About SeroVital-hgh

SeroVital-hgh is an oral anti-aging liquid concentrate that’s claimed to contain a special blend of amino acids that can naturally increase human growth hormone (HGH) levels within your body by 682%, resulting in an anti-aging effect (reduced appearance of wrinkles, tightened skin, etc.), as well as increased lean muscle mass, reduced body fat, increased energy, improved mood, and heightened sex drive. According to the SeroVital-hgh website, this is accomplished using 6 primary ingredients:

  • L-lysine HCl
  • L-arginine HCl
  • Oxo-proline
  • N-acetyl-l-cysteine
  • L-glutamine
  • Schizonepeta (aerial parts) powder

Until now, SeroVital-hgh’s manufacturer claims that the only way to boost your human growth hormone levels was through injections at your physician’s office. However, the company claims after more than 30 years of time-consuming and detailed research, they have finally produced an oral compound that can boost your HGH levels at a much lower price.

But let’s get real: Can you expect SeroVital-hgh to work as well as injections? Here’s what we learned:

What is Human Growth Hormone (HGH)?

According to WebMD, human growth hormone (HGH) is released naturally by the body’s pituitary gland, and is responsible for a wide variety of functions, including growth during childhood and the regulation of “body composition, body fluids, muscle and bone growth, sugar and fat metabolism, and possibly heart function,” in addition to muscle growth (even as adults) and the firmness of skin. However, as we age, we produce less and less HGH, resulting in increased signs of aging from multiple perspectives.

In order to counteract these unwanted effects, an increasing number of men and women have turned to their physicians and undergone HGH injections, which introduce synthetic growth hormone directly into the body. This is in contrast to SeroVital-hgh, which does not contain any HGH whatsoever, but instead claims to feature key amino acids that are administered orally and are claimed to cause your body to release more HGH.

Will SeroVital-hgh Cause Any Side Effects?

Although SeroVital-hgh’s ingredients probably won’t cause anything worse than mild digestive upset (if anything at all), there are a few important considerations.

For example, WebMD notes that L-arginine can sometimes cause “allergies, airway inflammation, worsening of asthma, and low blood pressure.” They also note that in rare instances, n-acetyl-l-cysteine “can cause rashes, fever, headache, drowsiness, low blood pressure, and liver problems,” and in high doses, schizonepeta can damage the liver.

Finally, we’ll talk more about this in a moment, but oxoproline is considered an “uncommon and little studied” amino acid, so potential side effects are largely unknown.

What about HGH supplementation in general? HGH therapy has many legitimate medical uses, including treating chronic kidney insufficiency, Prader-Willi syndrome, short bowel syndrome, muscle-wasting disease, and more. When monitored by a physician, any long-term or severe side effects can be minimized.

However, for individuals who supplement (i.e. inject) HGH for long periods of time, such as bodybuilders, a whole slew of nasty side effects can manifest, including nerve, muscle, or joint pain, edema (swelling caused by fluid), carpal tunnel syndrome, skin numbness and tingling, high cholesterol levels, an increased risk of cancer, and more.

Here’s the thing though: based on existing research and evidence, we don’t think you’ll have to worry about any of HGH’s side effects with SeroVital. Why? Let’s learn more.

Does SeroVital Really Increase Your HGH Levels?

The SeroVital-hgh website provides a copy of their study claiming to show the product’s efficacy, although it’s interesting to note that the conclusion states: “Our results show that a single oral dose of these amino acids can significantly increase GH [growth hormone] Levels after 120 minutes in healthy men and women. Whether these GH changes persist over a longer duration or have other positive effects is being further examined.” In other words, although these amino acids were shown to increase growth hormone within the context of the study, there was no direct correlation between this GH increase and any of the benefits claimed by the company.

In layman’s terms, based on their own study, even if SeroVital-hgh does actually increase HGH levels, this doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll feel younger, have more energy, increase muscle mass, or anything else claimed by the company. The manufacturer appears to circumvent this problem by undermining the medical community when saying on their website, “the “established” medical community (and of course, they know everything) would say [SeroVital-hgh’s] benefits are largely anecdotal.”

But what does the medical community have to say about boosting HGH levels using amino acids? As it turns out, there doesn’t appear to have been a lot written about the link between the two, although we did locate a very in-depth article by QuackWatch (hint: the short answer is no). WebMD also wrote an informative article about HGH supplementation, claiming that “the Federal Trade Commission has seen no reliable evidence to support the claim that these [natural supplement-based] products have the same effects as prescription HGH, which is always given by injection.”

Even when looking at each ingredient Independently, according to WebMD, there is insufficient evidence showing that l-lysine, l-arginine, oxoproline (also known as pyroglutamic acid), n-acetyl-l-cysteine, l-glutamine, or schizonepeta can have any impact on HGH production.

Important note: Although the manufacturer claims that the research behind SeroVital-hgh was featured on Dr. Oz’s 10/28/2012 episode named “Supercharge Your Body with Human Growth Hormone,” after watching the episode ourselves, we didn’t find anything mentioned that would identify the company or the supplement. In fact, Dr. Oz mentioned that you only need 4 amino acids in order to boost HGH production (glycine, ornithine, arginine, and lysine), two of which aren’t included in SeroVital-hgh.

Are HGH Supplements Safe?

As noted previously, it’s important to make a very clear distinction between treatments that actually contain HGH (such as injections at your doctor’s office) and supplements that contain no HGH, but use different ingredients that are claimed to boost HGH production within your body (similar to SeroVital-hgh).

With this distinction in mind, the repeated use of treatments containing human growth hormone can lead to “joint swelling, joint pain, carpal tunnel syndrome, and an increased risk of diabetes.” However, since SeroVital-hgh doesn’t contain any HGH, the possibility of experiencing these types of side effects might be extraordinarily rare.

On the other hand, when taken in the recommend dosages, the amino acids contained in SeroVital-hgh appear to result in very few side effects (we’ll talk about this more next). For additional information on the SeroVital side effects, you can learn more here.

What are Consumers Saying About SeroVital?

Although there were no testimonials listed on the SeroVital website at the time of our research, taking a look at consumer reviews on sites such as Ulta.com and GNC.com, the supplement appears to have an average rating of 3.7 stars. While some users appear to have experienced positive benefits from using SeroVital-hgh, some of the most common complaints cited failure to work, high price/low value, and side effects such as bloating, trouble sleeping, skin redness/blotchiness, and joint pain.

Since writing our original review, 12 HighYa readers have chimed in on their experiences as well, and have given SeroVital-hgh an average rating of 2.5 stars. According to these reviews, some of the most common complaints also cited failure to work as advertised and high price.

From a company perspective, SeroVital-hgh is manufactured by Sanmedica International based out of Salt Lake City, UT. The company has a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on just 3 closed complaints (as of 1/9/15), the majority of which appeared to reference difficulty obtaining a refund.

What Does Serovital Cost?

A 30-day supply of SeroVital-hgh is priced at $99, plus $6.95 Standard shipping (faster options are available for additional money).

Looking to spend less? According to Dr. Oz, the 4 key amino acids he spoke about on his original show can be purchased in pill form from your local health foods store for under $20.

With this said, after placing your SeroVital-hgh order, you’ll be automatically enrolled in the company’s Preferred Customer Plan, which means you’ll continue receiving a fresh supply of SeroVital-hgh once every 30 days, and your credit card will be billed $80 each time (20% discount)

Important note: Although autoship programs like this are advertised as a way of providing convenience, there are several pitfalls you should be aware of before signing up. As such, we’d strongly recommend reading through our All About Autoship Programs article beforehand.

SeroVital-hgh comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges (you will be required to return the empty container to the company). In order to request a refund or to cancel you autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-435-1409.

Is SeroVital-hgh Your “Magic Bullet” for a Rejuvenated Body?

Chopping to the Point: Although the amino acids found in SeroVital-hgh may have been found to boost mean HGH levels more than six-fold in the manufacturer’s clinical study, there is essentially zero clinical evidence (whether through the manufacturer’s trial or elsewhere online) showing that this translates into any kind of real-world benefits. Considering this, along with the supplement’s very high price, we might recommend speaking with your physician about more effective methods of turning back the hands of time than with SeroVital-hgh.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

87 Customer Reviews for SeroVital-hgh

Average Customer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 24 4 stars: 10 3 stars: 2 2 stars: 13 1 stars: 38
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 87
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Blood pressure and insomnia

    • Falkner, MS,
    • Apr 21, 2017

    I had taken SeroVital-hgh over two months. I could not tell any difference in feeling better nor any difference in my appearance. I began not being able to sleep at night, and as I have never had problems before with insomnia, I think this product may have caused my sleeplessness.

    However, and more importantly, I began to have high blood pressure readings. After stopping this product, I am beginning to return to normal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 14 people found this review helpful

    I'm so tired

    • Ohio,
    • Apr 15, 2017

    I've been taking the product for almost 3 weeks. The only benefit I've noticed is that I'm sleeping through the night. The odd thing is, I'm so exhausted through the day. I've never felt so fatigued. I honestly can barely function. Really makes me sad. I had high hopes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 58 people found this review helpful

    HGH

    • Hillsboro, OR,
    • Mar 13, 2017

    Wow, I am so glad to hear of a product that contains HGH. Several years ago the only way to purchase HGH was through a company in the east. It was pricey and tasted terrible, but the results were phenomenal. It is a very safe (and you could say natural) way to lose weight. You are just replenishing what your body loses over the years due to aging, so no harm there, and there is no danger of cardiac issues or kidney problems that accompany other weight loss products.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 59 out 66 people found this review helpful

    Bad SeroVital-hgh review

    • Westminster, Colorado,
    • Mar 9, 2017

    It's nothing more than a placebo. I went from a size 2 to a size 10! Not only did it not do anything that it advertised, but I also had an overwhelming lack of energy, which was unlike anything I've ever experienced before.

    This is nothing more than a fake pill for those dumb enough to believe it. If you have money to waste and you're looking for something to make you younger and give you more energy, with all due respect, do your homework and find something natural and real. For those of you dumb enough to just believe the commercial you will be taken for your money, and you will get nothing in return.

    This is nothing more than a scam made up to make its ridiculous ventures rich at the expense of making you poor, for absolutely nothing in return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 45 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • Texas,
    • Mar 6, 2017

    I am a 60-year-old female. I took it for two months at age 59 and thought it wasn't doing much, other than providing me with the best sleep ever. Looking back, I can see that I got away with eating bad food and my skin was also a lot smoother.

    Now at 60, I have started my first box. After one week, my skin is smoother, my arms don't have skin bumps, and I sleep better and wake up earlier. Anxiety is non-existent, and I am not stressed out. So it definitely does do something, so I'm going to stick with it a lot longer this time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 40 people found this review helpful

    I feel better

    • New Jersey,
    • Feb 28, 2017

    I'd give this five stars since it works for me.

    I feel so much better on it; I sleep better, my joints don't hurt, I feel younger, my belly weight is decreasing, and I have fewer wrinkles. I take only two pills a day because I get an upset stomach if I take four pills a day. So for me, this is even greater, since it costs me half as much. I actually stopped taking it for a month and felt joint pain and weight gain again. I went back on two pills a day and felt young again.

    I love the stuff, and I'm on my sixth box, so that's one year for me (since I take half a dose). I buy it at Costco when they are on sale for $80 (for 160 capsules), which is the best price anywhere. You get more, but pay less.

    I only gave it four stars because it does have some side effect for me. I have gotten some digestive problems on four pills (on and off), stomach issues, gum bleeding, and once, a nose bleed. But I'm not 100% sure these new side effects are related to SeroVital. I am 56.5 years old, and the stomach issues could be related to stress at work, and the nose bleed could be due to the dry winter heat. The bleeding gums could be my own problem.

    I feel and look so much younger on SeroVital, s I'm not stopping them. Plus, I'm not sure any of the mild symptoms I'm having are related. I may have those issues if I don't take SeroVital. All I know is that I work 50 hours a week, clean my big house, keep up with my 2-year-old grandbaby all weekend, have lots of energy, don't feel body aches, and am told that I look way younger than I am. I am feeling good on SeroVital, and didn't feel good off them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 57 people found this review helpful

    7 weeks in...positive effects for the most part

    • Maryland,
    • Feb 20, 2017

    My father (who is 74 years old) told me about this supplement in December, and I started taking it in early January 2017. He has had amazing results!

    It has been seven weeks and I've had mixed results but mostly positive. I am a 46 year old, African American woman. Overweight, mostly sedentary, and borderline diabetic with knee problems and back issues.

    I do suffer some side effects: occasional cystic acne and slight rash. What I have done to mitigate these effects is vary my dosage. I rarely take the full four pills a day. I take three or two pills daily, depending on how I feel and the side effects. If I take four pills the cystic acne comes up, but when I go down to three or two pills a day it clears up and I still receive benefits. I have also experienced a bit of a rash, but again, if I notice it is happening then I reduce my dosage and it goes away.

    That said, the benefits have been AMAZING. My mood has improved, my tummy fat is disappearing slowly, my metabolism is noticeably improved (verified by body temperature) and each week I notice something better! I had some joint pain the first few weeks but now I feel better than ever. My knees no longer hurt, and my back pain lessens every week. It's crazy. Every week I notice something is getting better.

    I have also noticed that my body is "transforming". I can't think of a better word for it. I am feeling stronger and more toned, even without exercise. Exercising would probably enhance this effect greatly. My breasts feel more firm, my lower abdomen is reducing, and my thighs are more toned. My clothes fit differently. l haven't weighed or measured myself so I can't tell you the exact numbers, but how I fit my clothes is proof enough for me.

    I refuse to give up on this product. I can't wait to see how I feel after six months and one year! I haven't changed a thing about my diet and I exercise infrequently, but nevertheless, I continue to feel better and better. The mood improvement has helped me to start exercising, even if infrequently. Whatever is happening is slow and steady for me, and totally worth it. I know that someone with more diligence and discipline would likely benefit a great deal.

    I read thousands of reviews of this supplement before I started taking it (Ulta and Costco in particular). I learned that it can take a while to work and I'm finding that to be true. I know it is expensive but it works. I've taken A LOT of supplements over the years but this (and colostrum) have definitely benefited me. If you can afford the supplement and can commit to the time (likely several months), then I would highly recommend that you take this supplement. It is the real deal.

    I do not work for the company and no one paid me for this review. I just want to share my experience and plan to expand upon it depending upon my experience over the next months. For now, seven weeks in, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this supplement, just be prepared to commit to the expense for several months. It's up to you, but if you've spent money on other treatments and supplements over the years, then give this a chance. It has surprised me, and for the better.

    Good luck!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Very happy

    • Feb 14, 2017

    I have just finished my first month, and I am VERY pleased!

    I was very skeptical and really did not expect results. I have noticed the fat that was deposited on my upper hips and thighs has reduced. I sleep great, and my mood is more even. I have also noticed better muscle tone and a reduction in belly fat, so there is absolutely no question that this has worked for me.

    The fact that you can't eat anything by mouth two hours before and after is a challenge, but I found it easiest to set an alarm for two hours after I go to bed. So I take it then, and by morning I am able to not worry about affecting the absorption. I wonder if this has not worked for others as they were unable to maintain this "nothing by mouth" time frame.

    It is very worth the effort! I have recommended this to my friends, and wish that I had known about this earlier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Surprised

    I started taking it about two weeks ago, along with SeroVital Wrinkle Concentrate on my face. I'm very impressed by my skin. I'm not really losing weight so far, but I'm loving my skin, though! And the ingredients in the pills are good for you anyhow. But, it is too pricey (compared to other good skin stuff).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Worked for sagging skin over eyelids

    I noticed that the sagging skin above my eyelids (that I had been watching in my 15x magnifying mirror) lifted after using SeroVital for about a month. I am 58 years old, in good physical shape and had been dismayed to watch my eyelids sag, and not symmetrically either. My right eye drooped considerably more. It has now retreated, my eyes are symmetrical again, and I am beyond thrilled. I am almost in disbelief that the flap of skin is reduced by almost a quarter of an inch. That being said, I'm still a little saggy, but this small improvement is huge for me.

    I have had an extremely healthy diet (whole plant based and vegan) for years, and am already thin, so this is not explained by weight loss. ,I haven't lost weight and I don't need to. This is the only variable in my life, so I must attribute it to the SeroVital.

    There's no way around the fact that you MUST take this on an empty stomach (at least two hours before eating) and wait two more hours to eat again. It's challenging but WORTH IT!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Feel amazing, but

    • Utah,
    • Feb 8, 2017

    I was recommended this product by a doctor, and I have taken it pretty regularly for three (almost four) years. I feel amazing, but have many other health problems that no one else in my family has. I have a cyst on my thyroid and a cyst on my appendix. Apparently, my uterus is full of cysts. I just had rare abnormal cysts taken off my cervix. They were so rare it took ten doctors to finally diagnose it.

    I am the only person in my family to have a cyst problem, and I seriously wonder if it is from this product. Obviously, I have no documented proof, but every doctor (other than the one who recommended it) said they would advise against it. I seriously feel amazing (other than the pain from my cervix), so I don't want to stop taking it, but think it might be wise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 87

Write a review for SeroVital-hgh!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review