About Shark Rocket

Shark claims to have revolutionized vacuuming with their new portable unit called the Rocket, which is claimed to be easier, lighter, and to clean better—more suction with less energy—than their rival Dyson’s machines.

Claiming to be the number one most recommended vacuum brand in the US, Shark Rocket is made and sold by Euro Pro, LLC, a houseware appliance company based in Newton, MA. They are not accredited by the BBB and had a D+ rating at the time of our research due to nearly 100 complaints in the last 3 years.;

Understanding How the Shark Rocket Works

The Shark Rocket is a 500-watt, streamlined handheld vacuum cleaner that’s claimed to have “every unnecessary ounce” trimmed away to provide you with a

small unit that houses the motor and dust cup, along with an ergonomic handle and operating switch. Different types of hoses can be attached to this base, but when it’s in the upright mode, a long, thin plastic tube they call a Cleaning Wand becomes the body, while a unit that contains a motorized brushroll serves as its rolling base.

What About Size?

Overall, the Shark Rocket’s full dimensions are 22.8 x 10 x 31.9 inches, and it weighs 11.9 lbs (although in their video they claim it to be 8 lbs).

According to the company, Shark Rocket will not only replace a larger upright vacuum, but it will also clean better than a Dyson full-size upright and Dyson Digital Slim (DC 44), all at half the price. They say this is due to the “advanced electronics” it contains its micro transmission technology, which is claimed to give you true deep carpet cleaning without loss of power or suction.

Shark Rocket Uses

Shark Rocket’s manufacturer claims that there are many different ways to use the vacuum. For example, when it is upright (as explained above) they say you have two speeds for the brush roll. Plug the unit in (it comes with a 32-foot power cord) and select the setting for carpet or hard floor as needed. Then, start vacuuming; they say its swivel steering will make it easy to maneuver around furniture and into every nook and cranny.

Not only this, but the Shark Rocket is also claimed to have been designed to make the transition from floors to walls and ceilings “effortless” and to clean “anything anywhere”. They say this makes it perfect for everything from deep cleaning to quick pick-ups and dusting. The Shark Rocket comes with attachments they say are designed for a variety of surfaces, including furniture, ceiling fans, vents, counters, drapes, window sills, under appliances, and even in your car.

Shark Rocket Extras

The Shark Rocket is also claimed to be the ultimate pet vacuum with its exclusive attachments that are specifically designed to pick up dog or cat hair. A pet/upholstery tool for removing pet hair and dust from curtains or other more delicate items and upholstery is also included. For an “upgrade fee,” a motorized hand tool for use on ground-in dirt on carpeted stairs and upholstery can be added to your order, which is claimed to stand up to the heavy use and extra wear-and-tear that pet hair puts on a vacuum’s motor.

How To Clean the Shark Rocket

When the Shark Rocket’s dust cup is full, they say you can quickly empty it with the push of a button and dump it in the trash, while its filters are washable, high-quality, and never need replacing. When you are finished using your Shark Rocket, hang it (and the optional accessory bag) from its storage hook on the wall mount, which they say takes up less closet space.

Each Shark Rocket order comes with:

  • Shark Rocket Ultralight Vacuum (Model HV300)
  • Dusting Brush
  • 12” Crevice Tool
  • Wide Pet/Upholstery Tool
  • Wall Mount
  • 32’ Cord
  • Dust-Away Attachment with washable microfiber pad
  • Accessory bag (with upgrade)
  • Motorized Hand Tool (with upgrade)
  • Under Appliance Wand (with upgrade)
  • Home & Car Detail Kit (with upgrade)
  • 18” Flexi Crevice Tool (with upgrade)
  • Multi-Angle Dusting Brush (with upgrade)
  • 5-Year Warranty
  • 60-Day Money Back Guarantee

Shark Rocket Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

The Shark Rocket is priced at 4 payments of $44.95, or one payment of $179.80, with free S & H.

During checkout, you’ll also be given the option to “upgrade” your order with some of the items listed above for an added price of $89.90 plus $9.95 shipping, bringing your grand total to $279.67 (although the math doesn’t quite add up, since the total should be $279.65).

In addition, they offer you many other head-spinning options and upgrades, including blenders, mops, lifetime warranties, and priority processing. As such, by the time you check out you may have spent considerably more than you initially intended. That said, we do like their generous return policy, which gives you 60 days (they’ll pay to ship it back) and 5-Year Warranty, which also includes free shipping both ways.

Shark Rocket vacuums are also available through Amazon and other third-party retailers.

Bottom Line: Is Shark Rocket a Scam?

A vacuum is supposed to have a strong suction, and at least from this perspective, the Shark Rocket seems to do a pretty good job.

However, people tend to be very picky about their vacuums and this product (and Shark in general) has its share of haters. If you can’t find Shark Rocket at your local big box outlet, order online from them with confidence - but be careful during checkout!

For more tips, be sure to read through our in-depth Vacuum Cleaner Buyer’s Guide!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Customer Reviews for Shark Rocket

Average Customer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 4 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 1 2 stars: 1 1 stars: 4
Bottom Line: 64% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • Rocket True Pet

    The vacuum (Rocket HV322) itself is wonderful. We also have a Lift-Away, that we've had for years and love, which is now going to the garage for the workout area/cat littler-box cages. The True-Pet does a great job and is fairly quiet compared to the Dyson Animal we had. Maybe a little too great, have to empty the container multiple times because of the Arizona dust. The longer cord allows us to do our house with two plug-in spots. With the Lift-Away we had to use three different plugs. The top end is heavier on the Rocket, but it moves nicely across carpet & linoleum. You have to switch to bare-floor mode for throw rugs.

    If I had a complaint it would be the wall mount bracket -- very cheesy. But the Rocket stands up in the closet just fine.

    Good Job Shark. Fix the darn bracket thing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Didn't last very long

    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 1, 2015

    Today is 8/22/14. I purchased the Shark Rocket on 3/29/14. It no longer has enough suction to suck up a dust bunny. Grief, what a disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do Not Buy.

    • Yuma, AZ,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    I purchased this product in November 2013. At first it worked great, but after four months all the suction was gone! I have called customer service several times and have got nowhere.

    It was expensive and not worth the money. I am very disappointed in this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Shark vs Dyson

    • California,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    Just want to say you people bashing Dyson and saying sharks are better make me laugh. I just bought a shark rocket and it is a great vacuum with good suction for the money. Now that said the Dysons are way more powerful vacuums and people that say their not either: A) have never owned a Dyson or B) full of... So if you want a great vacuum for a affordable price get the shark, if you want one of the best vacuums out there get a Dyson but be prepared for a hefty price tag. Oh and for you people that are going to hate on my review, I do own both vacuums and have tested them side by side.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Amazing. Better than my Oreck.

    • Warwick, RI,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I have an Oreck, but decided to get the Rocket after a few of my friends liked it. It is amazing. It got so much dust and dirt out of my carpets that I thought the Oreck was getting. Just love that it is so light.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good vacuum, falsely advertised as light weight

    • Miami Beach,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    Works well. Way too heavy for uses such as walls and blinds, need two hands and it wears you out. Bit of a disappointment. Would not recommend if you have neck or back issues. It is not light weight! Awkward size.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not as good as Dyson, works poorly for cat litter.

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 3, 2015

    I wanted a lighter stick vacuum to use in place of Dyson Animal for quick picker-uppers, especially cat litter tracks on tile. While this picked up the cat litter it spit the cat litter out the back essentially making it useless for my purposes.

    For a quick cat hair vacuum on laminate and tile, it's okay, doesn't get the dirt Dyson does, but be aware the cup fills up quickly having to take extra time to empty and re-attach.

    Overall, I found a cheaper, lighter weight, name brand, stick vacuum at a box store that works better for my needs than this one. Yes, it is very, very heavy on the wrists and hands.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Better than my Dyson

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    This thing is amazing. Cleans better than my Dyson upright Animal and is much more versatile. The way it converts from a stick vacuum to a handheld is great and cleaning stairs has become a breeze. The weight differential between the Dyson and the Rocket is the icing on the cake. The Rocket is light enough to use for an extended period of time and the long cord makes is super easy to clean multiple rooms. It does exactly what it says it will do. If you have a Dyson upright and are tired of lugging it around, do yourself a favor and get a rocket.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It does what it claims to do

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    This vacuum does exactly what it says it will do. It's easy to use, has lots of power, pretty much lightweight etc. The only thing that takes a bit of getting used to is the fact that the weight of the vacuum is at the top, not like the usual stick vacuum where it's at the bottom. But that's not a deal breaker for me since it's a great vacuum. I bought mine at BBB with the coupon and it comes with all sorts of tools. And I liked it so much I purchased it for my vacation home too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful vacuum

    • Oklahoma ,
    • Jun 28, 2015

    I just used mine for the first time and I am pretty impressed. I can't believe the amount of hair and debris it picked up off my tile, wood floors, and carpet. I can see where someone with bad wrists would not be able to operate very long it feels a bit heavy after about 15 minutes of cleaning with it. I love the power cord helps keep it going strong, very smooth operating and turns gets into places my big vacuum can't. When you turn up the power on the brush it does start to get a bit wonky. It has so much power it can get away from you a little. But I completely love it. I would absolutely purchase it again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Needs Improvement

    • NY,
    • Mar 7, 2015

    I bought this vacuum in a store, not online or from a television ad. So, it didn't come with some of the attachments or steam mop that is shown on the television ads. I chose this machine because of the very convincing infomercial advertisements that seemed to offer a great product, and compared it to the Dyson for a lot less money. I also bought it because of its light weight which I thought would be convenient and helpful since I carry it up and down the stairs.

    The machine is light weight and it is convenient. However, it has what I consider to be design flaws. While some reviews complain about the cord, that is not an issue for me. The main issues for me are the facts that it doesn't stand up on its own. You have to lean it against a wall or lay it down if you need to do something while vacuuming. The dirt cup gets pretty funky, and it's difficult to figure out how to rinse it (if even needed), or if the machine will get ruined as a result of the water? The empty feature is really cumbersome to use. It seems backwards or upside down or something. I have had the machine for months and still can't figure out the best way to empty it without creating a mess, even if holding it over the trash. The machine cleans well enough but whether or not it actually cleans better than a Dyson could be up for debate. I have never owned a Dyson to compare it. But I will say that if the Dyson being at a MUCH higher price point had the same issues as the Rocket, I would be REAL unhappy and would have been back for a refund!

    I have medium dense carpeting and the machine kind of "hops" across it as opposed to running over the carpet smoothly. So, it seems that the machine is not designed for hefty rugs. I think that the head could be larger which would result in less back and forth passes, and the exhaust could be placed on the side as opposed to the top where it blows AT the user. All in all, I would say this vacuum is good but not great. The old adage holds true, "don't believe everything you see or hear" in advertisements.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a review for Shark Rocket!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review