a refund.

What Does Serovital Cost?

A 30-day supply of SeroVital-hgh is priced at $99, plus $6.95 Standard shipping (faster options are available for additional money).

Looking to spend less? According to Dr. Oz, the 4 key amino acids he spoke about on his original show can be purchased in pill form from your local health foods store for under $20.

With this said, after placing your SeroVital-hgh order, you’ll be automatically enrolled in the company’s Preferred Customer Plan, which means you’ll continue receiving a fresh supply of SeroVital-hgh once every 30 days, and your credit card will be billed $80 each time (20% discount)

Important note: Although autoship programs like this are advertised as a way of providing convenience, there are several pitfalls you should be aware of before signing up. As such, we’d strongly recommend reading through our All About Autoship Programs article beforehand.

SeroVital-hgh comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges (you will be required to return the empty container to the company). In order to request a refund or to cancel you autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-435-1409.

Is SeroVital-hgh Your “Magic Bullet” for a Rejuvenated Body?

Chopping to the Point: In our opinion, although the amino acids found in SeroVital-hgh may have been found to boost mean HGH levels more than six-fold in the manufacturer’s clinical study, there is essentially zero clinical evidence (whether through the manufacturer’s trial or elsewhere online) showing that this translates into any kind of real-world benefits. Considering this, along with the supplement’s very high price, we might recommend speaking with your physician about more effective methods of turning back the hands of time than with SeroVital-hgh.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

102 Customer Reviews for SeroVital-hgh

Average Customer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 30 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 13 1 star:  46
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 102
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    A user of SeroVital-hgh for a little over a year!

    I used SeroVital-hgh for over a year and didn't see any changes in my skin, or endurance, or youthfulness, or anything that comes with having high levels of hgh in the brain, as you have when you're younger. I just simply see no difference in any aspect! I took the product as it said every day. I felt/seen no results. The product was $100 a month, and I feel I should get my money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Too sick!

    I can't take it, all I did was throw up. If I could eat something first then I could take it, but it is impossible for me to take anything on an empty stomach. I wish I knew before spending that much money that it had to be taken that way. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Love, love this

    • California,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 56 years old with a disability that prevents me from active life. I decided to try a TV promo mainly because the gal from The Doctors TV Show approved it. I have been taking this faithfully every morning, and even though my body can't do much, I have had such an increase in energy. I feel like I can go do anything. My only problem now is my body can't keep up with my energy. It has helped me take less meds and I'm not always napping from my pain meds. I feel like I'm 35. I look it too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 60 out 68 people found this review helpful

    Awkward sales practices

    • Hesperia, CA,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called the 800-number after seeing the infomercial on TV. The guys on the phone seemed informative, and once I heard that you get discounts for buying in bulk, I told him I would call back after speaking with a few friends that might be interested in trying it as well. Then the kind man told me if I called too many times the company has a record of my phone number and would report me to the authorities. Never quite experienced anything like it before. I'm pretty baffled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 45 people found this review helpful

    I feel great, would you like to feel great too?

    I was 64 years old and overweight by 30 pounds. My joints hurt and my energy was low. I saw the advertisement on television and thought "mmmm!"

    I ordered SeroVital. Simple take the first in the morning on an empty stomach, do aerobics at home then complete a Bowflex workout. I take the vitamins, eat a healthy lunch, and go to work. It took about six months, but the pounds dropped, my skin and hair glowed, and the energy level zoom!

    I am now 68 years young, still taking SeroVital, working full time, look great and feel fantastic. I also found love, and he now takes SeroVital. We are about to retire, so look out world!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 10, 2017

      Nicholas terlau

      Honestly, it really did work for you? Please be honest because this is very expensive and I can't really afford it but NEED the results! Please let me know, like for real.

      Thanks, Nicholas (Cincinnati, Ohio)

    • Jul 16, 2017

      Margaret Lynne Caster

      Nicholas, yes I truly believe in this product. I pack it on my vacations. I put it out right before bed so when I wake up at night to use the bathroom there is water and Sero-Vital to take. I wish I could post a picture, then you will see the results.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Makes allergies and asthma 100x worse

    I've been taking SeroVital for many months now, all through winter, and it's now June. I'm now a 58-year-old woman, and I see no super powers these pills have. My skin is the same as it had been, I've lost zero weight, yet this past winter into now, my allergies and my asthma have kicked into high gear. My rescue inhaler doesn't offer me any relief now.

    Save your money; these pills do nothing, nada, zippo. I wouldn't recommend these to my worst enemy; they're that useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Don't stop taking

    • Florida ,
    • Jun 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 49 I took this for 6 months and felt great. I stopped just ran out and really didn't think it was needed. Then I got hot flashes and headaches yes early menopause but on this product it wasn't bad. However, without it I was not sleeping and felt so bad. Now I'm back on it for 2 weeks and hot flashes are just here and there and no headaches. I feel like myself again so I hope this product helps me stay off hormones and gets me through all this crap. I do feel so much better on it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 11, 2017

      -Wendy Gay

      Hi, how long did it take for you to feel better when you first starting taking this?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Give it time, it works!

    Yes, it works! I have diminished wrinkles. Age spots still remain. Sleeping better, mood better. I have increased energy. The downside was feeling nauseated and heart racing. I am going to be 55 next month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 16, 2017

      Madaline

      Does this really increase height?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 46 people found this review helpful

    I love it!

    • Wichita, KS,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a female of 62 years old, and this product has some amazing benefits. I've been taking SeroVital for five weeks, and the first improvement I've noticed is that it has made my skin super smooth. Even the soles of my feet are like silk. I've got bad knees, but they don't seem to hurt as often as they previously did. I definitely have less aches and pains, as my back used to nag at me. My energy levels are almost back to the way they were when I was in my early 50's. I cannot wait to see what other benefits I will enjoy from this product with long term use.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 85 out 91 people found this review helpful

    SeroVital didn't work for me

    I read all the information, including on this website, and decided to try SeroVital. I bought the 120-capsule box. I took all four capsules every day as prescribed in the instructions.

    I am an over 50-year-old man with a tire around my waist and a protruding belly. My waistline is about three inches larger than it should be. I am overweight by about 35 pounds. I got this way mostly from becoming sedentary (I sit too much in my job), and I drink too much alcohol. Although I did not change my physical activity level, I did quit drinking any alcohol for the duration of my SeroVital trial.

    I took all the capsules and took the last four on day 30. I can honestly say I experienced no change. I lost no weight, and my body shape did not change one bit. I had no sensation or increased feeling of energy, and aside from a heightened desire to drink beer every afternoon, nothing in my daily life changed.

    I won't say that SeroVital is a total waste. I did stop drinking for more than a month, and I got to write this review to hopefully provide some additional help in deciding whether to try SeroVital or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 62 people found this review helpful

    All I want is my refund, as told in the beginning, I could have if unsatisfied.

    I did not see any results from the HGH and found it unrealistic that you had to take it after fasting for four hours, then could not eat for another two hours. People with an active lifestyle do not have time to schedule around these time frames. I found myself not having time to even eat because I would have to be at work. I asked for a refund, and they asked me to try a different product.

    So I have been on the HCG drops for two days and am nauseated. I compared the ingredients to the original hormone HCG drops "Restore" that I kept the bottle from years ago before they pulled them from the shelf. It is nothing like the original. I would like a refund please.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 102

Write a Review for SeroVital-hgh!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review