About Silk Advanced Biotin Complex

Silk Hair is a nutritional supplement that’s claimed to feature clinically proven stimulation ingredients such as enzymes, peptides, antioxidants, and key vitamins that can give you longer, thicker, more incredible hair in just 21 days.

According to Silk Advanced Biotin Complex, their 100% natural, “cutting edge” formula was developed after decades of research and development, and works from the inside out to strengthen hair follicles and naturally boost hair growth. In fact, Silk Hair is claimed to provide you with proven results “with no effort at all.”

In the world of nutritional supplements, when you come across amazing claims, it’s often your best bet to take a “if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is” approach. But is this necessarily the case with Silk Hair? Consider the following:

Is Silk Hair Clinically Proven?

In short, no. However, the Silk Hair website does link to 4 different studies that are claimed to support the manufacturer’s statements:

  • A 2005 study that “examined the effect of topical application of two niacin derivatives, octyl nicotinate and tetradecyl nicotinate, on hair fullness in female alopecia” (i.e. female pattern baldness).
  • A 2002 article outlining the link between nutrition and hair loss.
  • An overview of biotin (vitamin H).
  • A 2012 double blind study of “an oral supplement to increase hair growth in women with thinning hair.” However, the supplement is noted to be Viviscal, not Silk Hair.

It’s important to note here that there are no ingredients listed on the Silk Advanced Biotin Complex website, other than “enzymes, peptides, antioxidants, and key vitamins,” and no product label is provided. As such, there’s no way to confirm if Silk Hair contains any of the ingredients referenced in these studies, or how much.

Also, in the Viviscal trial noted above, it referenced topical application of the ingredients, as well as oral supplementation; not just the internal version found with Silk Hair.

What’s the Link Between Silk Hair & TLS Hair?

Based on their website designs, their logos/colors, as well as the fact that both reference the exact same clinical studies (and in the exact same order), we feel fairly confident that Silk Hair is simply a rebranded version of TLS Hair. But why would the manufacturer rebrand the product after so little time on the market?

Ultimately, we have no way of knowing. However, among 40 HighYa reader reviews for TLS Hair, the product had an average rating of just 1.5 stars, with common complaints citing problems with the free trial (more about this in the Pricing section), high price, and failure to work.

As such, similar to how trial-based anti-aging products work, it’s our opinion that the manufacturer received too much negative feedback for TLS Hair, and is attempting to lure a fresh round of unsuspecting consumers using a new brand name.

Arbitration Only Hurts You

Keep in mind that by placing an order on the Silk Hair website, you’ll be bound to an arbitration agreement. In short, this means that if you incur any damages (physical or financial) from the use of Silk Hair, your legal rights will be severely restricted, including a trial by jury or becoming part of a class action lawsuit.

What is the Complyments Health Club?

According to the Complyments website, “Complyments Member Club (pronounced "Compliments") contains a vast number of meal plans, fitness ideas, recipes and even hypnosis audio mp3s that you can utilize in your healthy journey.” This is similar to the Best Fit Club membership for TLS Hair (almost certainly the same product).

In both instances, the company attempts to slip this recurring charge past you. If you don’t want it though, be sure to check the appropriate box on the ordering page (see below).

Screenshot of Silk Advanced Biotin Complex's websiteBe sure to check this box if you want to decline membership in the Complyments Health Club.

Customer Feedback for Silk Hair

Similar to other hair supplements such as TLS Hair and Keranique, Silk Advanced Biotin Complex is only advertised through independent affiliates who earn commissions from each sale of the product they refer. As a result, these affiliates will create fake review websites that are intended to mislead instead of inform.

However, Silk Hair is not listed with the Better Business Bureau, and no additional information was available about the company online.

Silk Hair Pricing & Refund Policy

Silk Advanced Biotin Complex is only available through a 14-day trial for $4.95 S&H, for which you’ll receive a full 30-day supply of the supplement. Note: If you don’t want to join the company’s Complyments Health Club, be sure to check the appropriate box on the ordering page.

Then, after your trial has expired, you’ll be billed $89.99 for the full price of the product, and will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program. This means you’ll continue receiving a fresh supply of Silk Hair once per month, and your credit card will be billed $89.99 each time.

Important note: Free trials are often sneaky ways of ensuring you’ll pay full price, and autoship programs of ensuring that you continue receiving regular shipments of a product you probably only wanted to try. As such, we generally recommend avoiding products sold only through these methods.

Outside of the trial, it doesn’t appear that refunds are available for Silk Hair.

With this in mind, if you’d like to cancel your trial or your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 877-217-0454.

Can Silk Hair Help Your Hair Grow?

Chopping to the point: Although biotin “supports the health of the skin, nerves, digestive tract, metabolism, and cells,” without knowing how much Silk Hair contains, there’s no way to say whether or not it will provide you any benefits. However, based on our experience reviewing these types of hair supplements, as well as:

  • The lack of important information about the supplement,
  • The supplement’s close similarity

Tired of Nutritional Supplements Rip-Offs? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

139 Customer Reviews for Silk Advanced Biotin Complex

Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 4 3 stars: 4 2 stars: 4 1 stars: 121
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 139
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Biggest scam

    They WILL charge you $90 only after you've used the first bottle thinking it's a little $5 thing. Clicking "cancel account" doesn't work. You have to call, and tell them that you read on their website that you CAN get your money back when you return the bottle, with a restocking fee. If you just ask to return the bottle, they will say that you can't do it UNLESS you call them on their illegal practices. Stay calm too because it's easy to get pissed when you're majorly scammed, but do your best to stay super respectful, and you'll get most of your money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    They stole $89.99 from me for nothing!

    Their employees are so mean. they hung up on me while I was so nice to him. They didn't give a refund. I didn't even use the product. $89.99 was for nothing. Thank you very much (sarcasm) I recorded the call. I would be happy to sue them if anything and the worst thing is they deleted the transaction from my bank account. Thank God I record all of my calls. And the banker I talked to prior to calling saw the transaction. This company is so careless about people. I just wanted to try the product. They didn't even ask me if they could take the money. Instead, they just took it even without a reminder or an email notifying me. Thieves!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Loved it! Want more.

    • Aliso Viejo, Ca,
    • Feb 19, 2016

    I loved it! I literally have much fuller, thicker hair, and trust me, I'm a hair stylist and love supplements. I'm thinking of buying some to give to my clients.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 25, 2016

      Aleisha

      Has anyone had any bad side effects when they have stopped using/taking the Keranique Advanced Biotin Complex and Keranique Vitamins. I would love to try this product but am reluctant as I have heard when you stop using this product, your hair does a 360 and ends up with less hair and more damaged hair than when you started. Please let me know if anyone has heard this or had any bad side effects please.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Delivery products

    • Newport, RI,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    Hi everyone. I just ordered Silk Advanced Biotin Complex for the first time, and am sure that I will not order it again. It looks like that they send out their products without feeling any responsibility about what happens during the delivery process, using a company that leave your box in front of your door when you are not at home! Of course, my box disappeared. Other companies in the same situation would be apologetic, volunteering to send out another order without a problem, maybe even by asking for a signature at the moment of the delivery, or requiring a card to be left with the address of the Post Office to pick it up from. Super easy.

    I'm accostumed to dealing with companies that are responsible, and take care of their costumers, which was not the case here. I am really sorry that I couldn't try their products, I have a barber shop and this could have been a good relationship. I hope that nobody else will be treated like I was today!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The reviews say enough

    • Las Vegas,
    • Feb 8, 2016

    I ordered this after reading an article that claimed it made hair grow 6 inches in 30 days. Of course it even included pictures. Anyway, I just rec'd my products today and after reading these reviews I am not even opening them. I emailed customer support to cancel and I got an undeliverable message back saying mailbox full. I then called and spoke to Brittany and she said "Sorry to hear you want to cancel, it's a great product and all of my customers just love it." She offered me to keep the product for a one time fee of 19.95, and I said no I will return it and she said, "Go ahead and keep it and I will cancel everything at no cost." I got a confirmation number and will be watching my account carefully to make sure I am not charged. I wish I would of found these reviews before. When she asked why I would like to cancel, I said, "because there are at least 120 negative reviews online about what a scam this is". She had nothing to say about that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never get a free trial, it's always a trick.

    • Jan 24, 2016

    Singed up for a free trial that I didn't even know went threw. Surprisingly I get mailed these pills. They're still in the box and had never been opened when I told them I would send them back. They charged my credit card 50 dollars. Customer service sucks. I would never recommend this company. When I signed up for the free trial it didn't say anything about fees and stuff. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Hair growth

    • Pullman, WA,
    • Dec 27, 2015

    This supplement, has really helped my hair grow so well. I've always had trouble with my hair growing slowly and since ice started taking this vitamin my hair has grown very well. Plus it's a healthy way to help my skin nails and my hair. Thank you

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service.

    • Ohio,
    • Dec 20, 2015

    I was charged for two extra products that I never actually put in my shopping cart - they automatically added them and charged me for them. I called within 24 hours to get them taken off of my account, got a cancellation number, and STILL was charged for the extra products. THEN I called to cancel my trial and TWO different customer service representatives HUNG UP ON ME to get rid of me when I asked to speak to a manager. This is ridiculous. They are tricky as they give you a 30 day supply of the product but only 14 days to cancel before they charge you 67 more dollars. This product is NOT worth all the issues and disrespect I received from the agents. I didn't notice results in my trial, and even if the product worked - the quality of customer care is undeniably the worst I have ever experienced.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bad service and product

    • Ochlocknee, GA,
    • Dec 18, 2015

    The customer service is not good at all, I called to cancel my order and they acted like they didn't know anything about it . They did not refund me back my money. I haven't noticed any results with this Silk Advanced Biotin Complex.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • Dec 16, 2015

    I ordered this product on November 16th on a 14 day trial and was charged $1.95 plus $4.95 shipping. I canceled the order on November 24th which was the same day I received it. I told the rep I wanted to return the product un-opened. After several attempts to make me keep it, the representative I spoke to said she would give me a very good discount and only charge me $19.95 if I would keep the product and she would cancel any further shipments. I agreed just to get it over with, she gave me a confirmation number and said I wouldn't receive any more shipments nor would my card be charged again.

    I just looked at my online credit card statement and was charged $89.98 on November 30th. I made my second call to the company to get a refund for the charge I spoke to a man who repeated over and over how happy everyone is with the product but I insisted I did not want it. I explained my issue at least 4 times and he talked right through me saying he did issue my cancellation fee refund of $1.95. I said, “no, I want my full refund, I don't want your product and haven't received another bottle. I've already paid for the bottle I received.” He told me I would not get a refund for what I've already been charged but it's been canceled, then told me to have a nice day and hung up on me while I was begging him not to.

    I immediately called back and told him not to hang up. I wanted to talk to his supervisor. He acted like this was the first time he talked to me, made me confirm my address again, said I want to warn you this call is being monitored. I said, “that's great put her on the phone!” He put me on hold 2 times and said his supervisor was on another call. He told me he's going to give me a 30% refund, I refused and insisted I wanted 100% that I do not want it and I'm not paying for something I don't even have! He said I just got approval to issue you 50%. Again I refused and said I'm not paying for a product that I canceled before the trial period was over. He said that they have no record of it. I said that I do and I have their rep's name, the exact time I called, and a confirmation number. I also informed him that I will cancel my card, dispute it and get my money back one way or another. He immediately said, “You know what, I just got approval to issue you 100%”. He then rattled off the same confirmation number he gave me when he said he canceled it in my first phone call then told me I'd get my refund in 1-3 days, said thanks, to have a nice day, and hung up.

    I will be calling my credit card company first thing in the morning to cancel my card and dispute because I do not believe I will ever see the refund and will continue to be charged. Save yourself the hassle, it's not worth it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No good.

    Do not, I repeat, do not get this product. Their advertising may look nice with only $4 in shipping for a free trial. They do not let you know that your 30 day supply is only free for the first 14 days. They will laugh at you on the phone when you try to get your money back. They don't care about your hair growth. They only want your money. Do not get this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 139

Write a review for Silk Advanced Biotin Complex!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review